BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

New Surface Technology

(318) 218-55471214 Shreveport Barksdale Hwy # 153, ShreveportLA 71105-2406 Send email to New Surface Technology

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides Repair, Resurface, Restoration and Recoloring of kitchens and bathrooms for residential and commercial customers, including hospitals, nursing homes, military bases, hotels and motels, and office buildings.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

BBB has determined that New Surface Technology meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for New Surface Technology include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on New Surface Technology

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refused to provide work quote as advertised and thereby also refusing service. Misleading advertising as to worked performed.
I contacted business several months ago asking for a quote for cabinet refinishing and the business refused to provide a quote, stating the project was too big and that I should sue the home builder. Note, the quote I was seeking was for only kitchen cabinets, not all cabinets throughout the house. I tried again this past January and let the business know that I received instruction from the builder to get a quote. This quote would only be for work to be done on the exterior of the cabinets (not exterior and interior as previously sought - significantly less work) and a mantle if they would work the mantle. Again, I was refused a quote and service, the business stating "I would not want to tackle a project of that nature." Note the business website states it provides free quotes and it also advertises that it performs cabinet refinishing. Hm? When folks get kitchen cabinets refinished, do they get just one cabinet refinished, not likely, so this excuse to refuse a quote is odd, other than potentially the familiarity it has with the home builder. He had remarked that it would be too costly when he mentioned I should sue the builder. Too costly? He doesn't know my financial capability to pay such cost and had not checked my credit worthiness at that point. So, it is very odd that I am being refused a quote and the business is effectively refusing service and potential income. At a minimum, they should make corrections to what is stated that they provide on their website, one being they provide fee quotes, which they did not provide and that they perform cabinet refinishing, which was the work type they refused to quote on to perform. They should indicate, we only provide quotes if it is work we advertise that we perform on the condition we wish to perform the work and that they only provide cabinet refinishing work per "x" amount of cabinets of "x" size. This should also be accompanied by a disclaimer that they do not provide quotes on work that has been previously damaged by a builder/subcontractor. Also, if it lacks the skill or time to perform the advertised work, then it should not advertise it performs such work. Notice: For BBB personal, I did not select certain identifiers as to the nature of this complaint on the BBB website since those would take me to external agencies and I am not certain as to the applicability of those selections at this particular moment.

Desired Settlement
First, to correct any misleading statements on their website as to what work/service they perform and provide. Second, not to deny potential customers quotes or service without a valid reason as it pertains to the work/service the business states/advertises it performs.

Business Response
I have sent an attachment for a quote for the consumer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Kitchen & Bath Design, Tile Restoration, Countertop - Fabrication, Cabinet Refacing, Bathtub Refinishing, Bathtub Sinks Repair Companies, Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing, Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, Bathroom Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/2013Business started: 04/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business may need a state license for work on your home or business in the Ark-La-Tex area.
For verification and updates of business license, please contact the appropriate state office:

LOUISIANA State Licensing Board for Contractors -
800-256-1392
www.lslbc.louisiana.gov

TEXAS Department of Licensing and Registration -
800-803-9202
www.tdlr.state.tx.us

ARKANSAS Contractors Licensing Board -
501-372-4661
www.aclb.arkansas.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Joe Papa (Owner)
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath Design, Tile Restoration, Countertop - Fabrication, Cabinet Refacing, Bathtub Refinishing, Bathtub Sinks Repair Companies, Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing, Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, Bathroom Remodeling

Products & Services

This business provides Repair, Resurface, Restoration and Recoloring of kitchens and bathrooms for residential and commercial customers, including hospitals, nursing homes, military bases, hotels and motels, and office buildings.

This business has a location also in Jacksonville, FL.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

No Refund, 2 Year Limited Warranty

Alternate Business Names
ANG Services, LLC
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for New Surface Technology

1214 Shreveport Barksdale Hwy # 153

Shreveport, LA 71105-2406

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1214 Shreveport Barksdale Hwy # 153 

    Shreveport, LA 71105-2406

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*New Surface Technology is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Kitchen & Bath Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.