BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 344-1708Fax: (318) 868-19771036 Dumaine Dr, ShreveportLA 71106-2567 Send email to MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

BBB has determined that MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC's rating include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I want to offer to pay MJ Roofing a settlement amount that addresses my complaints below. MJ Roofing has ignored all my previous attempts.
BBB complaint: XXXX-XX-XX
M J Roofing did a roof job for me in Dec 2013. He did not honor our agreement; before the job I asked him for an opportunity to go over the details of the roof job at his office. Instead he wanted to talk in the cab of his pick up truck. I should have known better but MJR was recommended by my stepson so I agreed.
Did not honor my rtequest to:
1. To allow me to inspect the decking and help me to replace any bad members. He said he would allow his worker to help me somewhat - He knew full well he no intention of removing the old paper to allow me to inspect it.
2. I asked for 30 pound paper to help compensate for the older decking - he decided to instead install15 lb paper.
3. I asked him to reaffirm the flat roof was also a 30 year roof - he nodded that it was - and later denied it in front of CertainTeed inpecter.
Furthermore:
4. I noticed a large amount of the the singles were sticking way up unusually - he promised they would lay down in just a few days. They did not lay down until after several months - I fear the seal is compromised and therefore the *********** 30 year warranty can therefore not be honored as a result. (I believe that many of the singles were nailed too far up and not going through the shingle below it.) Winter temperatures also was a factor.
5. He did not replace the flat roof in kind (built-up) He instead decided to do roll roofing. The flat roof initially had large gap between the deck and roll roofing where rain could easily get in. The roll roofing was curled at the lower end. He also left the metal gutter installed that was designed for built-up. This would have trapped water and easily allow it to get under the curled roll roofing. He told my stepson that I asked MJR to leave the original gutter - this is absolutely a lie. My stepson subsequently replaced the gutter appropriately for roll roofing at his own time and expense.
5. The roofing on the flat roof was adjusted to get rid of the gap, but is still curled to this day and I am having to keep it covered until I can come to some settlement with M J Roofing. but he refused to even acknowledge my emailed complaints over several months. This is a violation of his agreement with the BBB. I asked him in a text messages to do all communications with me by email so we can have record of the dialogue between us. I believe he did not want to engage in email because it would reveal the truthful record. But he simply emailed me periodically demanding full payment.
6. M J Roofing would not provide a copy of their written warranty at completion of the job.
7. I had a rep from *********** come to my house at the same time as M J Roofing to address my complaints. They saw first hand my issues. M J Roofing stated at that time he would deduct the amount it would cost me to have the flat roof redone properly - and that he would trust me for the amount. ******* ****** the rep for ************ was witness to this. But MJR has not honored his own statement nor communicated further to me about it as a response to my repeated emails. Seeing firsthand the problem with the sealing process, ******* ***** with *********** offered to do a manual seal at one point, but I did not hear from MJR.
8. For months he would email statement balances for the full amount - and I would answer for a request to us to settle my concerns so I can pay him settled amount. Although it would be justified, I do not refuse to pay him, but I do not feel I should pay him the full amount. But he simply refused to respond to me. Again this is in violation of their agreement with the BBB.

See below for continuation

Desired Settlement
Resolution wanted:
Reduced settlement amount:
Due to contract violations.
Due to compromised seal on main roof due to the time it took to seal.
Deduct the full amount of the flat roof work.
Compensation for my work to attempt to manually seal and protect the flat roof, travel & expense, grief.
Compensation for *********** Warranty voided due to poor workmanship and due to MJ Roofing denying me to settle a payment - which is required for the warranty to be instated.

I will submit more information and photos by email.
Please provide email address.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofers

Additional Information

top

This business is not associated with Manuel Hernandez or with his roofing business: Manuel Hernandez Roofing Company.

BBB file opened: 11/08/2011Business started: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LA STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS
1221 Elmwood Park Blvd
Harahan, LA 70123-2337
(800) 256-1392

BBB records show a license number of 556364 for this company, issued by LA STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS.

Type: State Contractors Board

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Julian Hernandez (Owner)
Business Category

Roofers

Products & Services

This business provides roofing services.

This business may need a state license for work on your home or business. For verification and updates of licenses, please call the La. State Licensing Board for Contractors at 800-256-1392.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC

1036 Dumaine Dr

Shreveport, LA 71106-2567

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1036 Dumaine Dr 

    Shreveport, LA 71106-2567

  • 2847 Alvin Ln 

    Shreveport, LA 71104-3925(318) 344-1708
    Fax: (318) 868-1977

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MJ Roofing & Remodeling, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Roofers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.