Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Phone: (208) 459-7405 Fax: (208) 459-9520 4025 Cleveland Blvd , Caldwell, ID 83605 http://www.dennisdillondodge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides new and used cars sales, parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W State St , Boise ID 83703
Phone Number: (208) 334-8000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Dillon, President Mr. Dennis Dillon, CEO Mr. Duane Sessions, CFO/Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Dillon, President
Principal: Mr. Dennis Dillon, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Duane Sessions, CFO/Vice President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4025 Cleveland Blvd

    Caldwell, ID 83605

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pu**hased a Ram1500 on a Friday from salesman *******. Overall process went well. Driving home (flew in to pu**hase because of price) noticed I was getting under 15mpg. After a few texts, was told by salesman he would try to get a tech to call (it was 4:30PM). No reply, texted on Saturday, no reply. Noon on Monday I texted and he replied "trying to get someone to get me an answer". I called a couple of shops and ended up making an appointment locally, no help from Dennis Dillon. Followed up with an email to **, told he was sales manager. Sent twice with no response. Great pricing, but if you have a problem it appears you are on your own.

Desired Settlement: Would like someone at Dennis Dillon to respond to the fact they sold a truck with an issue and assist to getting it diagnosed and repaired.

Business Response:

I apologize to Mr. ******* for the lack of response from our team.  I have spoken to each and it is my understanding that you have been contacted by our people.

 

Thanks for your business.

 

***** ********

Vice President

Dennis Dillon Auto Group

Business Response:

I apologize to Mr. ******* for the lack of response from our team.  I have spoken to each and it is my understanding that you have been contacted by our people.

 

Thanks for your business.

 

***** ********

Vice President

Dennis Dillon Auto Group

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

You have lost me as a customer and will continue to let others know how your sales department operates (get the sale and don't respond, since they never returned my emails).


Regards,

***** *******


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

You have lost me as a customer and will continue to let others know how your sales department operates (get the sale and don't respond, since they never returned my emails).


Regards,

***** *******


11/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dennis Dillon was having an extreme clearance event. For this event they sent out flyers in the mail that had contest pieces on it. According to the directions given on the card, upon pulling the tabs I won $5,000. When I went in to claim my prize, they ran the code and said I did NOT win $5000. The way the flyer reads, it clearly states that if the third hand matches the dealers hand, you win $5000. I read all of the fine print several times through, and nowhere does it say that you may not win the prize listed. It does state that the confirmation number is compared to a board to verify what the prize is. If this is the case, the advertisement should not state a specific prize for each hand. This is a total bait and switch scam and it is also false advertising. If they game piece means absolutely nothing, then why attach it at all. It should simply say to bring the confirmation code in to see what was won. After seeing how they handled this situation and their manipulation and dishonesty, I would NEVER recommend them to anyone, nor would I ever buy a car from them myself.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the $5000 winnings that their game piece states I won. I also want them to be careful how they approach such contests in the future as this really makes their company look like scam artists.

Business Response:

Tell us why here...
I am sorry how you feel about the mailer advertising campaign we had at the dealership.  The first page of the mailer clearly states, “YOU WIN ONE OF THE 4 PRIZES LISTED.”  This disclosure is not buried in the fine print and is written in capital letters on the first page.  The 4 prizes are listed next to this explanation.  Also, the odds of winning each of the 4 prizes is listed next to each prize.

As a goodwill gesture I would be glad to personally assist you with a purchase of a vehicle from Dennis Dillon or any parts or service work you might need.  I can be reached at ###-###-####

Sincerely,
***** ********
Vice President and CFO
Dennis Dillon Automotive RV Marine Powersports

10/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received another one of those car dealer's adds that leads you to believe that I'd won something ($5,000 cash prize) on Thursday. However, this particular add was different because when I followed the asterisks to the fine print for clarification, I couldn't find anywhere in the fine print that clarified the terms of the prizes. So I followed the directions to call in, and then went to the dealer to see if I had actually won. Instead all I found was a room full of other "winners" finding out they didn't win the $5,000, but being offered a vacation package and pushed for a car sale.

Desired Settlement: First I would like the BBB to lower this companies A+ rating. This is not the type of marketing that a BBB A+ rated company should be doing. Second, I would like to make sure there is a clear explanation in the fine print of the adds if something is promised. And third, I would like the $5,000 I was promised.

Business Response:

I am sorry how you feel about the mailer advertising campaign we had at the dealership.  The first page of the mailer clearly states, “YOU WIN ONE OF THE 4 PRIZES LISTED.”  This disclosure is not buried in the fine print and is written in capital letters on the first page.  The 4 prizes are listed next to this explanation.  Also, the odds of winning each of the 4 prizes is listed next to each prize.

As a goodwill gesture I would be glad to personally assist you with a purchase of a vehicle from Dennis Dillon or any parts or service work you might need.  I can be reached at ###-###-####

Sincerely,
***** ********
**** ********* *** ***
Dennis Dillon Automotive RV Marine PowersportsTell us why here...

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,
**** ****




9/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business website displays false advertised pricing on their vehicles. Please see attached link. Market price on vehicle display $35,750.00 however when calling to purchase vehicle at listed price, cost went up by $3000, before taxes title and other associated car purchase fees. When asked about the price, they said not everyone qualifies for their best price, however their marketing does not state that! They should sell for the rice listed on their website! **********************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: They need to sell the vehicle at their lowest price as advertised. In addition call to set up arrangements for the purchase of that vehicle at their listed price.

Business Response: Our website displays 3 prices.  The first price is "MSRP", the second price is "Sale Price" and the third price is "As Low As Price."  Right below the As Low As Price is a tab that says *Apply for As Low As Price."  Also, within the add itself the "Sale Price" and the  "As Low As Price" are explained.  The manufacturer offers a multitude of rebates and incentives programs that you may or may not qualify for.  We would be glad to work with you to determine all of the manufacturer rebates and incentives that you qualify for.

Thanks,

***** ********
Vice President and CFO
Dennis Dillon Automotive Group

?

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2014 dodge ram and traded 2 other vehicles in this transaction. The 2 vehicles that i traded in had gap insurance coverage and one had an extended warranty contract. In all the refunds on these contracts were over 4000.00. In the new purchase agreement I was to pay 2000.00 from the refunds towards my down payment. They made me sign papers to the contracting companies to pay Dennis Dillon rather than myself. These refunds were paid to Dennis Dillon within a month and I have been battling with them to get the remainder of those funds reimbursed to me. I have talked to ****, a manager.... ****, the finance guy that I signed my contracts with and *****, the person in charge of the refunds. I have been getting the run around from all of them. I have been told by the manager that he would personally deliver the check to my place of employment. I have been told I could come by the office to get the checkbut when I show up or call, everyone is in meetings or noone knows what I'm talking about. I have been told they mailed it to my old address and had to place a stop pmt on the check and had to wait longer. I had also purchased for 1500.00 the spray protective coating for inside, the paint and the undercoating of the truck and I have not yet received that service, I have been told that they are busy and I have to wait for them to contact me. The manager, **** told me he would personally call the service dept and have them call me to bring in my truck and NO ONE has called me STILL and that was a week ago. I have been in contact with my salesman and he told me the amount of my check was around 1800.00 but the first time I talked to ***** and **** they said my refund was over 1800.00.!!! I'm tired of being lied to and I want my money! And I want my money back that I paid for the service I NEVER received!!

Desired Settlement: the $1897.95 I was quoted the first time I talked to **** Bouer and the $1498.00 for the service "protection spray" that I paid for but NEVER received!!

Business Response:

I believe ******** picked up her check yesterday so all should be good here.  I don't know where she got the information on when we received the refund monies on her extended service contract and GAP policy, but it was not within a month.  We were made aware of the amount of the refund, but our policy is to not pay these until we actually receive the monies from the individual companies.  Generally this is a 6-8 week policy.  We sent the original check out on September 25, to the address ******** used when she purchased the truck,. I apologize if somehow she had given us the information regarding her new address and we did not get that information to the right person who sent out the check.

Regarding the Cilajet and undercoating, *** *******, our Fixed Operations Director is going to call her to discuss her requested cancellation. Given the fact that winter is coming this product really provided a good protection against the dirt and grime from winter. If ******** ultimately chooses for a refund we will be glad to do that. It should be noted that because the cost of these products were included in the loan from the bank we are required to send the refund directly to the bank. The bank will apply it to the loan balance.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

 

***** ********

Vice President and CFO 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

I made the finance officer, **** ******* aware of my address change while I was signing my contact and he said it only matters on the sales agreement so he took that and tore it up and printed a new one, but nothing else. They did not mail a check to my old address because my husbands brothers ex-wife moved into the house on October 1st and the mailbox was stuffed with my mail from 2 months of buildup, WITH NO CHECK FROM DENNIS DILLON! And I had contacted Dennis Dillon and I spoke with **** Bouer on his personal cell phone and changed my address with him on August 14th So trying to say I provided them the wrong address AND that they mailed a check is is an out and out LIE.

I was paid 2 days after contacting the Better Business Bureau, but only for the 1,897.95. I have contacted ***, the service manager about the other services for interior protectant spray and cilajet. we have not yet made an agreement but we are working on it.

  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ******

 

 

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife had gone in to look at a dodge dakota and she was interested so they let her drive it for part of the day because I didn't get off until 5pm. We decided we would like it and returned to see what we could do to purchase it. We had another vehicle that we still owed quite a bit on and were not sure if it would even work. The salesman came out and met us and we said that we would like to buy the dodge. After a few attempts of trying to find a payment and amount that would work for us I told him lets just wait. We owe too much and it would be better if I sold the Jeep first and then came back. He said ok. I asked for our key to the Jeep that he had taken in the beginning so "his people could take a look" He said I will be right back. He came back with the kelly blue book prices but no key. I said no thanks lets just wait and thanked him for his time. I asked again can we get our key. He said ok I will be back. He came back with another salesman that I had seen earlier being very confrontational with some other customers to me. He said hello and started to sit down and I asked were was my key. He said don't you want to hear what I have to say and I said no I already went through all of this with this guy where is my key. He replied that he would get my key when he was done talking. I said no I want my key now. He then told me he doesn't have it. And then started to say the thing is and I cut him off and said please just give me my key. He continued to argue and finally started walking around the office slowly appearing to look for the key. I pulled out my phone getting ready to call the police and the other salesman brought the key. I could not believe that I was in a place of business with adults. It was like playing a jr high game of hide and seek. He always had a smirk on his face and didn't care. I also could not believe no other employees stepped in. I have worked customer service before and I am in management and would never allow any employee to act in that way.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from both salesmen in front of the crew that was present.

Business Response: I apologize if your visit to Dennis Dillon did not meet your expectations.  We strive to do the best we can with every customer.  I would like to personally try to remedy the situation with you.  I would appreciate it if you would contact me at ************.



7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 11, 2011 I took my 1994 Pontiac Firebird to Dennis Dillon in Caldwell. I had a coolant leak and oil leak and had other work done. The Service Advisor ***** ******** told me that the oil pan would have to be removed to work on the timing cover gasket and told me they would also do an oil change. Total bill for all work was $2240. Dennis Dillon has a 12 month/12,000 mile warranty on repair work. On March 26, 2012 I took my car back because there was a leak from the oil pan. At that time Service Advisor,****** ********* told me they had never removed the oil pan, even though the previous Service Advisor told me that was part of the job when working on the timing cover. They repaired the leak from the oil pan and the bill was $435.I took my car back on March 25, 2013 because it was leaking oil again. They repaired a leak from the front crank seal, which apparently was a repair done from the first visit. On May 23, 2013 I took my car to another repair shop. They told me that when replacing the timing cover gasket it is required to remove the oil pan or the oil pan gasket could be damaged thus causing a leak. I also verified this procedure with a local GM repair shop. They also said the repair on the front crank seal was leaking again, after only two months. They said silicone was used incorrectly to repair the leak.On May 29, 2013 I took my car to Dennis Dillon on Orchard Street so they could try and find out where the oil leaks are coming from. They power washed the engine and added dye to the oil, but no leaks have turned up yet. They did say the thermostat was leaking which had been replaced during the March 26, 2011 repair work in Caldwell. I called Dennis Dillon to see about getting a refund since the repair work wasnt done correctly and caused an oil leak later. I talked to *** ******* and he refused to give me a refund. He only offered $100, not the $435 that it cost to repair the oil pan leak, and only after I said I would file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like $435 refunded.I would also like all the repairs from the original visit on April 11, 2011 fixed correctly according to proper repair procedures.

Business Response:

By looking at the repair order from April 11, 2011 I can’t tell if the oil pan gasket was replaced or not.   After nearly a year, the service advisor *** ************ spoke with on March 26, 2012 would have looked at the same repair order I did and because the oil pan gasket is not included in the description he might have concluded that the oil pan gasket had not been replaced.  Sometimes on repair orders with lots of small parts and gaskets one can be missed.  The technician that completed the repairs is no longer with us so I can’t ask him nor would he probably remember an individual vehicle after 2 years. 

Nevertheless, whether the oil pan gasket was actually replaced or not, the oil pan leak started  within the 12 month/12,000 mile warranty period, therefore we will refund *** ************ the $435 and no other adjustment or work will be performed on this vehicle.  As part of this refund *** ************ will be required to sign a customer goodwill form before the refund will be released.  

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues