BBB Accredited Business since

Team Mazda Subaru

Phone: (208) 455-0322 6218 Cleveland Blvd, Caldwell, ID 83607 http://www.teammazdasubaru.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a Mazda and Subaru dealer.  Team Mazda Subaru also carries all varieties of pre-owned vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Team Mazda Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Team Mazda Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

20 Customer Reviews on Team Mazda Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 20

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2005 Business started: 06/29/2005 in ID Business started locally: 06/29/2005 Business incorporated 03/28/2005 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Studebaker, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Studebaker, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday: 9am to 7pm Sunday: 10am to 6pm
Service Area
Southwest Idaho
Alternate Business Names
GoTeamSaveMoney.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Team Mazda Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6218 Cleveland Blvd

    Caldwell, ID 83607 (208) 455-0322

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Company lied about availabilty of a vehicle just to get me to the lot. They sold the vehicle the previous day, yet claimed that the vehicle was still there the day I went to test drive it, and told me it was still there after I explicitly called them asking if it was 2. Had me test drive a car and told me incorrect price and "bait and switched" to have me buy more exspensive car. 3. Was told credit would be ran once yet was ran NUMEROUS times that has significantly reduced my chances of getting a loan for a car and has lowered my credit score for multiple hard checks through them. I authorize them to run it once .They also ran it for more money than what the car was worth, and was running the credit checks for vehicles that were way out of my price range that I did not even look at. they were asking for a loan that was the same amount as my yearly salary 4. When called to confront, business manager lied saying they didnt run it as many times as credit report says and that none of what they did it affect my credit score, and that anyone who was telling me different was lying, and that the credit reporting company was lying to me. 5. Have continued to contact me even after I have told them to not do so. Numbers three and four are my main complaints

Desired Settlement: I would like them to remove all of the hard credit checks they put on my report through various Banks and other loan companies.

Business Response:

*****,

First, I want to apologize for your experience with our store, as we certainly did not give you the customer experience that you deserved.  We work hard to ensure that our customers receive the best care and service.  To that end, we failed you.  I can tell you, however that your BBB response will be sent to all of the employees of our store for further discussion and training.  Bad experiences our customers have need to make us better.

As to the inquiries, the system does not allow us to remove them from Equifax or Experian.   I will, however, be available should you have any issues with the inquires affecting your ability to earn credit or to make purchases.  

I again want to express my true apology for how this went for you.  You certainly deserved better.

Sincerly,

Rob S*********

GM

Team Mazda Subaru

 

5/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received an advertising mailer this last week from the TEAM MAZDA auto dealership in Caldwell, at 6218 Caldwell Boulevard, that had a scratch off stating '.'YOU HAVE WON, YOU ARE A GUARANTEED WINNER! YOUR NUMBERS MATCH!" So Wednesday afternoon, April 13, we took the mailer and went in to visit with them to find out what we had won. What we actually won was a personal visit with a very pushy, dishonest salesperson named Marvin who said that he was not a "salesman" for TEAM MAZDA, but that he was "just a representative of the bank helping them to liquidate cars." Marvin showed us a car that he said "was the best option for us, price wise", "you can't lose." Marvin said that he was not on a commission and that he-would not be getting anything from selling us a car. Marvin also said thaf if we.bought this car they would fOrgo the $200.00 document tee, which would have come to him, but-that he would forgo that "just for you," and that buying this car was a "win. win situation". Marvin repeated this statement of no $200.00 document fee and the "win, win situation," as well as the "guaranteed buv back" several times during our conversations. Plus, as part of this sale, he said that we would receive a markdown of $2000.00. "You are getting $2000:00 off!" Marvin again said that "if we decided that we did not wan't the car we could1 bring it back." because they had a "guaranteed buv back" option. We went in to sign the papers and ended up purchasing a 2014 Nissan "JUKE" with 37,500 or so miles on it. When we were signing the papers we found out that they did charge us the $200.00 "DOC fee" that Marvin said they would not charge us. The next day we took the Nissan "JUKE" over to Dennis Dillon Nissan, on Fairview Avenue in Boise to have the car checked out. While at Dennis Dillon we saw a brand new 2016 full optioned JUKE on the showroom floor for $25,500.00 or so; which is just about the same as the "used" one that we had just bought from TEAM MAZDA. We realized that we had been taken advantage of. We now had serious "buyers remorse". Not only do we not need two cars we can't afford two car payments. So at about 4:00 in the afternoon of Thursday the 14th, less than 24 hours later, we took the car back to the dealership to let them know we could not keep it. They refused to take the car back. We told them that we had been told that they had a "guaranteed buy back policy" and that we had been told that several times. They demanded to know who had told us that because it wasn't true. I told them that it was "Marvin" who was within earshot, and Marvin immediately turned and walked away. I said I would just leave the car there but they said that if I did they would hire a tow truck to tow it back to my house and that I would be responsible for paying for the tow truck charges. I then called "ICCU'', the credit union, that had financed the sale, and after a few minutes they told me that the sale had already been funded and that there was nothing that they could do either. So with no other options I drove the car back to my house. Is there a legal time frame we are allowed to change our minds .on a large: purchase such as this? Are there any laws to protect the elderly from unscrupulous sales people?· I am. 85 years old and my wife is 81 years old and we cannot afford this new car. As a Veteran with a small disability pension from a war service wound, I am still working three days a week just to make ends meet. I realize that we should not have fallen for such an unscrupulous· sales tactic a:s we were subjected to, when,all we really went out there for was to'find out what we,had won :' What can we do? _,.... 208-972:2861 ,,,,.., .. i: ,, . ',.' ;Ci. . ;; ''•.'"·: ,. •" ·i - ·'.-...:-:; f) ,_);,.·, .:. !.'...

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

1/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loan officer (COMPLETLY LIED) about optional service agreement cost He asked if I wanted the agreement I said NO He then looked ant the computer for a few min Then said OK it looks like you qualify with your loan to get it for $1 a month I said yes But signed Doc show $2500 charge to loan company. So the scam is (hindsight) they have it in the price they quote to you during negotiations When you say no they lie about the cost so they can leave it in the cost. Yes I signed the papers But in no way does $2500 = $1 a month

Desired Settlement: $2500 refund to loan company service agreement canceled

Business Response:

I have spoken to the finance manager involved and he disputes the conversation as you see it.

If you'd like to address this with me, I am available.  This product can be cancelled immediately if you wish for the full purchase price.

Thank you,

*** ********** ** ******************* ************

12/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I purchased ( so I thought ) a car from Team on November 1st after my old junker car gave out. The contract and sale indicated that I would be at 11% for $284 a month with my trade in of $2500 and $250 down for a 2014 at $11,000. That's it. Sweet right? After being in the tent for the "can't pass it up sale" my employment status was brought up and questioned because of my new status of employment. I not only advised the sales rep that my status is full time but the company will have my status as "temporary" for just the 90 day grace period. But with that they can verify and confirm I am an FULL TIME employee no problem. His response was simply " just bring in a paystub with 80 hours of the employment and WE will be set to go no problem". I responded "that's it?" . Yup nothing more he said was needed. So after papers are signed money is down the car was driven home. Within only 1 week of having the car they call me asking for verification of car insurance. Again. Not only did I email the finance department the same day of purchase. I came down to dealership and brought another copy. 3 days later they asked me again for employment verification. So there I am driving down to take paper work, now although the dealership was aware of the short paystub due to beginning the new job. I was told everything was fine just for verification. The bank contacts my work for the verification and of course as stated before they noted it was temporary. Little did I know or grew aware of the bank ended up returning my contract. I did not receive any phone calls about the contract being returned and or my loan now being denied. I received 2 phones in which nothing was mentioned in the voice mail. I call back left messages and no response was given. From the beginning of the sale the sales rep had communicated through text message. Maybe one call, but working Monday through Friday 8-4:30 a call returned was after 5 or a response was given in the timely manner. Now the Wednesday before thanksgiving I get 2 messages stating my employment status was needing to be verified as full time yet again with a paystub.I responded same way as he gives me with a text being that we are only paid 2 times a month on the 15th and 30th. I mentioned I would be able to provide one the following next Monday. No response was given. The weekend passes, work on Monday and they end up repossessing my vehicle at work 11am sharp. NOT INFORMED OF THE CONTRACT BEING TERMED OR THE LOAN BEING DENIED I'M IN SHOCK. I call the finance manager about it and he states NO information was passed to him about the message sent. We end up sitting down the same night and here is where all this information about the contract, loan, my employment mix up comes up. I not only grew much upset but I'm without a car because of the contracting being term and would be expiring the following day. The finance manager then informs me they knew about this 5 to 6 prior to this and had attempted to call. I mentioned I called and nothing was returned and the messages passed between the rep and I had gone unawsered. The look on both the reps faces froze when confronted about the messages and calls. The rep not only tried fooling me but tried saving himself with words and information never said or given. I was told to have my work be aware the bank will be resending in verification and to have it adjusted but little did I know because the contract will be termed the following day my interest rate MAY not be the same as low due to a new one being brought up. Tuesday comes, my work is aware of the issue and is awaiting. I called the dealership to get any sort of update and when the finance man answers he indicated a text was sent from the bank that my interest rate would not be the same but 9 points higher at 20% MAYBE. I asked if they had called or sent anything and he responds with "I'll text and ask but you'll have to go through **** other finance manager cause I'm out the door for my day off." Okay? I call after work and what do you know busy he is and he will call me. I drive down there to speak to him because no call was given back. I waited to speak with him for just about an hour and for him to spend 15 minutes to tell me "well this the rate 22%" of course I deny the rate. This finance manager did nothing but have me sign papers voiding the contract that pretty much never happened. Not only did he have slim to no information on what had happened. He had no indication of the down payment amount or the registration being done already. My keys for trade in was ready and papers to sign were prepared as if this was expected. They literally had me drive a car thinking everything was fine and end up leaving me in the same boat to start with. My down payment I was told would be refunded after inspection of the car. The main concern for the "Team" was the mIles and the car worth. I will NEVER EVER BUY FROM THIS COMPANY AGAIN.

Desired Settlement: Correction to a credit report

Business Response:

While I certainly understand you feeling the way you do and that we treated you poorly, we simply cannot get the lender who agreed to purchase the loan initially, to actually "fund" the loan.   The lender has the right after they investigate employment to deny the loan, even after you've taken delivery.  It is never our intention to take a vehicle back from a customer and would only have given you the vehicle with a solid approval from our lender.  I simply cannot get you a loan the way it was written.

Again, I certainly understand you feeling the way you do.  I would love to speak to you about this if you wish.  *** *** ***** ** ** *************

Sincerely,

*** **********

GM

TeamMazdaSubaru

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference ** ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am completely aware and understand the bank lending process and their decision on the loan. The issue here was not the agreement with the bank but the lack of communication about the denial and contracting being pulled. The only information sent back and forth between anyone was text messsaging and unanswered calls. When the car was taken, I was told that night that the you were aware of this being pulled 5-6 prior and I was not called or text about this til the night before my contract expired. Given the date of the contract being pulled this was over a holiday weekend and the salesman was aware of this. NO control in my hand after all I was not aware of the contract being pulled or contract expiring. I have made EVERY EFFORT possible to work with you guys about this and after all the process, no one attempted to help. Following the night of my contract being voided your finance manager ***** only advised me to sign a paper indicating the contract being cancelled and gave my keys. NO ATTEMPT TO HELP OR UNDERSTANDING. Ruben informed me that this could have been saved but because nothing was passed along nothing can be done.

Also, I had called ***** back on Thursday 12/3 to call me back about my trade in pick up for Friday. To THIS DAY HE HAS NOT CALLED ME BACK. Perfect example of horrible communication.

******** ****** *********




10/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I purchased a vehicle from team mazda on June 23, 2015 I put down 100 dollars that day then I traded in my **** ******* ***** **. the vehicle was consider totalled by the insurance company but I bought it back from them. which was 400 dollars so that left me with a lower amount for my down payment so which was 476 plus 150 then another 150 well they took the 100 the first day and then in August they took out another 150 but not the 626. so I was told on June 23, 2015 I signed all the papers saying the car was mine and the bank accepted it then July team madza calls me and says I need a co signer well that I brought my brother in and he co signed for me. well that got approved in August and we sign all the papers again and then I get a phone call on September 2 saying that they need to have my pay check stub again even though it was approved. I just told them why is this happing again when we already signed the papers and they said the bank never approved it and they need to see my income. well I told them they can just have the car back im done dealing with this. they told me two times before all this that i was approved. well they told me that im not getting nothing back from what i have put in that car. they said they took my other vehicle to scrap already so basically i dont get nothin out of this. i lost money and a car that i traded in.

Desired Settlement: to get what i deserve and the vehicle i traded in or cash for it.

Business Response: I have reached out to her.  I think we came to an agreeable conclusion. 
***** **** *** ********** ** *******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and find that this  resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Im satisfied for what *** has done. Thank you!! Not pleased of how the workers delt with it.  
******** ******* ******

7/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car towed into the dealership (7 May 2015) at pickup I was told by ******* ******* the Service Writer that extensive tests were performed on the electrical systems ($95.00), they found a bad cell in the battery. The old battery was warranted (60 months) the label was on the battery and my purchase receipt I still had said it. I was charged for new full price battery. I brought the receipt in a week later after repairs. I brought this to the attention of ***** ******** ******* ******** he said that due to the time between work and presentation of receipt Mazda National would handle the claim. Used 38 months warranty remaining 12 months. After several weeks I was put in touch with "Mazda Customer Experience Center" and after several more weeks on 14 July 2015 National Mazda told me that Team Mazda did not perform the correct test of the battery and only a dealership gift card for a nominal amount could be issued. On 14 July 2015 I contacted ***** ******** and he said his tech didn't take the warranty into account and didn't perform a test required by Mazda that is a special test so (to bad) warranty will not be honored. Not their fault I didn't stress that the battery was under warranty at the time the car was brought in. Too bad, good by.

Desired Settlement: They honor the remaining warranty of 12 months by a cash refund of $54.40 that the representative Xavier explained was due. That was before he discovered no test was performed.

Business Response:

Sorry for your trouble.

I have no issue refunding the $54.  Is that is all that is due?

***** **** *** **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would be greatful to stop by for the refund, but I will be leaving at * ** ******** *** ***** ****** to attend a family reunion and will not be back till 27 July I can call for an app then and stop by.

******** **** ******

6/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were lied to about how many owners on our van it was suppose to have been detailed complete detail the van was dirty we went one day to get a detailed waited two and a half hours and we were told it was complete when we got in the van it was not detailed the same trash and dog food that was in the van from the day that we test drove it was still in the vehicle talk to a Dodge dealer and they told us there was a recall on the van T Mazda states that there was not a recall on the van the van is not driving the way its supposed to and we were told that the van went through various checks and test to make sure everything was working

Desired Settlement: We feel that we should be replaced for a different van as we were told that our van was in good working condition and it does have issues we would appreciate if there was a way we could switch or come to an agreement on something

Business Response: Id like an opportunity to help.  Can you reach out to me at 208-455-0322

Thank you,
Rob Studebaker
GM
TeamMazdaSubaru.com

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive advertising there Money Carlo 25,000. Advertisement was mailed to me, showing $ 25,000 on front of mailer. Has a lift to open 4 tabs on each side which states match to win pointing to the two tabs that are side by side. I opened my tabs all are prices and two of mine matched for the sum of 2,500 dollars. Flyer states to call 208-505-9206 to enter confirmation number. I called this number and they did not ask for my confirmation # at all. All I got was a survey to take over the phone. So I drove down to the location which It should not have been necessary if the ad read right and they checked my confirmation number over the phone as the mailer claims it will do. I spoke with a snake pitch sales person who said his name was **** and he was from Duluth, Minnesota. When I told him I just wanted my 2,500 dollars he laughed and said where does it say that? He said that they were a company that travels from state to sate providing these promotions, I have a different word for them. He then took me to show me that I had won a 5.00 gift card from Target. Money Carlo Match To Win card is like all the other lottery cards one sees and states. match to win.They it shows that you can win a new 2015 Subaru Impreza or 55" H.d t.v. or Xbox one of target gift card. So no can win the 25,000.00 shown at the top of the flyer, no one can win any of they money that comes up in the pull tabs, even thou it says match to win! This mailer is time sensitive to arrive on Monday and this ends Sunday April 26, 2015 I am sure they are out of State by 6 p.m. Sunday night. So I understand that it is about as deceptive as anything can get, they laugh at the people that come. They told me it was legal and nothing I could do, I told them to keep there Target card and I would keep my flyer. I'm sure That Team Mazda will say they have nothing to do with them it is a separate dealing. But the flyer does state that if I call the number and enter my confirmation number, but they never ask for the confirmation number so that is a lie.

Desired Settlement: My money or them found guilty of fraud and fined.

Business Response: As the customer has stated in his complaint, Team Mazda Subaru hired the outside company to manage a 100K mail piece campaign and to offer support at the dealership with a very qualified sales staff.   As of April 27th this is the only complaint that I know of.  Each of the mail pieces are identical, except for a series of numbers that are individualized for the purposes of allowing for 4 winners, as the complaint explains.  The $25000 in question is in the form of either a vehicle worth approximately $25000 or the cash equivalent should someone win.  The mail piece is insured for the 4 winners should they arrive in the dealership during the dates in question.  Our hope at Team Mazda Subaru is that the winners show and collect the prizes they deserve based on the numbers on their mail piece matching.  It would be great press for us.  Our intention was not to deceive this or any other customer.   I will be sure to forward the complaint to the company that administers the mail piece.

********** *** ********** **
TeamMazdaSubaru

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I find it hard to believe that they feel that the way this mailer was designed did not have the intent to deceive the customer. Why was the question about the phone number not answered? It stated to call and give the confirmation number. The recording at the number printed on the mailer never asked for the number and was just a recorded survey.
Just because I am the only one who complained doesn't mean anything in a society where people are use to be scammed and cheated and deceived. They don't waste there time as they know no one ever does anything and they always get away with it. I would challenge, and like to see how many years this sales game has been used and how many winners there have been? Also take a dozen people in a survey and see what they think of this game.
**** ********


  

Business Response: The mailer reads:  "You could win a 2015 Subaru Impreza!*  (*)(NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN.  PURCHASE DOES NOT INCREASE CHANCES OF WINNING.  CONTEST HELD IN Caldwell, ID.  Contest...Bring invitation to event location to compare your confirmation code to prize board to determine your prize.  Winner addressee must be 18 years or older, and must bring flyer and/or game piece to event location during the sale dates listed above to redeem prize.)   To play simply lift tabs on card.  If you won call (208)505-9206.  Enter confirmation code #(whatever your individual code is).  Then proceed to Team Mazda Subaru during event times to claim our prize." 

By lifting the tabs, everyone's numbers match.  I called the number provided by the mailer company, Automotive experts, and the recorded line asks very specific qualifying questions about qualifying to purchase a vehicle, which is quite simply what Team Mazda Subaru is in the business to do.  To be clear, we are in the business of selling and servicing vehicles and the mailer is a solicitation for customers interested in purchasing a vehicle from us.   Just 20% of the mailer is focused on a chance that a customer would win, while 80% is a solicitation to purchase a vehicle at a reduced price, interest rate, or payment.  It, again, was not our intent to deceive or manipulate customers in any way.   I am truly sorry that you felt deceived.
********** *** ********** **
TeamMazdaSubaru.com

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2014 Subaru Forester from this company on 02/09/2015.Company changed address on one signer to make contract look better to bank. Have no proof of residence for this, as bank is requesting.Company Financed 30k and required 3k to be paid cash. Took $500 up front and gave 30days to come up with $2500 requiring something as colateral.(2 fire arms) Was told that at 30days if balance could not be paid in full, to pay what was available and they would push the due date out another 30days. Prior to the first 30days, paid $1500 toward owing. After paying $1500, we were told that we had another 30days to pay remainder. Instead of waiting, company attempted to Cash original $2500 check. Which bounced, causing overdraft fees. Had it gone through, company would have collected more than requested/promised.A total of 33k for a vehicle priced with KBB at 24k. 9k over MSRP.3 weeks after signing contract, attempted to contact bank loan is through, they had no record of who we were. Contacted Team for clarification. Team states that contract has already gone through, even though bank did not have it. At this time we realized how bad they had treated us and asked to just have Contract reversed and voided. Finance manager states that they had to pay the bank to take our loan, even though we did not qualify. Mysteriously the bank recieved our contract shortly after this.Originally we attempted to leave, and look elsewhere, only to have the salesman come stop us saying he had a "good deal" for us. Finance person and Sales person made it seem like they were doing us a favor by getting us into this vehicle. Our dealings with this company were not honest nor forthcoming. In the end we are paying $9,000 more than the car is worth, not including finance charges.No one will trade us out of this vehicle because of how upside down the loan is even when including another vehicle in the trade.Still have no registration or paperwork from bank regarding vehicle. Had to extend temporary permit.Contract upon request.

Desired Settlement: Would like to return vehicle and void contract with bank.

Business Response: We choose to unwind the transaction based on all of the problems with this customer and their concerns.  This customer does not own this vehicle any more.  I spoke to the customer today.  I feel that we have some resolution to this deal.  She knows how sorry I am for how poorly this went.

Thank you,
*** ********** ** *******************

1/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership sent out a flyer advertizing their sales event. on the flyer there is a "Money Carlo Game" ticket. It states that you could win one of these prizes during our event. It includes the instructions, "Lift tabs on card. If you have a matching pair, you win!" when I called to claim my prize, it turned out to be an automated system which instead asked several very personal questions about my income, car payments, car preferences, and when I'm planning to buy another car. This has very little to do with the contest. So I called the dealership directly to ask about the prize. The guy on the phone told me that I need to bring in my flyer to enter the drawing to claim my prize. That's not what the flyer says. It says call to claim your prize and then bring your ticket to the dealership to claim. It's dishonest, misleading, and sleazy and it is the very reason no one trusts Used Car Salesman. Tactics like this are exactly why I don't deal with dealerships for buying cars. The man at the dealership I spoke with said that "all dealers in the state do this". First, I dont' believe that is true, as this is the only flyer I've ever received. Secondly, the flyer is super misleading about the prizes. It says my ticket wins "Prize 1" There are 4 prizes shown on the flyer. They are, (in this order) a new car, a TV, Cash and a ******t gift card. They imply that prize 1 is a car. I'm pretty sure it's not. I have a college degree and I scoured this thing front and back to see what loopholes and fine print were on it and still found it incredibly misleading. It makes me angry that this sleazy dealership preys upon people who don't know any better to get their hopes up that they've won a car only to have personal information pried out of them with no prizes.

Desired Settlement: THey need to stop doing this sort of thing. Dishonest and misleading.

Business Response: While I understand this customers concerns, it is not our intention to mislead customers.  Team Mazda Subaru hired the mailing company's call center to allow customers to register for our sale and to begin the buying process which requires our learning basic information about our customers, if and only if, they have an interest in purchasing a vehicle.  If there is no interest in doing a vehicle transaction, and a customers interest is only in checking to see if their numbers win the big prize or not, the insurance company who insures the awards insists that the customer who received the mailer actually come to the dealership to claim their prize.  Most will win a $5 ******* gift card, though someone has won the 2015 Subaru Outback, the 55 inch TV, and the $2500 cash, but must come to the store to claim their prize.  Again, I certainly did not hire the mailer company to upset any of our customers.

Thank you,
*** **********
TeamMazdaSubaru.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the dealership's reply they state that the customers' information is required "if and only if" they are interested if buying a car.  However, the flyer does not say that, nor does the automated call center give that information or option.    On the contrary, the automated voice on the call only asked the questions and when I finished answering,  it hung up with no mention made of any prize.  

Again, the entire thing is deceptive and misleading.  

Regards,
**** **




Business Response:

Thank you.  I called the number on the flyer.  The customer service person did not ask me for any personal information, but did ask to verify the code on the mailer.  I cannot corroborate the information in this complaint?

Sincerely,
*** ********** **
TeamMazdaSubaru.com

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 14th i purchased a 2012 dodge avenger from Team Mazda. I traded in my Mazda 3. I had my title at ***** **** to be paid off by team mazda. On Tuesday November 18th the ***** **** title loan payment was taken out of my checking account. I called Team Mazada spoke to ***** ***** who sold me my car. I asked why the payment was taken out of my account? ***** stated "we (Team Mazda) sent a check to them 2 days ago they should have recieved it, they owe you money." I called ***** **** back asked if they still had my title to my car and if there was a check recieved from Team Mazda, they stated no payment has been recieved and they still had my title. I called **** the finance manager told him what was going on he stated "***** should have never told you that, he lied to you and it takes 10 days for financing to go through." I said I am over drawn in my account now, how are we going to fix this? **** said he would call me back. November 19th I called Team Mazda again stating there is an exhaust smell in the cab of the car, ***** said he could get the car in Monday November 24th I said the smell is making me nauseaed and now a headache. ***** said to bring it in. The shop called and said a gromit was not put back in the tail light so the exhaust was coming back into the cab of the car. I got my car back. Drove it a day and noticed the passenger side was blowinf cold air when the heater was on. Called Team Mazda again, took it back, the shop gave me a loaner car on empty told me they had no gas vouchers, I was overdrawn in my account becaue of them and no funds. I left the lot, stopped for a train on Middleton road and the car died. Called Team again said i was bringing the loaner car back, well nothing was wrong with it, it was a hybrid car no one told me how to drive it, finally got home at 9:30 p.m. Team called and stated the heater coil went out in the car. This took 1 week to fix. I picked up my car on November 28th drove it until Decemeber 4th (Need more room to finish!)

Desired Settlement: After being sick, missing work, $2000.00 of work done under warranty. Having a loaner car more than the car I purchased. ******* *** has no record of my purchase I was called today to start the financing process over due to needing a more recent check stub from me after ******* *** (per Team) called and varified with my employer. 3 option were given to me 1 finance again with no warranty 2 with warrenty but my payment increased 67 and 3 Team cuts me a check for 1290 and buy another car

Business Response:

After speaking to *** ***** on the phone, I invited her to the dealership to meet with our controller and myself.  **** explained her disdain for me and our employees.  She was clear that her sales consultant lied to her.  She was clear that we knowingly delivered a car to her that was broken, both of with is simply not the case.  We attempted to show her other vehicles that might fit her budget.  The vehicle she choose of the six I offered her was to be 38$ more per month, which made her even more angry.  She walked up to my desk and said, ***** * ******* ********* My finance manager called her the next day to follow up on the loan that had yet to fund from 35 days before.   Now the story gets worse.  The approval that we had from ******* *** ******* expired because she would not provide us with the proper stipulations.  Today she came in to return the vehicle.  We owe her approximately $1200, so she asked if she could keep it through the weekend.  We relented due to not trusting that she might literally begin screaming and throwing a childish tantrum if we disagreed.  This is not a customer that is welcome at Team Mazda Subaru.

11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a large advertisement from Team Mazda, asking me to scratch off all 9 boxes covered by a Grey film, likened too a scratch lottery ticket. It stated that if you match three in a row, in any direction, you win. I matched 3 in a row for $25,000.00.When I took my very large card/advetisement into Team Mazda, the salesman asked me if I were looking to buy a car. I told him I was checking on the game, and asked what it was about. He said, Oh, they all came with that amount printed on it (referring to the prize amount $25,00.00). I told him that it was very misleading and he told me that the winning numbers started with 38, and he would check to see what I won. Moments later he brought me a gold colored coin and said it was valued at $5.00. What a scam, the phone number that's listed on the large advertisement does not even work. I only reached someone in person after calling the Caldwell office directly. Then I was told there was no access number as the automated system requested and that I would have to speak to someone in person at their dealership. I took several pictures of the advertisement I you need them.

Desired Settlement: Team Mazda is misrepresenting their gifts, why ask the receiving person to scratch the boxes and ask you to look for 3 matching numbers if every card is the same as the salesman advised me? They should apologize for their poor, misleading and suggestive advertising methods. intentionally set up to mislead customers just to get them to make the drive and to be seen in person by a salesman.

Consumer Response: The salesman kept my advertisement,  I took pictures of it, front and back, before I left to go to their office yesterday. 

 
I have attached the pictures for your review.
The pictures attached of the gold colored coin is what I received,  not the $25,000.00 that was misrepresented as the prize. 
The salesman told me it was worth $5. It is a reproduction of the coin. Junk.
A shameful way to get a customer to come in for a sales pitch. 
 
******** *****

Business Response:  
While we do feel that the advertisement was aggressive in its approach, our intention was not to mislead, but rather to excite the person receiving the mail piece and potentially visiting our store to check their numbers.  We had a great response to the mail piece.  Over 1800 people visited our store and we helped over 100 people purchase a vehicle.   Everyone received a buffalo coin which cost our store $5 per at an expense of approximately $9000.  The prize was a reproduction, but they were not free. 
 
I certainly apologize for what you felt was "poor, misleading and suggestive advertising methods."  Again that was not our intention.
 

*** ********** ** * **** ***** ****** **** ********* **** * ********* ** *****

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 8, 2014 I went to TEAM Subaru to browse inventory and talk to them about trading in my current company car for a newer vehicle with less miles. As we were looking at a few different cars I was greeted by sales associate **** ********** I talked with him and explained what I was doing and that I had no intention of leaving with a car that day. He said okay and proceeded to show me some of the features of the vehicles I was looking at and we test drove a GMC Acadia. After talking with my husband we decided to see what kind of payments we might be looking at. I knew the guidelines that I was given and knew what I could and couldn't do. *** ********* also understood this as well as I explained to him that this would be a company vehicle and would not be purchased using my credit. He told me that all they would need was my bosses social since he is the principle of the business and that all they would do was run a credit check to help determine what the payments might be. I provided that and after about 45 minutes finally he returned with what I thought were approximate monthly payment amounts which were way to high and I told him that and left. I did not know that in reality what they had done was actually applied for a loan in my my boss's name until Monday March 17, 2014 when I arrived to work and learned that my boss had received letters from 2 banks concerning an auto loan. I feel I was deliberately mislead as I was not informed that I was in fact applying for an auto loan rather than just having a credit check done. The fact that they applied for a loan rather than just running a simple credit check violates several laws with regards to privacy. I myself almost lost my job over this incident. I will not go back there EVER!!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel that each perspective buyer should have to sign something saying that they understand and agree to allow the dealership or it's financial officers to open or pre-qualify a person for an auto loan. I also feel that rather than calling it a "credit check" they should be honest and call it what it is. An application for a car loan not a simple credit check.

Business Response:

The credit was checked as we told her it would be in order to apply for a vehicle.  She was not mislead, I did try to explain all of this to her twice, however she hung up on me both times. 

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to this car dealership on 1/31/14 with my mother who wanted to see if she had won a car through a mail promotion. My mother and I are lower in cognitive functioning and my sister who is developmentally disabled was also present. I am certain the salesman was quickly aware that he was dealing with "babes in the woods". Suddenly I found myself under pressure to buy a car. I am inexperienced in this and did not even know of the existence of helps such as Kelly Blue Book until after the fact. I bought a car, but when my wife and I discussed things we knew we could not afford the payment. I also found out later that they sold it to us at a price well above its value. We tried to return the car on 2/12/14 but they would not listen to us, instead talked us into writing two checks each for $1,000 saying they would cash one around March 1 and the other around April 1. However they insisted we date the checks on that date. We thought our tax refund would come in time to cover these checks. We realized when we left we still had an unsolved problem and went to my in-laws for help. My father-in-law went with me on 2/14/14 again to return the car but they had already sold it to the bank and we had to wait until they contacted us to have them come and repossess the car.Meanwhile they cashed one of our checks in February overdrawing our account by over $900 and causing lots of problems. My mother-in-law helped me write this complaint, but I agree with all of it. We would like other people to know that this business can be underhanded and to be very cautious about going there.

Desired Settlement: I gave them my deceased father's sterling silver and turquoise ring as collateral. It is of great emotional value to me and I would like it back. They said they have never held on to anyone's collateral before.

Business Response:

Called and left messages for him to call me.  Nobody has returned my phone call.

*** **********

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my first car from Team Mazda with the help of my dad as the cosigner on July 23, 2013. I was sold a 2010 White Toyota Corolla. Around the end of September I had received a call from the sales man that had sold us the car asking me for the vin number of my car because it was a routine check up that the dealer did, was not told anything else. The same day my dad got a call from the bank that financed us and asked for a verification of the vin number. She told us that the vin number on our paper work was different than the car. I then proceeded to check and the vin number from the car that I was given did not match my paper work. The whole time I was at the dealer I was told over and over that I was being sold a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The car that I am driving is a 2009 Toyota Corolla with a different vin number than what is shown on my paper work. We kept getting calls from the dealer to go in and sign the new paper work. When my dad and I went in they automatically wanted us to sign the new paper work. We said no and began to ask questions and no one was giving us answers. We were there for an hour and only got talked to for a total of about five minutes. We were told to go and that they would give us a call when they figured out the problem. We haven't received a call since. I am currently still driving the 2009 but my insurance, registration and paperwork all are under a 2010 Corolla vin number. My payments are going towards a car that I have no idea where or in what conditions it is in. We got charged for a 2010 not a 2009. The people from the dealer were very secretive and not giving us any information or answers to our questions.

Desired Settlement: I want to get a full refund of my down payment, the amount I was given for my trade in and my payments so I can purchase a car somewhere else. The contract and my loan terminated. I would like to be given answers on how this could of happened.

Business Response: She came in and we refinanced in her name only....she left happy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

20 Customer Reviews on Team Mazda Subaru
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart