BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2005

Holyfield Tree Service, LLC

Phone: (318) 388-5012Fax: (318) 345-71811200 Finks Hideaway Rd., MonroeLA 71203 Send email to Holyfield Tree Service, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2005

BBB has determined that Holyfield Tree Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Holyfield Tree Service, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Holyfield Tree Service, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. Holyfield used my property to service his client, spilled some 20 gallons of diesel killing a large patch of my lawn.
Mr. Holyfield called and asked my permission to bring equipment (some sort of man lift) on my property in order to cut down a tree in my neighbor's yard. This would allow him to do the work quickly and make it much easier on him. He swore if any damage was done he would make amends. During the job his equipment overturned and spilled the tank of diesel on my yard which soaked in and ultimately killed a large patch of grass. He assured me he would take care of the damage, going into great detail as to how he would dig out the diesel soaked dirt, refill with top soil and replant the grass. That was as far as it went. Rather than jumping right on it and dealing with his mistake he left and never called back. After months of me calling him and "I'll get by there next weeks" and various excuses as to why he hasn't repaired my yard he finally stopped returning my calls. It has been two years and the grass is still dead.

Desired Settlement
I'm simply asking the man to honor his word and replace the dirt and grass.

Business Response
RE: **** *****

My intentions are to replace the dirt and grass that was damaged. I have contacted Mr. ***** and explained what our intentions are in this matter. He was very understanding and we are making arrangements for this problem to be corrected.


Thank you,

***** H. Holyfield,****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/19/2007Business started: 08/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Holyfield Tree Service is a Member of the National Arbor Day Foundation. They are also a licensed LA arborist.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Holyfield, Jr. (Owner)
Business Category

Tree Services

Products & Services

Holyfield Tree Service is a service and labor type industry, that facilitates tree trimming, tree removal, tree cabling, storm-related tree removal, dangerous tree removal, debris removal, bucket truck/crane/tractor work, land clearing and demolition work.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Holyfield Tree Service, LLC has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Holyfield Tree Service, LLC

1200 Finks Hideaway Rd.

Monroe, LA 71203

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1200 Finks Hideaway Rd. 

    Monroe, LA 71203(318) 388-5012
    Fax: (318) 345-7181

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Holyfield Tree Service, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Tree Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.