BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/04/2004

Universal Plumbing Co. of Shreveport, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 631-3844Fax: (318) 631-96462705 Linwood Ave, ShreveportLA 71103-3803

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/04/2004

BBB has determined that Universal Plumbing Co. of Shreveport, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Universal Plumbing Co. of Shreveport, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service12
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Universal Plumbing Co. of Shreveport, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
10/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on 10/14/15 they came to a rental property that I own to clear a clogged kitchen drain. On 10/16/15 the tenant told me the drain was still clogged.
On 10/14 Universal plumbing came to a rental property that I own to clear a clogged kitchen drain. I asked the plumber when he was finished what had caused the clog and he told me that sometimes buildup occurs over time and it wasn't anything the tenant had put down the drain. I contacted Universal plumbing on 10/16 at 1:15pm to tell them that the drain was still clogged. The dispatcher told me someone would come sometime between Friday and Monday. On Monday at 1:40 they called me and said the plumber was on the way. I messaged the tenant and just 10 min. later the dispatcher called and said the plumber was there and no one answered the door. Five minutes later the tenant messaged me and said she had just missed him. I immediately called the dispatcher and asked if the plumber could turn around and come back and she said no we would have to reschedule. All of the calls and messages are documented on my phone so I can show that none of this is an exaggeration of the very short notice that I received. I guess they expect someone to sit for four days just waiting for them to show up. Since the job was not done sufficiently the first time it is not too much to ask for them to show some consideration when scheduling a follow up. The dispatcher also suggested that there could be further charges.

Desired Settlement
I want someone to come back and clear the clog. I want a more reasonable time period for the scheduled appointment. I want more than 10 minutes notice and I don't expect any further charges.

Business Response
Prior to receiving this correspondence, a return visit was completed for this customer. There was a follow-up charge of $45 to cable a different section of the kitchen sink drain line further down from where the stoppage was previously. The plumbing issue has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Plumber came out after I filed complaint and cleared the drain. They still charged $45 additional.

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I entered a verbal agreement with Mr. ******* ******, GM, to run a gas line and install a gas cooktop. it was not honored & isn't being made right.
Mr. ****** was referred to me by a friend. My wife had already arranged to have the work done on Thru. by another company, but Mr. ****** and I talked Wed and he offered to meet or beat the lowest quote. We discussed the scope of work over the phone in detail- extend gas line 1- -12 ft from fireplace to cooktop, and remove electric cooktop and install gas cooktop. He would contact his office to have the job scheduled.

My wife cancelled the previous company's appt. and we waited until Monday to receive a call from a woman (dispatcher?) with Universal. She spoke with my wife to coordinate a time for the job.

The workers arrived and my wife called me, concerned that higher rates were being presented by the woman with Universal. I immediately called *****, who agreed to contact his company to confirm the rate we previously agreed upon (there was some re-negotiation and we agreed to pay an additional $50. (they were there, and we had already postponed the work- the $50 increase was worth getting it done, & perhaps there may be something he hadn't anticipated).

The work was done and I went on with my work day. When I got home that night I noticed that the cook-top had not been installed. My wife was frustrated with the whole process that day and didn't want to challenge two men in our house, or the lady on the phone after the issues she had already experienced. In addition, she was not a part of the initial conversation I had with *****.

I wanted to immediately call *****, but because it was midnight, I chose to give him a break and wait until the morning. I contacted ***** around 9am and informed him there was another issue with the project- they didn't install the cook-top!!! He suggested that it was my wife's fault, that she shouldn't have let them leave and that there would be another charge to have them come back out to complete the job that they should have completed originally.

I text him the following shortly after that conversation- "Can't say I'm not disappointed. I cancel the job after getting a quote from you for the same wk (including installation of the cooktop) and then get the shaft because you do not oversee or effectively communicate the terms, nor the scope of wk. my wife is bombarded with terms that we thought were already set, we allow them to start wk under the impression that you have addresses the miscommunication or lack of communication. We agree to pay MORE than you quoted, only to find out that, surprise, things were obviously still not communicated because they didn't even complete the job. But it's our fault!!! I effectively communicated to you and expected that you would make sure that your company understood the terms that you committed it to. Now there's 'nothing you can do' to right your wrong except blame it on my wife for not communicating terms that you should have communicated!!! And charge us for wk that we already overpaid for!!! Totally unprofessional and unacceptable."

I have waited all day on a response! Apparently he as GM is unable or unwilling to make things right.

Desired Settlement
To make this right, he can refund us, whatever it takes to get the job completed, or they can come back out and complete the job when I am there to ensure it is done right and so my wife doesn't have to relive this "uncomfortable", to say the least, ordeal.

Business Response
Mr. *** contacted our company regarding the installation of a gas line and cooktop. He was given an estimate for the work to be done. An estimate is defined as an approximate value of a job. The gas line was run at his home. The total cost of the job was calculated to be higher than the estimated value; however, the cost of the job was reduced to match the customer's estimated price.
At the time the gas line installation was completed, there was no gas cooktop to be installed in the kitchen and Mrs. *** did not mention nor ask anything about the installation of a gas cooktop. In fact, Mrs. *** paid for the job and signed the job ticket marked as complete. A copy of her signature on the work order that is marked complete in on file.
We are happy to return to the home to install the gas cooktop and not charge the customer for the installation of the cooktop; however, there would be a trip charge of $85 to return to the home for a second trip as the estimate was based on the job being completed in one trip.
It is not the responsibility of the company to cover the second trip as there was no cooktop visible for the tech to install and the customer signed the ticket that was marked that the job was complete.


06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Universal Plumbing Inc. was contacted via American Home Shield to make a repair to a kitchen faucet on March 2, 2015, the contractor service repair man came to the house to diagnose problem and said a faucet cartridge need to be ordered, I paid the $75.00 service fee, and they allegedly order the part, six weeks later still no part, I finally called the plumbing supplier and had the part delivered in three days, the serviceman came back and place a deep gouge in the handle trying to take apart the faucet. I had to pay to replace the faucet handle that he had damaged. The same repairman returned and admitted to me that he had never worked on this type of faucet and really didn't know how to repair it. Then he figured out that he could easily unseat the faucet from under the cabinet, I asked why he didn't do this to begin with and he replied he hadn't thought of it. I call Universal Plumbing and spoke with several people and finally received a call back on May 7, 2014 from the company saying they weren't going to pay for the handle. Have I not only waited for over 2 months for the repair but the repair was nowhere near complete.

Desired Settlement
Repayment of $89.42 for the cost of the replacement faucet handle, and the $75.00 service fee for the service hasn't been completed. For a total of $164.42.

Business Response
American Home Shield contacted our company to repair a kitchen sink faucet at the consumer's home. Upon investigation, the faucet was identified as a Brizo faucet which carries a lifetime warranty. In accordance with customer's contract with American Home Shield, the manufacturer's warranty supersedes the home warranty and the customer is responsible for obtaining the lifetime warranty parts. Our company attempted to order the lifetime warranty parts for the customer; however, the distributor told us that they lost the order and we were unable to order directly from Brizo as the lifetime warranty requires the homeowner to order and receive the parts.

We made the customer aware that it was possible the handle would have to be broken to remove the cartridge and repair the faucet. The warranty considers this an "access" and does not cover the handle. Certain styles of faucets require this to happen in order for the faucet to be repaired. The tech has worked on numerous Brizo faucets; however, Brizo makes many styles, and no technician has seen every style of every faucet.

We were able to pull the faucet in order to remove the handle instead of breaking it; however, this is also considered an access. We did this at no charge to the customer since he had been waiting so long for the parts.


03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Universal Plumbing was the worst ever. The employees were very rude and unprofessional. Even the manager *** was rude and unprofessional.
Universal Plumbing was called to my home to unstop my bathroom sink. ****** was very rude and unprofessional. He broke his equipment and stated I had to pay $55 for him to do so. I was opposed to that because I felt if he used the equipment he had he could have completed the job. I called *** at Universal Plumbing and she stated that if he did not have to get on the roof she would give me the $55 back. Three more people were called out to my house. I paid the $55 because I did not have a choice since I only have one restroom. The guys in fact did not have to go on top of the roof for anything. That was an assumption. After the work was completed, my bathroom was left very dirty. My housekeeper had left the same day and the bathroom was very very clean. When Universal Plumbing left there were black smudge marks on the sink, 4- 5 towels on the floor covered with black stuff, my toilet paper roll was knocked over and was wet and my area rug was soaked. I was happy the job was completed, but very angry that my bathroom was not left in which the way they found it. I immediately called *** at Universal Plumbing and she said her supervisor was at my house and everything was left spotless. I told her that was not true and I had taken pictures. After calling all this week , I finally spoke to *** only to let her leave me on hold for over 30 minutes. The following day I made a trip to Universal Plumbing and she stated the guys do not have to clean up behind themselves. Another employee walked in and asked if I had been helped and I said I wasnt sure because once again she left the counter without saying anything. I told him what happened and he proceeded to ask unnecessary questions like its just a rug why cant you clean it yourself. Finally *** came back to the front and said to get an estimate for the cleaning of the rug and she would see if they could pay for it. I am in the process of calling and taking the rug to be cleaned. I was out of so much money dealing with this company. I will never use them again and I will ask American Home Shield to never send them to my home for any plumbing issue.

Desired Settlement
As I told *** , I would like to be paid for the cleaning of my rug and for my bathroom to be cleaned. I asked for the $55.00 back and she refused.

Business Response
This customer has already been reimbursed for the cleaning of her rug and bathroom prior to her complaint being received.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The statement above is partially true. I have received the check, however before the check was mailed to me I received a call from *** telling me that she had not mailed the check. *** asked me would I remove the complaint on your site after I receive the check. I told her I would think about it. After the phone call to see where I stood that is when the check was mailed. I received the check last Tuesday/Wednesday. I do not appreciate *** making a false statement making it look like the company was going to pay me before I filed the complaint. *** asked me to get a quote for cleaning my rug and a price for the cleaning of my bathroom. That does not mean I was about to be reimbursed. I truly feel I received a phone call was because of the complaint that was filled online not because she had high customer service skills to please me. The reason I believe that is because she asked me to remove the complaint. *** contact me on 2/10/15 and asked had I received the check and I did. She then asked had I spoken to someone from BBB to remove the compliant and I said no and that I wasn't going to have this compliant removed. I'm surely not removing it now because she lied. Most of my complaint was rude customer service from her and other employees. Please review my initial complaint. As I thought about it I became more aggravated because of the way my mother and I were treated. The unprofessional service when I called - I mean I was left on hold for long periods of time and the hang ups. They would not take my call. So I had to leave work and go to their business to try and resolve this matter. That is unacceptable. *** not only lied o once, but twice when she told me she would refund the $55 if Tyrone didn't have to go on my roof. Then the story changed. As I think about it my $55 plus the cleaning fee should have been refunded. If this company would have approached this situation in a better manner I would not have written this complaint. Future customers need to know who they are dealing with in case something goes wrong. I feel like *** was trying to bribe me to remove the complaint. *** never once returned my calls when I would call for her in the beginning. Now when there is a complaint for everyone to see, she is contacting me. Hopefully, Universal Plumbing will learn from this incident that you have to treat your customers with respect and make them want to use your company again or send them a referral. In closing my initial complaint was customer service. The problem wasn't resolved because she wanted me to feel better about this situation, she wanted the complaint removed. Again, I did not hear from *** until the complaint was filed with BBB. She lied and there is no reason to. My appointment for service was 1/15/15. I called the rest of the week and beginning of the next week trying to resolve this. I went to Universal Plumbing on 1/21/15 because they would not take my calls. I filed the complaint on 1/22/15 because I felt I wouldn't get any results from dealing with just them.

Final Business Response
The consumer's rebuttal is a fabrication. She was reimbursed per her original request.

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Universal Plumbing did substandard work. Refuses to make correction without additional pay. Total paid is $250.00.

Unfair practice!!!
01/14/2015, Plumber from Universal Company replaced faucet set (tub and shower),which stopped leak in 1st Bath Rm. He screwed new handles (which I purchased) back on in 2nd Bath Rm. and stated that they were secured by using an Allen wrench.

On the same day, Tenant stated that one handle fell off again, and again the next day...I called the company on 01/20/15 and explained the problem. I was told on 01/22/15 that I will have to pay again to have the plumber return to fix the handle and pay for whatever part is needed. He already stated that nothing else was needed except to use an Allen wrench. He also said that he fixed the handle. I paid and expected to have both jobs done correctly.

I paid $250.00 cash on 01/14/2015. I was given a receipt # XXXXXX, which did NOT show cost of supplies purchased nor price/ cost of labor.

Desired Settlement
I request that Universal Plumbing Company return free-of-charge and make correction (secure handle on faucet in 2nd Bath Rm.) The company has already been paid to do the job. I included both problems when I made the appointment. This is a fact!

I appreciate your assistance.
****** P. ******

Business Response
Mrs. ****** paid $250 cash to replace the handles and stems on her 1st bathroom tub faucet. The tech secured one of her handles on the second bathroom tub valve at no charge to the customer. Therefore, if the customer is continuing t have a problem in the second bathroom, she would need to pay for additional work to be done to that valve. Again, the customer has only paid for the 1st bathroom to be repaired and has not paid any money for the second bathroom to be repaired. The tech simply screwed her handle on in the second bathroom as a courtesy to the customer while we were at the home working in the 1st bathroom.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is based on the lack of professionalism with the plumbers and the office staff. I tried to speak with a supervisor and there were none.

I have dealt with the above company prior to this incident and was not satisfied with their service. My home warranty company failed to exclude them from the list of companies that I conduct business with. When I scheduled them to come out I forgot until this experience. The company could not come to my house for 3 days. The plumber that entered my home was complaining about the previous customer and then I explained to him my issues. I told him that the hall toilet was leaking and the sink was stopped up. He flushed the toilet and did appear to be clogged. He went outside to look for a dugout and could not find one. I told him that there had to be one, so I looked, turning over bricks and leaves. He told me that I did not have one and that he needed to go up on the roof. I was not impress with his inability or lack of experience in locating a dugout. He proceeds to go inside and says the toilets are working properly and he does not have to look at the dugout and I do not have a stoppage. I was so upset. I called the office, Universal Plumbing, and asked to speak with a manager or supervisor and no one was available, except for *** the clerk. She informed that they do not give out names. She did not even take my information in attempt to say I'm going to have someone contact you. She gave me the impressions that they do not value customers or their opinions.

Desired Settlement
Acknowledge of my complaint and that they do care about their customer's opinions.

Business Response

This customer's order was through her home warranty company. The customer's order within the time guidelines set forth by her home warranty contract. The home warranty does not cover a stoppage when a ground level exposed clean-out is not visible. It should be noted that not all homes, specifically in this customer's area of Shreveport, have clean-outs on the main sewer line. The technician was unable to duplicate a stoppage problem at the time he was at the home, therefore, the home warranty does not allow us to snake a line if we are unable to duplicate a failure. If the customer is still having a problem, then we are happy to return at no charge to repair a covered issue. If the issue is non-covered, then the customer would owe for the non-covered service.


Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/13/1998Business started: 01/01/1946New Owner Date: 06/05/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1957, LA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trey Giglio (Vice President)Mr. Vincent Giglio (General Mgr)
Business Category

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing repairs and service.

Alternate Business Names
Universal Plumbing Company
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Universal Plumbing Co. of Shreveport, Inc.

2705 Linwood Ave

Shreveport, LA 71103-3803

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2705 Linwood Ave 

    Shreveport, LA 71103-3803Fax: (318) 631-9646

  • 2705 Linwood Avenue 

    Shreveport, LA 71103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Universal Plumbing Co. of Shreveport, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.