BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2012

Aqua Pools and Spas

(903) 832-972180 Whitehill Road, TexarkanaTX 75501 Send email to Aqua Pools and Spas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2012

BBB has determined that Aqua Pools and Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Aqua Pools and Spas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Aqua Pools was contracted to re-plaster my pool with white plaster. My pool plaster has turned into darkened blotchy grey spots and streaks.
In January 2014, I contracted with Aqua Pools to re-plaster my pool with white plaster. On February 13, 2014 Aqua Pools poured the plaster. The following day Friday, February 14, I noticed the plaster had cracked throughout the pool. I immediately called ****** and told him this had to be poured again. Aqua Pools did remove the cracked plaster and poured new plaster on February 18, 2014.
Late March 2014, I noticed the white plaster had started to turn grey at the bottom of my deep end. These darkened blotchy grey spots have spread and are now covering the majority of my deep end. The shallow end of the pool has grey streaks running throughout the shallow end. New blotchy grey spots continue to come up in my shallow end every week.
What is happening to my pool is called Grey Mottling. This is caused by several improper plastering practices, including addition of calcium chloride to the mix (even less than 2%), late hard or dry trowelling. Trowel "burn" is another cause of extreme dark discoloration of white plaster.
I called ****** and explained to him that I wanted him to fix this issue. Aqua Pools guarantees their plaster work for up to one year. ****** stated that he did not want to fix this until he understood what happened. On April 17, myself, ****** and ***** ******** of ******* Pool Plaster, Dallas Texas met at my house to look at my pool. Aqua Pools sub contracted my plaster work to Coliman Pool Plaster. I asked ***** did they put calcium chloride into the mix. He stated "Yes we did, a lot of plaster companies use it". I told ****** that I wanted the plaster to be removed and new plaster put in. He stated that he would get back with me and schedule to pour new plaster.
Unfortunately, it has been one excuse after another of why Aqua Pools cannot schedule to come out and re-plaster again. Now ****** will not return my phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Aqua Pools remove all the plaster they put in February 2014 and pour new white plaster.

Business Response
6/23/14 We are in the process of re-plastering the part of the pool that was damaged. It should be complete by the end of the week.

08/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Poor quality of product used in pool coping. Ignored requests to replace.
We contacted Aqua Pools and had a pool built in the fall of 2010. We had flagstone coping around the edge of the pool to match our patio that had been previously installed. By spring of 2011, we already noticed that the stone was weathering away. Some parts were already LOWER than the concrete around it. It was reported and requested that it be replaced. ******* one of the employees who was here for much of the construction, told my wife that they had used an inferior grade of stone when it was installed! I was told to mark the stones that needed to be replaced with chalk one time so that they could replace them. I did, but nothing happened. Not a consultation, a phone call, nothing! They ignored me, hoping I would go away! As mentioned above, I have a flagstone patio that was very well made and will outlive me. But the flagstone coping around my pool was obviously made using a poor product, and it immediately showed. But once payment was made for construction, Aqua Pools was no longer interested in speaking to me!

Desired Settlement
Replace the poor quality "flagstone" coping around pool.

Business Response
The pool was built in 2010 with the previous owner of the company. We purchased the business in 2012, so this pool was completed prior to our ownership. The previous owner retained all warranty and liabilities on jobs that where completed prior to 2012.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told by both the previous owner and the current owner that they would help me with the stated problem. They both put it off until they hoped that it would be forgotten about. I haven't forgotten about any of it. I deal with all the time, with the "flagstone" around my pool looking more like sandstone.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/11/2012Business started: 01/01/1987
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dakota Taylor (Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

This business operates a pool installation service.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aqua Pools and Spas has received 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Aqua Pools and Spas

80 Whitehill Road

Texarkana, TX 75501

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Aqua Pools and Spas is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.