BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

TowMasters

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 747-7121Fax: (318) 747-71294235 E Texas St, Bossier CityLA 71111-2927https://www.facebook.com/pages/TowMasters/120271411454795

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

TowMasters is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TowMasters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • 4 complaints filed against business

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TowMasters

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
towmasters sold me a truck that **** not run sale has not been finalized and any attempts to return truck and get money back have failed
sold me a truck that broke down the next day and they had it towed to another shop after days of demanding to know where the truck was they finally told me they took it to ****** automotive and towing and refused any other details such as address or phone number it sat there for two months before i took matters into my own hands and had the truck towed to my house to repair it upon recieving my truck back i noticed multiple problems such as a huge transmission leak and many parts fitted in the truck that are not meant for the truck

Desired Settlement
any attempts to return truck due to sale not being finalized has resulted in ******* being rude and telling me she will have the owner call me back and a week later still nothing and then i find out she is a co owner of the place

Business Response
TowMasters' Response to Complaint #XXXXXXXX

The customer purchased a used pickup from Tow Masters. He needed title notarized and was directed to a bank that notarizes Tow Masters' sales; however, after quite some time,the customer had forgotten the particular bank and went to another bank that was not familiar with our business and this bank would not notarize for him. The problem has been satisfactorily resolved as you **** see from the attached note from Mr. *********** dated June 05,2014.

06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product not as advertised, refund denied with poor customer service.
On April 1st, 2016, I called this company to verify that an undamaged fender that they listed was available, as well as attempt to find other parts. The secretary had the manager call me and he said he also had a bumper I was looking for that had, "A few small scratches." I explained that my work schedule wouldn't allow me to come look at the part myself, and that I'd have to have someone come pick them up. He sent me pictures of the fender and bumper. The fender look a bit dirty, and the bumper looked fine. I bought the parts over the phone, and later that day I got a chance to look at them myself. The fender had a good bit of rust, and the bumper had some severe gouges that were not visible from the picture I was sent, so I wanted a partial refund since I paid for undamaged parts. I called them the next day they were open, Monday the 4th, and explained my situation. Their secretary was incredibly rude and told me that the manager would contact soon. I did not hear from him, so I called again the next day, with the same response from them. After not hearing from them, I called again on Thursday. I was fed up with dealing with them, and just wanting to return the parts altogether. The secretary was even ruder than before, and argued with me, while explaining that there was a 20% restocking fee that they hadn't mentioned when I bought the parts. Again, she told me that the manager would contact me, so I waited until Monday without any response. I finally talked to the manager when I called again on the 11th. He then told me that they don't do returns on body parts, which was not explained when I bought them. He said he's talk to his boss and call me by Wednesday morning. I did not hear back from him until Saturday, a day that they're listed as closed, and was unable to answer his call due to work. I tried to call him back, but could not reach him until today, the 18th, when he told me that his boss would give me a $30 credit. Insulted, I tried to resolve the issue and return the parts, but I had no success. I then told them that I was filing a claim with the BBB, and he said to, "Do what you gotta do."

Desired Settlement
I'd like to return the parts for a refund of at least 90%. I can understand some amount of restocking fees, but after the service I've had and knowing how easy it is to put these parts back on their car I can't justify 20%.

Business Response
Mr. ***** is a new salvage parts customer for TowMasters. This company vigorously markets to and cultivates new customers while fostering its existing customers. Mr. ***** was shopping for salvage parts for a 2002 Volvo; a 14 year old vehicle. TowMasters had these parts in stock in its salvage yard. Company policy dictates that pictures be sent to any perspective buyer if the buyer doesn't come to the property to inspect the parts. At that point, the buyer has an opportunity to see if he is discussing the right parts for the vehicle and make decisions. Once the parts were located and a sale price was quoted, Mr. ***** requested and received a $25 discount off on the listed price of the parts. He had a friend come to get the parts because of his job and frequently being out of town. When there is a request to pull these salvage parts from vehicles, it is considered a special order and this type of sale is paid before pick up. There were two (2) opportunities for inspection of the parts: By the pictures forwarded to him and when his friend came to pick up the parts. Once he received the parts, he started to complain about the quality of the 14 year old parts. The first time he called, he wanted an additional 10% discount on the parts. On the next telephone call, he requested an additional 20% discount. On each telephone call he escalated his demands until he demanded that unless TowMasters would buy his 2002 Volvo vehicle that he was buying the parts for as well as buy back the parts that he had purchased from TowMasters. TowMasters offered Mr. ***** a 30% discount on his next purchase of salvage parts from the company. His response was that if TowMasters did not comply with his demands, he would report the company to the BBB. And, so he did. One line of thought is if Mr. ***** wanted shiny, untarnished parts for his 14 year old vehicle, why would he shop in a salvage yard instead of in a new parts store?


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My car is a 2004 for clarification. Also for clarification, the pictures sent did not show all the damage to the parts. The parts were advertised as undamaged for the fender, and minor scratches for the bumper. The "$25 discount" was me negotiating the price of the bumper from something unreasonable, such as the price of a new bumper. My friend that picked up the parts does not have the experience to inspect them. The alleged escalation on my end only happened once. That was when I was tired of the negative attitude I had to deal with from their secretary and just wanted to return the parts instead of receiving a partial refund that reflected the damage on the parts. When they offered a discount on my next purchase, I offered an alternative solution of purchasing the car, as well as the parts I bought, since they wouldn't take the parts back and I was trying to fix up the car for sale later on. What I had demanded was a resolution that wasn't as insulting as $30 off my next purchase, when I'd just spent almost $300. Until Towmasters does this, I will not accept a resolution to this case. For the record, they did not attempt to contact me when I filed this claim, probably due to the fact that I had already tried everything I could to resolve this without involving a third party.

12/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
object from their truck damaged my windshield
Friday, Nov. 21 at 11:30 am. Truck traveling west bound on I220 headed towards I 20. A object flew off truck and struck my windshield. It did damage to the windshield. When I informed the driver about it, he simply shrugged his shoulders. I then called the office and informed them.. They refuse to take responsibility, even though this item was on the back of the truck.. NOT road hazard.

Desired Settlement
Replace or fix my windshield

Business Response
We spoke with Mr. **** regarding the claim of his windshield being broken by our truck. The problem with his claim is that there is no way to positively validate his claim. There is no video or eye witness evidence to follow up on. There is only Mr. ****'s "word" against our drivers word. Meaning; there is no way to determine if Mr. ****'s windshield was damaged before he came into contact with our truck, or whether it was pre-existing damage done to his vehicle. So the claim is likely, However, unlikely that it happened by our truck. Also, what should be added to this correspondence is that cases such as this; in the transportation world are considered "road hazard". which means there is a certain degree of risk, or possible damage associated with driving. If the claim was vice versa; we as a company could not claim damage to our company vehicle through this same rule of the road. This is an unfortunate event for all of us. If there was more evidence to follow on this claim more could be done to resolve it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only eye witness is myself. I did try to get the driver to stop and pull over. There were several items,Nuts and Washers, on the back of the truck. BUT because the Towmaster driver refused to pull over.. HE could not verify. Road hazard is viable when the hazard comes from the road and not the back of the truck.. There can never be evidence if the driver doesnt stop or if the police cant track the truck down immediately after the accident. So the Tow Master Company just gets away with anything they like. This is a dishonest company and I will not just drop this matter.. My windshield remains broken..

07/29/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Towing Companies, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top

Compliment 08/02/2013.
In late March and while returning to Baton Rouge, Louisiana from a Kansas vacation, my daughter and I had the misfortune of colliding with a fully-inflated and mounted 14" tire outside of Shreveport, Louisiana.
While I didn't hit the tire head-on, the collision did blow out both of my SUVs left tires, hurled off of the interstate, and left it with considerable undercarriage steering and suspension damage. Two hundred miles from home
and stranded on the side of the interstate, the local sheriff's department called in Tow Masters of Bossier City, who recovered our SUV and brought it to their salvage yard for storage. Meanwhile, my daughter and I were given a ride back to Shreveport where we rented a car and completed our journey home. The next day, I drove back to Bossier City, located Tow Masters, and began the lenghthy process of negotiating the recovery of my SUV to a useful condition. TOW MASTERS WAS WONDERFUL TO DEAL WITH! I'm
used to having vehicle salvage companies try to rip-me-off at every possible juncture. Not
these folks. They were nice, understanding, compassionate, and HONEST!
The fees were reasonable, my vehicle had not been damaged or further abused, and I was allowed to retrieve my belongings, while I searched for a repair facility. (This is atypical in itself; as I'm used to having things stolen by salvage yard employees and our SUV was PACKED!) Tow Masters employees even went above and beyond the requirements of the situation in helping me to obtain reconditioned rims and in bringing those rims to the repair facility at no additional charge! Please allow me to give these folks my
HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION!

BBB file opened: 07/06/2009Business started: 04/01/2008Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Shirley Marcus (Co-Owner)Mr. Damian Marcus (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Towing Companies, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

This company operates a towing service and sells used autos and used auto parts.

Alternate Business Names
Royale Services, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TowMasters

4235 E Texas St

Bossier City, LA 71111-2927

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4235 E Texas St 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-2927Fax: (318) 747-7129

  • 4301 E Texas St 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-2929(318) 747-7121

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TowMasters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Towing Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.