Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Instant Equity Auto, LLC

Phone: (208) 378-4422 Fax: (208) 376-8822 10221 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83704

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides quality used automobiles. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Instant Equity Auto, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Instant Equity Auto, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2003 Business started: 02/07/2003 in ID Business incorporated 03/01/2003 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W State St , Boise ID 83703
Phone Number: (208) 334-8000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ed Christensen, Owner Mr. Tim A Sanders, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Christensen, Owner
Principal: Mr. Tim A Sanders, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Summer Hours: Monday through Saturday 9am-9pm Winter Hours: Monday through Saturday 9am-8pm
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Card, Check
Service Area
Treasure Valley and the surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
Instant Equity Auto

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Instant Equity Auto, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10221 W Fairview Ave

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 378-4422


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfortunately, I bought a car from this crooked establishment. They are the epitome of used car sales places. First off, I was sold a totaled car (that they supposedly didn't know was totaled) that turned into a driving disaster waiting to happen within weeks of owning it. That makes me question the entire business right off the bat, when it was painfully obvious to anyone that has any type of automotive experience/knowledge (obviously I don't or I would have known as soon as I looked at it). When it was brought the manager/owner's attention, he played victim. He agreed to take the car back and get me into a different vehicle, but after two weeks of being put off and jerked around over the phone, I went to their office and demanded resolution. I found a great vehicle that I really like, but it doesn't stop there. I paid $750 out of a $1000 down payment and paid two car payments ($200 each) totaling $1150 for a pile of crap that I was scared to drive for two months! When I got into the new vehicle I told the manager/owner/crook that I couldn't afford ANOTHER $500 down payment. He said that was ok, he would take care of the down payment. Now he's taken it upon himself to start taking money out of my bank account WITHOUT my permission with the excuse of "well, you didn't return my phone call so I did what I needed to do"... He had called and left one message on a Wednesday and took my money on that same Friday!!!!! He's now demanding $600 from me, of which I technically only owe $100 of, which I shouldn't have to worry about paying because of everything they have put me trough. He says I got all that money back with the trade in, I beg to differ. He didn't loose a penny in this whole situation and I guarantee he MADE money out of all of this, no matter how much he tries to say he's the victim here. This dealership is beyond shady and needs to have their doors slammed shut for good!!!!

Desired Settlement: I should not be forced to pay the $600 they are demanding. This entire experience has been horrific and I shouldn't have to pay these crooks another penny.

Business Response: A 2001 Chevy Malibu was traded into Instant Equity Auto and several days later the vehicle was sold to ******* ****** on 4/10/14.  The 2001 Chevy Malibu was represented by the original customer that traded it in as having a clean title and a good car.  As mentioned ******* ****** purchased the vehicle several days later.   A payoff on behalf of the original customer was sent on the 2001 Chevy Malibu to the financial company and the title was received nearly a month in a half later.  We then discovered that the title was indeed branded and immediately contacted ******* ****** and informed her of the situation with the title. We gave her the option to unwind the vehicle, keep it, or trade for another.   She said the vehicle had an issue and decided to bring it back and we traded her out of it for another vehicle on 6/18/14.   We sold her a very nice Dodge Durango and gave her all but $399 back on the 01 Chevy Malibu as she drove it for two months.   We discounted our Durango over $1300 to help her with a lower payment and paid another bank fee to get her financed.  ******* ****** was able to purchase a much better vehicle even though her credit was greatly challenged.  What ******* ****** has failed to mention is that she bounced the $250 down payment on her original car and refuses to pay the down payment on the car we traded her out of.  This customer was very difficult to get financed and was helped in every way possible to make the situation right.   She is angry because she still owes Instant Equity Auto $600.92 and would rather blame someone else.  We have made several attempts to contact ******* and she has refused to call us back until we were able to contact her at work.  Once contacted she admitted that she still owed Instant Equity Auto and agreed to pay $100 on the 6th and 21st of every month until the debt was paid in full.  Obviously upon learning that we still wanted payment , she then decided to slam a reputable company on the BBB.    We empathize that ******* was not happy about the branded title issue as we were as well.  We are currently in a legal battle against the party that traded the vehicle in originally because the branded title was never disclosed.  Nonetheless, we did everything in our power to rectify this situation.  We take tremendous pride with helping thousands of customers purchase vehicles with both good and less than good credit.    There comes a point however, when individuals need to take some responsibility for their own actions.   The down payment is still owed bottom line!

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Instant Equity Auto, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart