BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hermes Roofing

(318) 797-3800View Additional Phone Numbers1780 E Bert Koun Loop STE 803, ShreveportLA 71105-5560http://www.hermesroof.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 07/09/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB and failure to maintain required licensing.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Hermes Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I have had numerous conversations with the owner of this company and numerous promises that have been broken as far as completing my contract repairs.
****** roofing and I signed a contract to fully replace the roof of my home. They were given a personal check upfront to be paid in full with the understanding that the check needed to be held until reimbursement was received from insurance. They ran the check! I had ***** in NSF charges resulting from this. My contract says that I should have received 3 solar vents, I only received two. There are shingles that are buckled, flashing that is buckled. I have discussed this with ****** ****** the owner of the company on numerous occasions and he said that he would make things right. Well the roof was replaced in **** and it is now ******* and nothing has been done. He hasn't returned my calls or emails in over a month.

Initial Business Response
In regards to the resolution requested by the client. The NSF was reimbursed. The solar vent was replaced and a second one was also installed and the shingles were repaired.

The client has told us that he has made attempts to contact the BBB to withdraw his complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** with ****** Roofing contracted to replace our roof, add a gutter and paint one soffit. Work was to begin at 8 am on Monday March 17th and take a day and a half. At noon on Monday, a crew of non-speaking English people show up. 4 days latter they declared it finished. At no time was there a supervisor here nor did Mr. ****** ever show up. We paid half down and the other half was to be upon completion. 2 weeks go by, and after numerous phone calls and emails from me to him, ****** finally calls back and apologizes again and again. We settle on a different dollar amount for the entire job was not complete. Our check was written and he cashed it that day. Now, 3 months later, his material suppliers have called wanting their money. Mr. ****** never paid his subs nor his material supplier. Also, we have roofing material starting to come apart. His suppliers are threatening to put a lien on our house because of his non-payment of invoices.After more than 50 calls, texts and emails, we have not heard from Mr. ******.He needs to pay his bills and fix what is coming apart on our roof line.
Product_Or_Service: new roof on our house

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

06/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: This roofer collected a deposit for the materials, and then never provided any materials or service.
We gave ****** ****** a deposit in the amount of $8000.00 to over our supplies, and over a month went by without anyone contacting us. Once we started to try to contact the roofer we were not able to get in touch with him. After weeks and weeks of trying to get in touch with him he refunded half of our money. The other half is still tied up. I would not recommend this roofer, and feel we will have to take legal action to settle the remaining balance.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofers, Siding Contractors, Contractors - Gutters

Additional Information

top

Compliment received 08/27/13. XXX was our contractor. He worked with the Insurance and mortgage company. Everything went smoothly and I would recommend him to anyone who asks.

BBB file opened: 04/10/2013Business started: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Hermes (Owner)
Business Category

Roofers, Siding Contractors, Contractors - Gutters

Products & Services

This company operates as a full service roofing company and sells and installs roofs.

This business may need a state license for work on your home or business. For verification and updates of licenses, please call the La. State Licensing Board for Contractors at 800-256-1392.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AM
Alternate Business Names
Hermes Industries, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hermes Roofing

1780 E Bert Koun Loop STE 803

Shreveport, LA 71105-5560

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1780 E Bert Koun Loop STE 803 

    Shreveport, LA 71105-5560

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hermes Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (318) 550-6260
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Roofers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.