Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Icon Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 344-7948 Fax: (208) 343-4587 View Additional Phone Numbers 1010 N. Whitewater Park Blvd, Boise, ID 83703 http://www.iconcreditunion.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Icon Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Icon Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Icon Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1952 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs
Phone Number: (503) 378-4140
dcbs.dfcsmail@state.or.us

Business Management
Mr. John Cotner, Senior Vice President Ms. Connie Miller, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Cotner, Senior Vice President
Principal: Ms. Connie Miller, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Retirement Planning Service

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Service Area
Southern Idaho and La Grande, Oregon

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Icon Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1010 N. Whitewater Park Blvd

    Boise, ID 83703 (800) 877-3174 (208) 344-7948

  • 1111 W. Jefferson St.

    Boise, ID 83702 (208) 384-7428

  • 12598 W. Explorer Dr.

    Boise, ID 83713 (208) 908-5215

  • 209 Depot St.

    La Grande, OR 97850 (541) 963-2632

  • 2201 S. Cole Rd.

    Boise, ID 83708 (208) 321-9900

  • 485 W. Overland Rd.

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 258-2525

  • 550 W. Fort St.

    Boise, ID 83724 (208) 342-0981

  • 7615 W. Riverside Dr.

    Boise, ID 83714

  • 910 N Orchard St

    Boise, ID 83706 (208) 344-4393

  • 9769 W. Emerald St.

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 947-0123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a account with Icon Credit Union and transferred fund into it from another bank. The fund showed in the account on there website funded, NO pending or HOLD on funds was stated on account. I linked the account with my other online. It sends 2 test deposits and withdrawals to verify it is correct which it did from my WellsFargo account. No problem, I submitted a transfer after the link was approved and the next day Icon charged me a $29 fee for Insufficient Funds and no transfer was done. They said my funds are on hold for 3 days I cant touch them and I should have known that. Absolutely ridiculous that they are stealing money from people trying to transfer there money. Some how I cant touch the funds, yet they can take $29 out of my account to charge me a fee? The manager that said I should have known my money is untouchable is Wade D***. This seems criminal that they can take $29 out of my account yet it says nothing on there about the funds on hold or pending. and also charge me a $29 fee for doing nothing, they didn't front the transfer nothing happened and they stole $29 out of my account.

Desired Settlement: GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK YOU STOLE FROM ME

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

Mr. ******* opened a new account with Icon Credit Union via Icon's online portal on 4-19-2016.  Mr. ******* funded this new account with an ACH transfer from his Charles Schwab account.  This ACH was received by Icon on 04-20-2016.   Per Icon's new account procedure,  a 2-day hold is placed on any ACH deposit transferred into a new account that is opened online.   On 4-21-2016 an ACH withdrawal request was received to transfer the same amount of funds that were used to open the Icon Credit Union account into a Wells Fargo account.  Due to the 2-day hold that was placed 04-20-2016, the funds were not able to be transferred.   A standard $29.00 fee was assessed for not having sufficient funds in his account to process the withdrawal request. 

Regards,

Leslie Y****

Chief Retail Officer

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

 They give new customers no notice that they can not touch funds for two days. Even after I called and asked them about the fee she said she wasn't sure I could even touch it the third day, why wouldn't it say on their website that the funds are either pending deposit or funds not available.? Also why wouldn't it just reject the transfer why would I be charged a $29 fee when nothing was done? Also how did you take the $29 fee out of my account balance yet I couldn't transfer any of it? Seems like shady practices to me . 

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:

The $29 fee has been refunded to the member account and the hold was released on 4/22. Funds have been available for withdrawal since that time. We have attempted to contact this member to come up with an agreed upon resolution and have left messages, but have not been able to speak with him to resolve. We hope to be able to apologize for any miscommunication and are looking forward to helping this member complete a transfer request or provide any service that this member needs to complete.

In response to the further complaint: At the time of the online account opening and transfer request, we do notify the members that the debiting of the transfer account will occur within two business days. In our case, we put the funds into the account right away and hold them until they clear and the other account is debited. When the funds are on hold, the website shows the available balance and the ledger balance, which would show any funds held. When the transfer in question was requested from Icon to Wells Fargo, it was requested as an ACH withdrawal which, with the funds being on hold, there was not sufficient funds to complete the withdrawal, causing a fee. Standard practice for insufficient funds fees is to take from available funds in the account or draw accounts below the available balance allowing the account to go negative for any withdrawal request including ACH, checks, etc.

Again, we look forward to speaking with this member to resolve.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

 But there was one issue that when setting up the account link it deposited and withdrew two small test transfers which didn't trigger any fee. So how would anyone think that they couldn't transfer their own funds at that time .

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are trying to charge me a wire refund fee for there time when I provided all the routing numbers an accounts I was instructed to and verified and reveries them 3 times with them. There are trying to pass on fees to me and refuse to refund it. It's unethical business practices and there not being homes at all. I look look at it as a white collar theft and plan on taking them to small claims or hiring a lawyer if it's not settled within the next few days. How can business practices like this even be allowed in one of the greatest countries ever?

Desired Settlement: I want to have that fee refund and I want to spy off my loan in the next few months and then I can move on to another bank.

Business Response:

**. ****,

We have received your complaint filed through the BBB.   Hopefully you have had a chance to review the email that was sent to you on 04/05/2016 by our Chief Retail Officer, ****** ***** addressing your concern as well as your behavior to our staff.   In case you didn't receive the email, I've attached a copy of it for your reference.   I have confirmed that $65.00 in fees have been credited to your account as of 04.05.2016.  

Regards,

**** ******

Chief Lending Officer

 

8/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had gotten a loan by ICON for a car. The payment a month is $341.00. A few months into the loan I recieved a letter stating that I need to submit another form of insurance. I followed their instructions and gave them the requested information. They then added an insurance policy onto my car with out permission even after I had given them the requested information stating that the car was fully insured. I gave them the information again and the acknowledged it and said that they would refund the money that they added to my loan. They did not refund the total amount that they owed to me. They again changed the loan amount. I am now getting letters stating that they will repo my car. I have looked at my bank accounts and it has shown that I have never missed a payment! Ever! Not only did this credit union make a mistake in not taking off the extra amount they tacked onto my loan (they never had a right to in the first place.) But they lied in telling me that they were sorry and that the problem was fixed. There new payment they have come up with has no explanation as to why it is the amount it is and completely impossible for someone to pay.

Desired Settlement: I would like this settled by ICON respecting the agreement that was signed for the amount of $341.00 a month. I would like ICON to adjust the loan to the original payment amount before they added an un authorized insurance plan. If ICON needs insurance papers yet again I can get them to them. I would like an apology! This has caused so much stress I can not even begin to explain!

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

Representatives from Icon Credit Union spoke with  *** ********* on 12/30/2014 regarding this complaint.  After listening to her concerns, we contacted our collateral protection insurance provider, ***** ******** *********, and determined that *** ********* indeed had
valid insurance on her vehicle from the date of the loan origination, 3/8/14.  Unfortunately, when ***** ******** finally received the proper proof of her insurance, they only looked at the date of the notice, and not when the policy went into effect.  Therefore, they only refunded part of the force placed insurance premium.   Knowing that *** ********* has had the proper coverage in place since the date the loan originated, Icon Credit Union has credited *** ********* member with the full refund and adjusted her monthly loan payment to reflect the contracted amount.  *** ********* is now due for her January payment, for the regular installment amount of $341.00.   We have spoken with ** ********* and she is satisfied with this resolution.   

Please contact me with any further questions or concerns.

Regards,
**** ****** ********* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Icon Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart