Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Tom Scott Honda

Phone: (208) 466-3248 Fax: (208) 466-6639 603 11th Ave. N., Nampa, ID 83687 http://www.tomscotthonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tom Scott Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tom Scott Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 1996 Business started: 06/16/1992 in ID Business incorporated 06/16/1992 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Scott, Vice President Dick Scott Mike Yost, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Scott, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Tom Scott Automotive, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tom Scott Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    603 11th Ave. N.

    Nampa, ID 83687 (208) 466-3248

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle (2001 Honda CRV-with 67610 original miles) was running rough and had check engine light on. Diagnosis was cylinder 1&3 misfiring. Was told by maintenance advisor Cylinder 1 they could not remove spark plug and head had thread damage. Was also told they tried to clear check engine light several times and it kept turning back on due to cylinder issue. Check engine light was still on when I picked the car back up from dealer. Dealer recommended removal of head and bring to machine shop, total cost of repair to be $1672.33. Also had car serviced at dealership which service advisor proceeded to tell me all fluids were really black and dirty and needed changing, power steering fluid, brake fluid, differential fluid, and oil pan was supposedly leaking as well. Total cost for all to fix $2865.02I decided to have my brother in law check out the car, he hooked car up to his computer and cleared the check engine light and drove the car around approx. 2 hours that evening with no reoccurrence of the check engine light coming on. When he went to remove the spark plugs all 4 plugs were loose. Cylinder 1 came right out as normal (not stuck as dealership said) and he torqued all 4 plugs down to factory specifications (evidently no thread damage as said by dealer). He also checked valves and adjusted. #3 cylinder a little off but readjusted back to manufacturer specifications. Cost $35 for new plugs and 2-3 hours of brother in laws time. The regular service they had done was also ridiculous. At my last tire rotation, approx. 4000 miles ago I had 40% tread left. Dealership marked my tires as needing immediate attention.As for all the fluids needing changed that is also false. This car is extremely well taken care of and I always have the car services done by Lube Shop in Caldwell and have personally known the family for over 25 years. Pretty crazy all the fluid went from satisfactory to all failed within 2800 miles between services. Have drove the car approx. 150 miles now with all issues resolved.

Desired Settlement: I marked "no settlement requested-for BBB information only" to be sure and make aware this business is out for money and not the best interest of its customers but I also believe should be "refunded" due to the dishonest diagnosis and dishonest remarks on service provided. I would like Tom Scott to reimburse me for my false diagnosis of $52.50 and would also like it posted on reviews for other potential customers to see. Attached is also the complete bill of sale and work they recommended doing as well.

Business Response:
The vehicle was brought in for the check engine light being on. The engine was running rough and there was a ticking noise from the motor. We found cylinder #1 and #3 misfire codes in computer. On inspection, we found the #1 cylinder spark plug was loose and exhaust was getting by the spark plug. The spark plug would not loosen, however, we were able to tighten it slightly – eliminating the engine noise. The noise was caused by exhaust going by the plug because it was loose.

The customer was given an estimate for the worst case scenario. Worst case scenario would be head removal and repair done at a machine shop if the spark plug threads were damaged when the plug was removed. We did not remove the spark plug because we were concerned about not being able to reinstall a spark plug and wanted to inform the customer of the possibility of having a major repair if removed and was unable to be reinstalled. *** ****** opted to not have us try to remove the plug after being given an estimate. We did not clear the codes because we didn’t perform a repair. Clearing codes when a repair has not been done, can provide false sense that the vehicle has been repaired, when it was not. We completed an oil change service that included a vehicle inspection. We did recommend some fluid services based on the color and condition of the fluids. We measured the tires at 4/32” of tread life left - a very low tread reading.

The $2,800 that *** ****** speaks of was for replacing a leaking oil pan gasket, rear trailing arm bushings, the fluid services, and tires. We would be more than willing to have *** ****** bring his vehicle in and show him the condition of these items. We strongly feel that simply replacing the plugs in *** ******’s vehicle will not permanently fix his problem and he will have issues in the future.

Thank you,
****** ***** ****** ***** ******** ****************** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Tom Scott Honda
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart