Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lyle Pearson Company

Phone: (208) 377-3900 Fax: (208) 375-0691 351 Auto Dr., Boise, ID 83709 http://www.lylepearson.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lyle Pearson Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lyle Pearson Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lyle Pearson Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1989 Business started: 11/01/1969 in ID Business incorporated 11/18/1969 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Cross, General Manager Mr. Jim Crooke, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Cross, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Products & Services

Lyle Pearson Company sells the following brand(s): Acura, Jaguar, Land Rover, Mercedes Benz, Porsche, Volvo


Additional Locations

  • 351 Auto Dr.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 377-3900

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1 Dec 12, I had problem with a tire on my Volvo XC 90. Due to the severity of the tire problem, I took the tire to the closest tire dealer which was *** ****** in MH, ID. *** ****** could not take the tire off the vehicle because of a locking lug nut. When the technician first started the process, he advised me the key for the lug nut was damaged. I authorized the technician at *** ****** to remove all locking lug nuts from the Volvo. He was able to remove 3 of the 4 successfully. Additionally, he advised me every step of the process & it got to the point where they would either have to torch off the lug nut or chisel it off the vehicle. The lug nuts were put on by Lyle Pearson as I had them rotate my tires on 23 Jul 12. *** ****** recommended I try to drive the Volvo to Lyle Pearson to see if they could take of the lug nut since they rotated the tires. I was able to slowly drive my vehicle from MH to Boise to the Lyle Pearson dealership. After several hours Lyle Pearson was able to remove the locking lug nut, by chiseling it off the vehicle. I asked *** ****** ******** at Lyle Pearson Volvo how this could happen and he would not accept any responsibility for the lug being too tight on the vehicle. *** ******** said his technicians are perfect & would not make this mistake. He told me this twice on 6 & 7 Dec. Additionally, *** ******** told my wife on 7 Dec, his technicians would not have over-torqued the lug nut because they are master technicians. Because of the severity of the tire problem, I directed Lyle Pearson to fix the tire at the cost of $260.00 & it was the most expensive option in the area. On 12 Dec, the vehicle was ready and when we got it from Lyle Pearson, my wife & I met with the senior service representative, Mr. ***** ******** *** *******, like *** ******** would not accept any responsibility for over torquing this lug nut & I stressed to *** ******* the last people to put on these lug nuts were technicians from Lyle Pearson. I paid for the work & departed.

Desired Settlement: One, Lyle Pearson Volvo to admit they made a mistake when they rotated my tires. No one is perfect. Two, the 23 Jul 12 tire rotation cost me $19.95 & I request for a refund for that work. LP will say they did not charge me for the removal of the lug nut & they included the road hazard for the replaced tire. That is correct. However, LP treated me as if I did not know a thing about a vehicle & belittled *** ****** in MH. Therefore, I ask for one free tire rotation during next service.

Business Response:

We at Lyle Pearson Co. feel five months later a tire shop takes off 19 lug nuts and cant get one off does not show we over torqued it. When the vehicle arived at our shop the lug nut was damaged. It was a locking lug nut and the lug nut key was also damaged. therefore checking the tourqed was impossible. We were able to get the lug nut off however. You would think if we over torqued the lug nuts they all would of had a problem not just one special locking lug nut.

We never stated we are perfect. We actually said we are human and we do make mistakes. We just dont feel this is our mistake. We did what we could to help the customer by not charging labor to remove the lug nut, and giving free road hazard on the tire. We will offer a free tire rotation at there next scheduled service.

 

***** *******

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 20 December 2012*** *********My apologies for not responding sooner as I am preparing to deploy next week to Afghanistan for one year and I was completing my mandatory appointments for the deployment.  It is clear that *** ******* and I agree to disagree.  I would like to clarify once again some of *** ******** points.  First, *** ****** removed only 7 lug nuts, not 19 from my Volvo XC 90.  *** ****** Mountain Home removed 3 locking lugs from my Volvo XC 90 wheels and replaced the 3 locking lugs with regular lug nuts.  *** ****** Mountain Home then removed the 4 regular lug nuts from the wheel with the damaged tire and could not remove the locking lug nut from the wheel with the damaged tire.  Second, *** *** **** at *** ****** Mountain Home voluntarily provided a statement of his actions when he tried to move the locking lug nut on 6 December 2012, and it is attached.  *** **** did so because he thought the locking lug nut was cross-threaded.  When I learned the lug nut was not cross-threaded, the only logical explanation is the technician over torqued the lug nut during installation.  When I met with *** ******* on 12 December 2012, he told my wife and I there is no way his technician could over torque the locking lug nut.  However, in his statement on 12 December 12, *** ******* said the locking lug nut was too damaged to determine if it was over torqued.  My point is which story does *** ******* want to provide, what he told me or what he told the Better Business Bureau.Third, *** ******* never said his technicians are human and make mistakes.  *** ******* told me that Lyle Pearson is a family business and if his technicians made a mistake like what I state, they would not be there.  His technicians were able to remove the locking lug nut after they chiseled it off the vehicle.  So I have to ask, how could this happen?  The answer is clear, human error.My problem with this entire situation is that *** ******* never stated how this could happen.  All that he would clearly state is that is was not Lyle Pearson’s fault even though Lyle Pearson put on all the lug nuts when I paid to have my tires rotated 23 July 2012.  *** ******* and his team have no problem belittling other companies as they did during our discussions about this problem with the locking lug nut.  *** ******* represents the only Volvo dealership in the state of Idaho and their behavior during this process was insulting.Regrettably, I cannot accept *** ******** offer and since I have to justify myself again, I respectfully request the following.1.  Reimbursement of $19.95 for the 23 July 2012 tire rotation.2.  A future tire rotation at no cost to my family.3.  Reimbursement of $40.00 from the installation of the repaired tire on 12 December 2012.  My justification is as follows.  When I had my tires installed in March 2012, I purchased the tires from the internet company TireRack at a cost of $180.00 a tire, then I went to a recommended European mechanic in Boise who installed the tires at cost of $20.00 per tire.  Now, I accept Lyle Pearson’s **** ********* offer of the road hazard for the new tire they installed on 12 December 2012 and that cost is $20.00.  So the overall cost for my new tire with road hazard is $220.00.  Lyle Pearson charged me $260.00 so they still make money off of me when I had a problem I honestly feel they caused and the problem is they put on a lug nut too tightly.4.  I request the Better Business Bureau arbitrate.I deploy on 26 December 2012 to Afghanistan, so my wife ******* has my permission to continue this process until resolution.//signed, lae, 20 December 2012//

***** **** *****

* ************* ** **** ******** ** ** ******** ** *** ****** ******** **** ****

Business Response:

*** *********

We feel we have been more than fair. We looked up that tire on tire rack. The price of the tire and shipping cost $199.34. We charged $217.25. We have already offered a free tire rotation at next service, and gave free road hazard protection on there new tire. If *** ***** would have origionally bought the tires from us there would have had road hazard protection and the tire and installation would of been $0. Thanks.

 

Chris Simmons

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and feel that Lyle Pearson Volvo Boise will provide no further responsibility regarding our complaint.  We will accept the offer of a free tire rotation at the time of the next servicing for oil with much reservation and regret.  An additional visit to their service department over the last two days to repair a problem (stress cracked rotor on right front where the tire was replaced) resulted in the same lack of willingness to acknowledge any possibility of responsibility.  While waiting in the service area, I heard another customer who was very unhappy with recent work that had been done, so we are not an isolated case.  I was even told by the service supervisor that we are "the one in one thousand customer that makes him dislike his job".  However he feels about us, this is not how you speak to any customer.  I told him that his comments were unfortunate as I was waiting to send this response and hoped to be able to have a more positive experience to report on.  After this comment was made, *** ******* did "appear" in the service area and I no longer had any contact with the supervisor, only *** *******.  I am sure he overheard my comment about the BBB reply (he knows that we were serious when we said we would file a complaint) and the inappropriate comment made by the supervisor.  He brought me the invoice I was waiting for and indicated that he wants me to feel comfortable in bringing my Volvo to them, especially while my husband is gone for the next year to Afghanistan.  He told me that I am to call him personally if I need to bring my Volvo in for any reason and gave me his business card.  I told him I would think about it, but he may be a bit too late with this offer.  I will have to take time to consider this offer if any future problems arise.

 

Regards,

 

 

******* ***** **** ***** ***** ***** *********