BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction

Find a Location

(318) 627-2232109 Nelms, ColfaxLA 71417

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired Mr. *** ******* to put in Solar air treatments, $2,700 system. It started coming big holes all in the yard and around treatment plant. He does not return calls.
See Attached.

Desired Settlement
Want back yard fixed holes in back yard, I can not mow the grass because of the holes.
See Attached.

Business Response
On ***** installed Solar Air Treatment system. At that time He was told there could be some settlement in the ground everywhere he dug. He called left message that we were to get over there and fix it or did they have to pay someone to come fix it. To satisfy ** ******* I ******* ******* went over there to look at it. I informed ** ******* he was told there could be some settlement he then yelled at me and and told me he was going to sue us for it. I told him to go ahead and sue us he got very irate started cusing me and took his walking cane and shoved it in my below my belly button area almost knocked me off my feet and cussing me told me to get off his property. I got off on street and called sheriff and reported it. It is on file at the sheriff's . They are filing charges on him *** *******.

Consumer Response

12/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quality of work is unacceptable. Was told work would be done in 1 week. Due to having to redo some work, it took 3 weeks.
This was a remodel of bathroom to make handicapped friendly. The tile work was sloppy to include grouting uneven and not cleaned on tile. Spaces are seen between the tiles. There are broken tiles. The trim around the ceiling was not mitered. Trim also not finished around the ceiling.The tiles around sink re not grouted properly leaving sharp edges. Paint splatters in hallway were not removed. As part of contract, he was to put up tile splash in Kitchen. I supplied the tiles. It was a DYI that had specific instructions to follow. Contractor did not follow instructions. The tile slipped, grouting was not neat and left on the tiles. It looks terrible. The contractor was having trouble with the people he hired to assist him. Electrical work had to be redone at least twice to get it right. He was constantly complaining about them. I do not feel that was my issue. He is responsible that the work agreed upon would be done.

Desired Settlement
I will need to hire someone to repair the work. Contractor stated the cost was $8880.00. He stated that this was a high end of the estimate. The final cost was $8840.00.
Because it took longer, I was anxious to get the job done. I feel he needs to pay for the work to be redone. The work was completed on 17 April 2015. I did sent him pictures and a list of items not done on 28 April 2015. His wife called me the next day to saw the contractor would be getting a hold of me regarding the very soon. It has been a week with not response.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Basement - Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/14/2012Business started: 11/01/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Van Louvier (Owner)Mrs. Barbara Louvier (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Basement - Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing repairs, remodeling and home repairs.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction

109 Nelms

Colfax, LA 71417

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Van's Plumbing Repairs & Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.