BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1963

Bobby L Greene Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

Phone: (318) 631-0235Fax: (318) 631-5627View Additional Phone Numbers2630 Midway St, ShreveportLA 71108-2035 Send email to Bobby L Greene Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1963

BBB has determined that Bobby L Greene Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bobby L Greene Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excessive amount charged to repair a slab leak at personal residence. Detailed breakdown of labor and materials cost to repair slab leak not provided
The floor in the hall bathroom started leaking on Friday 5 September. Turned the water off to the house and called ***** L. ******. Informed by phone that overtime would be assessed which I acknowledged. Tech **** responded and diagnosed problem as hot water line,leak in slab. Time on site: 1 hour. **** said repair crew would come out Monday 7 September. Crew consisting of one tech and one helper onsite from 0630 to 1130 hours on Monday 7 September and completed required repairs. Total of 10 man hours5 tech and 5 helper. Paid by check ($1900) priorto repair crew leaving. The work order contained no breakdown to me the customer as to the total labor and materials costsjust a lump sum to pay. Since I was leaving town the next day, I just wrote a check for the total amount due even though I was very concerned about the size of the bill for 11 manhours of work plus materials. Feel that I was definitely overcharged and would like a more complete accounting. The hourly rate for plumbers and plumbers helpers must be pretty steep!

Desired Settlement
A detailed invoice that breaks down the 11 manhours of work associated with this job as well as a list of materials and their cost associated with this job. Understand the neeed to make a profit to stay in business, but I truly feel I got taken to the cleaners by the plumbers on this one. As a homeowner, you feel pretty powerless when your house slab starts leaking!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Office Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@aol.com
When our Plumber **** was at **** ******* residence on September 5, 2014 and discovered that **** ******* had a hot water slab leak **** explained to **** ******* at that time that our rate for repairing a slab leak was $ 1,850.00 to $ 2,100.00 per loop. **** ******* said that was fine and to go ahead and set up the appointment for ***** L ****** Plumbing to come out and do the work. We set the appointment up for September 8, 2014. This is the rate we quote to all our customers who call in and say they have a slab leak or might have a slab leak. We do not break this down as this is what we call a quote job which means all we give is a flat fee price.
We understand that this is a large amount of money.
We have been in business for 55 years.
We are willing to give **** ******* a 15% discount on this bill.

09/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heater Dealers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top

This company has two complaints that were closed on matrix as unresolved. After an extensive review, we have determined that this company tried to work with the consumers in question. They met their original complaints and have been administratively resolved.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1963Business started: 01/01/1953Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bobby L Greene (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Water Heater Dealers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing and heating services.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Heating Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bobby L Greene Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

2630 Midway St

Shreveport, LA 71108-2035

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2630 Midway St 

    Shreveport, LA 71108-2035

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bobby L Greene Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (318) 741-3900
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Heating Your Home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.