Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc.

Phone: (208) 549-3310 Fax: (208) 549-3314 View Additional Phone Numbers 602 Hwy 95, Weiser, ID 83672 http://www.hometownmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of automobiles both new and used.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company participates in the BBB's Code of Ethics program which include a commitment to ethical business practices.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1993 Business started: 05/01/1990 Business started locally: 05/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Business Management
Mr. Steve Dominguez, President Mr. Linda Six, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Dominguez, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
Hometown Motors

Additional Locations

  • 602 Hwy 95

    Weiser, ID 83672 (208) 549-3310

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to put $30 in fuel into THEIR van to test drive it. We took the van for an extended test drive, and because the dealership is over an hour and 60 miles away, it was late at night, and the dealership closed as we left. The fuel light came on as we were entering Payette, so I stopped at the Maverick and put $30 in gas into the van. I have the transaction on my credit card statement.The salesman Chad Phillips was notified of this as we returned the car. Chad also stated through email that the dealership would reimburse me for my fuel if I drove out there for a test drive. I estimated, very conservatively that the fuel cost for the trip in my van was $20, probably closer to $25.When I told the salesman that we weren't interested in that van, he tried to tell me he had a new one that they could sell me for $23k, or roughly $10k less than they sell for. He then shows me a van of a different make and model and previous year, hence the huge price disparity. He refused to let me walk away, my wife and kids walked away, and he just kept arguing and trying to convince me to buy that van. It was about 7:30 by the time we left, and we had to stop in Payette on the way home to feed our kids, less we would of had to drive home, arriving at 9:00 is, and then cook, 10:00 is, and then clean up and get bathed and in bed, it would have been entirely too late for them. The fast food bill was $44.Even if it sounds petty, their sign stated that if you take a test drive, they will give you a turkey. They didn't even give us the turkey that the sign promised.I have corresponded with both the salesman Chad Phillips and the manager Kurt Edwards, both of which refuse to take any steps to a resolution.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the cash I am out of pocket, $30 fuel in their van, $20 fuel in my van, $44 we spent being forced to stop and get dinner, plus the cost to purchase a turkey. I have the credit card receipts for the fuel, food, and emails with the promise of my fuel reimbursement. I just wish to be made whole.

Business Response:
We worked with Mr. Maglaughlin on pricing for this vehicle over the phone and via email for over a week. We had come to an agreement on price and he came out to buy the van. He decided to drive it overnight and when he came back the next day tried to get a better price, which he already knew we could not sell it for. We do have new 2015 dodge caravans for around $23,000.00 that he could have bought. But we were told he was not interested. I have read all the emails and see nothing on paying for his gas to get out to the dealership. If he drove our van or his own car back home that night and came back the next day he would have had to pay for the gas. It was his idea to drive our van overnight. We were told he was coming out to buy it that night. The sign we had on the free turkey was pre thanksgiving. It was still on the showroom, on the tailgate of a new truck filled with food and toys brought in from the employees and the community for Help Them To Hope.  We couldn't take down the banner for two reasons, it had food sitting on it and we gather items through mid Dec. We had no one else ask for a turkey for almost the full month it sat here after thanksgiving.
Thanks you for the time on this matter. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference ** ********* ** ********* *** have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The attached email, from their dealership domain, and salesman, does in fact state that they would pay for my gas to drive out there. Furthermore, anyone with any sense at all would never come to terms for a used vehicle, no warranty, over the phone. If I wanted to buy the vehicle, why would I have insisted on taking it for an extended test drive. Finally, I didn't even want to buy the vehicle when we returned, the salesman insisted that I make an offer, I refused twice, because I didn't want to buy it, there was too much wrong with it. I didn't want a better deal, I told him twice that I didn't even want to insult him with what I was willing to pay. There was to much risk and there were too many warning sign, I didn't want that vehicle.

Let me point out here that at this point they have already been dishonest and misleading on at least two points, which the email does prove. There was no food on the sign, it was on the wall and across the back tailgate of a truck in showroom. The individual responding to this complaint is just being deceitful.

Lastly, why would I be responsible to put gasoline in the vehicle that they were trying to sell me. A reputable dealership would never expect the customer to furnish gas for the vehicle they are selling.

******** ******* ***********




Business Response: **** ** *** *********** *** ***** *********** *** **** *** We will be mailing you a check  for the $20.00 for you to drive out here.
Thanks for your time.

Consumer Response: The $20 check doesn't cover the fuel that I had to put in THEIR vehicle, to test drive it, IT WAS THEIR VEHICLE!!!! Do they really expect customers to cover the cost of fuel to sell them a vehicle? That is a proposterous statement. Customers aren't responsible to put fuel into vehicles they are test driving! That is part of the cost of selling cars, and an elementary point to have to make! It also doesn't address the other broken promises, or expenses I incurred because of their sales tactics.
Steve's Hometown Motors has shown themselves to be a most unscrupulous deceitful dealership and people deserve to know this is how they do business. I believe that it can be determined from what I have submitted, and there responses and lies, that they deserve to have a BAD BBB rating. Please do a service to possible future victims of Steve's Hometown Motors, and let people know that this is how they treat people that they can't rip off with a bad overpriced used car or pressure into a new vehicle, with undelivered promises and deceit!

10/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2007 Ford Ranger bought Aug.19,2014, tire problems in 10 days, repaired value stems. Sept 4 2014 right rear tires blows off with severe damage to rear of truck. Informed dealership of problems with tires.

Desired Settlement: Request reimbursement for replacement of two rear tires purchase *********** *** ******, Sept 4 total of $348.66. Insurance deductible of $250.00 for repairs of damage from tire-blowout. Total $598.66

Business Response:

 

** **** ** *** ********    We have been in contact with **** ******* and with *** ******. The tires on the ranger at the date of sale were all rated at 11/32 and the new tires that were mounted by *** ****** were 14/32. The tires were more than a safe depth. Speaking with *** ****** there was a road hazard that caused the damage to the tire which damaged the truck. At this time we do not feel we are at any fault in this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

Bought a Bumper to Bumper Warranty that does not include Tires. Shame on HomeTown Motors, with a tire blow-out with major repairs in less then 200 miles down the road. Tires on this rig were old & dry rotted. Yes the tread was within the law. 

All tires have now been replaced buy myself. If I wanted to buy new tires for my used car purchase I would of bought from a private party, not a Dealership. No Honor !

Regards,***** *******

 

 

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new 2014 Ford Focus just before Christmas 2013 from Steve's Hometown Motors in Weiser. All 4 times it has been in for service the service and lube techs have broke and or messed up something on my car. Most recently I had the oil and filter changed on 4-8-14 at 3808 miles on the car. I drove on a trip about 2000 miles after the service. After the trip which I drove through ****** *** ********** desert and through high winds with lots of dirt and sand, I wanted to check the new *** air filter that I installed on 12-24-13. When I removed the air filter I found that it had been removed during their routine inspection and installed improperly as the sealing ring was folded in forcing the engine to inhale unfiltered dirty and sandy air. I called Hometown on the issue and they assured me through the service saying the checked the engine that nothing happened to the engine on my brand new car. I disagree as I do not believe that they did check the engine out or that there is any way on such anew vehicle to tell if any thing is wrong at this point with the engine. Previously before this they took apart the center console around the shifter and damaged and or broke surrounding trim items that have not been replaced yet to date. I believe that the service department at Hometown Motors in Weiser has done at least 100,000 miles damage to the engine of my formerly new car! Also during the first service I had performed by Hometown in Weiser at 615 miles, the techs spilled oil all over the front of the engine and did not ever clean it off. I cleaned the oil off myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like my formerly new car replaced with and exact one to make it right with me buying a new car or a full refund so I can be free to replace it at my own leisure from another dealership.

Business Response:

Mr. Schmerber brought his vehicle in for service on 12-17-2013 at which time customer stated that his USB port was not operating properly.  We checked the port and found it to be intermittent and could not duplicate at the time.
 
On 1-24-14 *** ********* brought his vehicle in for an oil change and stated his vehicle was pulling to the left.  We performed an oil and filter change, lube, check battery and  set tires to spec .  We did find the vehicle out of alignment and performed a wheel alignment and adjust.
 
On 4-8-14 *** ********* brought his vehicle in for an oil change and 5000 mile recommended service.  We changed the oil and filter, lubricated chassis, checked the battery and set tires to specifications.
 
At no point during either oil change did we remove or inspect the customer's air filter which he installed prior to coming in for service.  Our technicians do not inspect air filters that are not OEM at that mileage unless the customer asks us for an inspection.  *** ********* did not ask for that service at either time during his service. 
 
On 4-25-14 *** ********* stated that we scratched his center console during the oil change and wanted us to replace the entire three piece console.  We could not see the damage , however for customer satisfaction reasons we agreed to replace the parts.  *** ********* stated that he did not want anyone here working on his vehicle and wanted ******* ********* ****** to install the center console.  ******* ********* ****** did install one piece as the other two were not needed and are being returned to us. 
 
I understand and can appreciate that *** ********* has had an issue with his after market *** ****** on his new Ford Focus , however we did not install the air filter, nor did we remove it during any service to date.
 
We would be happy to discuss this item with him again, however his frustration is not due to anything that Hometown Motors did with his air filter. We have gone above and beyond to handle any issues that he has brought to our attention to date.
 
I would be happy to replace the air filter with a manufacturer air filter at no charge, however we do not inspect or replace after market parts on vehicles while under manufacturer warranty without owner consent.  At no time did *** ********* ask us to check or replace his air filter that he installed.
 
****** *** ** **** *** ** ****** ****** ******* ** **** ******* ********** ****** ***** ******* *** ********** ******* ******* ******** ****** ************ *************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in ********* ** ********* ** ********* *** have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

First off most of Hometown Motors response is incorrect. I bought the vehicle on 12-17-13, I did not bring it in for service on that date. I did state when we bought it that it puled left then and they wanted me to drive it and find any other faults it had so it could all be taken care of when I brought it in for the first service. I did take the car in on 1-24-14 and the work was performed along with applying *** ****** shield on the whole car inside and out.

 I did have the car back to Hometown to fix the car from still pulling left after the alignment was done 2 more times and the issue was almost fixed completely in that it still has a small left pull. When I took the car to Hometown due to the USB port not interfacing properly with a flash drive as it should the tech took the entire center console apart as he told me that he was told that the car had a bad USB cable. **** had me come out during the disassembly to see if I had time or I could leave the car as the tech had most of the center tore apart at that time. I went to see why and what the tech had apart on my car and explained to him the issue. He at that point put the car back together very upset and forcefully and formatted the radio and it worked again. I inspected the center console in the car and noticed damage from the tech disassembling the console and the shift light no longer working and reported that to **** *** *** which at that point they had new replacement parts ordered and they paid to have them installed at Payette Collision center due to the time it took to get the parts and all the other damage done to my car by Hometown I was not taking my car back to Hometown. They replaced 2 parts that were damaged or broken by the tech at Hometown not 1 as they stated and not all 3 that were damaged by the tech so we still have 1 damaged part on our new car.

 I have not had any issues with my air filter that I installed except that they had removed it and installed it incorrectly and broke the bottom of the air box. Hometown replaced the bottom of the air box and installed a new factory air filter incorrectly so that I had to fix the air box install myself again. Hometown had offered to replace my *** *** ****** with a brand new *** *** ****** and I told them I had reshaped the mounting flange back so it would work. When I had installed ** *** ****** I marked it so I would know if it had been tampered with when I did my personal inspection. Hometown is the only ones besides myself that had touched anything under the hood during the routine maintenance that I had paid them to perform.

  On the service done by Hometown on 4-8-14 they claimed they change the oil and filter, lubed the chassis, checked the battery, and set the tires to spec. They did change the oil and filter and check the tires also do a courtesy wash and vac also it stated on the list I received all the other items they checked including air filter which they had turned from where I had it marked and installed it incorrectly and broke the bottom of the air filter box at the attaching screw holes. There is no place to lube the chassis on this car and being that the car only had 3808 miles when the service was done it only needed oil and filter only. 

  So point being they admitted to damaging the filter, filter box, and console to me and offered to check the vehicle and replace the broken parts they had caused. So *** ****** to claim now that they did not do the damage is false.

******** **** *********

 

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Vehicle through steves Hometown motors on august 4th, the salesman that assisted us during the paperwork said there was a service called ********* ******** ***** for around $299.00 for the amount a few days later i called then and thay faxed me the paper work to cancel which i signed and faxed back. I called the first of september still within the 30 days to make sure they got the fax and that everything was ok they said they recived the fax and chould get my refund check in two to three weeks. Still to this day i have not got the check and have on Multiple attepms over the last month contacted them and wach time i reach them the lady i need to talk to is either busy or has stepped out i have also eamiled then and have got no reply. So at this point i feel im out of options and also cheated out the money for a service that was never put in place to begin with.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbersed for the cost ********* ******** ***** on my invoice for $299.00 which i canceld with them well before the end of the 30 day window

Business Response:

 We sent the check out Dec 10th and it cleared Dec 14.
If there is anything else we can do, please let me know.
 
Thanks agaln,
**** *******