Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Combs Car Corral?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Combs Car Corral

Phone: (208) 376-1070 9640 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83704 http://www.combscarcorral.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a used automobile dealership.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Combs Car Corral meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Combs Car Corral include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Combs Car Corral
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Combs, President Ms. Kyla Westerberg, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Combs, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Kyla Westerberg, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Combs Car Corral has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9640 Fairview Ave.

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 376-1070

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait and Switch is illegal in Idaho. They advertise right now you can get any car on the lot with your trade or $500 down, And of course no one turned down. I went in to get in on this deal I heard on the radio and their website. They told me I had to have the $500 cash because my vehicle wasn't worth $500 to them. I called my dad to get advise on what to do next. He said ask to speak to the General manager because a bait and switch is illegal. I went in again and asked to speak to the manager and was told they did not have one. He **** gave me a phone number to the Nampa store. I called them and spoke to *******. He told me the manager was not there but insisted on hearing what I had to say. I told him my issue I had at the Boise store and he gave me a run around about taxes on vehicles. I'm not the one running this promotion, I would think they would have considered that when they ran this promotion. The ad did not say you have to have a trade in more than $500 worth of value. I get shot down every time I go in there for the false advertisements they run. I do have recordings of all conversations between myself and the sales person, plus the add and how they are wording it.

Desired Settlement: A: I want them to hold up on their word and get me into any vehicle I want on the lot and I will pay my "little" (as worded in the ad) down with my taxes. And I never want to hear and ad from them that is misleading again. B: I would like a settlement for my wasted time and gas and frustrations with this. But most of all I would like some reprehending, such as fines, for the Bait and Switch.I want this made right.

Business Response: I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or perceived strife that this customer may have experienced based on what he perceives as a "bait and switch." I would be more than happy to sell a car to *** ******, however, he must either have a $500 down payment or a trade-in that is worth $500, or a possible combination of the two as well as commit to a deferred payment from this year's income taxes (the amount of which is determined by the price of the vehicle being purchased and the customer's financial means. At that point, based on *** ******'s stability and monthly income, we can find a vehicle that suits his budget. As to *** ******'s desired resolution, I can only offer what I previously have, and that is to sell him a vehicle that he can financially afford, with the required down payment. We do not believe our ad to be misleading, nor are we employing any "bait and switch" tactics.

11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 I had bought a vehicle from Combs Car Corral I had possession of the vehicle for 5 days then I had to return it due to reduced hours at work. When I took the vehicle back they had kept my down payment of 1500 and said because they had already paid commission to the salesman. I let this go even though I thought so I returned the vehicle in better condition then was received and now they will sell it again and pay commission a second time? Now some years later I was looking through my credit report and it was reported that it was volunteer repossessed which looks bad on my credit and also is not accurate to what happened at all. I'm just concerned that this is happening to others besides me and I don't think it was quite fair they kept the down payment. Also how they reported it in my creditThank you for your time,******* *******

Desired Settlement: My 1500 dollars back or at least an apology and that they will work on there system to better report these situations to the credit agencies

Business Response:

*** ******* *******

 

What I have offered to **. ******** s to have the negative credit report from his voluntary repossession removed from his credit (it’s just that he will have to first contact the credit bureau and file a dispute).  As to *** ********* question about sales tax and commission being paid multiple times, I am unsure what he is referring to.  He will need to be more specific.  Sales tax and commission are paid once per sale of the vehicle.  So, for the deal in question, sales tax would have been paid once.  Regardless of the amount of sales tax or commission,*** ******* would not have had his down payment refunded to him.  He purchased a vehicle and signed a legally binding contract.  Now, had *** ******* chosen, back in 2009, to take us up on our offer of trading into a lesser expensive vehicle, he would not have had to pay sales tax again (trading into a cheaper vehicle, by law, negates sales tax).  However, *** ******* elected to refuse that offer.  The second offer that was made was simply Combs Car Corral’s way of trying to extend a helping hand to a customer by offering him a discount on another purchase at some point within 12 months of his initial purchase…a way of “refunding,” if you will, some of his initial down payment.  None of these things were required by law.  They were merely offered because we are a reputable dealership and always try to keep our customers happy.  *** ******* refused both offers. 

 

In regards to his desired resolution of a refund, the answer to that is an emphatic no!  Not only has it been 4 years, but again* *** ******* signed a legally binding contract.  I apologize for any inconvenience that *** ******* may have experienced, but I feel that my offer of allowing the negative report to be removed (by way of him filing a dispute with the credit bureau and Combs Car Corral, in return, not fighting it) from his credit is more than fair.

 

Sincerely,

**** **********

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from combs car corral, given there guarantee that all mechanical issues on the car prior to purchase had been taken care of and that the mechanic did a full inspection I purchased the car and yes signed the as is contract, not even 24 hours later while the car was being driven on the freeway the clutch went out causing my wife to almost crash, in turn called combs strait away to get it fixed and they turned around and told me it was hose then after having the car in the shop for a week they turned around and told me it would cost an additional 500.00 to repair the clutch plus labor fee's, i hadn't even had the car 24 hours, this is outrageous and unfair.

Desired Settlement: I would have just liked them to have placed me into a different car.

Business Response: In response to the made by ****** ******** regarding a 1997 Nissan Maxima purchased 9/10/12, Combs Car Corral, unfortunately, is to meet the desired settlement.
*** ******** purchased a used vehicle for a very low price with very high miles, No guarantees were made about the running condition of the vehicle, or any of its mechanical components. We do our absolute best to ensure that the vehicles we sell are of good quality. The hard fact is that we cannot predict the future mechanical condition of a vehicle. Furthermore, this is the first complaint I’ve heard from this customer. It would seem that she could have first mentioned a problem to one of my employees rather than going straight to the BBB. Regardless, *** ********* vehicle was towed for free to our Boise shop, she was given a free loaner vehicle to drive while hers was being repaired, as well as she received interest free financing on the repair bill.
 
In summation, I would like to say that I am very apologetic that *** ******** had a problem with her vehicle so soon after purchase.  However, as a three time consumer, *** ******** should know that Combs Car Corral is not in the business to take advantage of our customers, and that their satisfaction is our top priority. Unfortunately, as previously mentioned, we are unable to meet the desired resolution. If *** ******** would like to discuss the matter further, she may call our Nampa location at any time and request to speak with *****, the Administrative Manager.
 
Kyla Westerberg General Manager