Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 455-2272 Fax: (208) 455-1886 15933 Idaho Center Blvd., Nampa, ID 83687 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1984 Business started: 12/01/1970 Business started locally: 12/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:


Business Management
Mr. Butch Fisk, General Manager Ms. Jessica Berg, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Tom Diebert, Parts Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jessica Berg, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Butch Fisk, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
First Sales Leasing, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15933 Idaho Center Blvd.

    Nampa, ID 83687 (208) 455-2272

  • PO Box 1550

    Nampa, ID 83653


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: TST performed a recall on my 2005 Prius, upon picking it up there were some noticeable things wrong there was a gouge on the right side plastic and that my glove box would not stay closed, and you could see the glue sticking out around my GPS. They ordered the part that they gouged and fixed the display and the GPS prob. and told me they adjusted my glove box I left and on my way home my glove box came open and would stay shut for a very short amount of time and I noticed that the removable mat on the inside was bowed in the middle so when I took it in for them to replaced the gouged piece I told them that my glove box was still popping open and wouldn't stay shut and that the middle mat was bowed he closed my glove compartment and said well it closed now and that the mat was just warped from ware/tare so I went inside to wait for them to replace the part and when they came in to tell me it was done they had the girl with the paperwork tell me ok your glove compartment was readjusted and we cant fix it any further so here's the cost to replace it. I said well I had no problems with my glove box ever before the recall and they said let us know if you want to order the glove box. I thought to myself well they said they adjusted it again so I got in my car and it no longer closes at all now so I called the mechanics department and told them that now it doesn't close at all and he set up an appointment to come back in and when I came in I told them this has not been a problem before the recall and now its completely broken and you need to fix it, this is your fault it is broken, they seemed like they wanted to fix it but after an almost two hour wait a lady came back in and told me there was nothing more that they could do but order me the part and I would half to pay for it I asked to talk to a MNG. and I was told she was on a conference call I asked for the 800 number and called them they said they cant make them replace it for me, and that I need to seek other options.

Desired Settlement: I would like the glove box replaced by TST they broke my glove box and it needs fixed but I should not half to pay for something that I am not at fault for. Also I would like to add the glove box has a removable tray my tray is jammed under the plastic and I don't have the tools to get it out and I have pictures I will happily give to you as visual evidence that this is something I am not capable of doing to my glove box (It would be compared with my sisters 2005 Prius with a working glove box.

Business Response: 19 August 2014 To Whom It May Concern: We appreciate *** ****** taking the time to share her feedback with us. *** ******** vehicle came into our dealership on 12/13/2013 with 48,314 miles and a concern regarding the instrument lights not working/reading correctly and the display dimming out intermittently. Our technician diagnosed the combination meter ECU had failed and needed to be replaced. Our technician also diagnosed a low voltage error that was being triggered by a low 12-volt battery and recommended battery replacement. The combination meter ECU repair was covered under a warranty enhancement program and the customer authorized battery replacement. The repairs were completed and we did not hear from *** ****** regarding any concerns with any related repairs until her appointment on 5/8/2014 at 51,086 miles. At this time, the customer dealt directly with our Service Manager and noted concerns of her vehicle’s fuel gauge not working properly, the glove compartment would not stay shut, a scratch on the passenger side dash area, and the speaker on top of the GPS was loose. The customer was advised that during the repairs that were completed five months prior, the technician would not have needed to interfere with any of these components. As an effort of goodwill, our Service Manager authorized for a technician to diagnose the components with concerns. The technician was able to adjust a pad piece near the GPS and adjust the glove box as best as possible. The only way to remedy the gouged trim piece was to replace it, so we ordered a replacement piece as a goodwill gesture. We were unable to duplicate a concern with the fuel gauge. On 6/24/2014 and 51,963 miles the customer came back in for us to replace the trim piece at no charge. The customer also requested us to program a key fob and noted that the glove compartment was still popping open. Our technician again adjusted the glove compartment as best as possible and it was recommended that the customer replace the glove compartment to fully resolve the concern. The recommended parts & labor cost would be $196.88. On 7/14/2014 and 52,259 miles, the customer came back in with concern of the glove compartment not closing at all. At this time, it was again recommended that the customer replace the glove compartment, but the customer did not authorize any repairs. After reviewing all the repair documents and timeline of events, we will not cover the replacement of the glove compartment for the customer.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Toyota Prius in for them to service with new tires,oil change, spark plug replacement, transmission service, temp sensor, and temp gauge. My car was running perfectly with no apparent issues. All the things I took it in for were routine maintenance except the temp valve and sensor. The "check engine" light was on which is the only inclination I had that something needed fixed. The dealership ran all the diagnostic testing when I dropped my car off and provided a list of codes that came up on their system requiring repair. There were NO BATTERY CODES that came up on that list. When I went to pick up my car the next day when the work was complete ALL the dash lights were on! They ran more diagnostic tests and came up with the hybrid battery needing to be replaced! They then called me back later that day to tell me they had not put the car back together correctly or taken it out of "maintenance mode" and that is why the battery code came on. Again, I was scheduled to pick up my car when I received a call from the dealership stating that the lights were back on. The manager, *****, was on vacation so I had to wait for her to get back. When she returned she was unable to assist me, she stated I needed to meet with the GM, ***** ****. I met with ***** **** today and all he had to say was that he didn't know exactly what was wrong with the battery but it was not their fault and they would not bare the cost of fixing the battery. I paid over $1,500 for the initial repairs and now my car is not drivable. ***** refused to provide me with his superiors information. He stated only that I could have a second opinion.

Desired Settlement: I took my car to them in running condition to fix and better its condition. The only outcome I will accept is for them to replace the battery and return my car to me in not only the condition I left it with them in but better condition that I paid over $1,500 for. I refinanced my car to make the appropriate maintenance and repairs. As someone who takes excellent care of their vehicle I expect them to return it in an acceptable condition.

Business Response: 26 February 2014 To Whom It May Concern: We appreciate *** ****** taking the time to share her feedback with us. We understand this has been a frustrating experience due to the high cost of the needed repairs. The customer’s vehicle was brought into our dealership on 2/11/14 @ 154,671 miles for a check engine light, spark plugs, transmission service, 5k service, tire replacement, key fob battery replacement, alignment inspection, and brake light switch. All repairs were completed as requested, the vehicle was test driven and re-scanned to confirm repairs. No codes or problems were found in the system and the repairs were verified. Customer’s vehicle was then parked in customer parking area. When the customer came to pick up her vehicle on 2/12/14, she immediately came back in because numerous dash lights were illuminated. We let the customer take a courtesy vehicle back to work while our technician checked out the customer’s vehicle. Our technician scanned the vehicle and found code P3000, indicating the battery control system. Our technician then placed the vehicle in maintenance mode to clear the codes and re-test. When the vehicle was scanned and re-tested, code P0A80 came up indicating to replace the hybrid battery pack. Our technician analyzed the codes in the system and determined the codes in the system were not related to any repairs that were completed. He diagnosed hybrid battery replacement was needed (approximate cost of $3300). The customer did not authorize any further diagnosis or repairs. We continued to allow the customer to continue using our courtesy vehicle. Our customer met with our General Manager seeking for the hybrid battery repairs to be covered by Tom Scott Toyota. Based on the sequence of events, customer satisfaction, and the cost of needed repairs, our General Manager offered to get a second opinion from another Toyota dealership at no cost to the customer. We paid to have the vehicle towed and diagnosed at another Toyota dealership. The diagnosis from the Toyota dealership was “Perform health check, retrieved codes P3000, P0A80. Perform diagnostics on P0A80 found cell 11 in Hybrid battery below voltage threshold. Base on code and data for battery cell voltage Hybrid battery is malfunctioning and needs replaced. Previous repairs performed would not have caused this malfunction in the battery.” As an effort of goodwill, Tom Scott Toyota offered a 10% discount on repairs needed. The customer declined to have any repairs performed at our dealership and had the vehicle towed to an independent shop.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart