Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Salmon River Motors & Quality Motors

Phone: (208) 756-2236 Fax: (208) 756-2636 1051 S. Challis St., Salmon, ID 83467 http://www.salmonautodealer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides the sales/service of new and used Chevy, Gmc, Dodge, Chrystler, Jeep & Ford vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Salmon River Motors & Quality Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Salmon River Motors & Quality Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salmon River Motors & Quality Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1998 in ID Business incorporated 05/21/1999 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W State St , Boise ID 83703
Phone Number: (208) 334-8000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Hull, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Hull, Owner
Customer Contact: Dan Kauffman
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8:30AM-6PM Saturday: 8:30AM-2PM
Service Area
Salmon Idaho area.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Quality Motors to purchase a 2006 GMC 2500 pickup truck on 2/17/2016. As part of this deal I agreed to trade in my 2008 Chevy Silverado 1500. I was quite clear that the vehicle had some condition issues, and that I was unsure of the correct mileage. I was also clear that I did not have possession of the vehicle at that time and that it would be traded in on the following saturday. I was told that because of the condition issues I had mentioned, that my trade was worth less than the pay off on the loan. The dealership staff agreed to add 3000.00 to the price of the truck that I wished to purchase, and then add 3000.00 to the value of the trade to account for the difference. I signed the paperwork and agreed to take delivery of the truck on saturday 2/20/2016. I arrived at the dealership at approximately 10:30 am to make the exchange. I fully anticipated that the dealership personnel would inspect my trade at that time. They gave me the keys to the truck I was buying, and I gave them the keys to my trade. They did not inspect the trade. I was left with the assumption that they were OK with the condition. They wished me a good day, and I left to drive to my home in ******. I was sent an email by the salesman on tuesday 2/23/2016. The email indicated that they believed that my traded vehicle needed 3000.00 worth of engine work, it had more miles than I stated, and had more dents. This email was followed by many calls and emails from the owner , **** H***. These communications were filled with threats, put downs, and attempted intimidation. He refuses to complete the contract as agreed. Quality Motors had a right to inspect the traded in vehicle at the time of trade and determine if they felt it was worth less than expected. Then if they wished to change the deal at that time I could either accept or decline these changes. They did not do those things and now are trying to hold me liable for their failure to exercise their rights.

Desired Settlement: Complete the contract as agreed. Do not contact me or my family again. Apologize.

Business Response: Hello, Mr. ******** has purchased from us before with same results. He explained to the salesman that it had a few dents, but what he did not explain to the sales person was that there were numerous engine problems. When he arrived on Saturday the sales person and the Sales Manager were not at the store. He told the person at the front desk he just needed to drop off vehicle and pick up the one he purchased, never saying that his vehicle had not been inspected. On Monday when we took the truck into our shop we realized he was less than honest about his trade. We called him right away and said we would return his vehicle to him and get our truck back because he had not been honest about his truck. Not only does it have numerous mechanical issues but also way more dents and blemishes that he had told us. When **** called Mr. ******** he told him that his truck was not what he had told us and we would simply unwind the deal. Also offered to bring his truck to ****** and get our truck back at no cost to the customer. Also the truck he was trading in had 15,000 more miles than Mr. ******** stated per our telephone conversation. Mr. ******** was very rude and said tough luck, he was in ****** and we would not be getting back our truck. I guarantee if the truck Mr. ******** purchased was not what we told him and had all these issues he would not have bought the truck.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This account of what happened is completely false.

 

1) I did tell the salesman about the knocking in the engine. I told him I did not have the truck with me. He said that was no big deal. They changed my deal to account for potential defects. I accepted this because the truck I was trading in was not perfect. The salesman asked me to guess on the mileage. I gave it my best guess. 

2) Mr. H*** never offered to deliver anything to ******, but did threaten to illegally come down and repossess it. 

3) It is interesting that Mr. H*** remembers a phone conversation ... we did not speak on the phone. He did leave me nasty voice mail messages. He did threaten and insult me with email messages. I chose not to speak with him because he was not rational. I know him to be one of those guys that likes to raise his voice, scream, yell, threaten, and insult to push people into doing what he wants. I wasnt rude to him on the phone ( or in any other venue ) because that conversation never happened. 

4) Apparently **** is incapable of running his own business ... apparently it was my responsibility to direct his people to do their jobs and inspect my vehicle. It is not my job. It is not the customer's responsibility to do that. Shame on you Dave.

5) The sad thing about people like this is that they have been lying to everyone including themselves for so long they don't know what the truth is anymore. 

6) I want everyone to know how shady this **** character is and why they should avoid this place of business.

Sincerely,

****** ********

11/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Salmon River Motors & Quality Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)