BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/2010

Four States Furniture

Find a Location

Phone: (903) 223-4506Fax: (903) 223-45142315 Richmond Rd STE 16, TexarkanaTX 75503-2447 Send email to Four States Furniture

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/2010

BBB has determined that Four States Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Four States Furniture's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Four States Furniture

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Fail to deliver all products in a timely matter and did not send new product, instead sent floor model.
Placed order on 10/28, received it, but love seat was torn when it was delivered. Order more pieces and was told that love seat would be replaced. Here it is March 24th and still waiting. Also ordered entertainment center, they sent everything but the correct right pier, which you could not put it together until the pier came in. Waited until February to get it and the only reason it was sent is because I was so mad I ask them to get it through **** Smith Furniture since they acted like their buyer could not get one in. Was told they would replace my fireplace console since the door would not stay closed and they had sent me the floor model instead of a new one as I was promised. Paid them all their money up front and I'm still waiting to get all the issues resolved after 4 months of phone calls, waiting and several trips to the store to find out about my order. Finally talked to store manager and told them they have until 3/27 to have my stuff taken care off, or I'm taking legal action. Missed deliveries, broken promises and I'm still not happy with the run around I've been given.

Desired Settlement
Replace the floor model fireplace console with a new one or give me back $350.00 of my money and I keep it.

Replace the torn love seat with a new one or refund $450.00 of my money and I keep it.

Business Response /* (1000, 10, *********** */
Dear BBB -
We are in receipt of your letter dated ***** ** in reference to Case # XXXXXXXX, Mr. ***** *****.
On behalf of Four States Furniture, please express our apologies to our customer for any inconvenience we may have caused them. Four States Furniture prides itself on excellent customer service. After researching the customer file, we feel that we have gone to extra-ordinary lengths to do everything within our power to provide Mr. ***** with reasonable solutions to each and every one of his concerns. Omitted from his complaint is the $475 floor mirror that was given to Mr. ***** at no charge because of the issues with the fulfillment of his order. Additionally, we took the unprecedented step of purchasing a piece from a competitor (at retail) to fulfill his wall unit, after the manufacturer mis-labeled the initial piece and was unable to provide a timely replacement. Additionally, we have authorized a one-time replacement of the loveseat and fireplace. We trust this will settle the claim.
Sincerely, ******** ******
Administrative Assistant

Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, *********** */
I paid over $2700 for my entertainment center & have had problems with 4 states getting them to deliver on their promises. My biggest complaint is that I got the floor model fireplace console which wasnot in mint condition. I paid for a new one & that is what I expected to get. Since they can't seem to give me a new one, I want $350.00 of my money back and I will keep what I have. i would like this resolved by the end of April or I will have to sue them in small claims court for half the purchase price.

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Each time I call to check on delivery I get the same run around let me call you back tomorrow by 10 or 12 but never get the call back.
I was told by the sales person that she would check on my furniture and if the bed was not there she would bring me a bed to use until mine arrived at no charge becasue my dresser was there but she never called me back.I have tried to talk to the manager ****** and explain that since i wasn't getting called back that I would just like to have my money back and the said that was not an option and that I would get my furniture but didn't know when and that is just how it is. I ask him to please give me the owners name and he said he could not do that. I found the owners name and other locations of the store on the internet. I also called the ***** *** store and talked to two people there trying to talk to the owner of the store before I filed a complaint and was told I would be called back and was not. I bought a leather headboard with foot board and side frames and a dresser for my grandson for his birthday in ******** I bought this furniture on ******** ******* with check number **** which cleared my bank on ******** *** **** in the amount of ******* I paid to have this furniture delivered. I just want to get my money back in full so my grandson can go buy his befroom funiture for his room. I didn't start calling and asking about the furniture until the **** of January when I didn't hear from them. While buying the furniture the sales person told me that she would be making the trip to pick furniture up the next week.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund immediately so I can go get my grandson furniture for his room.

Business Response /* ****** 8, *********** */
Dear BBB,

We are in receipt of your letter to our office.
On behalf of Four States Furniture, please express our apologies for any misunderstanding regarding shipping times on the furniture purchased. After reviewing this situation, we have decided to grant a full refund of the purchase price. A check will be issued within ** hours and mailed to the address on file.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Retailers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/18/2010Business started: 01/01/2008
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John David Wilson (Co-Owner)Mr. Larry Thompson (Store Manager)
Business Category

Furniture Retailers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Four States Furniture

2315 Richmond Rd STE 16

Texarkana, TX 75503-2447

To | From


2 Locations

  • 4045 Lamar Dr. 

    Paris, TX 75460

  • 2315 Richmond Rd STE 16 

    Texarkana, TX 75503-2447(903) 223-4506
    Fax: (903) 223-4514

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Four States Furniture is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Furniture Retailers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.