BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

LaRue's Furniture and Mattress Warehouse, Inc.

Phone: (318) 219-1747Fax: (318) 683-00226713 Pines Rd, ShreveportLA 71129-2511

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

LaRue's Furniture and Mattress Warehouse, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on LaRue's Furniture and Mattress Warehouse, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On ******* we purchased a bed, (headboard, footboard, rails, mattress an box spring), from ***** Furniture. The merchandise was paid for in full at the time, including delivery fee. On ******* merchandise was delivered, but with no bed slats, **** promised to bring slats to us on 4 different occasions, but never did so. In addition, the bed -frame will not assemble properly, due to faulty repairs performed by ***** prior to delivery, **** also promised to correct that problem, but has not.

Desired Settlement
Delivery of the bed slats and whatever adaptions/adjustments necessary in order to make the bed useable and safe.

06/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 2 year old couch and recliner are falling apart. A seam is busted and now all the leather is peeling off.
We purchased our sectional couch and recliner from *****'s Furniture on April 14, 2012. We spend about 2700 dollars on this furniture. We also bought a protection plan for an additional 252 dollars. We were told by the owner, ****, that this plan would cover anything that could ever happen to the couch and recliner. Due to the fact it was leather and I was expecting our first child, we purchased the 5 year protection plan to ensure that we would get our money's worth. After contacting the Guardsman Insurance company, we learned that everything **** told us was covered in the plan, was NOT actually covered at all. I called **** three times 2 days in a row to speak with him about this and he never responded. I finally spoke with him the next day and he told me that he would be happy to fix the furniture for me, but of course he would have to charge. I sent him several pictures so he could see how flawed this product was. I can not believe that $2700 worth of furniture would not even last 2 years. I am very disappointed in the quality of this furniture and even more disappointed in the response the company (*****'s) gave me when I called to get this taken care of. I have not heard back from ****. It has been two days since I sent him the pictures, I have called twice as well and left messages, with no response. After spending that much money on furniture I would expect for it to last more than 2 years. And if it didn't, we were told the "protection plan" would cover any problems we could potentially have. Well, the furniture obviously was made cheap and the "protection plan" he sold us was also a lie too. I am very disappointed in the way the furniture has fallen apart and in the way the owner of this business isn't standing behind his work or word.

Desired Settlement
I want *****'s to recover my couch and correct the seam that is already popped after 2 years. I would like them to cover the cost to replace the damaged fabric, correct the popped seam and cover the charge for picking up and delivering the furniture back to us.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid $601.00 for a queen mattress and in 2 months I had a sink in it. I called them they gave me he run around. the boss is never in the office
paid $601.00 for a queen mattress and in in 2 months I had a sink in it. I called a lady answered a assured me she will return my call in 20 min. 1 day later I had to call back because I never received the return call. this time I got another lady she said give her all information on mattress again and she will call me and place this information on the boss desk. still no return call. 1 day later I called back and got the second lady again she said she was going to place an order and she will let me know when to bring defected one back and I could maybe trade up if need be. she than told me this was one of there better mattress and they have not a lot of complaints on it but lately they have but the issue will be taking care of. 2 weeks later the boss called on a Saturday and said what the issue I told the same thing I told the ladies and he asked me is he sink bigger than 1 inch if not that's called settleing. I told him that it was greater the 1 inch. he said that was what he needed to hear and he would get back with me. this has been alest 3 or 4 months ago. and every time I call I get the same treatment and he never in office. the service and the quality on te product in very poor. I will not recommend anyone to use them at his point unless you like giving away money and don't care about treatment.

Desired Settlement
the settlement im seeking now is a refund so I can get a mattress that has a better quality than two months. I donth think that they have any matresses that fit this requirement at all exspecially for me to continue business they don't stand behind there stuff

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Retailers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1993Business started: 01/01/1985
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rudy LaRue (President)
Business Category

Furniture Retailers

Products & Services

This company provides retail furniture.

Alternate Business Names
T L Sam's, Truck Load Sams
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6713 Pines Rd 

    Shreveport, LA 71129-2511Fax: (318) 683-0022

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*LaRue's Furniture and Mattress Warehouse, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Furniture Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.