Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Icon Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 344-7948 Fax: (208) 343-4587 1010 N. Whitewater Park Blvd, Boise, ID 83703 http://www.iconcreditunion.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Icon Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Icon Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Icon Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1952 in ID
Business Management
Mr. John Cotner, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Cotner, Senior Vice President
Principal: Ms. Connie Miller, President/CEO
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS LOANS REAL ESTATE LOANS MORTGAGES RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE

Service Area
Southern Idaho and La Grande, Oregon

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Icon Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1010 N. Whitewater Park Blvd

    Boise, ID 83703

  • 1111 W. Jefferson St.

    Boise, ID 83702 (208) 384-7429

  • 12598 W. Explorer Dr.

    Boise, ID 83713 (208) 344-7948

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    209 Depot St.

    La Grande, OR 97850 (541) 963-2632

  • 2201 S. Cole Rd.

    Boise, ID 83708 (208) 321-9900

  • 485 W. Overland Rd.

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 258-2525

  • 550 W. Fort St.

    Boise, ID 83724 (208) 342-0981

  • 7615 W. Riverside Dr.

    Boise, ID 83714 (208) 344-7948

  • 9769 W. Emerald St.

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 947-0123

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the co-signer on a loan for my son's car through ICON. I took over the payments for him after the 4th payment. I have been making every payment since then and finally made the 48th payment in February 2013. Every time I call for information, they refuse to give me any, saying I have no rights as the co-signer. I tried to call before making the last payment to see what the final payoff amount was and they wouldn't give it to me. So I made the final payment in full. Then, a month after making the final payment I started getting phone calls saying i am in collections. they said i missed two payments. when i proved that i paid all the payments, they continued to say that i owed them the same amount of money but they couldn't figure out why. when i asked them to prove how i owed them more money they couldn't even find all the records of the payments i made. I ordered all my bank statements from the entire length of the loan to prove that I don't owe what they are saying i owe and they still refuse to budge or listen to my proof. Every time i call they tell me I owe a different amount but they still don't know why. I just want to get my pink slip and be done with the company but I refuse to pay money that I don't owe with no proof or reasons for why i would owe them money.

Desired Settlement: I want the Pink slip to the car and want the collection company to stop harassing me. I want them to actually go through the entire loan with me month by month and show me how it is that they think i owe them more money.

Business Response:

This customer is the co-signer on the loan for her son’s car. The loan term was 48 months, however, over the term of the loan there were 15 payments that were paid after the 10 day grace period, resulting in late charges. This was explained to the co-signer, and the account was reviewed with her on April 4, 2013.  Copies of the loan statements indicating the late payments and late charges were also sent to her on April 4, 2013, based on her request.  On April 29, 2013 the account was again reviewed with her and she was told that Icon would be willing to settle the balance for half of what was owed.   She was told that the decision needed to be approved by management and she would be contacted with the amount of settlement on April 30, 2013. This was followed through and she agreed to the settlement amount on April 30, 2013.  Once the casher check is received for the settlement amount, the title will be released and mailed to her.

***** **** ***** ***** ** ****** ******** ** ******* * **** ****** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and decided to accept this resolution because it is only slightly higher than what I feel I truly owe.  However i would like to point out that I was not told about the settlement offer until I called back on April 30. As of April 29th when I spoke with **** I was still being harassed and called a liar and being told that I had to pay all 15 late fees. My contract does not list an exact due date for each payment, only that a payment needs to be made each month. I ordered all of my bank statements and there were only 6 late payments (not 15), two of which i already paid the late fee for. So I actually only owe 4 late payments according to the way they charge them. In addition, my contract says absolutely nothing about a late fee or a grace period. It only says that a payment needs to be made each month for 48 months. When talking to the company on April 30 (I finally spoke with a different employee named ****** who was willing to let me talk) She acknowledged that I had one of the old contracts that did NOT say anything about due dates, grace periods OR late fees. She is the one who informed me about the deal and was confused as to why the other employee never told me about it. I accepted because she was friendly and didn't harass me like **** did. And because I just want this whole ordeal to be over with. 

 

Regards,

 

 

********* *******