BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1969

Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex

Find a Location

(318) 445-4501View Additional Phone Numbers3924 Jackson St Ext, AlexandriaLA 71303-3007 Send email to Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1969

BBB has determined that Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In ******** **** I purchased a set of premium Goodyear tires from Grant Tire & Service Center No. 64. Allegedly, the tires were speed rated to fit a 2007 Honda Accord V6 (tire size P215/50R17 91V Eagle GTBBW). These tires were supposedly warranted for 65,000 miles. I also purchased a complete road hazard warranty the included tire rotation, flat repair and balancing. There tires have been properly rotated and inspected by Grant technicians and show to have even tread wear. On ******* ** 2013, I went to Grant Tire & Service Center No. 64 to have a slow leak repaired on the right front wheel. Upon doing so, the technician discovered that 3 of the original tires were showing signs of cracking on the sides as if they were recaps. The manager at the store inspected the tires and found that the tires had a factory defect. At this time, the actual miles on the tires was approximately 30,000 miles. Upon inspecting the tread wear, the tires showed to have 7/32 tread left. I asked the manager are the tires covered under the warranty and she replied yes but however I would have to pay for the tread usage on the tires. She gave me a written estimate stating that I would have to pay ******** I feel that this price is excessive considering the tires are not half way through the mileage warranty of 65,000 miles. This estimate included me paying for mounting, balancing and a second road hazard warranty on each tire. I rejected this offer and contacted the Goodyear customer service representative. In discussing the issue with the Goodyear representative, she authorized the manager to reduce the price to $69/tire plus mounting and balancing coming to approximately ***** I felt that this is still unfair and that I should not have to pay for mounting and balancing and road hazard on three new tires that are replacing tires with manufacturer defects. It's obvious these tires were possibly recaps or blemished tires sold as new tires. In closing, I had no problem paying $69/tire providing they cover the rest.
Product_Or_Service: Goodyear Eagle GT BSW TL (P215/50R17 91V)
Order_Number: Original Invoice No.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have them replace the 3 defective tires and they (Grant Tire & Service No. 64) cover the mounting, balancing and road hazard warranty for the remainder of the original tire/mileage warranty. I clearly understand paying $69/tire for tread wear, but I do not feel that I should be penalized for defective or recap tires sold as new.

Business Response
We will be happy to replace the 3 detective tires and will cover mounting, balancing, and road hazard for the remainder of the original tire/mileage warranty. We understand the customer will pay $69/tire for tread wear; plus applicable sales tax and Louisiana tire disposal fee.

We apologize for his distress over this. We hope that the consumer will continue to visit our Alexandria store; as well as any of our other stores.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/19/2005Business started: 01/01/1960
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Hutchison (President)
Business Category

Tire Dealers, Auto Repair & Service

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex

3924 Jackson St Ext

Alexandria, LA 71303-3007

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3924 Jackson St Ext 

    Alexandria, LA 71303-3007

  • 629 N 3rd St 

    Alexandria, LA 71301-8592

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moore's Retread & Tire of the Ark-La-Tex is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (318) 445-5367
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.