BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/26/2003

Orr Nissan of Bossier

Phone: (318) 752-3000Fax: (318) 549-0899

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints19

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)BBB Closure Definitions
01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Orr Nissan failed to honor voucher and had me wait 3 hours in their service waiting area. They now will not answer any of my emails.
i bought a **** jeep wrangler from orr truck stop on dec ******** it pulled to the right and i asked for a front end alignment to stop the pulling if i bought it. they gave me a voucher to orr nissan for the alignment. my wife scheduled a 1pm appt on **** we drove *** ** to get there and arrived at ****** we went into the waiting area for service and watched through a window as they parked our jeep on the rack. we sat and watched our jeep sit unattended for 1hr ** min. nobody touched it. after that, a technician came and raised it up and he and two others looked at it for another ***** min. they took it down and drove it off. we condinued to sit. after about 30 min, my wife goes to ask why the wait. they tell her that they didnt have the tools to line up a jeep and they had taken it to another business across town.
we waited and waited. we went and asked again and they said it was on its way. we waited again for over 20 min for a supposedly 6 mile distance. in all, we waited close to 3 hrs. we then started ur 1hr 15 min drive home and discovered that the jeep still pulled to the right as always.
orr nissan will not answer any of my emails or respond to me in anyway. i even told them i would take it to another **** if they refused to offer me a solution to this problem.
no one should have to wait that long, much less have their car sit unattended for 1hr 20 min with an appt that they set up and still did not fix the problem and did not even drive it after it came back to see if it was fixed.
i wasted practically all day going over, waiting, and coming home.
basically, they sold the jeep and now it is not their problem i suppose.

Initial Business Response
Orr Truck stop is a direct arm of Orr Nissan South in Shreveport, not North in Bossier. Therefore we did not sell them the Jeep, did not know anything about an issue and has never been in our service department.

Thank you!
Orr Nissan North of Bossier

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After sitting for an hour and a half, we were given an Orr Nissan business card from their loyalty manager, ***** ******** She was apologizing for them making us wait so long. She personally wrote a note on the back that I have in my possession.
We were at Orr Nissan North in Bossier City on Viking Drive.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Dealership added on ******* as an addendum and now refuses to discuss what the addendum covered.
On ***** *** **** I purchased a **** Nissan Sentra from Orr Nissan in Bossier City. The agreed price was ********** (sticker price) minus a ******** Nissan rebate. A few days later I was going over the paperwork and noticed the price of the vehicle was *********** I understand I should have noticed it on the purchase date but I didn't and the addendum price was also not pointed out to me nor was what I received for the addendum told to me. I called my salesperson Chelsa Taylor who was unable to give any information about the addendum and she suggested I talk to finance. I went in to speak with *** Carlson, Finance Director and he told me this was for a service agreement that included oil changes and tire rotations. So I went home and looked at the service agreement and it indicated that it was free of charge. So I again talked to Ms. Taylor and she said "It was an addendum that they charge all customers and *** should have explained it to me". Then in an e-mail she said I wasn't charged the addendum, which I clearly was. To make matters worse on **** ** I was run into by another driver which totaled my Sentra. My intention was to buy another ****** but I told ****** that I couldn't unless they explained what the addendum was or refunded the ******* to me. She said they couldn't and wished me good luck. They obviously do not want repeat customers. Even though I no longer have the car, this addendum did cost me ******* and I would like that money refunded to me. Orr Nissan has refused to even tell me what I received for the addendum cost which indicates to me that I didn't receive anything. I do understand that I could have prevented this addendum at the time of purchase or simply bought a different car but I feel I was taken advantage of.

Initial Business Response
The addendum added to vehicles at Orr Nissan is an add on every vehicle. It is not a cancel-able product. The vehicle already has more than half addendum price in hard adds to car.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not even sure what this means. This reply does not state what the addendum included, it does not state why the addendum was not explained to me, it does not state why they hide the addendum from the customers. I personally went back to the dealership and spoke to my salesperson and the finance manager and neither one of them told me this. The salesperson said she had "no idea" what it was for. The finance manager told me that it was for some oil changes and tire rotations, both of which were free according to my documents. Don't you think that if this is such a common item that those two people would have known about it and told me. The fact that it is added on to every vehicle does not make it acceptable. So now I have received at least 3 different responses to my question of "What did the addendum pay for" and I still do not know even after almost 10 months. So, no, this is not acceptable.

Final Business Response
Here at Orr Nissan in Bossier we do not negotiate after the fact. I am very sorry to hear that his car was totaled and I hope both parties were okay. We do indeed care about our customers and their experience with us but once the contract is signed and the customer leaves here happy and without a problem the transaction is final. We do not renegotiate after the sale.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw a truck on there web sit for sale .I Spock to **** a salesman and he told me thay put that on there site just to get people to come in
Thay are advertising a 2008 Chevy truck for $6588 .The salesman ( **** ) said he has never seen the truck on his lot and does not know anything about that truck .I maid several calls to sales manager and did not get any return calls for two days .i talk to Steven bell the owner and informed me the the truck did not pass inspection and was sold to a auction and not be on the web sit for sale .but the truck is still on there web sit for sale to this day . To me that is false advertising

Business' Initial Response
Re: Case # 14015239: ***** *********

Please allow the following comments to serve as our formal response to the complaint filed by the above mentioned: ***** *********, Case #: XXXXXXXX. We previously DID have a 2008 Chevrolet truck on our Orr Nissan website, but it was removed due to being sold at a local auction (re: safety reasons). Our advertising goal is to sell both new & preowned vehicles. We regret if the consumer feels we mislead the public in any way, but the vehicle was taken off of our website as soon as it was sold at auction. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Loyalty Manager, Orr Nissan Bossier
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/07/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2
07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Orr Nissan dealership of bossier has sale team that are rude, controlling and liars. They force you into buying something and wont let you leave.
I was searching online for a used suv this would be my first time purchasing a vehicle. I was referred to Leonard Steeter a salesman who works there. I called him up asking him about the used suv I saw online. He said he would love for me to see it and I told him I currently didn't have a way to get there and that I could come look at it tomorrow. He then said I will come pick you up so you can look at it and I said ok. He picked me up and I told him my price range and what I was looking for. He immediately stated well your not getting that your chose is a new vehicle and I stated well I don't want that so maybe you should take me back now. He said no and that well just look first. Once we got there he wouldn't let me look at any vehicles he took me too hes office and wanted to run my credit score I said I just want to look first, he then began to yell saying were not doing that, you don't know what your talking about, he said I was resisting and hard headed. I felt very uncomfortable by his attitude and how he was speaking to me. After I gave him my security number he finally allowed me to look. It was already around 7:30 at night and he was rushing me. He did not let me look at the vehicles he took me straight to the 2012 Nissan pathfinder sv vin #5niarinn3ccXXXXXX and we took it for a test drive. While we were test driving the care he asked me how much I could afford and I told him about 350 a month and he said ok this will be 400 a month and I said ok. Once we got back in the dealership he said the vehicle is $24,000 and asked me if I had a downpayment I said $500. He said ok that's good buy this time it was 9:00pm. He comes back with the papers and the monthly payment is in the mid 500 a month even though he stated I have very good credit. I told him I cant afford that. He then became upset and said its late im not taking you back home you and you need to hurry up and sign the papers because every one is waiting on you. I had my baby with me and he was tired and crying I was unable to read the paperwork bc of my baby crying and him saying hurry up so I signed it and they did not explain the paper work except the warrenty. I felt so uncomfortable. The next day I called and said I cant afford these payments and they said talk to the salesperson about lowering the payments so I called Mr. Streeter and he said no im not lowering your payments and you better go get some xxxxxxx car insurance. I said you said my car payments would be $400 a month then he said that was in the car when we were test driving it they have me on camera saying $546 so there. He said you better come pick up your tags. He started calling me all through out the day while I was at work. I called and spoke to someone name derrick and he said he was sorry for the problem and that the manager would help lower your payments and to come by there today. I told the manager what happened and he said he would do a trade in and cancel the contract. I said ok and he gave me a week to come back and each day I came back with my friend to pick one out but he wanted to sell me a 2011 pathfinder as is for 451 a month or a sentra for $400 a month both still at 75 months and I said if your cancelling the contract why is the monthly price so high for the same amount of months like my 2012 pathfinder and he refused to tell me the price of the vehicles. Then he stopped answering my phone calls saying he had another caller or he was not in today the managers name is xxxxxx. So finally I was just tired of waiting so I went to get my tags and the salesperson would not even acknowledge me and I felt so uncomfortable. My son started to cry so I took him outside and there I saw the manager hiding behind the building and when he saw me he quickly went inside. I am very unhappy with my purchases of my first vehicle and would like to cancel the contract and take back the vehicle. The salesperson was horrible to me and the manager refused to help. I could have gotten a new car.

Initial Business Response
Here at Orr Nissan we do not force anyone to buy anything. Every customer signs up willingly and is explained all paperwork. You stated that when you came back we tried to assist you in various different ways and none of them were ok with you. However you do own the vehicle by law and if you would like to bring the car back you need to contact an attorney and they can contact ours so we can come to a legal resolution.

Thank you!

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No that is a lie, you did not read my complaint that is why you only mentioned the parts that make your company sound good. Your sales person picked me up at my house after I told him I just wanted to look then would not bring me back that right there is a way of forcing someone to buy a vehicle. The part where you mentioned you gave me choices is not true either. Your manager said he would cancel the contract if I picked a new vehicle. Your manager would not give me a price on any vehicle he just threw out monthly prices still at the same 75 months as the vehicle I have now with worst vehicles to choices from that were as is & extremely high monthly payments. I told him if we are canceling the contract you should not being going off of the original one for a new one. Then the manager started avoiding my phone calls then when I went up there he was hiding outside on the side of the building. What choice did I have. This is inappropriate busines! I am unsatisfied & the salesperson should be fired the way he treated me. The other part where they mentioned they read me the paperwork they did no such thing. It was so late like 9:30 the lady was just saying sign here, here & here. The only thing she explained to me was the gap insurance & that was bc I asked her to repeat it. The rest she told me to read on my own bc it was too late. That is horrible business! Everything you just said was a lie!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They do not honor their agreements. They only want your money.
I purchased a used car in ***** They told me I had the option to purchase a maintenance plan and it could be added to my monthly payment. So I agreed on the plan. Well when it was time to get my first oil change, they gave me a hard time saying they couldn't find it in the system even though I had the agreement with me. They then told me that the maintenance plan was free and I purchased an extended warranty. So at the point it's already frustrating because I'm paying for something I wasn't aware of. Well I continued getting my oil changes and had issues every single time. I sent emails voicing my complaints and never got a response. In *** I took my car in for an oil change as usual and this time they told me I didn't have the maintenance plan and they didn't know what I had been sold. I asked to speak with a supervisor and they bought me a salesman who tried to sell me a car instead of letting me know what's going on. I was very offended and asked again to speak with a supervisor. The man I was speaking with got upset with me because I stated I would never buy a car from them again. So Tammie walks in the room and tells me my vehicle is ready and I can leave. So now I'm very upset because now you're trying to put me out because I want answers! So I told her I wasn't going anywhere and to go get the supervisor. ****** then threatened to call the police on me. I told her to call them because I wasn't leaving until I got some answers. She called the police and finally a supervisor came and tried to speak with me. He explained to me that whoever wrote up the agreement made a mistake but they would honor it and since I had one last oil change left they would take care of it without a problem. Today, ****** ** **** I went in for my last oil change and was refused service. They again asked me to leave. So they did not honor the agreement and treated me as if I was in the wrong.

Initial Business Response
After researching our records- we have issued the above stated customer, ****** *******, all of her oil changes that were covered under her maintenance plan. Any future service work will have to be self-pay and the customer will be responsible for all charges incurred.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept this response because it is false. I am owed one last oil change and they denied me of that. This company is very unprofessional, unethical and dishonest. I will Never due business here again and will never recommend anyone to do business there either.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
01/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues
05/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.