BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2005

Ashley Furniture Home Store

Phone: (318) 487-9636Fax: (318) 487-9713

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product purchased from the furniture store is of very poor quality.
I purchased a sofa and love seat set from Ashley Furniture approximately three weeks ago(Invoice Number XXXXXA20C94)(9/19/14,Delivery Date). When the furniture was delivered to my home, I discovered a hole in the sofa under the arm and I also noticed that the set did not appear to be genuine leather. The quality of the set was and is very poor. I called the store to inform them of my concerns regarding the set. A repair man from Ashley Furniture was sent to my home to look at the set. As I discussed my concerns with him regarding the hole, when I mentioned the set was suppose to be leather, he said the set was not leather. However, when I purchased the set, I was told that the set was actually leather. If you need additional information from me, please call me at XXX XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the store pick the merchandise up from my residence and give me a full refund.

Business Response
Thank you for your help with this matter. Our customer did make a purchase on X-XX-XX on model # XXXXXXX sofa and XXXXXXX loveseat which both recline. This particular set as most all reclining pcs are leather match sets which means every where the body touches while sitting in leather . This set is everyday leather.
See attached for remainder of complaint.
2 pages.

Final Business Response
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

I AM SENDING THIS EMAIL IN REFERENCE TO COMPLAINT # XXXXXXXX. MRS. ********** IS WANTING US TO PICK UP HER FURNITURE. WE ARE PICKING IT UP ON 10/23/2014. WE WILL BE REFUNDING HER MONEY TO HER IN A TIMELY MANNER IN ACCORDANCE WITH OUR CORPORATE OFFICE.
IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS , PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CALL ME @ XXX-XXX-XXXX


THANK YOU ,

ANDREA@ ASHLEY A2
1804-B MACARTHUR DRIVE ALEXANDRIA LA XXXXX
(XXX)XXX-XXXX

11/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have been trying to get couch replaced for ten months. Ashley lied about original terms. Refusing to help get me a replacement couch.
I purchased several thousand dollars worth of furniture from Ashley on 4/12/11. We were told about the extended warranty, which covers "absolutely everything." We knew we wouldn't be in Alexandria permanently, so we asked if the warranty was good at ANY Ashley nationwide. They promised us that it was. We received a hefty discount on our furniture, since we purchased such a large amount. Our couch's original price was $999, and we paid $650.

Flash forward to January of 2014. The entire frame on the back of my couch broke, ripping the fabric. We managed to somewhat rip the nails out of the board, because it was sticking out of our couch dangerously, and having small children, it was a serious health hazard, posing serious injury if anyone ran into it. We had one repairman come out in February. He told us it would take eight weeks to order the parts. The parts never got ordered, and we never heard from ******* for months. I finally got back on the phone and hassled them until we got another technician out in August, nearly eight months after our claim had been started. He took pictures. After several weeks of calling every 2-3 days trying to get a response, and I would keep getting told "we're waiting on the technician to e-mail us his photos." At this point, I had already e-mailed them detailed pictures, so the technician's pictures were a moot point. After several weeks, they finally received the photos from the tech. I kept calling every few days, as nothing further was done. Finally, after a few more weeks, I was told the parts for my couch are no longer available. After a few MORE weeks of calling every few days, I was told my couch itself is no longer even available to be ordered as a whole. I was then offer $160 dollars for my $1000 couch, which the $160 was LESS than the amount I paid for my warranty! They kept pushing this option on me, but I kept insisting I wanted a new couch. They finally approved it for Ashley to get me a different couch completely.

Now, I had to deal with Ashley. I constantly call and if my original salesperson *****, ***** the warranty lady or the manager isn't it, I get told I have to call back. If I leave my name and number, I never get a call returned. ***** said that we could work with the price of the replacement couch I picked out, because obviously without a discount, even the same original value couch would be more than I paid. I found a couch that I really like that is $1,069. My original couch was worth $999. ***** was in, but ***** was not, so I had to call back another day. I called back today, 10/23/14. ***** is in, ***** is not and the manager is not. I said I would pay the $70 difference in the two couches out of pocket, all they would have to do is give me the SAME discount I received on my original purchase, so I am simply paying for the difference in the retail of the two couches. ***** said I would have to call back in a week, as everyone is on vacation/out of the office yet again.

They are also insisting on charging me a $79 out of area delivery charge, since I no longer live in the delivery area. I paid a delivery fee of $79.99 when I purchased the furniture, and have to now pay an additional fee because I moved. This was NOT told to me when I purchased. I was, once again, told the warranty was good at ANY Ashley. I have contacted the Ashley closest to me, in Opelousas, and they said they wouldn't help me either.

All I am trying to do is replace my expensive couch with another couch at a similar price (and as stated, will pay the difference in retail price as the couch I prefer is slightly more expensive) and get it delivered and set up to me.

I was ALSO told that I was able to KEEP my broken furniture if I used the warranty by ***** and ***** when I purchased the warranty plan. They're now insisting that they take it back as well.

Purchase amount: 5338.14 via Ashley financing
Purchase date: 4/12/11
Customer code: BETHKXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I originally purchased a $999 couch according to the sign that was sitting on it when I bought it, and received discounts to make the couch $650 as I purchased such a large amount of furniture. I am looking to replace my couch using my purchased extended warranty, and get a couch of the same retail value delivered to me in Lafayette, LA. The couch I picked out that I like, the Cowan, is $1069 according to Ashley. On dozens of other sites on the internet, the couch is priced below $700. I know that the mark up on the couch through Ashley is exponential. I have even offered to gladly pay the extra $70 in Ashley's retail difference on the couch. I was literally scoffed at by an associate (I do not recall his name) when I requested to just get the same discount from my original purchase. For the ten MONTHS of hassle, hours upon hours spent on the phone, the hazard of nails and boards sticking out of the back of my only couch, and the in general runaround, I do not feel that I am out of place requesting to get the Cowan couch as a similar replacement. It is not my fault that the exact same couch is no longer carried. I would prefer it if, for the rudeness of the employees, the out of area delivery fee and additional $70 retail value of the Cowan couch would be waived, as the manager is never available, several of the salespeople literally refused to assist me as they were not my original salesperson, and nobody can seem to help me nor return my numerous phone calls.

All I want is a new couch without nails and boards sticking out of it. Furniture should last more than two years without splintering and breaking apart. That's why I bought this shady warranty, though.

Business Response
At Ashley Homestore we want our customers to return again and again as many have.Concerning this particular case, we and ******* (which is the insurance) have not refused the replacement of a sectional.The 2pc sectional Mrs.***** purchased XX-XX-XX soe#XXXXXA2THCR was originally priced at 797.28 (in computer)NOT $999.00,discounted to $650. which was roughly 18% off. ******* is giving full credit of purchased price.Mrs.***** selected a larger 3pc sectional priced at $1069.99. Even with discount of 20%, which is more than the original discount down to 850.00. I did in fact discuss this with Mrs.***** on XX-X-XX when she called and she was to check with her husband and get back to me.As of XX-X-XX @ 5:45 pm,I have not had a call.
At this point to help resolve this we would be willingly to deliver to her at no additional cost and absorb the tax bringing her total difference to ******* for the 3pc sectional to replace her damaged 2pc sectional. Thank you for your help concerning this issue.

10/07/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delivery/ Customer Service
I initially ordered furniture on ****** and received it on ******** I had t o return the sofa because it had marking on the leather and the Chaise due to a manufacturer defect with leg placement. I was told that it would be another 2 weeks from the delivery date. Called ****** at the beginning of ****** about my merchandise and today ******* after being transferred back and fourth between the delivery mgr and the lady in the front I was finally told that it would be another 3 weeks from today ******* before I receive my merchandise. They could not explain to me why and why I was never notified of this. This was poor communication and Thanks to ****** I will be paying for items that I have not received yet. Oh and you can forget it when they tell you that they will call you back, you will have to call them back, only to be out on hold a few times before you speak to someone and still get a invaid response.

Desired Settlement
If I received a bill before my merchandie arrives, then I want them to compensate me for it. They should not provide delivery dates if they can not fulfill what they are telling you. I have never had it to take this long when ordering furniture for any other vendor.

Business Response /* (1000, ** *********** */
To Answer Complaint from our customer Ms. ** *******, we certainly do apologize for any inconvenience or confusion we may have impressed upon Ms. *******. We have as of today X-XX-XX received replacement pc's, her sofa and chase in for delivery and exchange to happen on Saturday ******** It is not our intention to over promise but instead under-promise times when merchandise may be available for delivery. We are glad that we got in merchandise in order to take care of Ms. Websters concerns. Case # XXXXXXXX should be closed and hopefully all parties happy. Thank you for your help in this matter. We at Ashley Furniture HomeStore want the opportunity to resolve any complaints that may arise.

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Retailers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.