BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Palm Harbor Homes

Phone: (318) 747-9700Fax: (318) 747-75483337 E Texas St, Bossier CityLA 71111-3213http://www.palmharbor.com/model-center/bossiercity

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Palm Harbor Homes is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Palm Harbor Homes' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Palm Harbor Homes

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
- HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE -
Palm Harbor is a lying company. They do not give you what you pay for nor what you request. They do an awful job.
My wife and I ordered a home in 2013. We modified this home to our liking. Which included many upgrades. Palm Harbor agreed to all upgrades and we were not declined any of the changes. Upgrades inlcuded: adding 5th bedroom, painting cetain walls, removing desk area, removing closet in 5th bedroom, combining 2 bedrooms and installing jack/jill bathroom and installing whirtlpool tub in master bath. Our house was delivered in March 2014. The desk area in kitchen was not removed, a closet was still in 5th bedroom, and no walls were painted. We advised Palm Harbor and they removed the closet from the 5th bedroom, yet they did not have carpet to match current carpet in the house. Therefore one bedroom in the house has completly different carpet in a BRAND NEW HOME. Palm Harbor also stated they could not remove the desk area however they would refund us $500 in return. We have yet to recieve that refund. Palm Harbor also stated they would get a painter to the house to paint. We were able to pick out our own colors and Palm Harbor purchased the paint and after closing of the house the painter came out. He did an awful job. He didnt take the time to place tape around molding nor do a second coat. There are streaks and blank spots around molding. HORRIBLE JOB. We were also advised we will have a 1 year warranty and keep a list of all issues related to the home and call Palm Harbor 10 months out so they can send someone out to correct issues. We did so, and was advised 90% of the list they do not warrant. We have had nothing but **** from this company and we will never recommened anyone to purchase a home from Palm Harbor.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the products we did not recieve or I request the company to fix the issues involved in the house.

Business Response
We have been in contact with Mr. *******. He is upset because the majority of the things wrong with his home (a year later) are not of a manufacture defect. They are either cosmetic resulting from neglect or wear and tear. The things that are covered under the warranty are either servuced or scheduled to be serviced in the near future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mobile Home Manufacturers, Modular Home Manufacturer , Mobile Home Dealers

Additional Information

top

On September 27, 2011, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 10-13850.

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Delaware Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, , Wilmington, DE, 19801 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1993Business started: 01/01/1982
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Stricklin (General Manager)Ms. Mia Bowers (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Mobile Home Manufacturers, Modular Home Manufacturer , Mobile Home Dealers

Products & Services

This company sells manufactured and modular homes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Palm Harbor Homes

3337 E Texas St

Bossier City, LA 71111-3213

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3337 E Texas St 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-3213Fax: (318) 747-7548

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Palm Harbor Homes is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Mobile Home Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On September 27, 2011, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 10-13850.

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Delaware Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, , Wilmington, DE, 19801 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.