BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/06/2011

Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems

Phone: (318) 949-8628Fax: (318) 949-8621234 Kent Dr, PrincetonLA 71067 Send email to Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/06/2011

BBB has determined that Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problems from day one with this contractor and equipment. I have a collapsed septic tank, and the only contact I have is when I contact him.
We had a treatment system purchased and installed from ****** Sheffield around April 2010. When installing this unit, ****** busted a water (service) line to the house (discovered in June) and resulted in foundation repair resulting in a $15000 bill that has yet to resolve issues because we keep having problems with this line and/or unit. On Saturday Feb. 14th I discovered a sink hole in my yard and realized that my septic tank had caved in (collapsed) on one end, and the tank has no rebar. We tried to contact ****** around 2/17/15 but his son said he was on vacation in Mexico. My wife ****** contacted ****** on 2/20/15 and notified him that he needed to come out and look at a problem we had and he stated that he would be out on Saturday (2/21/15). On Saturday evening I contacted ****** and he said that he couldn't come out because he had family in and they didn't want him to leave, but he would call me and come out Sunday afternoon (2/22/15), that he had my number. He never called. My son called me on Tuesday 2/24/15 and said some guy was there looking at the septic tank, and I told him to be sure the guy called me before he left. ****** called and was exceptionally nice and said that it definitely shouldn't have happened regardless of age (just as the manufacturers that I talked to said) and that he was taking pictures, and not to worry that "he would take care of it and get me fixed up". Then stated, "somebody will replace it, either me or somebody else, but somebody will replace it, don't worry". I called ****** on Wednesday 3/4/15 and his wife said he wasn't there, and she would have him call me just in case he didn't answer his cell phone when I called because he may be in a metal building. He didn't answer and he never called back. I even left a voice mail. About 6:30 pm on Thursday 3/5/15 I contacted ******* He said that he was trying to find the manufacturer that he got the unit from, that he talked to one, but one wouldn't call him back ************ I told him that ********* told me that he didn't buy the unit from them. And that I had talked to the manufacturer in Denham Springs, La. and they said it didn't come from them. He said when he found out where it came from that he would give me their info so I could contact them and see if they would do something. I said "so that's all you are going to do? I have to take it from there?" He said "yes". I told him that I've put up with enough B.S. and it's time that I got some customer service, and he stated that he did agree.
It is Monday 3/9/15 and ****** has yet to contact me.
The manufacturer in Denham Springs seems to think I have received a bootlegged unit by the pics I have sent them of my unit and a possible "sticker swap" which is illegal. They say that it's possible I received a 6 yr old unit at the time of purchase.
I have a co-worker whose family owns ********* and they tell him that they believe this is a surplus unit that ****** bought from ************

Desired Settlement
At this point, I believe I should have my septic tank be replaced in another location and be reimbursed for the funds for my foundation repair. As a former contractor, I know, that we carry insurance for this unforeseen circumstances.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@aol.com
Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems Installed a Cajun Aire System for Mr. ******* April 22, 2010. It was bought from ****** ********** and delivered by their truck driven by **** ****** There is a tag inside the system with the manufacturer listed. I called ***** **** and they said that the warranty is two years. We have never had this problem with any tank we have bought from ******** The State Tag that was bought from ********* ********** should be still attached, the number is # XXXXXX. The head of Health and Hospitals name is *** ****** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and he can actually check the #'s on this system and verify the Manufacturer and when it was put into service. I believe he may be able to answer any question you may have. The water line that was broken on Mr. *******'s property was broken the day of instillation and was fixed that day. It Is not feasible that it took two months to find a broken water pipe. We have no idea why Mr. *******'s house became unlevel. We didn't do the plumbing on the house. Mr. Sheffield did visit the site and took pictures and it looks like there is no metal in the concrete that caved in. We are not experts on concrete or manufactures of concrete. We wish Mr. ******* the best in getting the answers he needs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, my service line is 3'-4' deep, and yes it did take a couple of months for it to surface. It would have taken longer, if my treatment plant wouldn't have been going off every few minutes. Next, my septic tank is only 5 yrs. old and has cracked and completely collapsed on one end. For all I know, was cracked upon installation. I have a sink hole in my yard and you can see directly into my tank.
This seems to be a routine response for this contractor. Shows up, ACTS concerned until he gets in the truck, leaves, and you don't hear another word.....unless you finally track him down. Never any true concern, follow up calls, or any responsibility taken for their work. We hired Scheffield Plumbing, trusting them to provide me with a quality system, and they were paid in full at the time their service was complete. Scheffield Plumbing should be held accountable for their services. Scheffield Plumbing sold and installed a defective product.

And all they can say is that "THEY WISH ME LUCK???"

Mr. Scheffield verbally stated upon the most recent phone call that he would see to it that it was taken care of. This statement was told to my wife and myself on different phone conversations. He also stated that this situation was not the norm. and when we contacted ****** about the tank, ****** stated the Tank was not bought from them. Mr. Scheffield needs to present documentation on the purchase of this tank and we will continue to take further action as needed. Mr. Scheffield has yet to warranty his work from the first 6 weeks of installation of the product.

Final Business Response
I have the information you need on the manufacturer of the tank. It was delivered by ********* *********** driver, **** ****** I believe they were the manufacturer as well. All the numbers match up. It was confusing because *****,owner of ********* ********** and her brother ***** owner of ********* ********** were working together at the time. I talked to ***** again today to try and confirm whose tank it was and I believe it was bought from McGrew's and Advantage delivered one of their tanks. The paper work came from *****. **** ***** has worked for both of them as well. When I talked to ***** she told me it was her family that helped to develop the Cajun Aire System and she has never heard of any tank busting except for one that was run over by a large truck, like a concrete truck. and the peoples home owners insurance covered it. These tanks are very well built and I personally have never heard of one caving in. I am not sure if you need me to send the paper work to the BBB or to you personally, I will be glad to do either one.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A lawnmower is the only thing that has been on that side of the house.

I want you to replace my tank like you said you would! That is what I want!

Otherwise, you have done nothing but lie to us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Sewer Companies, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers - Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/09/2009Business started: 03/14/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeannie Sheffield
Business Category

Plumbers, Sewer Companies, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers - Commercial

Products & Services

This company operates as a plumbing contractor, both residential and commercial.

Alternate Business Names
Johnny Sheffield, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems

234 Kent Dr

Princeton, LA 71067

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 234 Kent Dr 

    Princeton, LA 71067Fax: (318) 949-8621

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sheffield Plumbing and Sewer Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.