Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Teton Volkswagen

Phone: (208) 522-4501 Fax: (208) 522-4498 2220 W. Sunnyside Rd., Idaho Falls, ID 83402 http://www.mytetonvw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Teton Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Teton Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Teton Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 20, 2013 Business started: 02/11/2005 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W State St , Boise ID 83703
Phone Number: (208) 334-8000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jonah Namson
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday: 8:30AM-8PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks
Service Area
Idaho Falls

Additional Locations

  • 2220 W. Sunnyside Rd.

    Idaho Falls, ID 83402 (208) 522-4501

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been researching the purchase of a particular truck from this dealership since 10-14. I felt like the asking price of $23,000 was too much for a truck its high mileage for the year it was,I decided not to pursue and check periodically to see if there was a price change. In 11-14 the price was reduced to $19,800, I still felt was too high, I contacted the dealership in hopes of negotiating a lesser price.I made an online inquiry with **** *******, after some discussion I asked him to make me an offer that would entice me to drive up to Idaho Falls for a test drive, he made me an offer of $21,810. I also had some questions that he did not know the answer to and informed me he would call me back the next day with the answers. After waiting a couple of days, he did not call back (I emailed my concerns with the level of service to the owner Jonah Namson & as of this date no response). I called the dealership and asked to speak with a different salesman and was put in contact with **** who I thought was going to be the final salesman to handle my purchase. After a week long discussion with **** he set an appointment with me to come and test drive the truck, I asked if I could drive it to Pocatello and he said yes, and advised me to bring my title for my vehicle. I showed up for the appt and was told by a salesman that **** would not be in for the day, which I found questionable because **** had made contact with a friend of mine that morning the exact same day only 30 min before our appt time. Irregardless I decided to work with the salesman that greeted me. After some discussion he advised I could not test drive the vehicle without him because of insurance policy issues, this was also confirmed by the owner Jonah, the owners only solution would that I PURCHASE the vehicle and he would give me 24 hrs to return if I wasn't satisfied. I FELT pressured,insulted,insignificant & most of all stereotyped as I have NEVER been restricted from a simple test drive from ANY DEALERSHIP & I can name a few.

Desired Settlement: Due to the inexcusable way I was treated and disregard for all the time I had spent trying to purchase a vehicle from this dealership, I would like Teton Volkwagon to allow me enough time to test drive a vehicle by myself to adequately make an informed decision on a purchase and to offer me a reasonable purchase price to compensate for all the time I invested and mental anguish that this has caused me.

Business Response:

We reviewed our internet chat/phone conversations with Ms. **** - started 10/24 6:38pm with an initial phone call inquiring of Best Price on 2010 F150 - email customer 6:43pm 10/24 Sale price $21810 - 10/29 11:01 follow up email No Response - 11/1 Cust reply email replied (Hello,I am glad that you sent this follow up on my input or feedback on the purchase I wanted to make with your dealership. I had been researching a purchase of a truck for about 3 months now, I first noticed the truck when I was at your dealership getting a repair on my car late this summer. My first contact about the truck was with a salesman named **** I believe. We discussed him making me an initial offer to see if it would entice me enough to come up from Pocatello for a test drive. I had also had some questions about a price range of what an extended warranty could cost me and a couple of questions about the truck itself. He said he would get back to me the next day and did not. I did however, get an email with the special internet pricing. After not hearing back from him for a couple of days I called the dealership back and he wasn't in. I don't remember who I spoke to but the gentlemen offered to help me. I told him I was a little concerned with the price and the truck having such high mileage and that when I looked the truck up in the KBB it was priced about 3-4 thousand more than book value, which I wanted to discuss, he too said he would get back with me and didn't. I take it your salesman do not like an inquisitive type person, so I just gave up and decided to continue to look elsewhere.
The only advice I would give from a consumers standpoint is to at the very least, always maintain a high level of respect for any perspective customer regardless of if your going to make a sale or not. Even if it's respect for that persons time, not even considering other variables that could be going on. It was clearly evident that there was no interest when the most critical part of their job came into play, which was communication and patience. I hope this feedback will help you in improving your sales staff, thank you for the opportunity to comment.
On Wed, Oct 29, 2014 at 11:01 AM, Mark Kilbury <mkilbury@tetonvw.motosnap.com> wrote:) Reply to  Ms. **** - Hello El Terse,

Thank you for letting us know that you acquired a vehicle. I am sorry that we were unable to assist you with your purchase.

If you could please take a moment however, to answer the following questionnaire – I would greatly appreciate any feedback you could give about our service and your decision process
11/7 4:12pm Phone conversation with **** * - **** speaks of test drive is no problem but customer and **** makes No representation or promises, Customer can test drive by herself to
Pocatello.
Customer explained her dissapointment when she arrived to take truck to Pocatello by herself and was unable. We offered to give her a 24hr Guarantee on purchase for any reason she could bring truck back if dissatisfied so she could feel comfortable about purchase. She declined. Possible concerns that were explained are 1. What if accident occurs or theft or Damage - Without some contract or insurance we maybe liable. That was our decision.
Reviewed recorded call and no promises were made to do solo test drive to Pocatello.

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to have my timing belt changed and I received my car badly damaged. They removed the front grill from my car to replace the timing belt and other parts. When they delivered my car, the grill was pushed in, the outer hood release lever was broken and replaced with a piece of coat hanger, a headlight has been pushed inside the fender and my car looks like hell. I called to see what happened and they denied any damages but said they would replace the hood release they had broken. I took pictures of my car before I took it in for repairs and they were not interested in hearing about those. They told me there was a "pre-inspection" they did on my car that showed the damages. It is obvious that the damages are the results of poor workmanship and the "pre-inspection" was written after the damages.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Teton Volkswagen to repair my vehicle at their cost and I would like to take my car to a body shop of my choice.

Business Response:

  I recieved your letter of complaint late. Maybe the issue has been resolved? I have spoken to Mr. **** and repaired his hood latch for as we broke it while trying to lift hood open. If you have any questions please call or email at ********************* .
Regards,
Jonah Namson
General Manager
Teton VW

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** ****

Teton Volkswagen has not repaired my broken hoodlatch nor have I had any contact with them. The dealer whom I purchases the car from commented that he would bear witness to the condition of my car as purchased and the before and after pictures that have been sent to the BBB are proof of the damages caused during the replacement of my timing belt. Other automotive technicians have agreed that the front grill and other front end pieces are removed in order to make the repairs performed by Teton Volkswagen. 

I have a bid from one local body shop listing the repairs to be around 1800 dollars. I think it would be fair if Teton Volkswagen admitted their wrong doing through poor workmanship and delivering my car then leaving before I had a chance to look at it, should pay to have my vehicle returned the condition it was in when I left it with them for repairs.

 

 

Business Response:

Samantha,

  I have reviewed our video footage of Mr **** car arriving Aug 18th in our service drive with damage on car. We have communicated with **** we will replace the damaged hood release we broke a fault of ours. ****s Passat was dropped off at his work as a convience to Mr. **** per his request.