BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2001

George Hauk's Automotive

Phone: (318) 443-2345Fax: (318) 487-29993204 Industrial St, AlexandriaLA 71301-3511 Send email to George Hauk's Automotive

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2001

BBB has determined that George Hauk's Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised George Hauk's Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on George Hauk's Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle's body and steering wheel were damaged during maintenance at ****** **** Automotive. They have been confrontational and refused to pay.
My vehicle's body and steering wheel were damaged while I was having two new tires installed and alignment performed at ****** **** Automotive (GHA) on July 31, 2015. When the damage occurred, I was told to take the car to a local body shop, and tell the body shop that GHA would take care of the bill. On August 5, 2015 I took my vehicle to *** **** **** ***** and obtained an estimate. The estimate was for $1,101.92, which includes $831.53 to replace the damaged steering wheel and $270.39 for the body work. I decided to get the steering wheel replaced at the dealership I bought the car from (new) on August 8, 2015 because it was $705.00, which is less than the estimate from the body shop. On August 10, 2015 I returned to GHA with the receipt from the dealership and requested that I be reimbursed for my out of pocket expense to replace the steering wheel. The receptionist told me the owners of the business weren't available, but they would contact me.

After 3 hours I called them back and spoke with ******* ****, who informed me that they would not pay for the steering wheel to be replaced, only repaired. I informed her that the local body shop, *** **** **** ****** had told me at the time I received the estimate that the steering wheel could not be repaired. She disagreed with me, saying that she contacted them and that they were able to repair it, and that she was "being very generous to even offer to do that." When I attempted to explain that I had the steering wheel replaced at the dealership I bought the vehicle from because it was less expensive to do there, she told me "Your car has 37,000 miles on it and I'm not buying you a new car." I told her that I didn't appreciate the way she was talking to me and that I'd prefer to come down there and talk with both her and ****** **** (the other owner), at which point she said to me "If you bring your *** down here it's not going to end up good for you." I replied with "excuse me?" and she said "yeah, that's right!!" and hung up on me.

A couple hours later I was able to contact ****** **** by phone, who immediately told me that I was trying to commit insurance fraud. He wouldn't let me speak at all, instead going on a 2 minute rant without letting me get in a word edgewise. He said that they weren't "going to cut me a check for $1,101.92 so I can pocket the money," and that now they weren't going to take care of the repairs at all. After explaining to him that I was not trying to get reimbursed for $1,101.92, but rather just for the steering wheel replacement done at the dealership he continued to tell me that I was trying to commit insurance fraud, and that I was lying to him because I never got an estimate done. I attempted to explain to him that I got the steering wheel replaced at the dealership based on the estimate that I received from the body shop, but he really didn't seem to be paying attention to me, he simply continued to accuse me of lying and attempting to commit insurance fraud. At the end of the call I was told that if I took my car back to and auto body shop that they would still pay for the damage to the body, but only for repair of the steering wheel.

I am outraged that during service at GHA my vehicle was damaged, I was told by one of the owners of the business that they're being generous to even repair the damage that occurred due to negligence of their staff, that I was threatened, and then accused of trying to commit a serious crime because I took my vehicle to a dealership to have a repair done and expected to be reimbursed for my expenses.

I have detailed pictures of the damage which were taken at the time the damage occurred and are geotagged, and also have audio recordings of the owners admitting that the damage to the body and steering wheel occurred at their business during the initial tire replacement and wheel alignment. I would also like to add that I the alignment GHA performed was not done correctly. I have paperwork to support

Desired Settlement
I would like George Hauk Automotive to reimburse me for $705.00 for my out of pocket expense to replace the steering wheel, and honor their agreement to cover the charges for a body shop to repair the body damage. I would also like to be reimbursed to the $79.99 that I paid to have the alignment performed at George Hauk Automotive, since it was determined by the dealership to be done incorrectly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **** (owner)
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email:
In response to Mr. xxxxxxx concerns, his story is part true but not completely true. ****'s LLC dba ****** ****'s Automotive, hereafter referred to as "GHA" or "us" or "we", on 7/31/15 did work on Mr. xxxxxxx car and we did damage the quarter panel on the left side of his car with our lift. We agreed with him to take it to a body shop of his choice and get an estimate for the repair. He left for a short time but then returned stating we damaged his steering wheel as well. We could not disprove that we had caused this damage so we told him to have the body shop look at it and add it to the estimate.
On 8/04/15 Mr. xxxxxxx ordered a steering wheel on his own (we have copy of invoice with date for BBB review) and immediately called us to be reimbursed for it. We asked him if he'd taken it to a body shop yet to which he responded "no". On 8/06/15 Mr. xxxxxxx went to xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx and got an estimate for repairs (we have copy of estimate as well with date). He requested steering wheel to be replaced and added to estimate.
On 8/10/15 at 7am, Mr. xxxxxxx came to GHA and presented our staff with the estimate from xxxxxxx as well as the invoice where he, on his own decision, purchased the steering wheel. Our staff advised him to leave the paperwork with us for us to give to our insurance and attorney to review. Within a short time he called xxxxxxx **** (part owner GHA) again demanding reimbursement. She explained to him that we would only pay for a completed repair and would need documentation to that effect. He explained to her that it was not his intention to have it repaired, he only wanted the money at this time.
Unsatisfied with her response, Mr. xxxxxxx called ****** **** (other part owner of GHA) a few hours later. I (****** ****) was probably not too nice because I do not believe in dishonesty. I explained to him that if we were to reimburse him for repairs to his vehicle that were not completed, he would be committing the equivalence of insurance fraud. Mr. xxxxxxx is not the sole owner of the vehicle in question, he confirmed that his credit union held the title to it. I explained to him that the only way we could take care of his complaint where there were no legal repercussions in the future for any party involved was to have it professionally repaired at a body shop of his choosing and we pay the bill to the body shop or his credit union.
I am assuming Mr. xxxxxxx did not like this explanation either so he chose to file this complaint on us. He's changed his story so many times now in regards to this matter, we don't trust anything he says. We are still offering to take care of his complaint, but it must follow legal channels. Incidentally, the steering wheel that we may or may not have damaged can be repaired for less than 50% of the cost of a new steering wheel. Considering the car has over 37,000 miles on it, any insurance company involved would only authorize repairing the steering wheel, not replacing it. If he were to insist on new, he would have to pay the difference out of his own pocket.
In regards to the alignment issue, I'm not sure why he would even want to take it to get rechecked other than to add fuel to a fire. We warranty our work for 12 months or 12,000 miles whichever comes first. To determine if we would agree to refund the money for the alignment, we would need to be provided a receipt for the alignment from the other facility as well as the print-out of the before and after readings from their alignment equipment.
We would like BBB to give us their feedback on how GHA has handled this matter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response by GHA is not acceptable to me.
GHA states "He explained to her that it was not his intention to have it repaired, he only wanted the money at this time" which is not true at all. I have paperwork which I will attach that verifies the new steering wheel had already been installed at the dealership where I bought my car before this conversation with xxxxx occurred on 8/10/2015. At the time I informed xxxxxxx **** that I had already had the steering wheel replaced, and I had it replaced based on the estimate I received from xxxxxx whom at the time told me they couldn't repair the steering wheel only replace it. I have since gone to xxxxxxxxxxxx who also told me that they couldn't repair the steering wheel, only replace. I have obtained this in writing and will attach it as well. I did purchase the steering wheel from xxxxxxxxxx before receiving the estimate from xxxxxx because I wanted the parts on order ASAP and there was only a minimal re-stocking fee if it ended up that a body shop could've repaired it. I'd like to add that GHA never bothers to address the fact that xxxxxxxx **** proceeded to threaten me on the phone, then hang up on me when I tried to explain to her the situation.
****** **** goes on to justify him being "probably not too nice because I do not believe in dishonesty." I haven't at any point been dishonest in any way. I was simply trying to get reimbursed for the replacement steering wheel that I had already had replaced; they just wouldn't listen to me because they had obviously already made up their mind what the situation was and wouldn't let me talk.
I'm not sure why GHA insists that they need to pay the repair costs to my credit union because my car is financed. I spoke to a representative at my credit union in great detail about this incident, and she was very clear that they didn't need to be involved in any way. Her recommendation was to hire an attorney and have the attorney issue GHA a notice that I intended to recover the money I spent to fix the damage GHA caused, as well as the charge for the improperly performed alignment.
GHA goes on to assert that I've "changed his story so many times now in regards to this matter, we don't trust anything he says." I have never changed anything I have told them at any point, and I have never been dishonest in any way; I'm simply trying to get my car repaired to the condition it was in before I brought it to GHA. I also don't accept their argument that somehow my car loses its value at an arbitrary mileage, apparently 37,000mi. My car was in excellent condition when I brought it in, and I would expect any business to take pride in what they do and return my car in the same condition that it was when I brought it there.
In regards to having the alignment re-checked at xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, my car was not handling properly. I have a report from xxxxxx which shows that the alignment of the rear wheel was out of spec on 8/8/2015 when I brought it there, about one week after an alignment was performed at GHA. The attachment also includes the receipt for the alignment, as well as proof that the steering wheel was installed on 8/8/2015, two days before xxxxx alleges that I told her I hadn't had the steering wheel replaced and that I just wanted money.
I'd like to reiterate that I had the steering wheel replaced on 8/8/2015 based on the estimate I received from xxxxxxx on 8/6/2015. I have since obtained an estimate from another local body shop which again would not repair the steering wheel, only replace it, which this time I made sure they specifically stated on the estimate. I feel that two estimates that recommend replacing the steering wheel is sufficient to warrant that being done. I have already paid to have this done, and I need to be reimbursed for this; my credit union absolutely does not need to have payment made to them. Since I have had such a difficult time obtaining a reimbursement for the steering wheel I have not yet had the body work done. Hopefully GHA provides a courteous and prompt reimbursement for this, at which time I will feel more comfortable spending more out of pocket money to get the body work done. I'd also like to make it very clear that I have at no point asked to be paid for repairs that have not yet been completed. Any assertion of this by GHA is completely false.


Final Business Response
We would like to congratulate Mr. xxxxxx on the purchase of his new steering wheel and the re-alignment of his car. We are sure both of these investments meant a lot to him. However, ****'s LLC dba ****** ****'s Automotive (here to referred to as GHA or we) will not be reimbursing him for either of these expenses.
GHA does agree that we damaged the paint on his quarter panel of his car which we will reimburse him for, however we did not damage the steering wheel on his vehicle. Mr. xxxxxx as particular as he is, left our facility only complaining of the paint damage. He returned later to complain about the steering wheel damage. We suspect it was damaged after it left our facility otherwise he would have made it a point to bring it to our attention before his departure.
By having the steering wheel replaced at a different facility other than GHA, he voided his warranty with GHA on his alignment and other repairs completed by GHA, which is clearly stated in the terms on his receipt. Therefore we only owe him for the damage we agreed we caused to his paint.
Upon completion of the repair to his paint, we will reimburse him for that and nothing else. If he has any further correspondence or questions he can direct them to our attorney, xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxX. Or at www.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Any additional documentation we have related to this case will be forwarded to Mr. xxxxxxx and we will not be having any further correspondence with the BBB or Mr. xxxxxxx directly.
Regards,
****** ****


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I obviously don't accept GHA's proposed solution. They have repeatedly accused me of trying to get money for repairs that weren't performed. When presented with facts that contradict what they're saying, they respond with a sarcastic "We would like to congratulate Mr. xxxxx on the purchase of his new steering wheel and the re-alignment of his car." Not only will they not take care of the damage that occurred to my car while at their facility, they won't honor their word. I would like to add that I strongly feel that the only reason they are offering to take care of the body damage to the car is that ****** **** saw me taking pictures of the car while it was sitting on the hydraulic lift improperly, which is what caused the damage. I feel that if he wasn't aware that I had photographic evidence of the damage occurring at their facility, GHA would have claimed that didn't occur. What ****** **** may not be aware of, is that I have an audio recording of him and his wife xxxxx admitting that the damage to the steering wheel most likely occurred while my car was being serviced at GHA, and that they would take care of the damage. But apparently when presented with the estimates from two body shops that they recommended, they decided that it was too much money and that they didn't want to pay for it. If they had felt so strongly that GHA was not responsible for the damage to the steering wheel they should never had admitted that it most likely happened there, nor should they have told me to get estimates for repairing it and they would take care of it.

Since GHA has clearly stated they have no intention of taking care of the damage that occurred to my car or the alignment that they performed incorrectly it looks as though I will have to pursue legal action to remedy the situation they caused, using clearly documented facts, not vague accusations. I'm very disappointed and frustrated that it has to come to this.

01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. ****** **** advised that my ***** *** needed brakes (Rotors & Pads), front struts, both front axels and four wheel alignment. Cost to be ********* He advised that the work would take care of the noise Coming front right side. Per my approval He ordered parts for axel work only but lweft part came in wrong, He only did work on right front axel. I told them not to order left. The vehicle was taken by me to another authorized Volvo repair center and they advised that the noise was another issue. (motor mount) and that the vehicle had no issues with the items Mr. **** had suggested. No Brake, axel, etc. problems. They repaired the motor mount and the vehicle was fine.

Desired Settlement
return of payment of ******* for work that was not necessary.

Business Response /* ****** 5, *********** */
At ****** ****'s *********** we make quality and accuracy of repairs a top priority. We are disappointed to be informed of Mrs. Cantrell's dissatisfaction with our repairs. We will investigate this case thoroughly, however, due to holiday hours, it may not be resolved immediately.

We can state without a doubt that the repairs that were made and/or recommended were necessary for her vehicle. Both front axles were loosing grease at the cv boots and the front struts were leaking oil and/or were not providing the handling and ride benefits they were designed to do.

We showed her the axle we had removed and, if she is honest, she will verify that the axle we did change was indeed leaking grease. We can agree that she may not have known what she was looking at, so that becomes one persons view against another's making both our claims undocumented as we did not save the part from her car in anticipation of her claim against us.

As you may or may not understand, vehicles are very complex machines that have many things that can go wrong. Any technician that inspects a vehicle, especially one with over ******* miles on it, can find a list of items that may need attention as well as many different things making noise. So therefore it does not surprise us that ****'s ******** found a broken motor mount that we may have missed.

We would feel comfortable refunding her money if she had actually taken her car to a Volvo dealer for a complete inspection as she had stated to us. Since Mrs. ******** falsely represented this information to us and the BBB, we therefore question the validity of her other statements.

She stated she took her care to an authorized ***** repair facility, when in fact she took it to another independent repair facility in our area which again makes an issue of one person's opinion against another's. Could she produce this shop's credentials as a factory authorized Volvo repair facility as well as it's BBB accreditation? If we had this documentation we could expedite a monetary resolution with her such as a refund for all or part of the work we performed.

In the interim, it is our intention to discuss with the other repair facility in this case (****'s ********* all repairs in question since we have an excellent professional working relationship with this business and have for many years. ****'s ******** is a very reputable shop and we are sure that the motor mount they replaced was needed. We are also confident that ****'s ******** can not say the repairs we made were not necessary. Any technician inspecting a cv axle that is leaking grease will recommend replacing it. To expedite her claim, she may want to involve an unbiased third party mechanic shop such as an actual Volvo dealer to substantiate claims of all parties involved.

At this immediate time all we are prepared to offer **** ******** is a free re-inspection of her car by our facility so that we can verify both her and our claims.


Final Consumer Response /* ****** 8, *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still do not accept the diagnosis from Mr. **** on our Volvo **** ****'s European Autos specializes in repairing foreign vehicle, whereas Mr. **** identified our vehicle as ****** when in fact it is ******** ****'s ******** had every reason to diagnosis the vehicle as Mr. **** had as it would have meant work for him. He emphatically denied that any of the work Mr. **** recommended was necessary and repaired what I had taken the vehicle in for. The reason for not taking the vehicle to the Volvo dealership where we purchased it was because I had been led to believe by Mr. **** that the vehicle was possibly dangerous to drive and Giles Volvo is in *********, ********* (some 100+ miles away). I am not implying that Mr. **** intentially gave an incorrect diagnosis. Possibly some of the items he described will need attention eventually. But the repairs he recommended had nothing to do with why I brought the vehicle in to him (noise in right front). I believe the vehicle was diagnosed properly by ****'s European and the vehicle has performed properly since.

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Srv-Auto

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/2001Business started: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2001, LA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Hauk (President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Srv-Auto

Products & Services

This company provides automotive repair.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for George Hauk's Automotive

3204 Industrial St

Alexandria, LA 71301-3511

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3204 Industrial St 

    Alexandria, LA 71301-3511Fax: (318) 487-2999

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*George Hauk's Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.