BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/1996

Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers

Phone: (318) 222-1915Fax: (318) 222-78891020 Barksdale Blvd, Bossier CityLA 71111-4508 Send email to Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/1996

BBB has determined that Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Kittler's refused to refund the purchase price of a flywheel they sold me which was not the correct part for my vehicle
On March 30, 2016, I purchased a flywheel from the above referenced business, Invoice # 28162. The flywheel was purchased for a 2005 Lincoln Navigator I recently sold to one of my employees, Roderick Smith. I provided Kittler's with a description of the vehicle and the last 8 digits of the VIN as requested. The flywheel was ordered by Kittler's and subsequently picked up from their store. The part number for the flywheel they ordered was FRA482. After attempting to install the flywheel, the mechanic contracted to do the installation discovered that the flywheel ordered was not the right one. I had the vehicle towed to Rachel's Transmission Repair who verified that the flywheel purchased from Kittler's was in fact not the correct one. Per Rachel's instructions I contacted Rountree Ford parts department to get the part I needed. The correct part number being FRA562. On March 12, 2016 we took the flywheel that Kittler sold us back to them and requested a refund. Initially I was told that if I had the box that the flywheel came in, they would refund the purchase price. The mechanic did not retain the box the flywheel came in assuming that the flywheel provided was the correct one. I was told that the part was purchased from Precision Auto Parts. I was able to get a number for Precision and contacted them to see if they would provide a box to return the flywheel in. The individual I spoke to at Precision checked and found that Kittler's does not have an account with them and assured me that the flywheel did not come from them. I again telephoned Kittler's and informed them of my conversation with Precision and asked for the name of the vendor they did purchase it from. Kittler's refused to disclose that information. I was extremely upset with them as I have done business with them before. They were recommended to me by K& D Automotive Repair to rebuild the engine in a 1992 Dodge Stealth R/T twin turbo that I purchased new. I was quoted a price of $3,400.00 and in the end spent $7,100.00 to have the engine rebuilt. I am not, of course, seeking a return of any portion of that money as I agreed to what I was told were necessary repairs/replacements.
What I requesting is that Kittler's take back flywheel that they sold me and refund the money I spent for it. The part they sold was not the correct one for the vehicle and this certainly is not my fault.

Page 2

Your assistance in this matter is requested and will be greatly appreciated. If you require any additional information or clarification of this complaint, please feel free to contact me at (318) 220-7334 or (318) 655-3944 during normal business hours.


Charles E. Jackson, BS/MSPT, President/CEO

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Kittler's take back the flywheel sold me and refund the purchase price of $96.16

Business Response
********** Automotive Machine Shop has always been a company that tries to help customers with a merchandise return. However, in this case these were the following issues of why we are not able to expect the return. 1. The customer did not have the original box or any outside packaging. 2. The flywheel had been installed prior to return. 3. There were signs of flywheel being forced to fit which in turn bent the flywheel. The customer was informed of these problems and we provided the manufacturer type all the contact info. the warehouse we purchase our products from requires original packaging and will not take back damaged product.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*******'s*******'s claim that the flywheel was damaged is not true. As I explained in my original complaint, the flywheel that *******'s sold me was not the right one for the vehicle. Assuming that *******'s did provide me with the correct I did not retain the box. It was determined when the mechanic attempted to install the flywheel that it was not the correct one for the vehicle. The flywheel was not damaged at all because the mechanic made no attempt at installing it. The flywheel is exactly as it was when I purchased it.
This was not the issue at all when I returned to their business for a refund. Kittlers*******'s claimed that the reason they could not that the flywheel back was because it was not in the box it was purchased in. I asked them to tell me where the flywheel came from and they told me it came from xxxxxxxxx. I telephoned XXXXX in the hope of getting a box return the flywheel in. xxxxx assured me that the flywheel did not come from them. I telephoned *******'s and told them that. They then told me that they could not disclose any information on their vendors. The fact is *******'s sold me the wrong part. I practice non-envasive Physical Medicine and certainly I am not a mechanic or parts supplier. I provided ******* with the information requested to my vehicle to get the correct part and they did not. This clearly is not my responsibility.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They performed unauthorized work and tried to charge me for it, when i refused they tried calling the police, but i called a friend on the force.
I own Mike's Mobile Automotive, I was working on a Jeep Cherokee for a customer and had to outsource the head. I took it to Kittlers with the express instructions to only clean and mill, or re-surface the head.They called me and told me it was ready for pick-up this morning when i got there they had disassembled the valves and tried to tell me it needed new valve seats and guides. first i never authorized them to remove the valves because you always have to do a valve job afterwards,they wont seat right after being removed, and second there was nothing wrong with the valves. Ive been a mechanic for over 25 years and i know what a bad valve looks like. I told them to put it back together and grind the valves for free and that i would only pay for the cleaning and resurfacing. They told me i had to pay for all of it or they would call the police and have me removed. So, I called my friend who is in the department and he told me there had been numerous complaints, when they heard me talking to him they changed their tune and did what i asked.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the monies paid, and reimbursement for costs accrued after i had to take the head to another machine shop to have it inspected.

Business Response /* (1000, 8, *********** */
Better Business Bureau
PO Box 52035
Shreveport, LA XXXXX

RE:Automotive Machine Shop Inc.
Response to (Case #XXXXXXXX)
Mikes Mobile Automotive Peters

As a company our policy is to stay in contact with our customer until we complete the job. In the case being referenced, the customer was asked if he would like to look at the head before the job was completed. Furthermore, he was shown the head after we completed the work we were told to perform. We found other problems with the head and presented the customer with a choice to fix them. In case he did not want to fix the problems, we kept all parts in order so there were no problems with the reassembly. We also offered to put new valve stem seals on the head during reassembly at no extra cost to the customer. After all of this, the customer became belligerent and started yelling obscenities because he mistakenly concluded that we were trying to take advantage of him. This was not the case, we were fine with whatever route the customer chose to take. While the customer waited, we reassembled the head in a timely manner. During this time, the customer continued to harass other employees at our company. Additionally, while reassembling the head, we to extra steps to make sure his valves would seal by refacing them. This is usually an added cost, but again we wanted him to not have to worry about any problems after he installed the head.

The work we did for the customer was correct, and we were truthful when giving him advice on what we saw wrong with the head. We charged him for only what he contracted us to do and went a step further by doing extra work at no expense. I do not believe this warranted the customer's offensive reaction.
I would also like to point out that the customer did not mention anything wrong with our work . I do not appreciate slander or obscenities, and it does not bring about a positive attitude in most people. With this in mind I will be happy to refund the money the customer paid to us even though there was no overcharge or wrong doing on our part. However, the customer must write a letter of apology for using profanity and should stop the undeserved slandering of our company.

******* *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies, Machine Shops, Auto Machine Shops

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1994Business started: 01/01/1966
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Kittler (President)
Business Category

Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies, Machine Shops, Auto Machine Shops

Products & Services

This company operates as an automotive engine rebuilder and also offers parts and service.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers

1020 Barksdale Blvd

Bossier City, LA 71111-4508

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1020 Barksdale Blvd 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-4508Fax: (318) 222-7889

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Automotive Machine Shop-Kittlers is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.