BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/2007

Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda

Find a Location

(318) 746-2175View Additional Phone Numbers1960 Old Minden Rd, Bossier CityLA 71111-4912 Send email to Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/2007

BBB has determined that Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was informed that I could get my CUSTOM Accessories off my truck at a later time. Then was informed at that time that I could not have my Wheels
I went to the dealership to look at a car, drive it, and get a price. I had no intension of making a deal this very day. Well, when they told that I could get my CUSTOM accessories off at a later time then I went ahead and traded my truck in. The Sales person ****** ***** informed me that the truck will be on their lot for a while having different inspections done to it, and I could come back to get my CUSTOM things. I told her that I would not be able to get my Custom grill, tail lights, and custom tires and wheels until later time. She did alow me to take my trailer brake control off the truck at this time. Well, I did return on the 13th of October which was two days after making the trade. I was allowed to get my custom grill, and taillights on this day.
I returned again the following week to set up a date to swap the tires and wheels out, But the Sales manager was out of the office until later in the week. I returned later in the week to talk to Mr. *** the sales manager, and he informed me that it was not mentioned to him about me taking ANYTHING except my trailer brake control, which I took off that very day on the 11th. Mr. *** was very short with me, very rud, and was not dressed professional. He had open toe shoes on and shorts. I asked to talk to his supervisor, since he said he did not have time to talk to me, and was not willing to cooperate at all. I then was able to meet with **** ******* the owner. He informed me that they would take care of the situation. ****** called me on Thursday the 16 to inform me that Mr. *** would be out of the office and this issue would be resolved when he returned, and that she contact me to let me know the outcome. ****** also told me that she was sorry for the misunderstanding, and that she should have cleared everything w/ Mr. *** before telling me that I could take anything off the truck. Well, 6 days later on the 29th of October I called to find out the status and again ****** and **** ******* were very uncoopertaive, not willing to "make it right". So, I informed **** that I would be making a compaint on his company for not standing behind their work. . . . Or the sales person (xxxxxx)'s word.

Desired Settlement
One of three options:
1) I would Like to swap my custom tires and wheels out, and put the factory ones back on.
2) Give me 1/2 the value of the custom tires and wheels which would be $1,000.00
3) Give me some accessories for the car I traded for. Like rain gards, a spoiler, have my windows tinted, custom tail lights, custom grill, or allow me to get set of custom wheels upgrade package.

Business Response
A response to complaint - ***** *****

From: ****** ****** Salesperson @ ******* Automotive

I, ****** ***** had the opportunity to assist Mr. ***** with purchasing the vehicle of his choice October 11,2014. Within the sales processing, his truck was appraised and the final cost of the vehicle he was purchasing was presented to him. At this time he mentioned he thought he should get more trade value for his truck because of the improvements he had done. I informed him that I did not know what was considered during an appraisal, but would go back to management and try to get more for the trade. Mr. ***** agreed. I went to management and informed them of his concerns . The manager went out to the trade and took another look at the truck and returned to the office, made a couple of calls and adjusted the amount from $24750 to $26000. Mr. ***** was aware at that time that the increase of the trade value was in consideration of the improvements he had made. He was pleased with the increase and agreed to the cost of the vehicle he was purchasing. I shook his hand and thanked him and proceeded to get his car ready for delivery. During this process, Mr. ***** waited patiently while we got his car ready. He never mentioned anything about changing out things on his truck at that time. He went to finance and signed the papers to purchase his car. When he came out of finance, he said he had some things in his truck he needed to get out. I agreed and pulled his truck around close to his car so he could take his personal items out. When he had finished, he asked if it was alright to take his trailer brake control. I told him I would check with management. Management agreed and we proceeded to look for tools to help him get it off. Another salesperson went to get his tools that he thought would work and assisted Mr. ***** with removing t he brake control. While we were chatting (Mr. *****, two other salesmen, and myself), Mr.***** suggested if It would be a problem if he changed out his grill and taillights and place the original ones back on the truck. I said I didn't think it would be a problem and the two other salesmen agreed and mention it should be okay as long as the parts are placed back on properly. Since the more experienced salesmen agreed, I didn't clear this with management because I thought it would be okay. However, at that time nothing was mentioned about changing out the wheels. This can be verified by the other two salesmen. In fact, I didn't hear anything about changing out the wheels until he came into the dealership weeks later requesting this. Also, when he came by October 13th two days after the initial purchase to change out his grill and tail lights, nothing was mentioned about changing out the wheels at that time.

I am really surprised about this and this has been very disturbing. I made a mistake when I agreed to Mr. ***** changing out his grill and tail lights without management approval and take full responsibility. However, I don't feel the company should receive a bad report on their record simply because Mr. ***** wanted to make some changes after the deal was made. He was well aware that management increased the trade value during the sales process to account for his improvements. Therefore, I feel this case should be closed and the complaint be withdrawn.

Thank you, ****** *****


A response to complaint ********** ***** *****

From *** ******* Sales Manager @ ******* Automotive

On October 11, 2014 Mr. ***** ***** came into the dealership to look for a new car. ****** ****** one of my sales representatives assisted Mr. ***** in that quest. After looking at a few different vehicles, Mr. ***** settled on a Mazda 6. I appraised his Toyota and we began working numbers. The initial appraisal was lower that what he wanted so I re-appraised the truck and raised the appraisal to $26,000. At that point we all were good with the figures and we had a deal. Mr. ***** was approved for the loan and he signed his paperwork. He cleaned out his truck and asked ****** if he could take his trailer brake control off of his trade in. We agreed that would be ok. As far as I knew the deal was finished. There was never any talk about changing out the wheels and tires on his trade in.

On October 22nd, I was still on vacation and had come into the dealership to get a car to attend a meeting in Dallas on the next day. I was in shorts and a golf shirt but was still on vacation and had been with my father and dying mother that day. I was not wearing open toe shoes. Mr. ***** came into my office and began to explain to me that he wanted his wheels and tires off of his trade in and I told him that was not part of the deal. It was never talked about to the sales representative or myself. Mr.***** was very direct and rude and that was observed by the preowned manager **** ******** He asked to talk to a supervisor and that was arranged. That is when I left the dealership.

*** ******






11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle was not taken care of properly and not returned in a timely matter.
I dropped my vehicle off at ******* Mazda body shop on ******* Monday morning. Was told they would try to have it complete by ******* Was also told that their current manager had called in sick the previous week and quit that previous ******* I called on that ******** ************ ask if my car would be ready the next day. Was told i would be called back to let me know but never received a call. Called ****** ********** and was told they "thought" my mirror came in ****** but unsure and would call me back. Never received a call. I called back again on Wednesday ********** and was told that it was waiting to go to paint but painter was at lunch and didnt know how long it would take, told me i would be called back, never got a return call. I called back Thursday ************ weeks later) and complained that I have been out of vehicle and if there was any way they could offer me a loaner Id be appreciative. Their acting managers response was that my car should be ready tomorrow (Friday ********* and if not then they would get me a car to drive till ******* I called back ****** at ****** (because i had not heard from anyone and it was almost their closing time)and was told my car wouldnt be ready today and to come pick up a loaner. I picked up the loaner car and was told there was *** gas in the vehicle. Drove almost home to notice the gas gauge was already empty. I had to drive the loaner back to the dealership where they apologized and put gas in the car. I had the loaner car throughout the weekend and into the next week. I called the dealership on Wednesday ********** because I had not heard anything and the temporary licenses plate tag was expired. Had to bring the car by and get another temp license plate because my car would not be ready till the next day. Now its Thursday ********** and I call that afternoon because i have not heard from the body shop yet again. My car is ready finally. I pick up my car at ***** on ******** ** weeks later). So happy to get my car back! There are several issues though. I drive it ****** to work and then clinical (im in my last semester of RN school) and notice that my transmission is acting odd and doesnt want to switch from 1st to 2nd gear smoothly like it usually does. Also my passenger side door would not open from the inside and the door knob was loose. Very irritated at this point and not done with clinical at the hospital till 11pm that evening i figure i should be fine calling someone on Saturday. I call sat. ******** and ask to speak with the manager. He is not in today. So i ask to speak with someone below him. Also not there. (but the hours on the website say the body shop is open on sat. ***** The receptionists tells me the best she can do is take a message and i will hear back from them on ******* By this point i left a message for the owner ***** ******* to return my call and cannot believe the service i was receiving. I called back later that afternoon to make sure ***** got the message because i had not heard back from her. I was told she got the message but must have been busy. ****** ********** I brought my car in to have to door, transmission, and cruise light that i had asked them to check while my car was there (which they didnt) fixed. The manager looks at the knob and says yes it is not working properly we will fix that now. The body shop repair man pulls my car in and i leave. Upon my return to the body shop office where the repair man is sitting on the couch, he says "aint nothin wrong with the door. I took it apart and put it back on and it works fine so i dont know what you are talking bout". I replied that the manager saw the door and told me there was in fact something wrong. Then **** *** (acting manager) spoke to me in a very condescending unfriendly manner with a look of confusion on his face as to why i had issues and pretty much unable to fix any transmission issues with me contacting my insurance. I reply no, i dont want anything else done to my car here.

Desired Settlement
There is nothing else i would want from this place. I will do business elsewhere from now on. I will not purchase another Mazda from them and will buy the cx 5 i wanted to purchase in ******* somewhere else. Not as if my business mattered by the looks of it anyway.

Business Response /* ****** 5, *********** */
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ****@moffittautomotive.com
11/01/2013

Better Business Bureau
PO Box XXXXX
Shreveport, La. XXXXX-XXXX


RE: Case# XXXXXXXX

To whom it Concern:

We have reviewed the customers concern and apologize that she did not have a better experience. During the period of time Ms. *********'s vehicle was in our body shop we had a very heavy work load and unfortunately lost one of our managers that put us behind. Ms. ********* is correct there was at times a lack of communication and in the meantime that issue has been reviewed and resolved. As far as condescending remarks on my part I was only asking questions that would help me understand the concern regarding her vehicle and apologize that she took it any other manner as we are here to help and understand everyone (I am also the individual that she spoke with that arranged a loaner vehicle at no charge to her). The door issue may have been an assembly problem and the door panel was again removed and cleared the issue. The transmission issue we did offer to have the insurance company to come out and access the problem but Ms. ********* elected not to do so. I did in fact make the statement that due to the minor nature of the body repairs that it was doubtful they were related. Again, I am sorry that she thought that was a condescending remark as that was not my intent.

We are willing to have Ms. ********* return her vehicle and address any and all of her concerns and do value her as a customer. We will also contact her insurance company and coordinate a time that she can meet with an insurance adjuster so they may determine if the transmission concern is a related issue. Please let me know if this is an option and we will work with both parties.

I appreciate your follow up with us and always value our working relationship with the BBB.

Very best regards,
Mike

******* J. ***
Parts & Service Director
******* Automotive
1960 Old Minden Rd
Bossier City, La. XXXXX
XXX XXX XXXX
****@moffittautomotive.com

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1994Business started: 07/01/1964
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Moffitt (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers automotive sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
Moffit Mazda
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda

1960 Old Minden Rd

Bossier City, LA 71111-4912

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1960 Old Minden Rd 

    Bossier City, LA 71111-4912

  • PO Box 5855 

    Bossier City, LA 71171-5855

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moffitt Volkswagon -Mazda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (318) 000-0000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.