Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Larry Miller Honda?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile sales, parts and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Larry Miller Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Larry Miller Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Larry Miller Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 27, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Business Management
Mr. John O'Bryan, General Manager Mr. Jeff Beese, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Litty
Principal: Mr. John O'Bryan, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
Auto Village Motors, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Larry Miller Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7710 Gratz Dr.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 947-6650

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This involves sales, service/repair and customer service of my used **** **** ****** that was purchased from Larry H Miller Honda Dealership on 12/4/2014 from Salesman ****** ********* *******. On 12/4/2014 I worked with ****** ******* to trade in my **** ***** ***** ******* for the **** **** ******. I test drove the **** and liked it. When I test drove the **** I asked ****** ******* if the car came with a second key and FOB. He indicated to me that it did in fact have a second key that was at the other dealership. That was the last ***e it was discussed until 12/5/2014 (after all paperwork was signed) and I was about to leave a few hours later. I told ****** ******* that I would like to pick up the second key the next day, at which ***e I would bring the second key and FOB for my traded in minivan. the next morning 12/5/2014 I received a text from ****** asking for me to take a picture of the **** key. I did as asked and sent a close-up picture of the key and asked why. ****** indicated to me that he would talk about it when I dropped off the key to the van that evening at 1600 (when I got off work). I arrived on ***e and asked ****** if he had the second key to my **** ******. He indicated that after getting the picture of my key he didn't think it was the correct key. When he tested the key it wasn't (as suspected) the correct key. When I asked how and when I would get a second key to my car he indicated to me that he would call the **** dealer and let me know how much it would cost me to get the second key. I advised *** ******* that I wouldn't be willing to pay out of my pocket for something that I was told I would get at no cost and told *** ******* that when I get my second key I would hand over the second key to my minivan. I gave *** ******* a few days to get back to me about the second key and contacted him on 12/8/2014 to ask if he had any word on the key and received the following text reply No. Sorry. My gal at ****** **** was off Saturday, and Im off today. I will call her tomorrow. With the holidays, a spare key took low priority for me and ****** being a fellow military Veteran I took him at his word when he said he would handle this for me. I didnt hear back from ****** until 1/1/2015 when he wished me a happy new year. I replied with a text asking for information on my spare key and heard nothing in reply, not did I ever get a reply or returned phone call. Over the holidays (12/23/2014) I found that I had a small black fluid leak. I checked the oil and transmission fluid levels and both were at an acceptable level, and there was no warning lights on or reason to give me concern, so I put the problem on the backburner for the holidays (*****tmas and new years) and continued to check the fluids and be cautious when driving the car. I called the dealerships service department the next business day after the New Year holiday (1/5/2015) to try and get my car into the shop to determine where the leak was coming from and what was needed to correct the problem. I spoke to ***** who was so rude and showed a sever lack of responsibility or desire to help me that I that when I hung up, I called back and asked for the Sales Manager to try and resolve both the service/repair issue and the issue with the spare key (which is only an issue due to the high cost of getting a spare $200-$300). I spoke to **** **** who said that he would go back to the service department and have someone call me back. That call never came. So I called **** back the next day 1/6/2015 and asked if he could have someone call me to schedule a car repair and get me a loaner car (which is included in the extended warranty). He said that he would go right back and stand in front of a service manager until they called me back. 15 minutes later I got a call from *** who said they were low are loaners and wouldnt be able to help me out until 1/7/2015 and asked me to come in after work and he would see what was wrong with the car.On 1/7/2015 at 1545 I arrived at the dealership (Larry H Miller Honda) and *** took my **** in the service bay to look at the leak. He came back to the waiting area about 45 minutes later and said there was in fact a leak in the front axle and to fix it there would be a $100 deductible towards the extended warranty. I asked how I should be responsible for any repair cost when the repair should have been done prior to the dealership even selling the car since I had the car for less than two weeks before I noticed the leak, and a month and two days since I bought the car. He indicated that he understood and would talk to his manager and get it taken care of. He left and returned 30 minutes later and indicated that the problem is larger than originally thought and I would actually need a new transmission, so he was going to get me a loaner/rental car in the mean***e. While walking me to the rental place *** indicated to me that this should have never happened given the low mileage on the car (~66,000) and he could understand why I wouldnt pay the deductible. He indicated that this should have been found long before it was test drove by a customer. No charges were talked about further until 1/8/2015 when I called to speak to *** to get a status update and he indicated that he was still waiting to get a new transmission approved, so that one could be ordered and then installed. He said the total cost of the repair would be greater than $3,000 and there would be no way he wouldnt be able to not charge me the deductible and since he didnt sell me the car it wasnt his responsibility and that I would need to talk to the salesman. I have since left a message with **** **** with no return call

Desired Settlement: I would like my car fixed at no cost of my own, and I would like the spare key I was promised.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I read through their short reply and before I accept or decline anything I would want to have in writing specifically what they told me they would do to correct the problem…i.e. get me the spare key, and make sure my car is fixed to my satisfaction and that I am not charged anything. Taking them on their word alone is what got me where I am today. I am sure that **** ***** will come through for me 110%, but I would feel more comfortable getting it in writing before closing the case. ***** *** ** **** *** *** ** **** **** ******** *** *****


******** ******* **********




Business Response:

The consumer will not be charged the fees in our service department that he was quoted. We will take care of the deductible as well as the $50 for fluids. The key will be paid by the dealership and can be picked up when the vehicle is ready.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: .I claimed bankruptcy and understand that is public information. Larry Miller Honda sends me many advertisements in the mail, checks for car loans referencing my bankruptcy. I receive sometimes two a day. I have called and spoken to 3 people at Larry Miller Honda and they do nothing. I ask for a manager and get no one. I sent in a complaint to BBB and the junk mail keeps coming. What does it take to get Larry Miller Honda to take me off their mailing list? What does the BBB complaint do? Is Larry Miller Honda that desperate for car buyers that they piss people off with their junk mail. I want this junk mail to stop. My next step is a class action lawsuit, I have spoke to others that have been receiving the same junk mail. This will be my last attempt at BBB and Larry Miller Honda to stop the junk mail. TAKE ME OFF YOUR MAILING LIST NOW, call your advertising company and have my address removed.

Desired Settlement: Remove my address from your advertising company.

Business Response:

Spoke with consumer today regarding the mail pieces he has been receiving. Informed him that I emailed our marketing company with his mailing info and reassured him he would be removed.

 

                                       

**** ***** ******* ***** ******* ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ********

 

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2009 Honda Pilot from Larry Miller Honda on 5/26/2014, by Friday 5/30/2014, the check engine light came on. On 6/16, I took my vehicle to an independent mechanic where the code read P0301, which is a cylinder misfire and with further investigation I learned there is a service bulletin issued on Oct 2013, SB-13-082, which states that this model and year of the pilot have piston rings that can lead to fouling of spark plugs and a powertrain warranty extension had been issued. The independent mechanic verified that after checking the a spark plug, there had been excessive oil accumulation. I then contacted the attorney of the class action law suit, Case3:12-cv-01377-SI, filed in the United States District Court of the Northern District of California, where it indicates owners of the 09 Honda pilot which present with the diagnostic code p0301 are entitled to have engine misfire repairs. On 6/16, I took my car into Larry Miller Honda who recognized the code as reading p0301, replaced 3 spark plugs they concluded had oil damage. I was told by Larry Miller Honda that their course of action would be to wait for the check engine light to come on again before thinking of looking into the problem any further. If the check engine light were to come back on, they indicated they would place my vehicle on a 1000 mile check cycle, where I would have to come in every 1000 miles driven to have them check for excessive oil consumption. I was told I would have to do this for some undetermined time before they could rule out excessive oil consumption and try to have the piston rings replaced as covered under the extended powertrain warranty. While they recognized that the service bulletin had been issued about doing further repair under the extended powertrain warranty, Larry Miller Honda stated they would have to rule out whether my vehicle was just having excessive oil consumption and not presenting with spark plug fouling as identified in the class action lawsuit.

Desired Settlement: After two mechanics verified oil on my spark plugs, I assert this is not excessive oiling and qualifies my vehicle for the extended powertrain warranty which obligates the dealer to make the appropriate repairs for this issue. The repair recommended in the law suit is for the replacement of engine pistons and/or piston rings (a ring job) and or valve stem seal replacements. Since the code is diagnostically registering at p0301 I have been informed by the attorney of the class action suit that my vehicle is entitled to have this more extensive repair and that following the suggested course of treatment suggested by Larry Miller Honda is unacceptable. The extended powertrain warranty is only good for 8 years, this is an issue beyond the excessive oil consumption and is impacting the operation of my vehicle due to the spark plug fouling. Thank you for your assistance on this matter.

Business Response:

 

**** *********************** *****

 

***** ***** *** ********Customer came in to us and stated that he had a check engine light on and advised us the code for the light was P0301 Misfire. we verified the code and determined that there is a warranty extention on that for this car. we followed the proceedure in warranty extention 13-082 bulliten. the first step in the extention is to check for fauled spark plugs and check the PCM for a supcific up-date. we determined that we needed to replace 3 spark plugs and up-date the PCM as instructed in the warranty extention proceedures after that is performed we are to return the vehical to the owner. if after that service is performed and the code returns within the terms of the warranty extention then we are to replace piston rings.

We have performed the process as outlined in the warranty extention. 13-082. if owner continues to have problems we will proceed with proceedure B as outlined in service bulletin 13-082.

Our invoice number for the proceedures that we have performed to date is 205118.

The bulletin also suggests customers seeking information about settlement benefits to www.enginemisfiresettlement.com or instruct them to call 888-888-3082.

 

** *** **** *** ******* *********** *** *** ******* ** ** **** ***** ***** ** ****** ***** ***** **** ***** ***** ***** *** *****jbeese@lhm.com

************

6/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed bankruptcy.I get some times 3 letters a day at least 2 or more a week expressing they are bankruptcy specialists with checks and special offers from Larry H miller Honda.I have called 4 times to have me removed from the mailing list. They tell me it takes months to remove a name. It has been going on for 6 months. I am tired of the junk mail.

Desired Settlement: I want the junk mail from Larry H Miller and any subsidiaries to stop.

Business Response:

Made a few attempts to contact customer regarding the mail pieces he is receiving. I’ve done everything I can to have him removed from the current marketing list that is being pulled. Will make every attempt to keep him off these mailing lists.

 

                                       

**** ***** ******* ***** ******* ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ********

 

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 26, 2014 I purchased a new vehicle from Larry H Miller Honda in Boise, ID. In the paperwork I noticed two fees for $299 each. I asked specifically what these fees were for and if they were required fees. I was told that one was for a Doc fee, the other an etch fee and YES they were both REQUIRED. I had a witness with me who corroborates the manager's 'yes, required' statement. I paid the fees. Later that night I called my insurance and other dealers who all stated that the etch fee was not in fact a required fee. I called the finance manager and general manager the following day and threatened to expose them if they did not return my $299. From that point on, I was led on a game of driving to the location filling out paperwork, excuses that they could not refund the money directly, lost paperwork, they thought I had received the refund, etc. It has now been 9 weeks, and still no refund. $299 has been stolen from me! At best, this is unethical and dishonest...possibly criminal. Think of the number of customers in the last year that have had $299 stolen from them! For the BBB to give them any type of star rating is disgusting...the public needs to know.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $299 returned and the BBB to take action, so this practice ends and people are held accountable. The constant excuses and games making the consumer run around filling out paperwork...then more excuses, exhausts the individual, so the majority of people give up and Larry H Miller keeps the money. The extent is tens of thousands of dollars each year taken from consumers unknowingly.

Business Response:

This is a statement from our business manager that was personally involved with this consumer.

 

On May 26th this consumer purchased a new vehicle from Larry Miller Honda. Every customer that goes through our business office is offered a variety of products to protect themselves as well as the vehicle purchased.

 

In the process of offering these products for her vehicle, an accept or decline form was presented on the products offered. At that time the customer asked her friend, who was present in the office, what she purchased on her vehicle. When it came to the Vehicle Theft Registration, I explained that it was a product that helped with returning stolen vehicles and also gives you 5 years of identity theft. Her friend explained that she had purchased Vehicle Theft Registration on her car, so this consumer decided to purchase it and signed the accept form. Everything was explained and done in good faith.

 

The next morning she called and let me know that she wanted to remove the Vehicle Theft. I had her come in and do a cancellation form. She then called a few times to find out the status of the cancellation form. I called the proper personnel and found out that the form was unfortunately misplaced. At that time I called the customer directly back and apologized and let her know that it was misplaced and she needed to sign a new one. She told me that she was sick and it would be a few days before she could make it back in. I have not heard back from her since. I have made several attempts to contact her at this point to resolve the situation and have had no response. The refund check for the cancellation has been cut and sent to the address we have on file.

 

                                       

 

**** ***** ******* ***** ******* ****** ***** ******** **** ***** ********

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were promised a same day payoff amount on our trade in vehicle when we purchased a vehicle from their lot. Then it turned into the next day, then the next, then the next. Now they are saying its going to take 7 - 10 more days to cut us the check. I am worried that after waiting 10 more days they are just going to tell me its going to be an additional 2 months. If it was going to take 7 - 10 days, then they should have been up front about it and not lied to me about it.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to honor there word and cut me my check like we agreed upon when we shook hands. I completely understand mistakes can be made, but this has been deliberately stringing me along.

Business Response:

********

Spoke to  ********** ****** about the situation. There was just a miscomunication on what was going on with the pay off check. Everything has been resolved and in good standings. He is more then willing to retract the BBB complaint. Thx

 

**** ***** ******* ***** *******

Larry Miller Honda of Boise

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

I spoke with ****** ***** a few days ago. It turns out that it was a big miss understanding, mostly on my behalf. I sincerely apologize to the Honda dealership and would like to thank ****** ***** for explaining and handling the situation so quickly and professionally. I sincerely wish I could take back my initial complaint. My only excuse, and its a poor one, is that I heard what I wanted to hear, and was quick to throw a temper tantrum like a spoiled child when I did not get my way. So, again, I apologize to both my salesman **** and ****** *****, and the rest of Honda for my behavior.

Regards,

********** ******

 

 

 

 

7/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made a verble agreement with sales person that we would not run credit until we had a deal do to the fact that we were closing on a home the next week. The dealer/sales office ran the credit anyway. It was an out right lie! I have A+++++ credit so it did not matter but it slowed the closing and we could have lost the seller.

Desired Settlement: This practice needs to STOP! Most people would have lost the house deal because the score would not have been strong. I would like a ritten apology and statment that the practice will stop.

3/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues