BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1999

Chevyland

Find a Location

Phone: (318) 425-3471Fax: (318) 629-3476
(318) 222-4990
7500 Youree Dr, ShreveportLA 71105-5534 Send email to Chevyland

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1999

BBB has determined that Chevyland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chevyland's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chevyland

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** an employee of Chevyland stated there were no mechanical issuess causing us to drive 395 miles one way for a poor vehicle.
I located a vehicle Chevyland had advertised on Autotrader.com. I contacted the dealership and spoke with a sales person by the name of ****** She assured me the vehicle was in good shape and had NO mechanical issues along with having cold air and a good radio. Upon arrival, we started the vehicle and could clearly hear there was a manifold exhaust leak which could have either been a cracked manifold or bad gasket but she didn't know. While test driving the vehicle we found that either a motor support or transmission support was broken and would need to be repaired. Also, the air condition did not work. But on a positive side, the radio worked, however that was about all that didn't need to be repaired. ***** stated she had not driven the truck and did not realize there was all these issues. This cost me along with my brother a day of work for what was a trip that should had never taken place. She had also told us her mechanic shop had gone over the vehicle and found no mechanical issues. She later told us that the reason there was such a good price on the vehicle was they were not making these repairs. MY ISSUE IS SHE MISREPRESENTED HERSELF AND THE DEALERSHIP BY NOT BEING HONEST FROM THE BEGINNING. WE WOULD HAVE NEVER MADE THIS TRIP IF SHE HAD TOLD US WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT TO BEGIN WITH. TO ME, THIS IS A CLEAR EFFORT TO GET US THERE THINKING ONCE WE MADE THIS TRIP WE WOULD GO AHEAD WITH THE DEAL. I'M NOT CONVINCED IT WOULD HAVE MADE THE 395 TRIP BACK TO GULFPORT, MS.

Desired Settlement
I feel first and foremost the sales practices of this dealership should clearly be looked into. I have no hope that I nor my brother will be compensated for the loss of a days work along with a 790 mile drive for gas and expenses. However something must be done to expose this type of action by this dealership.

Business Response
Even though our used vehicles are inspected by a technician before being placed for sale and there is a free Carfax offered online for every used vehicle, there may be varying levels of wear and tear present. In most cases, the acceptability is completely subjective based on the opinions of those interested in the vehicles. Our intention is to provide good service to all of our guests when inspecting the condition of a used vehicle.

02/26/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was supposed to be a co-signer, but was listed as the signer.
I was signing as a co-buyer on a vehicle. After pointing out to the sales person *** ****** that my name was in the wrong section, he informed me that it was only for sales purposes, and I would be listed as the co-buyer. I also asked the question to the finance person, who gave the exact same reply. I called into the dealership, and was told there was nothing they can do, and that I would have to have the vehicle refinanced.

Desired Settlement
To be placed as the co-buyer at no additional expense of my own.

Business Response
Buyer and co-buyer placement and approval is sometimes dictated by the lender approval. Before contracting, the business manager reviews all contracting paperwork with all buyers. Vehicle titling and registration changes after the purchase may be addressed with the local department of motor vehicles.

09/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********* has failed to pay off my car trade in loan. I've called to have this issue resolved to o avail. I've never received a call back.
I bought and traded in 2 cars and chevyland has failed to address my issues. No call back when told I would be called back. Management never looked into the payments. for all I know they didn't send the check, and has already sold the car to a dealers mother. I just want my trade in car paid off. ********* has to send checks to creditors in a timely manner so customers are not left to pay off a car payment that should no longer be our concern. ********** needs to help customers that's their job. Not helping steal money or not sending in checks that need to be sent.

Desired Settlement
chevyland needs to refund the *** car payment that I had to make on a car I no longer have, and that they already sold. plus any interest I have to pay after the ten day period for pay off.

Business' Initial Response
Prior to receipt of this case, the customer spoke to ***** ******** Used Car Department Manager, regarding the payoff on the vehicle that was traded in. *** ******* verified that the vehicle lien was paid off in full.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a week left on my temporary tag and it's been over 2 months!!! I've called LITERALLY half a dozen times and no response or change!!

I purchased a 2008 Black Tahoe back in May on the 27th and after half a dozen phone calls and several text messages to the Sales Lady I've yet to receive any response back and I am less then a week from my tags expiring and that puts me in a legal bind. Also I was promised a set of keys to my vehicle and I've yet to receive any correspondences or products.

Desired Settlement
I want my key and my License Plate by the 27th because thats when my temp tags expire!!!!!

Business' Initial Response
I spoke to the salesperson who told me that the License Plate and the Extra Set of Keys were mailed to Ms. Dowden on July 13. The salesperson spoke with them today.

05/26/2015Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1999Business started: 01/01/1944
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Montgomery (Executive Vice President and Customer Contact)Mr Steve Horn (Dealer Manager)Mr. Eric Upton (Service Manager)Mr. Bubba Winningham (General Sales Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company sells and services new and used vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Courtesy Chevrolet, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chevyland

7500 Youree Dr

Shreveport, LA 71105-5534

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 4930 Barksdale Blvd 

    Bossier City, LA 71112-4555(318) 629-3471

  • 7500 Youree Dr 

    Shreveport, LA 71105-5534(318) 425-3471

  • PO Box 5385 

    Shreveport, LA 71135-5385

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chevyland is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.