Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lyle Pearson Company

Phone: (208) 377-3900 Fax: (208) 375-0691 351 Auto Dr., Boise, ID 83709 http://www.lylepearson.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lyle Pearson Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lyle Pearson Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lyle Pearson Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1989 Business started: 11/01/1969 in ID Business incorporated 11/18/1969 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Cross, General Manager Mr. Jim Crooke, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Cross, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Services - Oil & Lube


Additional Locations

  • 351 Auto Dr.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 377-3900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sat Dec 19, 2015 I agreed to purchasing a **** ***** ** **** **** ******* *****. In speaking with the sales person and the Manager of the dealership we agreed on a price and one additional contingency which involved the swapping of rims and tires from my wrecked 2009 Acura tl. I was very specific a number of times on that day and then again the following Monday on what needed to happen to ensure that the deal was completed. I explained that my wrecked vehicle (09 TL) was in a "NON-man" tow yard and that the owner of the Tow company needed to be reached out to ensure that he agreed to a "set" time to allow for the tire company who ACURA hired to meet and swap out the rims and tires from the 2012 Acura TL I was purchasing to the 2009 Acura TL. I was extremely specific via verbal communication and via text that this had to be conducted in agreement with the Owner of the Tow company. I expressed how critical it was because a number of people had to be present to include the representative of the Tow company, my wife (to release the vehicle), and the Tire company who was to perform the job. On more than 3 occasions the sales person failed to arrange and ensure that a time was set. I followed up several times on Monday the 21st and he kept saying that the tire place was on it. On the day of the swap which was Tuesday December 22 2015 my wife was there for over an hour trying to arrange for the tire company to get access to the tow yard with the owner of the tow company. Eventually the tire company was given access by a third party (not the owner of the Tow Company) and everything went wrong from there. When the owner of the Tow Company found out that without his permission the swap of the tires was being performed he showed up to the tow yard. Kicked off the tire company and did not allow them to complete the swap of the wheels and tires. He then proceeded to text my wife and was rude and disrespectful as he thought she was going behind his back and violated his right to consent to access of the tow yard. I received a phone call from my wife expressing who upset she was that she was put in the middle of this situation when this all should have been arranged by the Acura Sales person the day prior to the swap. I called him to ask what had happened. He told me that he did everything he was supposed to but the owner of the tow yard was unreasonable. He never took ownership of his failure to ensure that he owned the situation and followed my instructions to be specific on a time with all the parties who needed to be involved. He never once apologized for his shortcomings or for putting my wife in such an awkward situation. In addition he knew that the deal would not happen unless I had the wheels and tires that I wanted which is what we agreed to the prior Saturday. I was extremely upset and told him that "no, he did not do his job" I explained that had he followed my very specific instructions we would not have gone through this mess and taken up my wife's time, my time and put me in a situation that right before Christmas I had no car. The insurance company had already canceled my rental car as they knew I was buying a new car. I told him that I wanted to speak to his direct supervisor. When his supervisor called me he apologized for their shortcomings and offered nothing else. After a few hours I calmed down and via text explained to hm that I was extremely disappointed as to how his sales person and himself handled the situation. I explained that I was very disappointed that a dealership with its "history and reputation" would offer nothing else than an "oops, we made a mistake" response. He never responded. A few hours later I text him again and said I wanted to speak to his Supervisor. He immediately called me and said. "I just saw your text messages from earlier". Now, he wanted to pay attention. He proceeded to ask me if I still wanted the car. I said of course I want the car, "I need the car" my rental is being returned on the next business day. He again apologized for the shortcomings of his sales person and said you arrange all of it this time and we will pay for the swap again. This whole process was extremely challenging to begin with as the insurance adjuster was very unwilling to agree to the swap to begin with. After I begged and begged he agreed the first time. I really did not want to beg again for this to happen so I put it on the Manager to reach out to the adjuster and get his permission to agree to the swap as the wrecked 09 TL was being moved from Boise Idaho to Caldwell Idaho. He let me know that we had the green light and to go ahead and coordinate the new swap of the tires to include access to the tow yard and the hiring of a tire company who would perform the swap. This was accomplished only because that's what I suggested to him as he never offered any type of resolution other than an "sorry". After thinking long and hard I realized that this was way too complicated and that I wasn't going to have a vehicle until the following week sense the tow yard in Caldwell Idaho explained that they did not know when they were going to have the vehicle in their possession. I asked them to please call me and let me know once they had the car. That call never came!! Once I realized that this was way too much to deal with I gave up and went to another dealership where their level of professionalism towered Lyle Pearson Acura from the professional demeanor of the sale person to the signing of documents for my new vehicle. Personally I am disgusted with how Lyle Pearson Acura handled the whole situation. I have been an owner of Acura vehicles since * *** ** ***** *** ** ** ** ***** ***** I have had all of my vehicles serviced at that dealership and have always loved the passion that ACURA clearly expressed through their vehicles. I always thought I would be an ACURA owner until these people completely screwed up my holiday and my experience. They failed to follow through with clear communication that I shared, sales person failed to apologize and own the situation, Manager failed to own the situation until I asked for his supervisor and to this date January 16 2016 have not reached out to say "hey, what happened with out arrangement". Clearly they do not care which its a shame as they have lost one loyal customer and in my opinion have ruined the reputation of their dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by the highest level of Management and be explained the reason behind why my business meant so little to them. I would like to have an apology letter to my wife for ruining her day and wasting over 2 hours of her valuable time. I would like to be monetarily reimbursed for the 4 hours total that my wife and I spent on trying to accomplish this purchase. We did everything we were supposed to down to securing financing and submitting a credit application.

Business Response: On December 19th 2015 we did agree to a car deal on a pre-owned Acura. The customer did want us to help out in getting his tires and wheels swapped out on his totaled car to the pre-owned one he was buying. We were just going to swap 4 applications for 4 applications. When we agreed to this I was not aware of the complexity of getting this done until the next day. We did agree to hire and pay a tire company to get this done. We tried to nail down a time with the tire company to meet at the yard where the totaled car was parked at but they could not get us an exact time because they are a service business and they never know when they will be done with an earlier call. They tried to help us as much as they could for an exact time, but one could not be established. When they showed up (I was not there), someone let them in and they started to remove the tires and wheels. They told me that they had 3 applications replaced and only had 1 more to go when the owner of the shop showed up. They said he was very mad. The owner made the tire company replace the 3 applications that had been already moved over to the new car back to the totaled car. I was told the owner of the storage lot new about the tire change but for some reason was insistent on moving everything back to the way it was. At this time the customer was upset as I think everyone was. The Insurance adjuster had agreed to let the owner of the totaled car swap the wheels out. The customer wanted me to call the insurance adjusted and smooth things over and see if we could swap the wheels out in Caldwell where the car was going to end up at. I did call the insurance adjuster up and got permission to do so. The insurance adjuster was not overly happy about this deal because he said he had way to much time involved in this deal and wanted it to go away. (I can provide his name and number on request). The customer did call me and said we totally messed the deal up with everyone involved. I said I was sorry but to be fair with everyone involved with this deal I think it would have been very tough to have made this go smooth. I told the customer we would try again to get this done but we now had to wait for the car to show up in Caldwell and no one knew when that would be. The customer said he would call me and I never heard from him again. He had mentioned earlier that he may buy another brand. When he didn't get back to me I figured he bought somewhere else. We tried to get him to do the paper work but he did not want to do it until  the tires and wheels were swapped. We had mentioned that he needs to own the car before everything was swapped but he did not want to do that. It seems like everything was very complicated on this deal. I am sorry that there are hurt feelings.

11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 4. I brought my Mercedes GLK350 4Matic (6 cylinder gas motor) in for a service because winter was coming and they said we might as well perform a oil change etc. They charged me $219.32 minus insurance $25.27 for a total of $199.95 I have a 100 thousand mile warranty zero deductible. Invoice number is 189106. I thought it was way too much! they disagreed I found out the put in Mobil m 5w-40 oil  9 quarts. My car suppose to have 6.9 quarts of Mobile one 0w-40 The next day November 5th 2015 I was waxing my new car with a excellent past wax for a lovely shine and to protect the paint. I had a feeling I should check the oil so I did and found it to be over filled, At the time I looked 1 or 2 inches above on the wire of the dip stick, and looked dirty as before. I checked the oil twice wiping it clean each time. I called Lyle Pearson Boise ID, to ask whats going on here.The receptionist asking where I needed to direct me she she asked what was wrong, and then said that was impossible..I loudly said ****** ** ***** ***** *****t I just spent 199.00 Dollars and my oil is over full and dirty, she promptly directed me to the Service Manager. I came back to Mercedes shop and they advised me that the oil is a little over full but thats OK. We did not put 9 quarts in as your receipt states only 7.4 quarts and it's metered. And the service manager ****** warned me not to swear at the receptionist ever again. I apologized, but I was not swearing at her I thought they have screwed up my car. I don't usually get threatened by any professional but this is Mercedes of Idaho. I contacted other Mercedes Specialists in the Idaho area and they told me that the Oil must not be over full or it will damage the seals and gaskets and other mechanical equipment. Today 11-8-2015 while in the car I noticed that my Integrated Mirror Compass was not working I further examined it and found the mirror had been replaced, less quality mirror with oval buttons my original mirror had round buttons auto dimming. This one won't dim....someone has replaced the mirror with a lower grade mirror. Is it because *** *********** ********** * *** **** **** ********. they can see how I walk etc.... That must be the reason...... Is my 100 thousand mile warranty any good?? I'll get my money back.? I want my original mirror back as it was new...........I want ***** *** ***** ***** *** my car as recommended by Mercedes, The car came with ***** *** ***** ***** ***. Just because I'm a ********** doesn't mean I'm not intelligent. I've worked for over 20 years for the U.S. Government and now i am retired. I'd like to get this fixed to my satisfaction, I want my original mirror, I want my oil ***** *** *****. I'd like my money returned it should not have cost that much. If not I won't let this go away because I spent $52,931.07 on this car including extra added items. As a gift to me for all my years working and a lovely safe car to drive. If Lyle Pearson employees are going to remove equipment from my car, add the wrong oil which is over full, how can I trust them every time I come for service that something else goes missing or is damaged.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to get this fixed to my satisfaction, I want my original mirror that came with the car reinstalled, I want my oil ***** *** ***** not over filled and with new oil filter. I'd like my money returned it should not have cost that much. If not I won't let this go away because I spent $52,800 on this car including extra added items. As a gift to me for all my years working. I want my 100 Thousand warranty zero deductible money back of $3500.00.

Business Response:

** ***** called us Thursday that we overfilled his oil after our service. He was very abusive over the phone. We invited him down so we can check it together. He came down and Service Manager ****** ******** and a Mercedes technician, and ** ***** all checked the oil level. Every time it was at the proper level. The engine oil that Mercedes Benz recommends is ****** *** ****. That's the oil that came in ** *****s car when new.

** ***** never mentioned his mirror being wrong. This is the first we have heard of it. We never removed the mirror. ** ***** is more than welcome to come down and look at another one to see there the same. And we can check his oil level again for him.

We never knew of any handicaps so I don't know where that is coming from.

***** *******

Service Director

Lyle Pearson Co.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lyle Pearson Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)