Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Larry Miller Honda

Phone: (208) 947-6650 Fax: (208) 947-6648 7710 Gratz Dr., Boise, ID 83709 http://www.lmhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile sales, parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Larry Miller Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Larry Miller Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Larry Miller Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Litty Mr. John O'Bryan, General Manager Mr. Jeff Beese, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Litty
Principal: Mr. John O'Bryan, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Auto Village Motors, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Larry Miller Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7710 Gratz Dr.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 947-6650

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After an oil change, Larry Miller Honda left white scratches on my black car. I didn't notice until I took the car home after which I took pictures that were emailed in using their online support site. I also left voicemail. My wife and I called back several times in an attempt to get the problem resolved. We were always told we needed to speak to a manager who was conveniently never there. I figured I would wait until our next oil change to deal with it. At this time I was told that the detail and repair team did not work on Saturdays, but that they would let the manager (again not there) know and he would contact me. I'm still waiting for a call after my last visit.

Desired Settlement: I just want my door repaired.

Business Response:

Service manager reached out to customer. An apt is set for today the 22nd to to inspect the vehicle and resolve the issue.

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my 2013 red Toyota Corolla S through Diane L**********/Brian F****. I am extremely dissatisfied with my purchase. Prior to signing the contract they told me my payment wouldn't be due until 45-days after I purchase which would be June 25th which I found out is now due June 13th. They didn't tell me who the lender was through until I went to sign paperwork. Then when I found out it was through ******* ***, I was upset because I could've done some research as to what my payments should've been had I known prior because I already had a pre-approval through them. They also failed to give me my contract after I handed in my down payment check. They also told me not to tell the lender (******* ***) that they are holding my check for 30-days because it might void the contract. Well, they are doing that and are lying to the lender which isn't surprising since they lied to me too. So after I was hesitant on buying a RED car anyway, I come to find out through ******* ***'s Auto webpage that my payments at 17.9% with $1,800 down payment for 72 months purchased at $15,800 should've been around $340/mo. Why am I paying $391/mo (minus $10 for service contract I added)?! I texted Diane's personal cell phone which went completely ignored. I called her phone which went unanswered. I received an e-mail from her thanking me for the purchase, to which I replied and she STILL couldn't get back to me. So then I called Jeff (the manager) extremely upset after finding this out and talking to ******* *** who said I had to talk to the dealership. Jeff said he'd have Brian or Diane call me to which Brian called but did not even discuss my concerns. All he said was that I could come pick up my contract! They witheld my contract for 3 days. I immediately told them I wanted out of it since they were deceiving me with so many things but they basically said I'm screwed. Had I had my contract right away, I could've backed out of it because the loan wasn't approved until the 2nd day.

Desired Settlement: I want to get a refund and take my business to elsewhere, where they will hopefully be more honest and not withhold my contract for 3 days making it to where I could not back out before the loan was paid to the dealership by the lender.

Business Response:

She purchased the vehicle at a sales price of $15,800. When she calculated her payments online, she failed to input the state sales tax, doc fee, warranty, and GAP. Her total amount financed after everything she decided to purchase was $17,199.84 which equals a $391 payment for 72 months at 17.90%. (all of this was disclosed in the finance office) We went with the approval through ******* *** that she herself got approved for.

She didn't have her down payment check with her at the time of the deal so she said she would bring it back the same day and grab her paperwork. Instead of bringing her check to the finance office and picking up her paperwork, she dropped it off to the receptionist and left. She didn't get a response from her sales associate because she called and text her at 3 AM.

When she came in to pick up her paperwork, her concerns were addressed. We explained that her payment was based on her total amount financed and not just the sales price. We told her that most of the online payment calculators don't take into account taxes, fees, warranty, and GAP which explains the discrepancy in payment amounts. She said that she understood. She was also aware of the time she tried contacting the sales associate which is why she didn't get a response from her.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They did not tell me what the total financed was because they kept my contract from me, as previously stated. Bryan the finance guy did not tell me I could pick up my contract when I dropped off the payment. In fact, when I dropped off the down payment, I asked for him and they said he wasn't in and the front desk person said she'd give him the check. Nothing was mentioned about picking up my contract. I called multiple times and left text message, and emails. Regardless of whether I texted at 3am or not, I still called during business hours with no return phone calls except from Brian F. who only stated I could come pick up my contract 3-days later. He did not address my concerns over the phone. When I went into talk to him, he told me that it was the other Bryan that called but I have his direct phone number saved to my phone AND I recorded our conversation when I went into Larry Miller to talk to them. So I have a recording of Brian F. saying that it wasn't him who called me but was the other Bryan, the finance guy; phone number on the screenshot I saved says otherwise. I don't get why they have to lie.

Also, I put a stop payment on the down payment check that I wrote to "Larry Miller," because I tried calling them and left messages but they, once again, went unanswered. I did my due diligence to try and make arrangements for that. However, it was notified to me by my bank that someone forged my handwriting and wrote in the word, "Honda," on the check so that it would bypass the stop payment and go through. Once again, why are they avoiding me when I am trying to do my due diligence and be responsible by contacting them only to be ignored. 


Sincerely,

***** **********

5/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last February 9th, 2015 my girlfriend and I went to Larry H. Miller Honda to start looking at cars. We went there intentionally to avoid dishonest buy here pay here lots because we thought they had a good reputation for honesty and customer service. We found our current car, a 2010 white Mazda 3, with roughly about 56,000 miles on it. Of course we loved it, but were concerned about getting approved due to credit issues. We met with the finance manager, Darryl S******, who did get us approved with a 26.99% interest rate. Regardless of bad credit we knew that that interest rate was insane. If continued through the whole contract the car would end up costing us over $33,000. But Darryl made several promises about refinancing. He said make all of your payments on time and come back in 6-12 months and we'll take care of you guys. The absolute ONLY reason that we accepted these terms that were "all that he could possibly do for us" was because we did acknowledge our credit was less than pretty. So after putting $1500 down we left happy that we'd found someone we could trust, knowing we were going to have to bite the bullet for a short period of time to improve our credit for a better rate. Then on February 28th later we get called by him to come back in a re-do the paperwork because he'd misplaced it and forgot to fax it all in to the finance company. So we go in and re-sign everything. Our first payment was due April 14th, 2015. For the first few months we made almost double payments to try and pay it off quicker. The finance company didn't apply them to the principal as directed and as they said they were. So ultimately those extra payments meant nothing. We started out with a balance of $16,408.88. After 9 on time payments of $456 a month ($105 going towards the balance), and after several unreturned phone calls, we go back to Darryl about refinancing because in October 2015 we got an interest rate on our van of 10.99%. He says he doesn't know what he can do for us, but he's going to work on it but needs a few days. Well afterwards there was another string of no returned phone calls. So then I show up with my dad, because it's pretty apparent that Darryl has been giving us the run around and took advantage of us. As soon as that happened he starts acting weird and talking in circles about a bunch of *** and finally comes out with the fact that he can't do anything until we make our 12th payment. So we wait patiently until we made our 12th payment, and start calling again. MORE unanswered calls. I even had the secretary walk a message to him, which he claims he never got. So of course, we show up again...and all he did was blow us off, walk by us, avoid us, and pass us on to the sales manager Jeff C********. Jeff is a nice guy, but just like Darryl can't seem to figure out how to fix the issue. Because the new issue is that we have too much negative equity on our loan. Well, you sold to us at a profit, you made promises to fix the interest rate, and you've been giving us the run around for 4 months now. So we started out with a balance of $16,408.88 after our down payment. We've paid $5472. And our new balance is $15,147.92 after all of our payments. And yet Mr. S****** and his higher ups can look us in the eye repeatedly and refuse to take accountability for his lies and unprofessionalism. My vehicle is only worth $10,000. I can only get refinanced for $12,500. I can take responsibility for trusting a man that I didn't know at what I thought was a respectable establishment. But I can't take accountability for someone as dishonest as he is being allowed to work there and take advantage of people. And cause havoc in their lives to make a few extra bucks. I'm sure good business could make you plenty of money too. Jeff supposedly can't find a vehicle to roll us into to eat up the negative equity. Nevermind the fact that all of their vehicles are overpriced, even by blue book and nada retail standards. In all reality they just don't want to accept the responsibility of their own actions and take a loss on a vehicle. Or on one of their profits I should say. And don't care about money that's already been made. Now, as of the last time we went in, which was on April 25th, the NEW ISSUE is that since we are 1099 employees we have to file taxes before they can help us because the banks want to know if we will have to make payments to the IRS. Which is also *** There were no issues with that when they got us into this mess, and there were no issues with it when we got our van. We want this resolved immediately.

Desired Settlement: We either want to be refinanced at a reasonable interest rate or rolled over into another vehicle to eat up the negative equity caused by Mr. S******, or we want them to take the Mazda back at the cost of our total loan and be done with them.

Business Response:

Unfortunately we as a dealership don’t have control over what interest rate the bank is going to approve a customer for. It’s all based off of what their current credit worthiness is at the time of purchase. We will inform our customers of possible options of either a refinance or attempt to trade out of their current vehicle if the credit supports it. Also depending on job security is another portion the bank will look at. Our initial loan looks as if it did what it was supposed to do over time. For that their next vehicle purchase allowed them to get a lower rate but unfortunately it wasn’t through us. We made an attempt to trade them out of this vehicle but with the new auto loan just recently purchased along with an employment change (now self-employed) made things difficult. Could not find a bank to extend another auto loan due to what current events had taken place.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

That was the response that I expected from your company. But realistically, your sales managers know what they will or won't be able to do in the future based off of credit and interest rates. Which he took advantage of in lying and making promises he knew weren't plausible. Purchasing that car was never intended for purchasing another one. It's purpose was to have a safe vehicle for ourselves and improve our credit to be refinanced. Your responses as to why you can't follow through with your promises have changed every single time that you've been confronted with this issue. Every time we've came in there there has been a different excuse. We are still with our same jobs, just have transferred offices and are not self-employed. I've worked here for a 17 months and she has worked here for 15. And I also don't understand how purchasing another vehicle has caused an issue? The debt to income ratio is still good, and we are still current on our outrageous payments. Your company is very dishonest, the rest of the complaints on here as well as your responses to us goes to show just how little integrity you have.

Sincerely,

******* *******

5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Intentionally didn't disclose issues with the car that would have affected purchase. Refuse to fix said issues. Let me leave the lot without out a working horn. Did not get paperwork into loan company until almost 30 days after purchase. Did not pay off trade until late after 30 days, causing a negative report on credit. Did not get paper work turned into dmv before temporary expired and I had to pay 30$ for a 21 day trip permit.

Desired Settlement: Repairs made. Credit report fixed, and refunded cost.

Business Response: Customer was aware we were waiting on a part to repair the Navigator when she purchased it and still wanted to take delivery of the vehicle before it was fully repaired. When we were made aware that the horn was not functional we fully agreed to repair it as well. The part we need is on national back order. We secured a used part and attempted to repair the vehicle. When that did not work I told her I would work with her to trade her into a different vehicle and compensated her with a full tank of gas for her drive from Baker City. She said she still wanted the Navigator and took the vehicle to Gentry Ford in Baker City. I was in contact with Baron from Gentry Ford about the needed repairs. He confirmed the part is still on national back order and we will sublet the work to ****** **** to avoid having her drive from Baker City again. In regards to the paperwork not being turned in and her trade not being paid off in a timely manner.... We explained to her the bank was still required additional information to fund her loan. She knew what was needed before she took delivery of the vehicle. Continued to follow up with her to get the required information for the bank. When we finally reached her again and asked to provide the documents needed she said she was out of town and it would have to wait. When we finally received the documents her loan funded and her vehicle was paid off. If we had gotten the documents back in a timely manner this could of all been avoided.    

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was told about the fan and that it would be replaced, ron the salesman said that instead of me waiting for it to be fixed I could come take the vehicle. So I did. When I got home I realized the horn didn't work, I was told by Ron "I bet the heated seats don't work either", insinuating that the fan module was to blame. After these issues I checked into the vehicle more and noticed that the steps weren't Turing on. When this was mentioned to Jeff a supervisor at larry h miller he told me that Ron hadn't made sure he knew everything about the car and appologized.  Jeff told me that the service department had pulled the fuse because the step wasn't working right. I had gentry look and the fuse was pulled and the motor for the passenger side was grinding so bad that it had to be disconected. When I called again and spoke with the other supervisor Jeff I was told that all would be taken care of. Nothing has been replaced or fixed and the excuse if "it's an accesory" is what I'm being told. It is a factory order part of the vehicle and not an accessiry, accessories are after market parts added to a vehicle.  As for the horn that is a SAFETY issue not being able to alert other drivers should something happen.  That part is not of back order and still isn't fixed. As for the issues with the loan, we told finance guy justin and sales man Ron that we had our paystub with us, they stated they didn't need them. 2 weeks later while we were on vacation they called saying they needed them. Me and my mother work 40 hours a week and it took a couple weeks for us to get the paystub to justin via fax because the picture messages were too blurb when blown up. That should not have delayed the pay off of my trade resulting in a bad ding on my credit. Besides that the DMV paperwork was not submitted within 30 days. Yes the dealership overnighter an new temporary that I received today, but I had to buy one already to be ablessed to drive my car yesterday as my original expired on the 25th. I have never had as much trouble with a dealership shadings as I have with Larry h miller honda. Even the ***** dealership right across the street stated that this is not common larry h miller conduct. Just the fact that the corporate office is shoving this under the rug by not returning calls, shows me that the customer is not important. Of course they offered to get us into a different vehicle but at what cost to me, and how could I trust anything they say. 
Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

Everything that was promised in writing at the time of delivery has been addressed to the best of our ability. Unfortunately one of the parts is on national back order which is obviously out of our hands. Even a few things that weren't promised at time of delivery have been worked on. At this time the only solution I see is to trade the customer out of the vehicle which she has already been given the option.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Nothing has been fixed, that is a blatant lie. The horn is a SAFETY feature that should have been in working order before I left the lot. The dealership has known about the horn since 3/12/2016 and it is still not in working order. Amongst many issues with their deceitfulness I would rather not trade to the same dealership and individuals I have thus far and have to worry about the same issues. 

Sincerely,

***** *****

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a vehicle from Larry Miller. After I signed the paperwork to accept the vehicle the salesman gave me one key for the vehicle. I requested to have the dealership provide me with an additional key. (the keys are electronically coded and expensive. If I were to lose one I would have no ability to drive my vehicle.) The salesman - Brad C******- stated that he would get a second key for me in addition to parts to fix a seat malfunction. I called 4 times inquiring about the key and the parts. I have not received a phone call back from the salesman. When speaking to the other service and sales reps i was informed on one occasion that I didn't get the parts in writing when I originally purchased the vehicle and I would now be required to pay. I feel that the rep is stringing me along and has no intention of taking care of our agreement. I feel that i was taken advantage of. I am unhappy with the fact that I was promised a new key and part and have yet to see the company honor the agreement made by their sales rep. I am unhappy with the fact that I have been the one to initiate contact each time. The rep has not shown an interest in calling me back even when he stated he would.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the key and the encoding to my vehicle performed and the seat part / repair promised me by the sales rep as soon as possible.

Business Response: Apt was scheduled on Saturday 4-2-2016... extra key was given and the arm rest on the back seat had parts ordered for it. Everything has been resolved and apologize for the inconvenience.

12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman who I worked with informed me that my car got 30 mpg when it only gets 27 he told me they help even after the sale and when I got there he was rude and told me my car which I only had two months was my problem and after only two months things are going wrong and they wouldn't even look at it

Desired Settlement: That my car be looked at and taken care of as week as a apology from staff for also sending me six different places to resolve who to talk to

Business Response: We tried to help and set an apt for service. Also offered to trade her out of the vehicle if she was unhappy with the mileage she was getting. The miles per gallon are based off of a drivers habits and driving conditions. She rudely said some things in our showroom and directed her attention to another customer here that was not necessary. At this point we are not willing to help with anything.

9/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales crew and *** guy strong armed my wife and I into a car. At first they came to us with a car deal that for the most part worked, but then they came back and started changing the terms and the financing company saying they could not include our other car that already had a loan on it into the deal. If they did, our payment would be way out of our price range. They said to make the deal work for the banks, we should just let the old car go back to the bank because there would be no financial repercussions in doing this. Tired after waiting so long and being jerked around, we believed them. We then went home that night after signing the deal only to find out that we can't just give our old car back, because the bank would still want payment on our car if it did not sell for value at auction. The engine was blown in our old car, so it had little to no value, and we already owed nearly $3,000 on it. Had we kept this deal and let the car go back like they had suggested, this could have put us in serious financial trouble, considering we could barely afford the deal they were giving us. They said things to us like, "Your credit is not good, and because of this broken car you have, no one else is going to finance you." The *** guy ****** said, "Your paying on a dead horse, just sign this deal, and let the old one go back to the bank." He also told us not to call ******* *** (the bank our old car was financed through) till this deal went through. When we got home we thought to ourselves, "What did we just sign, everything we are looking up on car repossession is false." I went back in promptly the next morning to give the car back and explain my situation. Chad, the general manager, said he would not unwind the deal, and it was our fault we took his *** guy's advice!" We could hardly believe it! I left the keys on the desk and the car parked on the lot and left. I informed him he would not be getting any more documents from me to finish securing the loan or the rest of the down payment, so he said, "Fine I can't make you give me the documents, but I can probably get approval to charge you for miles."(We live in Nampa by the way.) So as of currently they have our $125 from the partial down payment, will not unwind the deal, and we are left confused and with feelings that we were taken advantage of. Please help us resolve this issue, because I have tried to make communication multiple times, and keep getting put to voicemail. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: Return $125 from partial down payment and unwind deal

Business Response:

The deal will be unwound and will not persue it any further...

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a Honda Pilot 2007,***** ****** was the salesman he assured that even though it's a as is car i have 30 day warranty anything that happened after the 30 days I was responsible, the next day the truck started with a knocking noise and popping sound , i went back to Honda Miller the next day and they said it was ****** day off, so i told them I'd be back after going three times in a row is when they finally said he had been fired, they asked what was going on i told them the truck has issues **** ***** told me i have no warranty and he was sorry that ***** had done and said alot of things wrong and that's why he was no longer there , I told him that if he couldn't fix the truck i wanted my van back and they said the van was no longer there , **** ***** said guve him a few days he would fix this problem this was back in April since our talk **** has avoided my calls ive I've went there and he's either gone or not available according to ******* the front desk girl, I've left messages with the district manager **** and he has also not returned my calls or tried to fix this matter , the knocking in my truck is getting louder and I've tried calling them and nothing, on May 27 **** spoke with my niece and told her he had a silver van a couple years older and he was going to get in contact with bank and call her right back ***** my niece told him she was leaving to ** on May 28th to please call her and he said he would, he never did she called him 4 times befire she left and ******* said he wasn't there and that she'd leave him a note he never called her back, I went two times and said **** was at a car auction in GardenCity I went down there and found **** ,yes I've been trying we've had nothing come in all we have is small little cars to give her until Sunday the last day of the auction, he wants to resolve this and keep her as a customer and keep her happy Sunday went by a few weeks ago and still cant get a hold him since the day i went down to the auction.I feel taken advantage of because Im a woman they lied to me avoid me my concern is the truck is making knocking noises i have kids thats my only form of transportation and have to use it . Please help me with this matter the managers and district manager aren't acting professinal about this Larry Miller Honda is a big buisness

Desired Settlement: I want either my old van back, or this truck fixed, or them to find something asap for me no cars . This has gone on since April,

Business Response:

There has been several conversations with myself and this customer... The vehicle was brought back in after she had purchased it due to her concerns. There was nothing major wrong with the vehicle or else we would have stood behind it and taken care of it regardless if the salesman was no longer with us. The vehicle is still running with no issues at this point. I have been waiting for the right vehicle to trade them out of the current one they are in. Unfortunately with her current credit situation it makes things very difficult. We no longer have the van she traded in due to the fact this vehicle was sold 4 months ago. My only option is for her to be patient and wait for the right SUV or van that the bank will approve and that she will accept. I mentioned a few 4 door sedans but refused to look at anything else but an SUV or van.

6/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 8th, 2015, I purchased a 2006 Volvo S40 for the amount of $8121.19, from Larry H Miller of Boise. The car was shipped from the same dealer in UT. I was assured the car had gone through a 13 point inspection and passed, or they wouldn't sell the vehicle! The car was a graduation gift for my daughter and was given to her on the 17th of May. On the first day she drove it we found out the horn didn't work. Was this not one of the points of inspection? It left her stranded on the side of the road 3 days later when the fuel pump went out in it! I have contacted ******* the salesman who sold me the car and he got the dealershipto agree to pay and fix the horn. He then told me there was nothing more he could do and referred me to his manager **** *****. He proceeded to tell me that it was a used car and it was basically my problem. I haven't even made my first payment yet and only had the car 22/23 days at the most, and was only driven for those few days, and now my daughter is without a car.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay for the repairs of the car, or be willing to at least split the cost. For such a major repair for a car they assured me had passed their inspection, that was only driven for a few days, seems like the correct thing to do.

Business Response: I contacted *** ****** regarding the 2006 Volvo he purchased.  He told me the car had broken down.  I explained we could
not anticipate the reliability or future mechanical issues on any vehicles, especially a car with 169K miles that he purchased.   I also reminded *** ****** he found the car at our Utah dealership and requested us to ship the car in for him which we did.  *** ****** told me the fuel pump had gone out on the car and he received a quote of $280.  I was able to find the fuel pump for $256 and *** ****** agreed to split the cost of the part.  He told me his brother was a mechanic and would do labor for him.  He
thanked me for helping him and told me he was happy.  *** ****** picked up the fuel pump at the end of May.

 

**** ****** ***** *******

Larry H. Miller Honda




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

They have offered to help pay to fix the motor and are willing to work with me.

********  **** ******


4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: * ******* **** * ********* ** *** **** ** *** Larry Miller company replied stating they would take me off of their ********** ******* ***** I am still being hounded by lots of their mail daily and it is harassment! I want them to stop already!

Desired Settlement: I want not just an apology from this company, but because they went back on their word from my first complaint to the BBB, now I want a certified apology on certified paper and it must state that they will not send me mail ever again, this way if they do, I- can use it in a court of law to use it against them in a law suite! I will not be hounded by these bullies, I filed bankruptcy to stay clear of debt, I could not even do car payments if I wanted to, I am on SSI those idiots, I do not have even $10 to my name after bills are paid! This is America I have a right to not be harassed by people. I have a right to feel free and safe, but Larry Miller Company is America's regime to murder the debts of those who file for bankruptcy!

Business Response:

We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Your information has been sent to our marketing company to have it removed.

1/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This involves sales, service/repair and customer service of my used **** **** ****** that was purchased from Larry H Miller Honda Dealership on 12/4/2014 from Salesman ****** ********* *******. On 12/4/2014 I worked with ****** ******* to trade in my **** ***** ***** ******* for the **** **** ******. I test drove the **** and liked it. When I test drove the **** I asked ****** ******* if the car came with a second key and FOB. He indicated to me that it did in fact have a second key that was at the other dealership. That was the last ***e it was discussed until 12/5/2014 (after all paperwork was signed) and I was about to leave a few hours later. I told ****** ******* that I would like to pick up the second key the next day, at which ***e I would bring the second key and FOB for my traded in minivan. the next morning 12/5/2014 I received a text from ****** asking for me to take a picture of the **** key. I did as asked and sent a close-up picture of the key and asked why. ****** indicated to me that he would talk about it when I dropped off the key to the van that evening at 1600 (when I got off work). I arrived on ***e and asked ****** if he had the second key to my **** ******. He indicated that after getting the picture of my key he didn't think it was the correct key. When he tested the key it wasn't (as suspected) the correct key. When I asked how and when I would get a second key to my car he indicated to me that he would call the **** dealer and let me know how much it would cost me to get the second key. I advised *** ******* that I wouldn't be willing to pay out of my pocket for something that I was told I would get at no cost and told *** ******* that when I get my second key I would hand over the second key to my minivan. I gave *** ******* a few days to get back to me about the second key and contacted him on 12/8/2014 to ask if he had any word on the key and received the following text reply No. Sorry. My gal at ****** **** was off Saturday, and Im off today. I will call her tomorrow. With the holidays, a spare key took low priority for me and ****** being a fellow military Veteran I took him at his word when he said he would handle this for me. I didnt hear back from ****** until 1/1/2015 when he wished me a happy new year. I replied with a text asking for information on my spare key and heard nothing in reply, not did I ever get a reply or returned phone call. Over the holidays (12/23/2014) I found that I had a small black fluid leak. I checked the oil and transmission fluid levels and both were at an acceptable level, and there was no warning lights on or reason to give me concern, so I put the problem on the backburner for the holidays (*****tmas and new years) and continued to check the fluids and be cautious when driving the car. I called the dealerships service department the next business day after the New Year holiday (1/5/2015) to try and get my car into the shop to determine where the leak was coming from and what was needed to correct the problem. I spoke to ***** who was so rude and showed a sever lack of responsibility or desire to help me that I that when I hung up, I called back and asked for the Sales Manager to try and resolve both the service/repair issue and the issue with the spare key (which is only an issue due to the high cost of getting a spare $200-$300). I spoke to **** **** who said that he would go back to the service department and have someone call me back. That call never came. So I called **** back the next day 1/6/2015 and asked if he could have someone call me to schedule a car repair and get me a loaner car (which is included in the extended warranty). He said that he would go right back and stand in front of a service manager until they called me back. 15 minutes later I got a call from *** who said they were low are loaners and wouldnt be able to help me out until 1/7/2015 and asked me to come in after work and he would see what was wrong with the car.On 1/7/2015 at 1545 I arrived at the dealership (Larry H Miller Honda) and *** took my **** in the service bay to look at the leak. He came back to the waiting area about 45 minutes later and said there was in fact a leak in the front axle and to fix it there would be a $100 deductible towards the extended warranty. I asked how I should be responsible for any repair cost when the repair should have been done prior to the dealership even selling the car since I had the car for less than two weeks before I noticed the leak, and a month and two days since I bought the car. He indicated that he understood and would talk to his manager and get it taken care of. He left and returned 30 minutes later and indicated that the problem is larger than originally thought and I would actually need a new transmission, so he was going to get me a loaner/rental car in the mean***e. While walking me to the rental place *** indicated to me that this should have never happened given the low mileage on the car (~66,000) and he could understand why I wouldnt pay the deductible. He indicated that this should have been found long before it was test drove by a customer. No charges were talked about further until 1/8/2015 when I called to speak to *** to get a status update and he indicated that he was still waiting to get a new transmission approved, so that one could be ordered and then installed. He said the total cost of the repair would be greater than $3,000 and there would be no way he wouldnt be able to not charge me the deductible and since he didnt sell me the car it wasnt his responsibility and that I would need to talk to the salesman. I have since left a message with **** **** with no return call

Desired Settlement: I would like my car fixed at no cost of my own, and I would like the spare key I was promised.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I read through their short reply and before I accept or decline anything I would want to have in writing specifically what they told me they would do to correct the problem…i.e. get me the spare key, and make sure my car is fixed to my satisfaction and that I am not charged anything. Taking them on their word alone is what got me where I am today. I am sure that **** ***** will come through for me 110%, but I would feel more comfortable getting it in writing before closing the case. ***** *** ** **** *** *** ** **** **** ******** *** *****


******** ******* **********




Business Response:

The consumer will not be charged the fees in our service department that he was quoted. We will take care of the deductible as well as the $50 for fluids. The key will be paid by the dealership and can be picked up when the vehicle is ready.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: .I claimed bankruptcy and understand that is public information. Larry Miller Honda sends me many advertisements in the mail, checks for car loans referencing my bankruptcy. I receive sometimes two a day. I have called and spoken to 3 people at Larry Miller Honda and they do nothing. I ask for a manager and get no one. I sent in a complaint to BBB and the junk mail keeps coming. What does it take to get Larry Miller Honda to take me off their mailing list? What does the BBB complaint do? Is Larry Miller Honda that desperate for car buyers that they piss people off with their junk mail. I want this junk mail to stop. My next step is a class action lawsuit, I have spoke to others that have been receiving the same junk mail. This will be my last attempt at BBB and Larry Miller Honda to stop the junk mail. TAKE ME OFF YOUR MAILING LIST NOW, call your advertising company and have my address removed.

Desired Settlement: Remove my address from your advertising company.

Business Response:

Spoke with consumer today regarding the mail pieces he has been receiving. Informed him that I emailed our marketing company with his mailing info and reassured him he would be removed.

 

                                       

**** ***** ******* ***** ******* ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ********

 

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2009 Honda Pilot from Larry Miller Honda on 5/26/2014, by Friday 5/30/2014, the check engine light came on. On 6/16, I took my vehicle to an independent mechanic where the code read P0301, which is a cylinder misfire and with further investigation I learned there is a service bulletin issued on Oct 2013, SB-13-082, which states that this model and year of the pilot have piston rings that can lead to fouling of spark plugs and a powertrain warranty extension had been issued. The independent mechanic verified that after checking the a spark plug, there had been excessive oil accumulation. I then contacted the attorney of the class action law suit, Case3:12-cv-01377-SI, filed in the United States District Court of the Northern District of California, where it indicates owners of the 09 Honda pilot which present with the diagnostic code p0301 are entitled to have engine misfire repairs. On 6/16, I took my car into Larry Miller Honda who recognized the code as reading p0301, replaced 3 spark plugs they concluded had oil damage. I was told by Larry Miller Honda that their course of action would be to wait for the check engine light to come on again before thinking of looking into the problem any further. If the check engine light were to come back on, they indicated they would place my vehicle on a 1000 mile check cycle, where I would have to come in every 1000 miles driven to have them check for excessive oil consumption. I was told I would have to do this for some undetermined time before they could rule out excessive oil consumption and try to have the piston rings replaced as covered under the extended powertrain warranty. While they recognized that the service bulletin had been issued about doing further repair under the extended powertrain warranty, Larry Miller Honda stated they would have to rule out whether my vehicle was just having excessive oil consumption and not presenting with spark plug fouling as identified in the class action lawsuit.

Desired Settlement: After two mechanics verified oil on my spark plugs, I assert this is not excessive oiling and qualifies my vehicle for the extended powertrain warranty which obligates the dealer to make the appropriate repairs for this issue. The repair recommended in the law suit is for the replacement of engine pistons and/or piston rings (a ring job) and or valve stem seal replacements. Since the code is diagnostically registering at p0301 I have been informed by the attorney of the class action suit that my vehicle is entitled to have this more extensive repair and that following the suggested course of treatment suggested by Larry Miller Honda is unacceptable. The extended powertrain warranty is only good for 8 years, this is an issue beyond the excessive oil consumption and is impacting the operation of my vehicle due to the spark plug fouling. Thank you for your assistance on this matter.

Business Response:

 

**** *********************** *****

 

***** ***** *** ********Customer came in to us and stated that he had a check engine light on and advised us the code for the light was P0301 Misfire. we verified the code and determined that there is a warranty extention on that for this car. we followed the proceedure in warranty extention 13-082 bulliten. the first step in the extention is to check for fauled spark plugs and check the PCM for a supcific up-date. we determined that we needed to replace 3 spark plugs and up-date the PCM as instructed in the warranty extention proceedures after that is performed we are to return the vehical to the owner. if after that service is performed and the code returns within the terms of the warranty extention then we are to replace piston rings.

We have performed the process as outlined in the warranty extention. 13-082. if owner continues to have problems we will proceed with proceedure B as outlined in service bulletin 13-082.

Our invoice number for the proceedures that we have performed to date is 205118.

The bulletin also suggests customers seeking information about settlement benefits to www.enginemisfiresettlement.com or instruct them to call 888-888-3082.

 

** *** **** *** ******* *********** *** *** ******* ** ** **** ***** ***** ** ****** ***** ***** **** ***** ***** ***** *** *****jbeese@lhm.com

************

6/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed bankruptcy.I get some times 3 letters a day at least 2 or more a week expressing they are bankruptcy specialists with checks and special offers from Larry H miller Honda.I have called 4 times to have me removed from the mailing list. They tell me it takes months to remove a name. It has been going on for 6 months. I am tired of the junk mail.

Desired Settlement: I want the junk mail from Larry H Miller and any subsidiaries to stop.

Business Response:

Made a few attempts to contact customer regarding the mail pieces he is receiving. I’ve done everything I can to have him removed from the current marketing list that is being pulled. Will make every attempt to keep him off these mailing lists.

 

                                       

**** ***** ******* ***** ******* ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ********

 

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 26, 2014 I purchased a new vehicle from Larry H Miller Honda in Boise, ID. In the paperwork I noticed two fees for $299 each. I asked specifically what these fees were for and if they were required fees. I was told that one was for a Doc fee, the other an etch fee and YES they were both REQUIRED. I had a witness with me who corroborates the manager's 'yes, required' statement. I paid the fees. Later that night I called my insurance and other dealers who all stated that the etch fee was not in fact a required fee. I called the finance manager and general manager the following day and threatened to expose them if they did not return my $299. From that point on, I was led on a game of driving to the location filling out paperwork, excuses that they could not refund the money directly, lost paperwork, they thought I had received the refund, etc. It has now been 9 weeks, and still no refund. $299 has been stolen from me! At best, this is unethical and dishonest...possibly criminal. Think of the number of customers in the last year that have had $299 stolen from them! For the BBB to give them any type of star rating is disgusting...the public needs to know.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $299 returned and the BBB to take action, so this practice ends and people are held accountable. The constant excuses and games making the consumer run around filling out paperwork...then more excuses, exhausts the individual, so the majority of people give up and Larry H Miller keeps the money. The extent is tens of thousands of dollars each year taken from consumers unknowingly.

Business Response:

This is a statement from our business manager that was personally involved with this consumer.

 

On May 26th this consumer purchased a new vehicle from Larry Miller Honda. Every customer that goes through our business office is offered a variety of products to protect themselves as well as the vehicle purchased.

 

In the process of offering these products for her vehicle, an accept or decline form was presented on the products offered. At that time the customer asked her friend, who was present in the office, what she purchased on her vehicle. When it came to the Vehicle Theft Registration, I explained that it was a product that helped with returning stolen vehicles and also gives you 5 years of identity theft. Her friend explained that she had purchased Vehicle Theft Registration on her car, so this consumer decided to purchase it and signed the accept form. Everything was explained and done in good faith.

 

The next morning she called and let me know that she wanted to remove the Vehicle Theft. I had her come in and do a cancellation form. She then called a few times to find out the status of the cancellation form. I called the proper personnel and found out that the form was unfortunately misplaced. At that time I called the customer directly back and apologized and let her know that it was misplaced and she needed to sign a new one. She told me that she was sick and it would be a few days before she could make it back in. I have not heard back from her since. I have made several attempts to contact her at this point to resolve the situation and have had no response. The refund check for the cancellation has been cut and sent to the address we have on file.

 

                                       

 

**** ***** ******* ***** ******* ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ********

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Larry Miller Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart