BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ashley's Saw Shop & Hardware

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 865-5005Fax: (318) 865-5057490 E Bert Kouns Industrial Loop, ShreveportLA 71106-8141

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Ashley's Saw Shop & Hardware is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ashley's Saw Shop & Hardware's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

THE SECOND LOCATION OFF OF GREENWOOD ROAD IS CALLED ASHLEY'S SAW SHOP & HARDWARE

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ashley's Saw Shop & Hardware

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1. ********* **** *** ***** Took Power washer to Ashley's Saw Shop, *** E **** Kouns Loop, Shreveport, LA XXXXX-XXXX, to see if they could get it to start. Charged ****** repair deposit. Gave phone number and was told I would be contacted if charges were over ********* Wednesday, ***. 8, 2014: Was contacted by Ashley's and informed Power washer was fixed. Inquired of charges and was informed I owed ******** In addition to the ****** already paid. I told them that was not what we agreed upon. Charges were greater than ******** Total charges would cost ********** Saturday, ***.11, ***** Went to Ashley's to discuss charges. The counter person (I did not get his name) said he remembered I was told that I would be contacted if charges were over ******** He could not do anything but said he would have manager look at charges.4. Monday, ***. *** ***** Talked to manager on phone. My understanding was we agreed the total charge would be reduced to ******** Asked if that included the ****** already paid and told me "Yes". 5. Tuesday, ***. *** ***** Went to pick Power washer and was informed I would have to pay ******* in addition to the $35.00 already paid. Total cost would have been ******** That was not agreeable to me. Ashley's said they could sell it.I still do not think a 10 year old Power washer is worth that expense. I can buy a new Troy built Power washer of same model for ******* at Lowe's. And charges violate the ******* limit that we agreed on. I would have paid ******** That was the maximum agreed upon.
Product_Or_Service: Repair of **** Bilt Power Washer

Desired Settlement
Accept the agreed upon amount of ******* plus the ****** already paid them, since they did not contact me about the additional expense.

Consumer states case has been resolved,

05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner at this place declined to work out an appropriate ending to a deal already agreed to it.
Ashley's Saw Shop agreed to repair five chainsaws for me. We called ahead and talked to the manager, not sure of his name. I told him I had five chain saws that I was going to be trying to resale at my pawn shop. I told him that I had an amount I could put into them and it wouldn't be worth putting more than that over due to the cost of the chainsaw. He agreed to look at them and I sent one of my employees with the chain saws. He called when he got there and was talking to the shop person. We once again reiterated that we couldn't put more than $25 in the cheaper saws like Craftsman and Homelite, but we could put up to $50 in the Stihl saws. At that point they sent the Homelite saws back and said they could fix the others for the prearranged amount. The next week they called and said we owed $125 for the remainder of the balance. After paying this amount plus the additional $100 we had already paid I began to look at the invoices. This is when I noticed that they had charged me $35 for each chain saw just to look at it, including the Craftsman that we had already agreed not to go over $20 on. I called and spoke with the owner who told me I was full of XXXX and that he wasn't going to do anything about it. I told him that was no way to talk to a customer and he told me that he didn't care and he wasn't doing anything about it and hung up. He said that I was trying to get something for nothing and that I wanted him to fix my saws and charge nothing. That wasn't the case, all I wanted was for them to live up to what they said they would do.
I have the invoices where we paid the first $100 and it says nothing about a minimum charge for shop labor, like he claims. All that it says is that we paid $20 on each saw. If this is there business practice, that is fine but they shouldn't agree to one thing and then say they don't do that.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund in the amount of $10 on each saw that the business agreed not to go over the $20 amount. I would also like a refund on the saw that they didn't fix. I would agree to half of that amount back which would be $19.

Business Response /* (1000, 5, *********** */
Better Business Bureau
P.O. Box XXXXX
Shreveport, LA XXXXX-XXXX

Re: Case # XXXXXXXX: ****** ****

To Whom It May Concern:
I am the Parts Manager at Ashley's Saw Shop and I personally witnessed both conversations between Mr. **** and our Owner ***** *******, as well as the conversation between the employee Mr. **** sent to our shop with the saws and our counter person. ***** and I both apologize for the way he ended the phone call with Mr. ****, as it was unprofessional. That was the final comment of a few lengthy exchanges between them in which Mr. **** accused us of something we simply did not do. His employee brought the saws in and was given a $15.00 discount on the required up-front minimum shop labor charge per saw. They were told this would go toward the cost of the repair. They were also told the minimum charge would still be $35.00 per saw and we only gave them a break on the deposit. After this explanation, the representative of Mr. **** signed the shop repair tickets and agreed to pay $35.00 per saw minimum. This completely contradicts Mr. ******* claim about the agreement to pay no more than $20.00 or $25.00 per saw.

With regard to the claim of our high labor rates; we have some of the **** labor rates in our field and currently $15.00 an hour less than our closest competitor. We feel we gave him a considerable labor discount considering what had to be done to fix the saws, and it would have cost him nearly twice as much at any other shop.

This is clearly not a case of not completing our end of an agreement; but a case of a pawn shop owner who paid too much for broken saws to properly repair them and still make a profit, while attempting to "pawn"the blame off on the shop who charged him for half the labor actually performed.


Sincerely,


**** ****** Parts Manager
Ashley 's Rentals & Sales, Inc.



Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is an attempt to cover up the fact that the shop went against what was told to them. Nowhere on the ticket that my employee signed does it state what he is saying. I never talked to the person who responded and neither did my employee. This is not a case of me trying to "pawn" off something on someone else. This is a case of a business that claims to be an upstanding business that isn't. When Mr ******* called me and told me what it would be to fix the saws I was honest and told him that I couldnt pay that kind of money to fix a saw. I repeated to him once again the amount of money I could put in the saws. Why would I put $80 into a chainsaw that I would sell for $69? It makes no sense. The reason I called before we brought the saws was to let them know what was going on and what I needed to do. The employee that answered the phone is the one who told me to send $100 and that would be enough to look at the saws. I still paid the remainder of the charge at the end so there was no "discount" like he claims. There is nothing more to say about the situation as it is already done and over. I wanted to give them a chance to do the right thing but I already know thats not gonna happen. I have sent customers to this establishment for years because of what I had heard was a good business. I was wrong and next time I'll be sure tl check the complaints on the BBB website as this was a problem recently for this establishment.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garden & Lawn Equipment & Supplies, Hardware Stores, Engines-Gas

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/06/2001Business started: 02/01/1985
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Johnson (President)Customer Contact: MR DAVID JOHNSON (VICE PRESIDENT)
Business Category

Garden & Lawn Equipment & Supplies, Hardware Stores, Engines-Gas

Products & Services

This company sells and repairs small gas engines.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ashley's Saw Shop & Hardware

490 E Bert Kouns Industrial Loop

Shreveport, LA 71106-8141

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4810 Greenwood Rd 

    Shreveport, LA 71109-5502(318) 635-5511

  • 490 E Bert Kouns Industrial Loop 

    Shreveport, LA 71106-8141(318) 865-5005
    Fax: (318) 865-5057

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ashley's Saw Shop & Hardware is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Garden & Lawn Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.