Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Team Mazda Subaru?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a Mazda and Subaru dealer.  Team Mazda Subaru also carries all varieties of pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Team Mazda Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Team Mazda Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

25 Customer Reviews on Team Mazda Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 14
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 10
Total Customer Reviews 25

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 2005 Business started: 06/29/2005 in ID Business started locally: 06/29/2005 Business incorporated: 03/28/2005 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Studebaker, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Studebaker, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday: 9am to 7pm Sunday: 10am to 6pm
Service Area
Southwest Idaho
Alternate Business Names
GoTeamSaveMoney.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Team Mazda Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6218 Cleveland Blvd

    Caldwell, ID 83607 (208) 455-0322

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 14th i purchased a 2012 dodge avenger from Team Mazda. I traded in my Mazda 3. I had my title at ***** **** to be paid off by team mazda. On Tuesday November 18th the ***** **** title loan payment was taken out of my checking account. I called Team Mazada spoke to ***** ***** who sold me my car. I asked why the payment was taken out of my account? ***** stated "we (Team Mazda) sent a check to them 2 days ago they should have recieved it, they owe you money." I called ***** **** back asked if they still had my title to my car and if there was a check recieved from Team Mazda, they stated no payment has been recieved and they still had my title. I called **** the finance manager told him what was going on he stated "***** should have never told you that, he lied to you and it takes 10 days for financing to go through." I said I am over drawn in my account now, how are we going to fix this? **** said he would call me back. November 19th I called Team Mazda again stating there is an exhaust smell in the cab of the car, ***** said he could get the car in Monday November 24th I said the smell is making me nauseaed and now a headache. ***** said to bring it in. The shop called and said a gromit was not put back in the tail light so the exhaust was coming back into the cab of the car. I got my car back. Drove it a day and noticed the passenger side was blowinf cold air when the heater was on. Called Team Mazda again, took it back, the shop gave me a loaner car on empty told me they had no gas vouchers, I was overdrawn in my account becaue of them and no funds. I left the lot, stopped for a train on Middleton road and the car died. Called Team again said i was bringing the loaner car back, well nothing was wrong with it, it was a hybrid car no one told me how to drive it, finally got home at 9:30 p.m. Team called and stated the heater coil went out in the car. This took 1 week to fix. I picked up my car on November 28th drove it until Decemeber 4th (Need more room to finish!)

Desired Settlement: After being sick, missing work, $2000.00 of work done under warranty. Having a loaner car more than the car I purchased. ******* *** has no record of my purchase I was called today to start the financing process over due to needing a more recent check stub from me after ******* *** (per Team) called and varified with my employer. 3 option were given to me 1 finance again with no warranty 2 with warrenty but my payment increased 67 and 3 Team cuts me a check for 1290 and buy another car

Business Response:

After speaking to *** ***** on the phone, I invited her to the dealership to meet with our controller and myself.  **** explained her disdain for me and our employees.  She was clear that her sales consultant lied to her.  She was clear that we knowingly delivered a car to her that was broken, both of with is simply not the case.  We attempted to show her other vehicles that might fit her budget.  The vehicle she choose of the six I offered her was to be 38$ more per month, which made her even more angry.  She walked up to my desk and said, ***** * ******* ********* My finance manager called her the next day to follow up on the loan that had yet to fund from 35 days before.   Now the story gets worse.  The approval that we had from ******* *** ******* expired because she would not provide us with the proper stipulations.  Today she came in to return the vehicle.  We owe her approximately $1200, so she asked if she could keep it through the weekend.  We relented due to not trusting that she might literally begin screaming and throwing a childish tantrum if we disagreed.  This is not a customer that is welcome at Team Mazda Subaru.

11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a large advertisement from Team Mazda, asking me to scratch off all 9 boxes covered by a Grey film, likened too a scratch lottery ticket. It stated that if you match three in a row, in any direction, you win. I matched 3 in a row for $25,000.00.When I took my very large card/advetisement into Team Mazda, the salesman asked me if I were looking to buy a car. I told him I was checking on the game, and asked what it was about. He said, Oh, they all came with that amount printed on it (referring to the prize amount $25,00.00). I told him that it was very misleading and he told me that the winning numbers started with 38, and he would check to see what I won. Moments later he brought me a gold colored coin and said it was valued at $5.00. What a scam, the phone number that's listed on the large advertisement does not even work. I only reached someone in person after calling the Caldwell office directly. Then I was told there was no access number as the automated system requested and that I would have to speak to someone in person at their dealership. I took several pictures of the advertisement I you need them.

Desired Settlement: Team Mazda is misrepresenting their gifts, why ask the receiving person to scratch the boxes and ask you to look for 3 matching numbers if every card is the same as the salesman advised me? They should apologize for their poor, misleading and suggestive advertising methods. intentionally set up to mislead customers just to get them to make the drive and to be seen in person by a salesman.

Consumer Response: The salesman kept my advertisement,  I took pictures of it, front and back, before I left to go to their office yesterday. 

 
I have attached the pictures for your review.
The pictures attached of the gold colored coin is what I received,  not the $25,000.00 that was misrepresented as the prize. 
The salesman told me it was worth $5. It is a reproduction of the coin. Junk.
A shameful way to get a customer to come in for a sales pitch. 
 
******** *****

Business Response:  
While we do feel that the advertisement was aggressive in its approach, our intention was not to mislead, but rather to excite the person receiving the mail piece and potentially visiting our store to check their numbers.  We had a great response to the mail piece.  Over 1800 people visited our store and we helped over 100 people purchase a vehicle.   Everyone received a buffalo coin which cost our store $5 per at an expense of approximately $9000.  The prize was a reproduction, but they were not free. 
 
I certainly apologize for what you felt was "poor, misleading and suggestive advertising methods."  Again that was not our intention.
 

*** ********** ** * **** ***** ****** **** ********* **** * ********* ** *****

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 8, 2014 I went to TEAM Subaru to browse inventory and talk to them about trading in my current company car for a newer vehicle with less miles. As we were looking at a few different cars I was greeted by sales associate **** ********** I talked with him and explained what I was doing and that I had no intention of leaving with a car that day. He said okay and proceeded to show me some of the features of the vehicles I was looking at and we test drove a GMC Acadia. After talking with my husband we decided to see what kind of payments we might be looking at. I knew the guidelines that I was given and knew what I could and couldn't do. *** ********* also understood this as well as I explained to him that this would be a company vehicle and would not be purchased using my credit. He told me that all they would need was my bosses social since he is the principle of the business and that all they would do was run a credit check to help determine what the payments might be. I provided that and after about 45 minutes finally he returned with what I thought were approximate monthly payment amounts which were way to high and I told him that and left. I did not know that in reality what they had done was actually applied for a loan in my my boss's name until Monday March 17, 2014 when I arrived to work and learned that my boss had received letters from 2 banks concerning an auto loan. I feel I was deliberately mislead as I was not informed that I was in fact applying for an auto loan rather than just having a credit check done. The fact that they applied for a loan rather than just running a simple credit check violates several laws with regards to privacy. I myself almost lost my job over this incident. I will not go back there EVER!!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel that each perspective buyer should have to sign something saying that they understand and agree to allow the dealership or it's financial officers to open or pre-qualify a person for an auto loan. I also feel that rather than calling it a "credit check" they should be honest and call it what it is. An application for a car loan not a simple credit check.

Business Response:

The credit was checked as we told her it would be in order to apply for a vehicle.  She was not mislead, I did try to explain all of this to her twice, however she hung up on me both times. 

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to this car dealership on 1/31/14 with my mother who wanted to see if she had won a car through a mail promotion. My mother and I are lower in cognitive functioning and my sister who is developmentally disabled was also present. I am certain the salesman was quickly aware that he was dealing with "babes in the woods". Suddenly I found myself under pressure to buy a car. I am inexperienced in this and did not even know of the existence of helps such as Kelly Blue Book until after the fact. I bought a car, but when my wife and I discussed things we knew we could not afford the payment. I also found out later that they sold it to us at a price well above its value. We tried to return the car on 2/12/14 but they would not listen to us, instead talked us into writing two checks each for $1,000 saying they would cash one around March 1 and the other around April 1. However they insisted we date the checks on that date. We thought our tax refund would come in time to cover these checks. We realized when we left we still had an unsolved problem and went to my in-laws for help. My father-in-law went with me on 2/14/14 again to return the car but they had already sold it to the bank and we had to wait until they contacted us to have them come and repossess the car.Meanwhile they cashed one of our checks in February overdrawing our account by over $900 and causing lots of problems. My mother-in-law helped me write this complaint, but I agree with all of it. We would like other people to know that this business can be underhanded and to be very cautious about going there.

Desired Settlement: I gave them my deceased father's sterling silver and turquoise ring as collateral. It is of great emotional value to me and I would like it back. They said they have never held on to anyone's collateral before.

Business Response:

Called and left messages for him to call me.  Nobody has returned my phone call.

*** **********

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my first car from Team Mazda with the help of my dad as the cosigner on July 23, 2013. I was sold a 2010 White Toyota Corolla. Around the end of September I had received a call from the sales man that had sold us the car asking me for the vin number of my car because it was a routine check up that the dealer did, was not told anything else. The same day my dad got a call from the bank that financed us and asked for a verification of the vin number. She told us that the vin number on our paper work was different than the car. I then proceeded to check and the vin number from the car that I was given did not match my paper work. The whole time I was at the dealer I was told over and over that I was being sold a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The car that I am driving is a 2009 Toyota Corolla with a different vin number than what is shown on my paper work. We kept getting calls from the dealer to go in and sign the new paper work. When my dad and I went in they automatically wanted us to sign the new paper work. We said no and began to ask questions and no one was giving us answers. We were there for an hour and only got talked to for a total of about five minutes. We were told to go and that they would give us a call when they figured out the problem. We haven't received a call since. I am currently still driving the 2009 but my insurance, registration and paperwork all are under a 2010 Corolla vin number. My payments are going towards a car that I have no idea where or in what conditions it is in. We got charged for a 2010 not a 2009. The people from the dealer were very secretive and not giving us any information or answers to our questions.

Desired Settlement: I want to get a full refund of my down payment, the amount I was given for my trade in and my payments so I can purchase a car somewhere else. The contract and my loan terminated. I would like to be given answers on how this could of happened.

Business Response: She came in and we refinanced in her name only....she left happy.

12/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2009 Subaru Outback from Team approximately 6 months ago. The salesman told us that the cost was 19,500. Then another salesman explained that the new salesman made a mistake and the price was actually $24,000. Through the whole process we were told how well Subaru holds its value. We trade in two vehicle that gave us $12,000 in equity. I recently went to see about trading the vehicle in, expecting to have approximately $7,000 in equity, and the Team salesman told me that the car only appraised for nearly $12,000 and returning my warranty they could make it even on the vehicle we were considering. I asked about the equity and what happened to Subaru's holding there value. He told be the Subaru wasn't $24,000 and that my transaction didn't have the equity I thought it did. I told him I had figured that was the case and I would just keep the Subaru and forget about any further business with them.At the time of purchase they showed us a car fax and document showing the car valued at $24,000. From everything I can tell they showed us an appraisal of a car with more features than the one we purchased and the car we purchased was only worth $15-$17,000. Essentially they have stolen $7-9,000 in equity from us by misleading us through the deal and showing us numbers that were used to intentionally mislead us. I am willing to bet that this is a standard practice and the reason they don't receive a lot of complaints is because most people don't try and come back to trade the vehicle within a short amount of time. I cannot express the amount of disgust I feel, and I have been telling everyone, especially ones I sent to Team, how bad they ripped me off and how I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: First I will say, I know they will deny this and nothing will come from it.If they were really an honest and trustworthy company they would make an attempt to make us whole without any pressure from the BBB or litigation(if it were to come to this). I would consider credit shown as a down on a vehicle from the dealership, however I do not know that I would even trust them in another transaction of any sort. They should also have to price every car so customers can see it prior to any negotiation

Business Response:

I called and spoke with *** ******** went over all of the numbers with him. I told him to contact me directly when he wanted to trade the car in. I wanted to assure him we did not rip him off and to give me a chance to change his mind.

Thank you,

Rob Studebaker

 

10/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regard to the ad which states, no matter what your credit rating, even if you filed chapter 7, we will be able to get you into a new or used car. My rating is far from perfect due to the chapter 13 I filed, and paid up early, I was told they could not help, banks will not supply a loan...all I need to do is put up $2,000.00 down. In times we are facing today this is not the proper approach to our citizens, or the state of Idaho. I really need any form of transport with my job in and out of Boise.I appreciate your help in this matter. ***** ***************** ** **********

Desired Settlement: It would be a great help if they could provide a vehicle in my price range, and the financing.

Business Response:

We can get him a car but there are restrictions because of the credit situation.  If he would like to contact us we would be more than happy see what we could get him into.  He however needs to realize there will be restrictions and certain requirements from him to get him a car.

 

7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service