BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2008

Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc.

Phone: (318) 469-4843Fax: (318) 390-6404771 Bodcau Station Rd, HaughtonLA 71037 Send email to Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2008

BBB has determined that Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a shop to be built on my property. The deadline to have the shop completed has long since passed. All I get from the company are excuses.
I purchased a shop to be built on my property approximately 3 months ago. I paid up front in full. The deadline for the shop to be built has long since passed. Each time I contact the company about a start date on my shop I get nothing but excuses. I found out by one of their employees the reason they have not started on my shop is because the worker and bulldozer are at the company owners residence in another state doing personal work for him. There is not enough space here to wright every excuse I've been given from this company. Every week they promise they will show up, but no one has set foot on my property since the day I purchased the building from the salesman. Rarely do they even call you back after you leave them messages to call you. I believe its very horrible business practice for the owner of the company to take workers and equipment from the customers who have paid in full for his on personal use. Especially when the employees of the company tell you repeatedly how far behind they are. I was told the dozier was going to be on my property on a certain date. It did not show up. Depending on which company employee you spoke with the truck hauling the dozier broke down, or they lost the key to the dozier, or the dozier driver was not working that day. I do not believe anything anyone from this company says. I paid them a 5 figure lump sum of money. All I have gotten so far is lies and excuses.

Desired Settlement
I would like for this company to actually start the job so they can finish the job.

Business Response
We are truly sorry that this customer believes that he has received the run-around. Although it has not rained in the ArkLaTex for some time now, if you will remember, it did rain nonstop through the beginning of the year - dozer work gets stacked up when it rains and does not get resolved overnight...
This customers pad and dozer work has been completed at this time and the framing of his building is scheduled to begin on Monday, Oct 19th.
We hope this resolves the issue and that he will be pleased with his shop.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The dirt crew showed up without any plans or paper work for the location of my shop. When I arrived home the dozier operator had removed dirt from the neighboring property that did not belong to me for the pad. I informed the dozier operator of what he had done. He stated he would clean up the area off my property before he left. He did not. That is an issue between arklatex shop builders and the property owner. My salesman and I agreed on where the dirt would come from off of my own property the day I purchased the shop. The dirt crew stated they never received that information. As far as the rain delays, I purchased my shop on July 23. I was told about the rain delays. The time frame I was given (including the rain delays) came and passed **** no contact from the company. That's not a valid excuse. I also informed my salesman, the day of purchase, of all underground lines near the location for my shop. The framing crew busted a water line near the shop location. The framing crew was unaware of any lines underground. They have finally began working on the shop. Still a long way to go though. I'm just ready to get it finished and move on. This company needs to learn to communicate between themselves and their customers. Had there been good communication none of this would have ever happened.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On ******* **** I purchased a shop from *** **** *** ******** for the sum of *********** They informed me start u date would be in couple of weeks. About 4 weeks later dirt was delivered. dirt was leveled for pad. Next day I called ***** and informed him the paqd was too high and dirt needed lowered. ***** said he would take care of the problem. A few days later they came and framed the building-The dirt was "never" leveled. After a couple of days past they put the tin on. Then doors was put on a couple days later. "No" Locks was installed on the front door of the building. Only one remote was given to me at that time. Back roll-up door does not seal off at top. I was informed that the roll-up door will not seal off if installed on side walls. I was never informed of this in the beginning. There is a 1 ti 1 *** inch opening at the top of the door. On **** ******** I talked to *** and made him aware that ****** lock was installed on the door and that dirt was needed on the side of building. *** told me that he would send 2 loads of dirt and dress around building. No dirt was sent or no call was received from ***. I called *** on **** *** He
informed me that on the next day dirt would be sent and dress down would be done. On teh next day dirt was brought and during the process the driver turned too short and bent culvert in drive way "very bad". Dirt was ony on one side and only dressed down on that side. Went to their office in Houghton ** miles away on **** ** **** to talk to the owner of Ark-La0
Tex, Mr. *****. I was told I had to have an appointment. i talked to ****** and was told he would send two loads of top soil and would mail the remote and lock the next day. Did not receive lock or remote until **** *** ***** No calls or dirt since **** ** **** until this day. *** ** ***** See attached pictures with unfinished work and bent culvert.

Business Response /* (1000, 7, *********** */
Mr ****** took pictures of the area before the finish grade was completed. A rollup door will never seal as a garage door. Mr ****** and ****** ***** agreed the day he visited the office that the lock and remote would be mailed - the type of door Mr ****** had installed do not come with lock hardware, thus it had to be ordered.
The topsoil was delivered as soon as weather allowed - he was told by ****** ***** that it would be delivered as soon as weather permitted & he agreed to that. Mr ****** did not want our people to spread the top soil, he just wanted two piles delivered.
The topsoil was delivered by a dirt hauling company, not by our company, so if his culvert has been damaged he needs to take that up with the company who hauled the topsoil.
We have tried to satisfy Mr ****** and we thought we had, unfortunately it seems that he still has some issues that we would have been happy to address if we'd known about them.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** 14, *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did agree to spread the topsoil. This was after the culvert had been damaged by the company that ark-la-tex builders used to deliver dirt for the finishing.
As for returning calls , it was three weeks before someone called me back.
I had a choice between a roll up door and a garage door. If I had been informed that the roll up would be altered ( about two feet were cut off the bottom, thus causing a huge gap at the top)I would never have agreed to it.
I want it replaced with a garage door at no additional cost. I feel that the ********** cash that I paid upfront should cover this.
Once the door is replaced I will have the culvert fixed my self and spread the topsoil.
I will not be satisfied until the door is replaced.
Thank you , *** ******

Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, *********** */
The pictures submitted by Mr. ****** was shown to me in my office by Mr. ******. He at which time expressed that this was ok and that he did not want anyone to come out. He stated he would just like to have 2 loads of topsoil delivered and he himself would spread it. ** ***** out of ******** La. was who hauled his dirt. I do not feel we should be held responsible for the damage to his culvert.
As for the phone calls, we did return Mr. ******* phone calls.
The rollup door on his building, is the same door we install in all our other shops. The door was not altered in any way. It is a rollup and not a garage door. Rollups do not seal like garage doors. We can replace Mr. ******* rollup with a garage door, but it will be at whatever the cost difference of the garage door is versus the rollup cost is.
I hope that Mr. ****** will accept this resolution, so that we can satisfy our customer.
****** *****

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Had to wait three weeks to receive the correct door. After door was recd it was incorrect. I stated several times when I signed contract that I needed
Had to wait three weeks to receive the correct door. After door was recd it was incorrect. I stated several times when I signed contract that I needed a door with glass. I was assured by salesman *****. Then I was told I had to pay more money because they had to special order. When door arrived all they could obtain was a door that was *** glass. Was also told that ground work would be done and it would be nice neat. It is awful. I feel as if I was a male Caucasian client they wouldn't have tried all the different tricks with me. I paid extra than the advertise listing because I thought I was paying for service.
On top of all recorded conversations of misrepresentation I'm yet to here from the person in charge.After all this I've been delayed further because building is leaking. I have recording of leaks after 1 *** day of rain.A guy came out after 5 days and as of the *** day I'm on stand still because my flooring can not be placed until leaks are repaired. This is awful and I will never recommend this agony to anyone.

Desired Settlement
Either they can get problem rectified plus refund some of the money as a courtesy for all the delays and excuses and service and lack there of.

Or they can send a crew out to redo all metal sheets and place seamless gutters as precautionary measures.

My time is valuable as well and I'm just about over this entire ordeal and I will be forced to let my attorney take care of this.

Business Response /* ****** 5, *********** */
The door originally installed in xxxxxxx building was what was on the contract. she wished to have it changed so we had to order the new one.we then received the new one and installed it at no cost to the customer.we have done the finish grade for her as well around her building. we did not do the original pad work for her. she was told that for us to complete the finish grade behind her building that she would need to have some dirt hauled in. we will be glad to complete her complimentary finish grade if she gets her dirt that is needed.the leaks she had was around a window, which has already been taken care of.
we do not feel we have neglected or failed to do what we said we would do according to our contract. we do not feel that there should be any money reimbursed to her. we can refer her to a seamless gutter company, but it will be on her to pay for should she decide to have them installed. we do not install gutters.

11/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I drove around and saw many metal roofs an house and businesses. None had exposed screws, not even Ark La Tex's office.
I signed a contract for a metal roof for ******* When I got home the first day of installation about 1/3 of the roof had been installed. My ******** house looked like a warehouse with all the exposed screws. I told them to stop and I would pay for work done so far, expecting to pay about ****** The foreman said he even called the office that morning asking, "Are you sure this guy wants this roof on his house." I got a bill for ****** The roof was so ugly I went into debt to pay it. No way was I going to ruin my house by letting them finish the job. I was ripped off twice, once by them not disclosing what the roof would look like when finished, and again by overcharging for the work done. I called their office to get examples of other metal roofs they had installed and they were all house trailers. I dont want my beautiful house to look like a trailer

Desired Settlement
I would like a complete refund of ****** but I know I will not get that. I will pay 1/3 (the percentage of work done) of the original ******* I want a refund on the balance.

Business Response
Customer requested a roof quote and we explained the installation process, which is lathing out the existing roof with 1x4x14 boards every three feet and this is what we screw the metal to.
Customer shut the job down well into installation, stating that type of installation is not what he wanted and that he should have researched our methods of installation more thoroughly.
He agreed to pay the labor that we had into the job and we agreed to buy back the unused metal at a discounted price, which he agreed to. The customer made payments to us until the agreed upon settlement was paid in full. The contract started in June and he made two payments in August and the final payment on *********
The customer apologized to us and we apologized to him. He wants a refund of ********** but he agreed to pay for labor and metal; the contracted job was for $12,225 and now he states he had to go into debt to pay us for what we had into the job - how would he then have paid for the entire job?
We thought the entire situation was resolved, but a month after his final payment, he files a complaint with BBB.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Contractors, Roofers, Manufacturers Producers, Buildings-Metal, Contractors-General

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/02/2006Business started: 07/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

1221 Elmwood Park Blvd
Harahan, LA 70123-2337
(800) 256-1392

BBB records show a license number of 552921 for this company, issued by LA STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS.

Type: State Contractors Board

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ronnie Jones (Project Coordinator)
Contact Information
Mr. Rowdy Prince (Vice President)
Business Category

Building Contractors, Roofers, Manufacturers Producers, Buildings-Metal, Contractors-General

Products & Services

This company sells and constructs metal & wood buildings, barns, and shops. Also does commercial and residential metal roofing. Manufactures metal roofing and metal buildings.

This business may need a state license for work on your home or business. For verification and updates of licenses, please call the La. State Licensing Board for Contractors at 800-256-1392.

Alternate Business Names
Ark-LA-Tex Builders
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc.

771 Bodcau Station Rd

Haughton, LA 71037

To | From


1 Locations

  • 771 Bodcau Station Rd 

    Haughton, LA 71037Fax: (318) 390-6404

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ark-La-Tex Shop Builders, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Building Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.