BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/09/1998

Car Town of Monroe, Inc

Phone: (318) 323-6385Fax: (318) 324-1075

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 10/26/2012 falsely and fraudulently changed my retail installment contract. Two same contacts differ in finance charge and amount finance
On 10/26/12 I ****** ***** paid 9900.00 on a purchase of a Chevrolet Avalanche at that time I was given two udXXXXXXXXigq document with different total payments and different down payment.I was also given two same sale contact wit same annual rate,but different finance charge,amount finance,total payment and total sale price.The total cash price is XXXXX.00 which unpaid balance was changed in doc.also.Car town lied about info from Gap pertaining to refund,I called and talk to ***** at *** extension ***

Desired Settlement
I believe i am entitled to the correct amount from the finance charge and the early pay off stated on the back of sale contact articles a. I believe nothing lower than 1500.00 and nothing over 2500.00.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Comptroll
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
The customer complained that Car Town fraudulently changed their contract. We strongly deny this claim and would request the customer to show proof of these allegations. Some times in our business we submit a contract to a lending institution that they do not accept and we have to re-contract. Our customer's sign all documents. The UDXXXXXXXXIGQ number that the customer is referring to is the State of Louisiana Dealer's License Number that was assigned to Car Town in 2012.
As for the finance charge that the customer wants a portion refunded, it is a simple interest contract. The finance charge is the amount in interest the customer will pay to their lien holder if they make every payment on time for the full term of the loan and do not pay off early. If the loan is paid off early, the finance charge that the customer pays will be less. The contract labels it a finance charge, but it is not an additional fee but the actual interest paid to the lien holder. Car Town neither receives the loan payments nor the interest and has nothing to refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I ******* ***** disagree with some of Car town response to the complaint and i would like to reserve the right to give bbb copies of all documents.I understand sometimes business have to resubmit contract to different lien holders, I also understand documentary fees, filling fees, Lic/Title/Reg/Other ******** and Sales tax will be added to unpaid balance.I don't understand how the amount finance or unpaid balance kept increasing considerably after fees and taxes been applied.The lien holders can only go by businesses information to decide Federal Truth-In-Lending Disclosures.I truly feel that Car town has a part of liability base upon incorrect amounts finance that was issued to lien holder.I would like to address the conversation that *****,a employee at *** who stated that *** will return to the dealership a administrative refund and in return the dealership suppose to give a refund back to the costumer.I would appreciate if someone outside Car town look at all documents concerning Fees,amount finance and Credit **************

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
On April 7, 2015 the complaint was resolved with the customer.

01/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This complaint is regarding an extra key that was requested from day one of purchase.
On Saturday Nov.21,2015 I contacted Car Town regarding a car I bought 4 months ago. The issue was upon purchasing the car which is a 2013 Dodge Charger was that I never received an extra key at the time of purchase. What prompted the call was the one key that I did receive was now lost. The first person I talked to was my salesperson,Ms ******** *** and I explained to her my situation reminding her at the time of purchase that I requested an additional key and now I find myself in this dilemma because I never got one. ******** *** was very irate and unprofessional at which time she told me, "It was to early for this ****"and hung up in my face. I preceded to call the store manager to see if he could be more helpful. I spoke to a **** **** and ********* they both were rude and unprofessional. ***** informed me that they would not pay for me to get another key.This is a 20 something thousand dollar car which they already received payment for this car because it was financed through my credit union which is ******** ****** ****** ***** and now I'm treated as if I done matter. I called back to Car Town to get the name of the mangers I spoke with and I got Mr.********, who was the most professional and courteous of them all.At the present time he is trying to resolve the issue but due to hostile environment and discourteous treatment from my salesperson and two mangers I would never purchase another vehicle from this establishment. It still remains to be seen if I will receive another key. I find it interesting nobody had a problem talking to me when they were taking my money. You mean to tell me Car Town ya'll have made 20 something thousand dollars off me and ya'll can't spend 300 dollars to get me an extra key that I should have received at the time of purchase in the first place....Really
Date of purchase:06/20/2015
Vin No.xxxxxxXXXXX
Car note: 439.91
Ouachita Valley FCU account: XXXXXXXXXXDODG
Salesperson: xxxxxxxxxxxx

Desired Settlement
I would like verbal apologies from Car Town employees that were rude, irate and very unprofessional to me and I want an extra key to my vehicle which I purchased from them and requested one from day one, the day of purchased.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@cartown.biz
Complaint Activity Report Case #XXXXXXXX

After reading the complaint filed against Car Town I immediately talked to everyone mentioned in the email except for Mrs *****. I have done the best I can to find all the details of this car deal although this car deal did happen over 5 months ago. After a couple hours of research I am under the opinion that due to the personal relationship that Mrs ***** and ***** have ,outside of this transaction, that neither one of them handled themselves properly.

I do not believe that there should be any negative reference made towards Car Town in this matter. Although my company's reactions were not 100% proper they were provoked by false accusations, very ugly language, and strong demands. If you need anything in reference to this matter please feel free to contact me.

1. In reference to the hostile behavior that was displayed by my employees I have discovered several facts:
A. ***** and Mrs ***** have a relationship outside of this business that is less than positive
B. Every person mentioned in the complaint has experienced very aggressive behavior and very ugly language from Mrs *****
2. When a customer signs paper work at Car Town there is a document that they sign called a "We/Owe You/Owe". The "We/Owe You/Owe" establishes what we owe the customer after the sale and what the customer owes us after the sale. I have copy of this document that I can email you if need be and it does not make any reference to a key.


Consumer Response
In response to Car Town letter which leaves much to be desired.i am appalled. First of all I do not have a personal relationship or ever had a personal relationship with ******** **** salesperson) outside of Car Town. Simply because she dates my nephew does not make us buddies or associates. We do not socialize or talk period. ********************* and my son discussed him coming to Car Town to purchase a car. I had nothing to do with that conversation but her getting my information for him to purchase the car. I resent the fact that Car Town is on the assumption that ******** and I had a relationship just because they have knowledge that she dates my nephew. Car Town never contacted me to here my side of the story. Every contact made I initiated it nor did they ask my relationship to ********************* good or bad. Car Town simply assumed we had a relationship outside of Car Town, which is totally untrue. I am in disbelieve that Car Town feels there ******************** **** horrible disposition has no reflexion on Car Town. How dare Car Town accuse me of using ugly language when there salesperson ********** cursed me out on two occasions and the other two salespersons ( ***** and ***** spoke to me using ugly language and disrespect first, like I meant nothing, no common courteous or nothing.Instead of Car Town of Car Towm addressing ******** and the other two salespersons gross misconduct,they minimized it by assuming that we were having some kind of family feud. If that was the case why would I even want to buy a car from ************* in the first place. I could have went to any other salesperson. Again I state, "I do not have a personal relationship with ********* It wasn't until I spoke with Mr.********, who talked to me respectfully and tried to help me at which point he told me that ******** could have ordered me an additional key from day one. As I stated in my first complaint, I requested an extra key from my ********************* at the time of purchase. As far as my demands I only asked for an verbal apology and an addttion key for my car that I should have received at the time of purchase.How are these simply requests consider demands. The only person that apologized to me thus far is Mr.********. I am very disappointed that a reputable company like Car Town would condone this type of mistreatment of their customers. I find it interesting that no one was rude to me when they were trying to get my money, but the minute I have a complaint I was treated dismissively. It is unbelievable that Car Town made 20,000 dollars profit on the car they sold me but refuse to spend 300 dollars to provide me with an addition key. As a proprietor of the community I would certainly do everything possible to make sure my customer are satisfied. News flash Car Town you don't stop being a customer when you drive off the parking lot. When you take care of a customer before and after the sale that's how you get repeat business.....Hello. I have good credit and I could have went anywhere else top purchase a car but I came to Car Town cause I believed they were a good company but the jury still out on that one..

Final Business Response
In response to Mrs *****'s 2nd complaint about the same issue this will be my final response. I have all supporting documents that Mrs ***** signed and more specifically the forms that we refer to as "we owe" forms. Mrs ***** signed one that says we owe "nothing" I have reviewed the form and it is very simple reading. Once again we have the customer sign this form on every car deal to make sure we have no misunderstandings. It is also important to know that we have been in business for many many years and have had very few complaints. I am sorry that Mrs ***** feels the way she does because it is my #1 goal to give every customer everything my company or me personally commits to. One other very important fact is that we did not profit $20,000 on this car. That would mean I had $0 in the car, that is just not the case. Please make sure that Mrs ***** knows that there is no anger or ill will towards her and if she ever needs anything in the future unrelated to this issue she is more than welcome to come to one of my lots and ask for me personally. Thanks ****** **** ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.