BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

Walker Automotive

Phone: (318) 445-6421Fax: (318) 443-81701616 Macarthur Dr, AlexandriaLA 71301-4026 Send email to Walker Automotive

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

BBB has determined that Walker Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Walker Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Walker Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold 2010 vehicle to Walker Toyota for net payoff $11,715 ($13,000 total) and never received full amount only received $11,288.22 for net payoff.
We sold a 2010 Highlander to Walker Toyota, part of the Walker Automotive group. Walker Toyota 5735 Coliseum Blvd. Alexandria LA, XXXXX on 12/30/2014. They agreed to pay $13,000.00 for my trade in, and agreed to pay off my loan from that money for a net payoff & notary fee of $11,715.00 (what we owed at the time to LA Capital Federal Credit Union - $15 for notary fee). We were told this would take 5 days and we would not have to make another payment on the 2010 vehicle, any overpayment we would receive the difference. They did not pay off the trade in vehicle until 1/26/2015 (27 days later). We were drafted another payment from our bank for the 2010 trade-in on January 7, 2015 on the vehicle we sold in December and no longer had in our possession. We called and complained on 1/10/2015 after we made another monthly payment on a vehicle we no longer owned or had in our possession and were repeatedly told they would pay the $11,700 and we would receive the difference. The per-Diem continued until January 26, 2015 when they paid the amount of $11,288.78 to our LA Capital Federal Credit Union loan. That is a difference of $411.78 from the agreed amount in contract of $11,700.00 and meant they also never paid the full $13,000.00 for the trade in by the same amount. I called about this on January 27, and have not received a call back.
The following is on the contract.

My Trade in Vehicle SN# 5TDZK3EH7ASXXXXXX
Trade in value $13,000.00
Less balance owed $11,700.00
New trade in allowance $1,300.00
My customer number# XXXXXX Deal# ***
Salesman was ******* ****, Manager who actually prepared the contract was ***** ******* (sp?) he is also listed as the Dealer Representative.

Thank you

Desired Settlement
I'm simply seeking the $411.78 difference from the $13,000 they owe me for the purchase of my 2010 Highlander. I don't appreciate being lied too, and cheated out of money owed to me. It's very unprofessional and discouraging from a large company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: L. ******* Gen.Counsel
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@walkerautomotive.com
I received a complaint from ******** ***** February 10, 2015. Please accept this response from Walker Automotive regarding the complaint.

In short, we had sent Mr. ***** a refund check prior to the filing of his complaint. Apparently the check was mailed to the wrong address and it was returned in person to Walker Automotive. Since the filing of the complaint, we have been in touch with Mr. ***** and had forwarded another check to him. It is my understanding that Mr. ***** is now satisfied with the result.

I trust that this alleviates the need for any further response by Walker with regards to this complaint. Should you need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me. Should you need additional information, I will be happy to provide it.

Sincerely,



******** S. ******


Consumer Response
I received a phone call on 2/20/2015 from Walker Automotive saying the check was sent to the wrong address. I requested they resend the refund in the mail to my correct address. I revived a check for the full amount requested in my complaint on 2/25/2015. Thank you @BBB for your assistance.

05/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quoted a price to insurance Co to repair truck and after settled with insurance Co there was additional damage that they would not repair.
My wife had a car accident on 5/30/2014. The fault was not hers and the other driver had state Farm insurance our truck is a 2008 gmc C300 crew cab see xxxxxxxxxxxx. we were told by state farm that ****** GMC was one of there preferred repairs shops so we had the truck delivered to ****** collision center after talking to the state Farm adjuster which did the damage was $8600.00 lap taking to ****** the same day. We were told about 4 weeks told about 4 weeks to repair the truck. After not hearing from ****** for 5 weeks I stopped by and was told the truck was about ready but I needed to call State Farm before picking up the truck.We called state farm and was told the truck had more than 75% damage and we could settle with them by taking cash or taking cash and paying $7500.00 for the truck. Before settling I went to the collision center and was told the truck was completely repaired by the shop foreman and it would be a good deal if I kept the truck and settled with State farm which we did and than picked up the truck.after a couple weeks we noticed the transmission was slipping and took it back to ****** collision. After over a week I called several times and was finally told that one of there men forgot to put transmission fluid in it so they had to replace the transmission.They gave us a loaner. After about 5 weeks and several calls to them, most calls were never returned we got the truck back on 10/17/2014. The truck ran dine and we went to the motor and had the title changed to reconstructed on 1212/2014.I called our insurance company and was sent a former to have a mechanic check the truck for safety. We took it to ****** on 1/29/15 and they did the safety check for $110.29. We also had the windshield replaced as per ****** as that's all the truck needed and sent the paper work to 21st century our insurance co.on 3/13/15 I took the truck back to ****** as I noticed the left rear tire they had replaced was badly worn and had less than 10,000 miles on it. After over a week after many calls I was told I needed 4 new tires and had to talk to the service debt manager. We went to ****** the following Tuesday morning and did not agree the other tires were in need of replacement and they agreed to replace the left rear tire if I bought a new tire for the right rear.after many more calls and a couple weeks the service manager told us the the differential flanges were bend and needed replacing.I told him to call the collision center foreman and let him know what was wrong and he would have to repair is as we know it was damaged due to the accident.finally we were told we needed to call state farm and get approval to do the repairs which we did within the next 30 min and was told it was Walkers responsibility to repair the problem.after calling ****** several times again with no reply we went back to the service debt and was told they would quote us a price to repair as they were not going to repair under the agreement they had with us.we decided to take the truck and was told the tires had not been replaced and we could get the truck on Monday 5/30/15. After no word on Monday the 30th I called at 4 pm and after 30 min waiting was told to pick up the truck at 5:30.I asked for a credit on the inspection the did for $110.29 as the inspection they did said all 4 tires were good. Was told they would mail me a check for that amount and wanted me to pay them for the right rear tire bit I refused to pay without the credit so he decided to give me the truck with no charge for the additional tire.I had been told I had to have the two tires in the rear replaced before they could tell me what was wrong with the truck but they were not replaced until 3/30 ND we had to wait for the tires to be installed before we picked up the truck. I believe that it is walkers responsibility to repair the truck differential as it was part of the damage due to the accident






Desired Settlement
We expect the truck to be repaired at no cost to us and a loaner while it is being repaired. we are from the new Orleans area as my wife is on a 3 year contract in Alexandria as a dentist and her contract is up at the end of this month and we will be moving Home after that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: L. Searcy/Operations Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@walkerautomotive.com
Please accept this response on behalf of Walker Automotive for the complaint filed by *** ******.

Mr. ****** had his vehicle delivered to Walker's Collision Center for repair after an accident. Walker was provided with an estimate prepared by State Farm Insurance. Walker Automotive did not do the initial or subsequent estimates. After the truck repairs began, there were additional supplements of damage prepared by State Farm adding additional repairs to the vehicle. Once the repair damage got too extensive, State Farm apparently decided to settle with Mr. ****** and declare the vehicle a total loss. Mr. ****** was offered the option to either retain the truck or to take the salvage value in exchange. Mr. ****** apparently decided to settle with the insurance company and retain the vehicle.

Thereafter, Walker was requested to do an inspection limited to insuring that the vehicle was road-worthy. The purpose of the inspection was not to insure that there were no additional damages or defects from the wreck. In fact, we know there could potentially be additional issues because the vehicle was declared a total loss and a salvage title was issued. Once Mr. ****** settled with the insurance company, the insurance company had no further obligation to make any supplemental or additional repairs. In turn, ****** could not complete any additional or supplemental repairs without payment from either State Farm or the customer.

Sometime after the settlement with State Farm, Mr. ****** drove the vehicle for more than 10,000 miles before returning it to Walker complaining of a bad tire. It was at that point that Mr. ****** was advised that there was additional damage that had not been discovered by the adjuster or any supplemental estimates for repair prior to the total loss designation. Because Mr. ****** settled with the insurance company, there is nothing that Walker can do to make any further repair to the vehicle. Mr. ****** accepted the vehicle as a total loss and salvaged title vehicle that by its very nature indicates that it is not repaired back to the factory specifications. In an effort to try to assist Mr. ******, Walker agreed to replace the tire that had been worn out on the vehicle. Walker has also agreed to refund Mr. ****** the cost of the state inspection that was performed on the vehicle because of the miscommunication as to the extent of the inspection. Beyond replacing the tire and refunding his money for the inspection, there is nothing more that Walker is willing to do.

I trust that this letter serves as an adequate response to Mr. ******'s complaint. Should you have any further questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
******** ** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Walker Auto is not correct. Being that I am not an auto repair man or mechanic we took Walkers word that the truck was completely repaired after the accident and was ready for us to pick up. The only reason we took the truck was they told me the truck was completely repaired. Yes the truck did almost 10,0000 miles since the repairs were suppoed to have been completed but the truck was in Walkers repair shop for close to 6 weeks for transmission repairs due to there forgetting to put transmission fluid in the transmission after the completed and gave us the truck back. Simply stated. Walker repaired the truck and advised us to take the truck as salvaged as there were no problems with it. They completely went over truck before telling us it was complete. When the tire wear showed up they also kept the truck for over 3 weeks before telling us they would not do the repairs they discovered caused by the accident. There was miscommunications at all on the insurance inspection they did on the truck. Walker filled out the form provided by the insurance company saying the truck tires did not need replacing and 30 days later told us all the tires needed replacing and agreed to refund the $110.00 they charged for the inspection. I could go on and on but it's clear that Walker Auto does not want to honor there commitment to us to repair the truck do to there not properly checking the truck after they did well over $14000.00 worth of repairs to the truck.they clearing are not keeping there word

Final Business Response
Please accept Walker Automotive's response to the rebuttal from Mr. ******.

Mr. ****** indicates that when he took possession of the truck that Walker indicated that "it was completely repaired". However, by his own admission, the truck was released with a salvage title. By definition a vehicle with a salvaged title cannot be completely repaired. Mr. ****** is correct that we did make a mistake on the transmission and in turn, we repaired the transmission free of charge for Mr. ******. At this point, there is nothing more that Walker is willing to do to make any further repairs to Mr. ******'s truck. We have offered to replace the worn tires as a goodwill gesture and to refund his money for the inspection. This vehicle is drivable, as he has put more than 10,000 miles on it since repurchasing the totaled truck from the insurance company. Should Mr. ****** wish to seek reimbursement for the tire and inspection (if he has not done so already) please let me know and I will have the check processed.

Sincerely,
******** ** ******* ***

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Walker was paid to repair my vehicle left rear bumper and light. The repair was done incorrectly resulting in light filling with water its been 9 mths
April 2014 Walker was paid to fix damage to the left rear bumper and light. When I went to pick up vehicle I notice that my light was full of water. I complain to ***** the manager and he stated it would be fixed leave the vehicle and it will take a couple of weeks for a new light to come in. The next week someone from Walker called and said the vehicle was ready. I went to pick it up and the light was still full of water. They gave me a paper stating that some lights have condensation and may not be covered. I argued and stated that a light full of water is not condensation. ***** told me to take my vehicle to Mazda and see if they could fix it and Walker will pay for it. When I went to Mazda ***** the body shop manager replaced the light and it continue to fill with water. She stated it maybe due to body work or XM radio wire. She sent vehicle to fix XM radio wire and that was not the source. ***** then called ***** at ****** and explain that she could not stop the water and that it was more than condensation in the light. It has to be the body work or he could try another light, that was in August. ***** stated he would order a after market light to try to fix the car and he would call me as soon as it came in. He has not contacted me and I have called and left messages. I contacted ***** at Hixson Autoplex again today 01/02/2015 and she stated again that ***** was suppose to fix the vehicle per their conversation. The light fills with water when ever it rains making it hard for other drivers to view light (safety issue). I have called repeatly to have vehicle fixed and have tried to contact ****** ****** and assistant return my messages back to ****** This has been going on for 9 months and the left rear lamp still has not been fixed. I am scared to drive vehicle during rain because of this safety issue.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting for my vehicle to be fixed correctly and I am provided with a rental until complete with no out of pocket expenses to my self. If they are not able to fix my vehicle and there is not a way for it to be fix then report it to my insurance company as total lost due to safety so that my insurance will cover my lost or replace with a new vehicle without any out of pocket expenses to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: L. ***************** mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@walkerautomotive.com
January 20, 2015

*** ******
Better Business Bureau
Complaint Department
P.O. Box XXXXX
Shreveport, LA XXXXX-XXXX

RE: Case # 14017979 - ****** *******

Dear Ms. *******

Please accept this letter in response to the Better Business Bureau letter dated January 6, 2015 regarding Ms. ****** *******.

On or about April 22, 2014 Ms. ******* brought her vehicle to the ****** Automotive Collision Center for repair. A copy of the repair estimate from Louisiana Farm Bureau, dated April 22, 2014, is enclosed for your review. As part of that repair, Walker Automotive was to replace the left rear light on the vehicle, as well as repairing the bumper cover assembly and doing some minor painting on the vehicle. In connection with that repair, Walker Automotive ordered the light assembly on April 23, 2014 from ******* & ***** ***** in Houston, Texas. This light is a Mazda manufactured light and is sealed at the factory. The factory light from Mazda was installed on the vehicle. Thereafter, Ms. ******* complained that the light was getting water inside of it and so a second light assembly was purchased from ******* & ***** Honda on May 2, 2014. That light also was susceptible to moisture in the light.

Because of the moisture issue, Walker Automotive sent the vehicle to the local Mazda dealer for an inspection, repair and/or replacement of the light for a third time. In response, the Mazda dealer forwarded to ****** a special service bulletin issued by Mazda North America addressing the problem of condensation and fog in the front and rear combination lights which included the light that was installed on Ms. *******'s vehicle. Mazda stated that it was issuing the bulletin because







"some customers may complain of condensation/fog inside the front or rear combination lights. The recent new models have been fitted with a clear lens, which can cause the symptom to be more noticeable, however, it does not affect the performance of the light. This condensation/fog is a natural phenomenon that occurs when there is a fairly large temperature difference between the inside and the outside of the light housing. It is normal for very small water drops to appear in certain locations on the light units where the air is stagnant (condensation) making the lens look whitish (fog)."

The Mazda bulletin goes on to run through a series of tests that should be conducted on the vehicle to determine if the lights should be replaced under warranty. I am enclosing a full copy of the bulletin for your review.

Walker has tried to repair Ms. *******'s vehicle on two separate occasions, in addition to sending the vehicle to Mazda for additional repair. Review of the service bulletin indicates that the unit, if faulty, should be replaced under Mazda's warranty. Walker neither manufactured the light, nor is the cause of the water or condensation within the light unit. As such, there is nothing more that we can do to assist Ms. ******* with the manufacturer's defect that exists in the light of her car.

I trust that this response is sufficient and would appreciate you notifying Ms. ******* of the response. Should you need additional information, I will be happy to provide it.

Sincerely,



******** ** ******

/jd


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The service bulletin from Mazda was given to me after the first attempt to fix the light on the vehicle and then ***** along with the manager ***** from ****** Mazda agreed that the light was full of water and not just condensation or fog. The light completely fills with water and the latest conversation with my insurance company Farm Bureau ***** ******* spoke with ***** and ***** in regards to light and ***** at Mazda stated that it is filling with water and not just condensation as I stated and it may have to do with the body work on the vehicle when replacing the light.It was Walkers responsibility to ensure the light and the body work/bumper etc was complete before the vehicle was returned to me. I did not sign off on the vehicle due to that fact. The mechanics at Walker and ***** himself saw that it was half full of water at the time of the second repair and sent me to mazda for a new light claiming it was the light and not the body work. Now Mazda is sending me back to Walker due to the body work. The problem has not been resolved and every one has been paid and the water in my light will put me and my children in an unsafe vehicle if an accident occurs due to my light not being visible and I have talk to highway safety patrol it is also breaking the law to drive with the light not visible.
I will be holding Walker responsible and if I have to seek legal representation in order to resolve the issue. I will do so to protect my family safety. Walker company has not held up to what they were paid to do and that was to fix my vehicle. If the vehicle was fixed by Walker why would Walker send me to another dealership.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top

06/17/2013 - Received compliment for business.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1919
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1987, LA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Foster Walker (President)Mr. Mike Barbera (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

This company sells and services new and used vehicles.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Walker Automotive

1616 Macarthur Dr

Alexandria, LA 71301-4026

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1616 Macarthur Dr 

    Alexandria, LA 71301-4026Fax: (318) 443-8170

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Walker Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.