BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1969

Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 687-7777Fax: (318) 687-3346View Additional Phone Numbers8901 Linwood Ave, ShreveportLA 71106-6507 Send email to Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1969

BBB has determined that Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/28/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were overcharged for the product. Merchant refused to reduced the price of the tire.
On Saturday ******* ** ***** while traveling through the area on military orders, we had to replace a tire that had gone flat the night before. We purchased a Goodyear Assurance Triple Tread All Season tire size ********* from Moore's. We were too far from Discount Tire, the merchant with whom we have a tire warranty. Moore's was the only place that had a matching tire to replace our flat. I realized after returning to our hotel that the price I was charged was significantly higher than the original purchase price ******* When I contacted the merchant to address the issue he claimed he paid more for the tire than we paid at Discount Tire. The list price on Goodyear's own website for that exact tire is only ***** We were charged ***** He refused to give me any money back.

Desired Settlement
I would like the difference in price ***** to be refunded.

Business Response /* (1000, 5, *********** */
Contact Name and Title: ****** Hutchison - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@aol.com
Good morning - We feel the price we charged was not an exorbitant one. We purchased six of these tires from Goodyear on our direct account *********** for ******* each. We charged the customer ******* and made a *** gross profit which is standard in our industry. We have no idea what Discount Tire paid for there tires, but they are a huge dealer with much better buying power than we. We bought our tires in the time period when tires were very short and had just taken several price increases. Today we would buy from Goodyear @ ******** so go figure. We can't stay in business and make less than *** GP. Sorry, but we must decline his request.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Tire Repair Shops

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1969Business started: 01/01/1960Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. W.J. Draper (Vice President) Mr. Greg Hawkins Mr. Daniel Hutchinson (President)
Business Category

Tire Dealers, Tire Repair Shops

Products & Services

This company sells and repairs tires.

Alternate Business Names
Moore's Goodyear Tire & Service Center, Moore's Retread & Tire
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc

8901 Linwood Ave

Shreveport, LA 71106-6507

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 3327 E Texas St 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-3213

  • 409 Keyser Ave 

    Natchitoches, LA 71457-5803

  • 4002 Greenwood Rd 

    Shreveport, LA 71109-6411

  • 8889 Linwood Ave 

    Shreveport, LA 71106-6505

  • 8901 Linwood Ave 

    Shreveport, LA 71106-6507

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (318) 352-8354
  • (318) 686-7382
  • (318) 746-1613
  • (318) 636-4545

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (318) 746-9553
  • (318) 352-8735
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.