Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Icon Credit Union ?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Icon Credit Union

Phone: (208) 384-7428 Fax: (208) 384-7429 7615 W. Riverside Dr., Boise, ID 83714 http://www.iconcreditunion.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers credit union financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Icon Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Icon Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Icon Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1952 in ID Business incorporated: 01/01/1952 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Cotner, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Cotner, Senior Vice President
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS


Additional Locations

  • 7615 W. Riverside Dr.

    Boise, ID 83714 (208) 384-7428

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had gotten a loan by ICON for a car. The payment a month is $341.00. A few months into the loan I recieved a letter stating that I need to submit another form of insurance. I followed their instructions and gave them the requested information. They then added an insurance policy onto my car with out permission even after I had given them the requested information stating that the car was fully insured. I gave them the information again and the acknowledged it and said that they would refund the money that they added to my loan. They did not refund the total amount that they owed to me. They again changed the loan amount. I am now getting letters stating that they will repo my car. I have looked at my bank accounts and it has shown that I have never missed a payment! Ever! Not only did this credit union make a mistake in not taking off the extra amount they tacked onto my loan (they never had a right to in the first place.) But they lied in telling me that they were sorry and that the problem was fixed. There new payment they have come up with has no explanation as to why it is the amount it is and completely impossible for someone to pay.

Desired Settlement: I would like this settled by ICON respecting the agreement that was signed for the amount of $341.00 a month. I would like ICON to adjust the loan to the original payment amount before they added an un authorized insurance plan. If ICON needs insurance papers yet again I can get them to them. I would like an apology! This has caused so much stress I can not even begin to explain!

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

Representatives from Icon Credit Union spoke with  *** ********* on 12/30/2014 regarding this complaint.  After listening to her concerns, we contacted our collateral protection insurance provider, ***** ******** *********, and determined that *** ********* indeed had
valid insurance on her vehicle from the date of the loan origination, 3/8/14.  Unfortunately, when ***** ******** finally received the proper proof of her insurance, they only looked at the date of the notice, and not when the policy went into effect.  Therefore, they only refunded part of the force placed insurance premium.   Knowing that *** ********* has had the proper coverage in place since the date the loan originated, Icon Credit Union has credited *** ********* member with the full refund and adjusted her monthly loan payment to reflect the contracted amount.  *** ********* is now due for her January payment, for the regular installment amount of $341.00.   We have spoken with ** ********* and she is satisfied with this resolution.   

Please contact me with any further questions or concerns.

Regards,
**** ****** ********* ****