BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1947

Red River Motor Company

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 549-7500Fax: (318) 747-1555View Additional Phone Numbers221 Traffic St, Bossier CityLA 71111-4445 Send email to Red River Motor Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Red River is a full service Chevrolet dealership serving the Ark-La Tex area. The main location is at 221 Traffic Street, with 2 GM Certified Pre-Owned locations at 1940 Airline Drive and 207 East Texas Street. Fleet sales are at 800 Barksdale Blvd.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1947

BBB has determined that Red River Motor Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Red River Motor Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to voice my concerns about a dishonest car salesman by the name of *** ***** at this place of business. On ********* I purchased a vehicle cash for my fiancee. I negotiated the vehicle down to ********** I knew that this salesman was desperate to sell a vehicle and because my fiancee loved the truck it was gonna be an easy sale. On ******** I received a call from Mr. ***** and he left a vm msg advising me that *** ****** tags, extra keys and two clickers have arrived. I went to this business in the rain to find Mr. Cavey had left for the day. I spoke to one of his peers around 6:18 pm who contacted him to see where he placed the tags. Mr. Cavey advised **** that he locked them up in his file cabinet and I can return Friday ******** to retrieve them. On Friday ******** at around **** pm I called Mr. ****** conmmunicated when he was leaving for the day and advised him I will be there before he leaves at 5pm. He said "Okay I will be here." I contacted him at **** pm and advised him I was on my way and he jokingly said he was gone. He then quickly said "I am kiddin,I am here." When I arrived to retrieve the tags, he said "Oh" and started pretending like he was looking around for them. He then told me that he must have thought they came in, bc the clickers were there. He then went as far as calling a lady by the name of Bridgette who handles the tags. After leaving a vm msg for her to locate Mr. ****** tags also saying call him back bc the tags should have been here by now.On ******** he never called us, and ******** her never returned my call. On ******** I finally spoke to him at 10:34 am and he said he FORGOT to check on the tags. He called me back at **** pm and said the reasons why he haven't got the tags is he never paid the taxes. I DID MY RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT HE WAS SUPPOSE TO GIVE US A CHOICE, BUT HE WAS AFRAID HE WOULD LOOSE THE SELL. WE WERE MISINFORMED AND NOW HE SAY WE HAVE TO PAY THE DMV ***** ******** I RAN OUT OF CHARACTERS, PLEASE CALL ME ASAP! UNHAPPY CUSTOMER::((

Desired Settlement
If they cannot work something out about these tags, I want to return the vehicle and get my money back. This car salesman did not inform us of any options to pay for the tags or include them, because he knew I did not want to go over a certain amount. He continously lied calling like tags were in and he knew all the time the taxes were never paid and they would not come.I know in my heart he was afraid to be honest in fear of losing the entire sale. He admitted that he never said anything.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** P. ******, Dealer
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@yahoo.com
I was contacted by the customer and checked out what had occurred. When Ms. **** agreed to buy the vehicle, she agreed with our sales manager to pay for the taxes at a later time and no tax was collected by us. As of this date, she says that she doesn't remember that. All of the paperwork shows that no taxes were collected, and the sales manager says that he did specifically make that arrangement with the customer.
We did agree to furnish an extra key and fobs. When the salesman called the customer to inform her that the keys were ready, he mistakenly said that the license plates were also here, because he had other customer's plates on his desk, and forgot that we had not collected taxes. We do normally collect taxes and registration fees and apply for license and titles for our customers as a convenience,but are not required to do so and did not on this deal. We did send the bill of sale and old title to the customer so that she could handle the registration duties timely on ******* ** and she did receive them.
I offered to buy the vehicle back, but she refused my offer. We agreed to and did send a check to her last week to pay for part of the taxes as a goodwill gesture and believe this case has been settled.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top

Winner of 2007 Better Business Bureau Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics.

BBB file opened: 11/01/1947Business started: 05/10/1931
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Fritze (Dealer)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company sells and services new and used vehicles.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Used vehicles are appraised at current value. Unused parts can be returned for a refund.

Alternate Business Names
Red River Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Red River Motor Company

221 Traffic St

Bossier City, LA 71111-4445

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 1940 Airline Dr 

    Bossier City, LA 71112-2408

  • 207 E Texas 

    Bossier City, LA 71111

  • 221 Traffic St 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-4445

  • 800 Barksdale Boulevard 

    Bossier City, LA 71111

  • PO Box 5696 

    Bossier City, LA 71171-5696

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Red River Motor Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (318) 549-7600
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.