BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/05/1996

M & M Hyundai Inc.

Phone: (318) 445-6504Fax: (318) 487-86543220 S Macarthur Dr, AlexandriaLA 71301-2931 Send email to M & M Hyundai Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/05/1996

BBB has determined that M & M Hyundai Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on M & M Hyundai Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Parts Stolen off my **** ******* Accent
I own the *********** Accent that my son ***** drives,he arrived at **** ********** visit his brother stationed there in the ******** for the holidays. When he arrived from Mobile,Al. he called me to tell me the check engine light was on,I called the closest ******* dealer and M & M was the dealer I chose.I told my son to go ahead and have the oil changed for the price I was quoted ****** plus tax,I transfered ****** to my sons account to cover the cost of the oil change.My son took the vehicle in,they told him the reason the check engine light was on was due to spark plug and four coil wires that needed to be replaced,costing around ********** son called me to tell me this,I called the service manager ******* went over all the repairs I needed on the car,I told him I needed some time to get that kind of money together,that all I could afford was the oil change,my son went to the service window to pay for the oil change,he was then informed that they were charging him ****** for a diagnostic fee,which the services manager Alan said he informed my son he would have to pay,my son was misinformed because he new he did not have that money to pay in his checking account,and would have agreed,after talking to ********* removed the fee. My son paid for the oil change and left. He had a ** min drive back to **** ********* called his brother who is stationed there,and he suggested that I call a local mechanic to get a second opinion,which I did,I called ***** and told him to take the car to Stateline Auto. As soon as my son arrived the gentleman opened the hood and asked him,"where is your engine cover,the nuts and bolts,and harness wires"? My son called me,I then called M&M Hyundai,to ask why the parts were not put back on my car,he then told me they were missing when I brought the car in for repairs,I asked him why if the parts were missing,did he not tell me or my son that they need to be there to protect the engine,and that may be an indicator as to why the check engine light was on in the first place. I know the parts were on my car when my so took it in,the car is 3 years old,there is absolutely no reason that those parts would ever be removed except to change spark pugs and coil wires. I have reached out to the GM and was told,they he is sticking by his mechanic,and there is nothing he can do about,and to never return to his place of business. Well that will never be a problem. I just want my parts back.I have done everything I can think of to get them back. Is there anything you can do to help. We are a Military proud family. I do not want this to happen to any other family. Thank you for anything you can do to help..***** ****** ********

Desired Settlement
I just want my parts taken off,back.

Business Response /* ****** 5, *********** */
On ******** *** ***** ***** ****** brought in auto to have oil change and check engine light checked. At the time of arrival, Jakob was informed that diagnostics for a check engine light was ****** plus tax. Jakob agreed and signed service ticket acknowledging repairs requested. After diagnostics were made and customer was quoted. Repairs were discussed with Ms ****** and ****** ***** okayed repairs. After repairs were started, ***** returned and said that to stop repairs due to his mother said they did not have money to pay for repairs. At this time the spark plugs had already been removed and replaced. The technician had to remove new plugs and reinstall customer plugs. When car was returned to customer, the customer was charged for oil and filter change and preapproved diagnostics. Customer was not charged for installation and removal of sparkplugs after decision was changed to not do repairs. At this time ******** mother, by phone said that there was miscommunication on diagnostic charges and there must have been miscommunication on okay of work. Ms ****** was not present for any of discussion with ***** and was not present to see condition of car on arrival. Even though Jakob owed M&M Hyundai for diagnostics, we allowed ***** to just pay for oil and filter change and leave. As far as M&M Hyundai is concerned, the ****** plus tax is still owed. We have signed documents okaying repairs and diagnostics. After leaving we received a call from Ms ****** that the engine cover was missing from car. After checking with technician, the technician said, yes the engine cover was missing when car arrived. While the technician should have pointed out the fact that the cover was missing, it does not make *** ******* responsible for replacement due to it was missing on arrival to our dealership. While I have complete faith in my technician, who has been with our company for over 5 years without any past history of lying or stealing, I personally checked the entire service area for engine cover without being able to find it. Our experience with the Hudsons has been. 1. Misunderstanding about diagnostics, *** ******* had to pay technician for diagnostics, 2. Misunderstanding about okay of repairs, M&M ******* had to pay technician to remove and reinstall sparkplugs, 3. Disagreement about engine cover missing. While M&M ******* has paid for first 2 misunderstandings it will not pay for 3rd problem, disagreement on engine cover. Ms. ****** has no proof that cover was on car when it arrived and was not present when car was brought in for service. She is just assuming it was there when car was brought in for service in which we disagree with. We are sorry that Ms ****** is not willing to consider that engine cover was not present before arrival to dealership. We try and appease all customers and if I feel we are even possibly at fault, I take responsibility. I agreed to take responsibility for first 2 misunderstandings but will not pay for something I am not responsible for. I have informed MS ****** that M&M Hyundai has already paid for their technician bill but would not be able to pay for any more of their repairs. I feel M&M Hyundai has gone above and beyond by paying the ******'s technician bill. I have suggested that Ms ****** inquire at previous repair facilities that they have had their auto at to see if they might have there engine cover. Hopefully she will check into that. It is in *** ********** opinion that ***** ****** still owes $97.55 for previous service work and further service will not be available until amount owed is paid.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never thought for a minute they would do the right thing,buts that's ok..We are a proud military family..we take care of each other and share with each other when taken advantage of. What I don't understand is what do they think a single mom would be doing with no engine cover on her I have it in my back pocket or something? No,they have it and because I choose to not be ripped off by them they kept it..but ******* *********** has stepped up to the plate and are helping me,because unlike *** ************ know that the part was on my car when I took it into their dealership,it was not reported at any other oil change visit,I keep regular maintenance on both of my Hyundai cars. I will not let one dishonest dealership keep me from purchasing are fine automobile. But,it will keep me from EVER doing business with *** *********** I will stay active in letting every military member I know living in the area to do the same. All they had to do was please the customer,but all they did was loose a whole bunch more..I will not respond to anymore of their denial of the truth. Thank you BBB for allowing me to speak the truth and letting potential customers know of their shady dealings.

Final Business Response /* ****** 9, *********** */
As previously stated, *** ******* returned vehicle to customer in condition it arrived. *** Hyundai stands by it's previous decision.

03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/05/1996Business started: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1997, LA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Oliver McMickens (President) Mark McMickens
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

This company sells and services new and used vehicles.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for M & M Hyundai Inc.

3220 S Macarthur Dr

Alexandria, LA 71301-2931

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3220 S Macarthur Dr 

    Alexandria, LA 71301-2931Fax: (318) 487-8654

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*M & M Hyundai Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.