This business is not BBB accredited.

Dot Compliance Service LLC

Phone: (866) 389-9342 Fax: (208) 629-7063 420 S Meridian Rd., Ste 130, Meridian, ID 83642


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides drug and alcohol testing services to employers and owner operators nationwide that need to be in compliance with federal substance abuse testing regulations.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dot Compliance Service LLC include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Dot Compliance Service LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 18
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Complaint Information

DOT Compliance Services LLC is a private, third party administrator who provides services to commercial operators to assist in DOT safety regulations.  Complainants said they believed they were being called by the Department of Transportation rather than a private company selling its services.   BBB has met with DOT Compliance Services LLC to discuss the underlying issue of  the complaints.  Despite DOT Compliance Services LLC’s cooperation and changes they’ve made in its sales practices, BBB continues to receive complaints regarding this issue. 

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Dot Compliance Service LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2012 Business started: 05/07/2012 in ID
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Minert, Owner/President
Business Category

DRUG & ALCOHOL SCREENING & TESTING

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks
Service Area
U.S.
Alternate Business Names
CDL Compliance Testing, LLC
Additional Information

DOT Compliance Services LLC is a private, third party administrator who provides services to commercial operators to assist in DOT safety regulations.  Complainants said they believed they were being called by the Department of Transportation rather than a private company selling its services.   BBB has met with DOT Compliance Services LLC to discuss the underlying issue of  the complaints.  Despite DOT Compliance Services LLC’s cooperation and changes they’ve made in its sales practices, BBB continues to receive complaints regarding this issue. 


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dot Compliance Service LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    420 S Meridian Rd., Ste 130

    Meridian, ID 83642

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called representing that they are the USDOT and they want to go over my application on a new filing. FRAUD POOR BUSINESS PRACTICEHow can they be a creditable drug testing company if they are dishonest to sell you their product?

Desired Settlement: NEVER CALL ME AGAIN

Consumer Response:

That they were calling regarding my recent US DOT application and that they needed to talked to me about the application.

They left their number and a personal name with a extention

 It sounded as if there was a problem with it.

Business Response: We have received a ********* *********. After receiving the fact of this case I found the following.
 
On 20 or 21 September 2014, the complainant filed for a US Dot Number, with the United States Department of Transportation, which he received later that day. On September 22 the information that the complainant gave the USDOT in his application was made available to the public.
 
On the response that I sent on 22 September I stated that, “our salesman called the complainant and left a message telling him that we were DOT Compliance Service and we had a few questions to go over with him regarding his new US DOT number”. 
 
On 23 September I actually listened to the call and our salesman never gave out our company name and only gave her name and our phone number 866-389-9342 and asked him to call her back regarding his new DOT # and gave him the US DOT number for him to refer to.  *** ***** never called us back, which we checked because we record all of our incoming and outgoing calls, he also would have had to google us to know who we were because our salesperson never said who we were in her recorded message on his answering machine
 
Since we never had any contact with this client and we never did any services for this client we would like this negative comment removed from our website.
 
********** ***** ******* ****** *******    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After the message was left, which implied that they were the US DOT, thinking that it was the US DOT, I called them requesting what they wanted.  I was informed that they had not called me and that there were 3rd party business that do this.  I googled the phone number and found the information and complaints on this company.

I have been in law enforcement over 25 years and believe I know what an attempt of deception is.  Why would they not identify their company and what they do when they called.   I can not believe that a company doing this type of business would have such low ethic's and business practices.  I WOULD NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH A COMPANY THAT CONDUCTS THEMSELVES IN THIS MANNER.

 

******** ****** *****

 

 

2/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a phone call the day after registering for a US DOT number from someone stating they were with DOT Compliance and explaining she was calling to make sure we had all the correct documentation and filing to ensure we were compliant with the laws. She was extremely nice and informative, the whole time using verbiage that would make one assume she was actually from the DOT. At no point did she ever state that she was actually from a third-party telemarketing company just offering their services. In my opinion, the name of the company itself and how they represent themselves is misleading at best. While clearly being well trained in praying on peoples fears of not being compliant, as well as the lack of knowledge of what is needed for a DOT number, I proceeded authorization for her to create a Driver Qualification File for myself and another employee for $160 each. Although I regret authorizing this charge, I did so and thus understand it cannot be refunded. However, in addition to those charges I was charged an additional $165 that I did not authorize. When contacting them to ask about the charges, she explained to me what it was for. I told her I never authorized them to charge that additional amount, as a price was never discussed and when I was asked to authorize the payment, I was only told of the $160. Their response to me when I asked them when I authorized the payment was that when they were explaining this additional form that is needed I said, "Okay". Again, keep in mind I probably said "okay" 5 times during the conversation as she was explaining things to me and I was acknowledge her explanations. At no point did I say "Okay" to the additional $165 dollars. For a company that is specific to DOT paperwork and filing, any and all charges should already be known and then explained to the customer. The fact that processing fees and extra filing would cost additionally was completely skimmed over, making you think any costs were going to be coming out of the $165 you agreed to. The practice, in my opinion, is not only completely unethical, but also fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: To be refunded for the amount that was not explained to me nor specifically asked authorization for charging.

Business Response: We have talked to the client and refunded her $165.00 as she has requested and she is satisfied with this resolution.

2/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 21rst 2015, we received a phone call from the DOT Compliance Services, regarding our application for a DOT number which was placed earlier. A man. name started with *** was talking between myself and husband, stating that we needed a driver application for employment which would list any violations. The cost would be $160.00. We were told this company representing themselves as the DOT advised me that failure to comply would result in vehicle seizures, being put out of service and fines. We are brand new and are just learning to get all the licenses and numbers we need to run a legit business. He also stated in order to get ALL the proper paperwork done it wood cost around $700.00+ total. So we started the process using my debit card which is our persona account. We later found out that this was untrue and they were trying scam us. I called **** back several times and another associate, no return call. They were sending us the " paperwork" they had completed via regular mail. I have not received anything at this point. I called them again to get a refund. Finally *** had called me back and when I told him I thought he misrepresented himself, he denied it and said he couldn't help that we didn't listen when he said he was from the DOT compliance SERVICE and that the word SERVICE describes them as such. He was very rude and annoyed with me for requesting my money back.

Desired Settlement: A refund in the amount of $160.00 and I believe they should be required to represent themselves as to what they really are.

Business Response: I spoke with **** **** today (February 6) and we refunded her $160 as she requested.  I apologized for *** and that we are a legitimate company.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


Dot compliance has refunded our money and it has cleared in our account. Thanks for all your assistance!

**** **** *** ****

2/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is basically the same as everyone on this site. Shorty after receiving my dot# this company was calling me to tell me how they could make my life easier. So I purchased the UCR filing service and the driver qualification file service. First of all they where supposed to perform ALL of my UCR filings......they only filed 2015 so a few weeks later the state of Arkansas sent me a threatening email saying I was going to get fined 1000.00 for failure to file 2014 UCR. To make matters worse you cannot get these people to answer there phone, its like they take your money and flag your number as"do not answer". So I performed the 2014 filing myself. The driver qualification files was a bigger nightmare ,you are supposed to have the option to send them back via email or fax.....the format it was sent in would not give me the option to email them even after I filled the forms out....once again couldn't get anyone on the phone to assist. So I print the forms out to fax them ,,,tried three different fax machines numerous times over the course of two days, never got one fax to go thru...once again couldn't get anyone to assist. So I called and left a very direct message stating my dissatisfaction and demanding a refund, and surprise, surprise, I get a call the next day, from the most argumentative "customer service"person l have ever talk to. All but calling me liar about every issue I brought to her attention. She finally discloses to me that they submitted there partially completed file on my work history, so its worthless. In a nutshell,, every minute of my time is very valuable, I am SICK and TIRED of business' promising me a service, taking my money then dropping of the face of the earth

Desired Settlement: To never hear from this business again

Business Response: We can see that*** ******* has called us a few times but he has never left a
message until February 4th after our business hours.  On February 5th we
called *** ******* back and he told us he tried to call us a few times but
never left a message.  He was told that we processed his 2015 Unified
Carrier Registration (UCR) as he requested when he made the purchase and his Driver
Qualification File (DQF) and both were emailed to him the same day.  We
were sorry that he could not fax the DQF back to us but did give him another
fax number to send it to or the option of sending the DQF back by email or
regular mail.  He just wanted to be made inactive with our company which
we did on February 5th. 

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, October 6, 2014, our organization, The Fraser Valley Transportation Cooperative, located in Langley British Columbia Canada, registered for a USDOT number. Our organization provides busses for seniors organizations for trips.On Tuesday October 7, 2014, I received a phone call from ***** at DOT Compliance Service" calling to set up our drug and alcohol testing and monitoring program. At no point did he indicate that he was a member of a private company soliciting our business, and at no point during any of our interactions was this made clear, even when given the opportunity, such as when I commented how much easier it is to get hold of them than our government departments. I believed I was dealing with branch of the USDOT.He proceeded to tell me that all drivers had to be enrolled in their program and have an initial drug test before driving a commercial vehicle in the US. Because one of our member organizations is planning a trip to the US on Tuesday the 14th and Monday the 13th is a Canadian holiday, there was immediately some urgency to get this done. He also said I had to enroll in a supervisor's course at a cost of $150.In order to get the drug test done by today, Friday, they had to express fedex the chain of custody documents at a cost of $100. At no time did **** inform me that these documents are available locally,local administration of our program is possible. When I received the documents I was to call ********* in their office and she would arrange the test with a local lab. His location or time zone was not identified. Fortunately they were incompetent enough to send the document to my home address some 50 km from where they should have been and by the time we got them their office was unavailable to book a drug. When I opned the documents I realized the duplicity and left phone messages and emails cancelling any representation and demanding a refund of the full $645 I had paid. They refunded $545 claiming the other $100 money out of pocket for the courier.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the final $100 that was charged to my credit card.By refunding all of the other credit card charges, they accepted the validity of our complaint of deceptive inducement to participate in their program. The fact that is cost them $100 to engage in a deceptive practice is a cost they should bear, not us. Since it was entirely unnecessary to have the documents sent from Idaho and had I known the true nature of what was going on, never would have consented to have them sent.

Business Response:

*** ********** ******* *** * ******** *** *** *** ********* ** *****


13 October 2014

 

******** ******** ****** ******** ****** ****** *****

 

We have received ********* **********

 

On 7 October 2014 the complainant purchased three (3) drug testing programs for $495, supervisor training for $50 and then asked for the drug testing chain of custody forms to be overnighted and agreed to pay the $100 for that service.  All of this was done and expedited to him on 7 October 2014. 

 

The complaint stated that the chain of custody forms were available locally.  That may be true, however, due to the specific information required on a chain of custody form, our company name and medical review officer information, it is crucial for these documents to be mailed out to the client. The completed chain of custody forms sent to the client assist the clinics they are testing at to send the tests and invoices to the correct location. If someone were to use a blank chain of custody form, like the ones found locally, instead of waiting for our form might delay the test result.

 

We did everything that we could to get the clients documents to him as quickly as possible so that he could get his drivers in to be drug tested.  When he called and demanded a refund we refunded him the money the same day, 9 October 2014 less the expedited fee.  

 

Today, 13 October 2014 we refunded him the remaining $100 as he has requested.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a phone call from the company saying that I needed to fill out a driver qualification file for one of my employees that drives a dot truck. I paid the fee of $160.00 and never received the daf from them. This happened on July 3. I revived an email that day from "daryan" who asked to sign the authorization form. I emailed them a month later to ask where the product is but received no answer. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I either want a refund or the promised product.

Business Response: I spoke with ******** ***** ***. this morning and we had processed his Driver Qualification File on July 3, 2014 the same day that he purchased the Driver Qualification File.  He signed and returned the documents on July 7th and we sent the final documents out to him on the same day.  I resent him his final documents today, September 17, 2014 and he is a satisfied client.

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint because DOT Compliance Service does not allow me to cancel my agreement with them and that they do not want to give me a refund in the amount of $300. This was what happened: *** ***** called me and he told me that he is going to assist me with Driver's Qualification File. He asked me to pay through my credit card and I was told that somebody is going to call my husband, ******e, and my brother, ******, to interview them in preparation for the report. Somebody did call and conducted the interview. They eventually sent us a packet saying that we needed to sign it. One of the documents is about Driver Application for Employment. We did not want to sign it because my husband and my brother were not applying for employement.Besides, my brother, ******, is in the US only on a US tourist visa and that he is not allowed to seek for any employment in the US.I called FMCSA to inquire whether or not we need a Driver's Qualification File to travel from Louisiana to California.FMCSA told us that all we needed was a DOT number and UCR registration. I called ***** ******** of DOT Compliance Service to inform him that we needed to cancel it because of the inappropriateness of the documents that they are asking us to sign, we do not need their service as of yet, and that we will just call his office later if we decide to engage in transportation business. DOT Compliance Service engaged in an argument with me and told me that they are not cancelling it and that no refund will be given to me.******e and ****** have not signed any of the paperwork that they have sent us through email authorizing DOT Compliance Service to obtain a DMV report. Although ******e and ****** previously gave authorization through a telephone interview, we have sent DOT Compliance Service an email telling them that ******e and ****** are revoking the previous authorization that was given through the telephone interview.I should not be made to pay for a cancelled and incomplete service.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $300.00.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Hi! Thank you so much for helping me find a satisfactory solution to my complaint about DOT Compliance Service. I would like to know how I can make the necessary update on your website. The complaint has been satisfactorily resolved; I received a refund from the company.
 

 

 
******* ****** ******* *****

 

 

 

 

8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the morning of July 24th I received a phone call from DOT compliance services stating that I needed to obtain a driver qualification form and also a mandatory drug and alcohol screening program from them for the price of 325.00 .I had spent the previous day setting up tax id numbers,business name,license,DOT#etc. for a business Im trying to get started.It didn't seem out of the ordinary that I would get a call from someone claiming to be from the DOT expecting me to have these items in place to be compliant,since this is all new to me.This company representing themselves as the DOT advised me that failure to comply would result in vehicle seizures,fines and being put out of service. This all sounded official to me which prompted me to relay my debit card information when requested to.Only after they received my debit card info,and information for the driver qualification form did they reveal the fact that they are not affiliated with the DOT and they are a private company. Upon hearing this information I quickly advised them not to proceed with charging my debit card and wait until I investigated who they are and what exactly was going on. We ended the conversation and less than five minutes later I decided to call DOT compliance service back and tell them to cancel the transaction. I was told it was too late,the application for driver qualification form had been processed and I would be charged 130.00 out of the 325.00. After speaking to the superior agent at DOT compliance service I was informed the best they could do would be not to charge me for the full amount of 325.00 and would still be charged 135.00 for processing a qualification form that I don't even need because my carrier business will not be crossing state lines.They were well aware of this. I would appreciate if the BBB would contact the DOT compliance service and advise them to not misrepresent themselves and use scare tactics to get money out of companies that have yet to make their first dollar. A full refund would be nice.

Desired Settlement: A full refund would be appropriate. Also a written statement from DOT compliance services stating they will never try to contact me again.***** **** *************** *******

Business Response:

** **** ******** * ********* ********** After receiving the fact of this case I found the following.

 

On 23 July 2014 the complainant filed for a US Dot Number, with the United States Department of Transportation, which he received later that day. The next day, July 24, the information that the complainant gave the USDOT in his application was made available to the public.

 

Our office used that in information to contact the complainant. At approximately 9 A.M. that morning one of our salesman called the complainant and discussed with him those safety compliance measures he had to take in order to be able to operate a commercial vehicle. Two of those requirements were that he enroll in a drug testing program and prepare a Driver Qualification File.

 

We record all of our telephone calls and I listened to the call made by our salesman. I heard him tell the complainant during the first part of their conversation that he was not associated with the USDOT but was a private, third party administrator. The complainant indicated to our sales person that he understood our status and why we were calling.

 

As our salesman explained, the complainant was required by USDOT regulations to be in a drug testing program and to prepare a Driver Qualification File. In his statement he claims that he is not required to comply with these requirements because he doesn’t travel Interstate. That claim is irrelevant because his merely operating a commercial vehicle that requires a commercial driver’s license requires him to comply with these requirements by Federal Regulation (49 CFR Part 382 and 391).

 

At the end of the sales presentation the complainant purchased the services that he needed. We then spent some time with him in getting the information that we would need to prepare his Driver Qualification File. I spoke with our admin person who took his information.  She stated that she also explained that we were not associated with the DOT and that the complainant did not express to her any concern about out service.

 

In summary, after listening to the recorded calls regarding this sale, I find that

 

1.    we fully explained to the complainant exactly who we were to his satisfaction;

2.    he was required by law to secure the services that he asked us to perform; and

3.    he only asked us to cancel his sale after we had already done the work for his Driver Qualification File.

 

Since the complainant did request that we cancel his drug testing enrollment fee within the time allowed we have refunded his $195. However, we have done the work for his Driver Qualification File and he is not due any money back for that fee.

 

 

**** ******

7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied online for USDOT numbers for my side line business. I was then flooded with phone calls the next day by dot compliance services llc. I was under the impression that I was talking to a USDOT representative. They told me I need to file for random drug and alcohol testing and driver qualification history forms. I told them I get random drug tests through my full time job and don't need to file. They told me I cost 190 dollars to file with the state and that I have to file because I'm my own business. They never told me that I have the option of filing myself on my own terms. I gave them my credit card information and the charged my card with my verbal consent. Their was another 165 dollar transaction for a driver qualification history file which I also thought was mandatory. They later emailed me written consent forms which is when I realized that dot compliance services llc was a third party business offering to file my paperwork for me. When I realized my mistake I emailed and called an spoke with the office manager she said the paper work has been filed and she can't refund my money. I asked how they can do that without my written consent, she said the verbal agreement is all then need.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded as I do not require their services. Dot compliance services llc prematurely filed my paperwork without my written authorization.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

The business in question has contacted me and is offering me a full refund to settle our dispute. I would like to state on your website that I am satisfied with their coster service. Thx 
***** *********
 

 

 

 

 

 

5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied online for my dot number. the next day I was contacted by ****** from said company confirming that I had applied for a dot number, and that there were additional steps I needed to complete in order for me to meet federal requirements. during this entire conversation he lead me to believe that he was directly connected with the fmcsa/dot, by his terminology and the technique which he presented it. They are aware of when a new dot number has been issued, and their knowledge of having to use a credit card for identification purposes when applying gives them enough information to use these tactics. After the initial call with this company,and charging me $555, I had other concerns. I contacted fmcsa for some additional information, only to find out this company has no connection to fmcsa or any other entity of the dot. I called the very next morning to cancel my services with them, only to be told they would not refund my money of $555. I continued to work my way up the chain of command. when I spoke with the manager, she advised that I could have $260 refunded for the driver file portion, but not the $295 for the drug test enrollment. I advised her that I do not want any of their services, and that I want all my money refunded. she refused. This company is purposely misleading individuals by their slippery tactics and terminology. Thus leading myself and other individuals to believe they have to pay these fees to this company in order to become compliant with dot.

Desired Settlement: refund my total of $555.

Business Response:

This letter is written to respond to ********* ********* In his complaint the client, *** ***********, alleges that he was fraudulently sold services by our company and that when he demanded a refund we refused to cancel his contract.  After looking into this situation I discovered the following facts. 

            On 26 March 214 one of our salesmen called *** *********** and talked to him about his recent application for a USDOT number.  On the previous day the client had gone on the FMCSA website and registered to operate a commercial vehicle.  We used that information to call the client and discuss with them compliance issues relating to their operating a commercial vehicle.  We did not have any access to their credit card information in making our call. 

            When our salesperson talked to the client he discussed with the client that because the client would be operating a commercial vehicle in Ohio that the clients drivers would need to be in a drug testing program.  He also told the client that they would need to establish a Driver Qualification File for these drivers.  These requirements are not optional but must be accomplished by all commercial vehicle operators. 

            All this was acknowledged by the client.  He choose to purchase the services that we had explained to him.  In concluding our conversation with the client our salesman read to the client the following statement: 

We are a private company that assists employers and owner operatorsget into compliance with DOT substance abuse testing requirements.

The services for which you are paying us will be completed by the end of the day today.  For further information regarding our terms and services please go to our website at dotcompliancetesting.com.  Do you have any questions? 

On our website, under our cancellation policy, it clearly states that because the services we provide are accomplished the same day as the sale, requests for cancellations cannot be honored if they are made after that date.

            Once the sale was made to the client our staff went to work and performed the services that he purchased from us.  We did not hear from him that day and by the end of the day on 26 March the work was completed.  On the next day, 27 March, the client called us and asked for a refund of the amount we had charged his credit card.  We explained that the time was now past for us to honor his request for a cancellation as we had already done the work.  However, in an effort to compromise, we offered to cancel his request to provide Driver Qualification Files.  He agreed to that compromise and we credited back $260 onto his card.  Now this same client is writing the BBB and claiming he is still unsatisfied.   This client was thoroughly informed of who we were, agreed to purchase our services, and now wants his money back after we did the work he asked us to do.  All this after we worked out a compromise that he agreed to.  He is not due any further refund.

 

***** ******

Operations Manager

DOT Compliance Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

* the business did not inform me that it was an independent company and not connected to fmcsa.

*the business did not share with me any conditions or the web site of their company for details and information in regards to their policies until

after I contacted them to cancel their services and was denied a refund.......too little.......too late.

*I rejected the "compromise" made by the business for a partial refund, and stated that I wanted a full refund of $555.

* the business representative refused to a full refund. I asked if there was anyone else with authority to resolve this matter , and

her response was "no".

* I advised her at that time that I would be seeking assistance from other agencies to recover all of the $555. that ended the conversation.

5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband ( a owner operator truck driver) received a call from a company claiming to be with the Department of Transportation. He was told that he needed to do the drug screen and the cost would be $165. He agreed . We were chaged $335 on our business account. When I called and asked for a refund realizing it was a scam they told me that their policy is one day cancellation. I told them we were not told of a one day cancellation and the woman told me that he was referred the name of the website and their policy is on the website. WE were not informed of a website on the initial contact. We have called several times trying to cancel and they won't refund the money. I have also contacted the***** and was informed that this company is scamming a lot of people out of money and that they are receiving a lot of complaints for the same thing.

Desired Settlement: $335.00

Business Response:

This letter is written to respond to ********* *********  On 24 January 2014 our sales staff contacted ***** ******* as he had just been granted authority to operate a commercial vehicle.  After we discussed with him our services he purchased a drug testing policy and a driver qualification file for a total of $335.  Thereafter, our staff got to work and performed the work we were contracted to provide him.

Two weeks after we did the work he asked us to perform, ****** ****** claiming that she is ********* wife called us and stated that she didn’t want the service we sold her husband.  We told***** that the contract for service was with her husband and that we would consider cancelling our service if the actual client called.  We never heard from the client so we have not cancelled the service.

In her complaint *** ***** claims that she called the ***** and that they told her that “this company is scamming a lot of people”.  She is obviously lying about this because there is no one at the ***** that is authorized to say any such thing.

In conclusion we performed the service that was purchased by the client, *** ******** Neither he nor *** **** are due a refund.

***** ******

Operations Manager

DOT Compliance Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

First off the reason I called is because in those two weeks DOT Compliance stopped answering my husbands calls. I DID NOT speak with ***** I spoke with ***** and she informed me that they had a same day cancellation policy. When I told her that my husband was #1. Under the impression they were WITH the Department of Transportation and had asked for his money refunded this did not matter to her and also #2 He was NOT notified of a same day cancellation policy She responded that it was on their website which he was referred to. The problem with this is in the e-mail ***** sent to BBB he mentioned that my husband should have called and they would consider it ***** NEVER STATED THIS TO ME!!! AND when my bank tried to check their website ( and when I tried) It did not work! another thing is that they told him one amount and he was charged another. My bank has found it as a fraudulent charge because they lied about who they were and did NOT provide us with any services. If they were not scamming people then why would they have a same day cancellation policy. He called them the very next day and the guy wouldn't refund the money. Also I was NOT LYING as ***** claimed ... Whether the man **** ***** was "authorized" or not is not my business but he did tell me that they were getting a lot of calls  from people about DOT compliance because they were being scammed by them.

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

Business Response:

            We have been asked to respond to **** ********. Our company is named DOT Compliance Service and we provide drug and alcohol testing and driver qualification services to clients throughout the United States. We have been in business for over a year now and currently service several thousand clients. We have an A rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

           

Our records show that the cardholder, ***** ******** *** ******** ******* applied for a USDOT number in order to be able to operate a commercial vehicle.

 

Our staff contacted the cardholder and confirmed that they had applied to operate a commercial vehicle. We asked the cardholder if they had enrolled in a drug and alcohol testing program and we’re told that they had not. Our sales representative then explained to the cardholder our services. Our company works with commercial drivers to get them into compliance with DOT substance abuse regulations. After explaining our services the cardholder purchased our services and specifically authorized us to charge their card the $195 annual testing fee.  They also contracted with us to provide him with a driver qualification file. The cardholder was required by Federal Regulation to prepare this file and he asked us to do it for him. We agreed on the price of $140 for the file for a total price of $335.  The cardholder give us her credit card number, billing address and security code and we then charged her card the authorized amount of $335.

 

Once that payment transaction was completed our staff went to work. We prepared a certificate showing that the cardholder was in compliance with USDOT drug and alcohol testing regulations and driver qualification. We then set up several drug testing clinics conveniently located to the cardholder. We also sent out a Service Agreement stating those obligations we had contracted to provide discuss work done for DQF. Those documents were mailed on 24 January 2014 and were received by the cardholder three or four days later. I have attached copies of these documents with this letter.

 

When the cardholder contracted our services with us they were told that if they wished to have further information regarding our terms and services that they could get that from our website at DOTComplianceservice.com.  On that website it states, under our cancellation policy:

 

Our sales reps clearly explain that by the end of the business day in which the sale is made the service is completed and the client’s paperwork is mailed out. Because the service is complete and the paperwork cannot be reclaimed from the ** ****** *******, cancellations will not be processed after 5:30pm EST on the day payment is received from the client.

 

Once we sent out the packet of information we never heard from the cardholder regarding any concern or issue they had regarding our services. If they had contacted us we could have worked out this issue without a need for them to dispute this charge. The cardholder knows exactly who we are, contracted with us for our services, and authorized us to charge their card after they gave us their credit card information. Thereafter, we performed the services that they asked us to perform and never told us to not follow through with our contract. This charge is legitimate and the service fee should be credited back to our account.

 

The client was contacted to do an interview for their driver qualification file and we left a message for them to call back and they never returned our calls.

 

 

 

***** ******

Operations Manager

DOT Compliance Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. In regards to the previous statement from DOT Compliance Services on ********** ***** ****** states that they would consider cancelling the service if ***** ******* contacted them. First of he did call them several times no one would answer his call. So I ** ******* ** ******** ******* **** contacted them on his behalf. It was NEVER stated to me by ***** that he should call nor did she ever say at any point that they would even consider refunding the money she simply stated that they would not refund the money it was their policy. Which could be found online. *** ******* was NEVER informed that there was a one day cancellation policy. Dot Compliance Services website did not work for me nor did it work for the Fraud Department at my bank. ***** did not authorize at any time for Dot Compliance Services to withdraw $335. As soon as he received the e-mail from them in that amount he started calling Dot Compliance Services and no one would answer the phone. The only reason he authorized any amount is because he was under the impression that ****, the agent with Dot Compliance Services, was with the Department of Transportation. He asked **** “Are you with DOT?” (MEANING THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION) and the agent responded “YES”. He would NOT have authorized even a penny to this company if he would not have been misled. Our Bank has accepted this as a fraudulent claim. I have spoken with the department of transportation the agent I spoke with told me that they are receiving a lot of phone calls about Dot Compliance Services scamming people. By making people believe they are with the Department of Transportation. He was  never mailed a “list” of places he could go for drug/alcohol testing he was mailed a MapQuest print out of ONE place which was also a lie by **** because *** ******* asked specifically if he could Concentra and he was told yes the place they sent in the paper is called ******** I would also like to note I am not asking for a refund on my behalf. As manager of Sunshine Freight INC. I am filing this complaint. The owner ***** ******* was scammed and mislead. No one from this company has attempted to contact him whether through phone, e-mail, or mail since I spoke with ***** (as ***** suggested they did). Nor did he ever ASK them to prepare a Driver Qualification File for him. In the process of **** misrepresenting himself as working for the Department of Transportation he told him that he had to have it BUT he was never informed it would cost extra. I state again as soon as he saw the amount of $335.00 *** ******* began trying to contact them. Assuming they were avoiding his calls he asked me to call and handle the matter. This charge is NOT legitimate and has been found as a fraudulent charge and we are NOT interested in doing business with this company in any way. I would also like to mention that this company contacted him the same day he received his DOT#. *** ******* was not aware at the time that the Department of Transportation released company contact information to the public making them vulnerable to scams such as with this company. So obviously he believed this companies agent when he answered *** *******’s question if he was with DOT meaning the Department of Transportation. I will be contacting the Department of Transportation again to file a formal complaint against this company for misrepresenting themselves as an agent of the Department of Transportation. As I have been reading from the BBB website and other websites we are far from the only people being taken advantage of by this company.

 Sincerely,

****** ***** ******** ******* ****

 

5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DOT Compliance Service LLC contacted our business one day after we registered with the FMCSA program of the Federal Department of Transportation. The gentleman represented himself as belonging to a compliance unit of the DOT (DID NOT DISCLOSE he represented a PRIVATE COMPANY but rather used the business name to intentionally mislead). He then proceeded to collect private information with the stated purpose of completing necessary requirements for compliance. At no point were we advised that this was an optional service for sale. When questioned, the representative provided INCORRECT information about requirements for drivers of vehicles for commerce in the state of Wisconsin with the intent to charge $450.00 FOR AN UNNECESSARY SERVICE. Calls to the ********* ******* ****** have confirmed that the representative's claim for what was needed was indeed FALSE.

Desired Settlement: We request that all information provided to this company be destroyed and the representative ******* ************** ********* **** provide written documentation that he has done so. Also, this company should disclose that it is a private business and NOT A GOVERNMENT AGENCY when making sales offers. The company should also not misrepresent statutory requirements in order to profit from the sales of its overinflated services.

Business Response:

Within that complaint ****** ***** of ****** *** ************ **** complained that our salesman contacted him and acted in an unprofessional
manner
. I have reviewed that sales call and, as we record our sales calls, listened to the calls in question.

 

On 25 March 2014, at 8:54 a.m. our sales staff called the company and asked for ****** *****. We
asked for ****** because on 24 March ****** had appl
ied to the FMCSA for a USDOT number.
That
information is made available to the public and we used that information
to call ****** and discuss wi
th him
compl
iance issues that operators of commercial vehicle must get into compliance with. When ******
applied
for a USDOT number, he stated on his applicat
ion that he would be operating a commercial vehicle.

 

As our salesperson began talking to ****** he had no opportunity to make any sales presentation to
him because as soon as ****** heard that we were calling about his USDOT number he transferred our
salesmen to a co-employee, ***** *****
.
When ***** came on the line she did not give our salesperson a
chance to make any sales presentation either. She stated point blank that
t
heir company did not operate a
commercial vehicle and that she would contact the ********* ***** ******
and confirm this.
She concluded
the conversation with our salesperson by telling him that after she had talked to the State Police that she
would call him back.

 

On the next day, March 26, ***** called back and talked to our salesperson. She told him that the
State Po
liceman had assured her she was not in need of any DOT compliance issues.
She went on to accuse
our salesperson of making false and misleading statements to get her to purchase services they d
idn't need.

 

After listening to a recording of both phone calls it is apparent that:

 

1.       Our salesperson was given no opportunity to introduce himself or explain why he was calling;

2.       Our salesperson never was given an opportunity to make any sales presentation;

3.       Our salesperson did not sell them any services;

4.        We contacted them based upon information made available to the public by the FMCSA and
based on information they gave to the government; and

 

1.       This complaint, made primarily by *****, is a hyper critical complaint made about a salesman
who had no opportunity to even try and do the right things that she alleges that he did
.

 

***** ******
Operations Manager

DOT Compliance Service

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:
 

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********  and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The salesperson collected private information including name, address and driver's license on an original call.  There was more than one phone call made with this business.  The salesperson did make a sales offer in the original call AND did offer incorrect information after questions were asked.  I stand by the original request of  a statement in writing regarding my private information. 

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went on line a week ago on a Sunday morning to apply for a DOT number for my husband. He owns a pickup and a trailer that will be over the 10,001 and under the 26,000 weights when it is loaded. He got a call on his cell phone the very next morning from a sales person saying he was from DOT Compliance Services LLC,my Husband thought he was talking to someone from DOT. This salesperson put the fear of God in him saying he would be subject to a fine of up to $10,000 if he was not in compliant. He then told them there would be 4 drivers, but we do not need CDL's to drive this pickup and trailer, just a DOT number. When my husband called me at work telling me that he was really confused could I call this 800 number and find out what he had just agreed to. I have tried to contact that company numerous times to get our money back without any luck. I tried 4 different people who have sent me either an email or an envelope in the mail and one person who gave me his cell number. No one will return my calls to get our money back as we do not need them at all. This past Saturday we got the letter from DOT, a week after we applied for the number telling us we need to call in to finalize the setting up of the DOT number. The lady I spoke with yesterday at DOT was very helpful, she said we would most likely get lots of companies contacting us, by phone and by mail. But in the end we are responsible for being compliant, not a 3rd party business. I would like to see them return the $700 charge that they took from us praying on a person that is new to all this and wondering if it is all worth it.

Desired Settlement: credit our credit card back the transaction that took place October 28th, 2013.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

********, there is a credit on our account this morning on our ******** ****.  

Talk about a good laugh, we have been married for 30 years and been through a lot-the comment about preserving marital harmony is totally inappropriate.     We are country folk that feel sorry for a company that has to stoop to these comments.  

Regards,

 ***** *****

 

 

 

Business Response: In responding to this compliant I would like to state that when we talked to this customer we clearly explained to him we were not with the USDOT. The problem here was that we sold this drug testing policy to the husband who was doing the hiring and the driving while his wife was the one running the office and paying the bills. Whenever we talked to the husband about whether he wanted these services he insisted that he did and to disregard what his wife was telling us. That is why we did not return her calls as it was the husband who purchased the services. We never talked to her, yet she wrote this compliant making several untruthful allegations.  In resolving this complaint I refunded this client his money in part just because I wanted to help him preserve some martial harmony. We did the work that the husband contracted for us to do and his wife's comments are inappropriate and untruthful.

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted By *** with DOT Compliance services 1 day after registering for my DOT # However when He called he didn't state the he was with DOT compliance services. He left a message saying that there was an issue with my DOT application.That I need to contact him right away regarding I my DOT number. I called him the next day he stated that I had to buy the drug and alcohol testing kit before I could get my dot number that if I didn't do this that I was not in compliance according to DOT this kit costed the $325.00 He also stated that I need a driver safety record . He then said that another employee from the company would call the next day to interview for the driver safety file. I spoke with the women from the company and answered 10 questions and then hung up the phone still not sure about this whole thing and feeling uneasy I check with my local DOT office and asked if I need any of this to get my DOT # and i Was told that I didn't. I called them back to asked for a refund and was told that if I did get a refund that I would be audited.They used this as a scare tactic! They misrepresented them selves as the federal DOT and saying that I need the certain things before I could get my dot # . I was lead to believe i truly needed this to get my number and when I asked for a refund I was told that I would be Audited which is not at all the truth . This company is out steal money from people! They give people incorrect information and lie to them. they use scare tactics to keep you from going thru with the refund . I would have gotten my money back if it weren't for being lied to. and scared thinking I would be audited. this company misrepresented them selves on several different occasions and I have the messages on my answering machine to prove it. Watch out for this company! 

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $325.00

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Received refund of 325.00.

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

Business Response: When we contacted this client we discussed him the applicable USDOT regulations, one of which was that he was required to set up a Driver Qualification File. He understood that requirement and contracted with us to provide that service. We then went to work and prepared the file, which took several hours. When the file was complete we sent it to him. It was only at that point that he decided that he didn't want it. We told him that since the work had been completed that we couldn't refund his money. He then filed this BBB complaint. In order to resolve this complaint I went ahead and refunded his money. This case is a good example of someone who feels that they have to paint a horrible picture of how they claim that they were treated in a effort to force the other party to accommodate their concerns. We refunded his money and yet insist that he was treated professionally and provided a service that he ended getting free.

11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used them last year for my business. This year I do not have the business, and they state that they had sent me a letter, of which I never received. They proceeded to go into my bank account and took out $230.00. I had no phone number to contact them. Now because they sent out their paper work for drug testing. They will not refund. I have not had my business since December,2012.

Desired Settlement: Just Refund my money back that they had no right taking.

Business Response: Issued a refund

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales woman called me on my personal cell phone number and represented herself as someone representing the DOT and said that I had to have a durg and alcohol test in order to obtain my DOT number which I had just applied for online the evening prior. I told her that I was not aware that I needed this to obtain my DOT number and she said I had to have it and I must to it now before I could receive my DOT number. She asked for my credit card information and I was very confused as to why I was having to purchase this. She said they would send me the kit and I would have to go to a facility to take the test. I again asked why I had to do this and she said it was a requirement for DOT. I finally gave her my credit card number and she said I would have to pay $185 for this kit. I told her I did not understand why I had to have this and she said again that I must purchase this and take this test in order to receive my DOT number. After the phone call I was very confused so I went to my local Liscense Bureau and the woman told me I did not need this in the state of Missouri. I called a local highway patorl and he said this was a scam they pulled on many people. They watch for applications for DOT numbers on the internet and then they immediately contact the applicant and represent themselves as agents of DOT and tell the customer they must purchase these kits in order to receive their numbers. I contacted the company and requested that they stop my order because this was not something I needed. The sales lady said she did not have the authority to do this and that I would have to talk to the owner. I have left three messages and he refuses to call me back. They have already charged my credit card and will not issue a refund although I called back within hours of the order to request a refund. I cannot get anyone at the company to call me back and now they put me on hold and never return to the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to refund my money ($185). I do not need this product and was not told that the sale was final and nonrefundable at the time of the sales call. They misrepresented themselves and led me to believe this was a required product when in fact that is not at all the case. I cannot afford to loose this money on something that I do not need and do not want simply becuase the company lied to me and now will not take my calls. Please help.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding to our office the concern expressed by a client regarding their enrollment in our drug and alcohol consortium. Let me provide the following explanation regarding the client’s experience with our company and our resolution of his concern.


Our company, DOT Compliance Testing, LLC, provides drug and alcohol testing services to commercial drivers nationwide. We contact these drivers based on information made available to the public by the United States Department of Transportation. It was based on this information that we contacted this client to solicit his business.


When we talked to the client we explained our services in detail. At the conclusion of that discussion, he accepted our services and authorized us to charge his credit card for the $185 annual set up fee.


Subsequently, the client called back to our office and said he wanted to cancel our services as he had decided that he didn’t need them, and therefore wanted a refund. At that point, we had already performed the services that we had contracted to provide him. Nevertheless, our office repeatedly attempted to contact the client to talk to him and resolve his concern. We were unable to get the client to answer or return our calls to work the issue out.


In any event, we do not wish to keep this client as a client if he is unsatisfied with our service. Therefore, we have refunded this client his money back to his credit card and inactivated his account with us. We believe that this should resolve this issue to the satisfaction of the client



Sincerely,




 

***** * ****** ********** *******

DOT Compliance Testing.