BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/04/2005

Air Systems, LLC

Phone: (318) 636-0823Fax: (855) 227-6717

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Air Systems to check my A/C unit because the interior attic unit had been replaced by Bamburg Heating & Air early in 2013 and after Air Systems acquired Bamburg they also became responsible for the warranty on my unit. The unit would cool normally for several days and then stop cooling. If I cut off the electrical breaker leading to the unit and then turned it back on, it would start again and cool normally for a few more days. A technician from Air Systems arrived on **** ** **** and left a copy of a service order invoice stating that he had found signs of leaking in the condensor and had recharged the unit with 3 pounds of refrigerant 22. He did not ask for authorization to do any work, nor would I have authorized the course of action he claims he did because if the unit had been that low on refrigerant it would not have functioned intermittently for several weeks. Further, the next day the unit stopped cooling again. When I called Air Systems again, the technician said the outside unit (condenser) had multiple leaks and the reason for it stopping cooling again was that the refrigerant had all leaked away. Another employee of Air Systems quoted me $4600.00 to replace the condenser unit.Instead I called in another air condition repair service. With me monitoring his work, the technician demonstrated that the refrigerant system was fully charged and that there were no leaks. Instead, he found the problem was as $40.00 capacitor. Replacement of the capacitor brought the entire system back operational and it has worked perfectly ever since (7 months as of this writing). I informed Air Systems of these facts but they maintained their claims that the condenser unit was bad and needed replacement and that they had done a thorough inspection and recharged the system. Air Systems misdiagnosed the system on their initial visit, and billed for services and products which they did not perform or supply. They then attempted to convince me to make a large unnecessary repair.

Desired Settlement
I would like Air Systems to cease their collection efforts in this matter, as the most charitable explanation for their invoice is that the technician misdiagnosed the problem and expended refrigerant in a recharging process that was not needed or authorized. Another interpretation is that they are purposely billing for things they didn't do or use, which seems even more likely when considering that they attempted to convince me the condenser unit had leaks and must be replaced.

Business Response /* (1000, 8, *********** */
********* Air Systems was called by ***** ****** to check a unit @ 900 Benton Rd. for no cool. Tech found unit out due to clogged up drain. We cleared debris from a un-maintained system. No maintenance was done at that time. ******* ****** called for service again. At that time the coil was cleaned and exposed wiring repaired and unit was operating normally. I have a signed invoice authorizing this work. The balance of this invoice is $297.88 that customer has NOT pd. Customer made no reference as to why he neglected to pay this invoice.

Air Systems purchased Bamburg Heating and Air customer list when they closed their doors on *********** We DID NOT ASSUME ANY LIABILITY FOR PREVIOUS WORK. ******* ****** called to report that the new unit that "Bamburg" had installed @ 6076 Albany in early 2013 was leaking water. However, In **** **** (NOT EARLY **** AS STATED) customer purchased a air handler ONLY (not a entire system)from Bamburg. Dec 2012 customer was experiencing problems and Bamburg suspected a refrigerant leak and inserted a dye for diagnostic. ******* Air Systems was called and found unit 3 lbs low on refrigerant. A temporary repair was made and unit was charged. Unit was leaking in condensing unit (NOT AIR HANDLER) The condensing unit was in poor unmaintained condition. I have a signed invoice by ****** ****** authorizing the repair. Air Systems service manager, ***** ***** made a personal call to inspect and quoted customer for replacement. The outstanding balance for invoice XXXXX was $452.06. Customer states that he called another company and they changed out a capacitor for $40 and the repair was complete. The condensing unit was old and two Air Systems employees verify that unit was low on refrigerant and there were visible signs of a leak. At the time another company came, the unit may very well of not been leaking as it was recently charged and temporarily repaired by Air Systems. The capacitor was operating when Air Systems completed those repairs. However, a capacitor is somewhat like a light bulb. If it is burnt, it will not work intermittently. A bad capacitor is inconsequential to a leaking condensing coil...
Air Systems has performed its duties in good faith and was instructed by Mr. ****** to make the repairs at both locations in question. Signed invoices are available to verify that information. No warranty liability is at issue here. Air Systems prides itself in honest work and not recommending unnecessary replacements or repairs. This account will be turned over to small claims for collection if the balance of $749.94 is not paid in full.


Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I made no reference to the first invoice because it is about another matter entirely for Americlass Computer Sales & Service, LLC and not me personally. Since it also is about incompetence and possible fraud, a separate complaint may be filed about it.

Regarding the invoice about which I complained, the response above contains factual errors. There was no leak in the condensing unit, then or since. That can be verified by the independent technician I hired, as well as from my own observation of his use of leak detection equipment, and by the fact that the unit has not lost any charge for over seven months. The obtaining of a signature from ****** ****** upon leaving the site does not constitute authorization for any work, since she was not authorized to approve anything, does not live there, had no idea what she was signing, and in any event signed the ticket after the technician had already done whatever he did in fact do. There were never two technicians from Air Systems on site to be able to verify anything, and it is obvious that the unit was never low on refrigerant due to its behavior both prior and subsequent to the visit Air Systems made.

Any presentation of this matter in small claims court will be met with vigorous defense and exploration of all avenues to both protect me in this matter and prevent Air Systems from inflicting similar situations on others in the future.

Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, *********** */
Air Systems has documentation of all services performed by certified qualified technicians to this customer. It is unfortunate that he has chosen not to pay for the work he requested. Air Systems will further pursue collection efforts.

08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When needing an AC repair, I was quoted as the repair being covered under warrantee at no charge. Then I was billed. They refuse to remove bill.
I purchased 3 brand new heating and air systems for my home and 2 rental properties from Bamburg heating totaling approximately $19,000 all that came with a 10 year warranty. When I had a repair due on my home, I was told Bamburg had been bought out by Air Systems and Air Systems would not stand behind or honor any of the 10 year warranties that Bamburg had provided with the units. Due to what I considered poor business practices, I no longer used Air Systems and found a more reputable heating and air dealer. When my unit at *** ******* ***** had a problem, I sent my new heating and air company to the address. They telephoned me from the property and told me it was a broken part and would be a repair of a few hundred dollars, that I might want to check with Air Systems and see if it was possibly covered. I called Air Systems and asked the receptionist if it would be covered. She took my information and told me she would call me back. She called back and said she had checked and they would stand behind the repair and there would be no charge. I sent my new heating and air serviceman home and told Air Systems to proceed with the repair. This was done approximately on 9-19-2013. Several weeks later I received a bill for $499.62. I called the office and reminded them they said it was covered, the receptionist told me she would take care of it and I never received a return call. Several weeks after that I received another bill for $499.62. I sent them a letter stating it was an incorrect bill and that I was not paying what I told would be no charge. Today (June 9, 2014) I received a call from Air Systems. Telling me they would have never told me that and who was the receptionist that told me that and his file showed no notes on any of this. I explained that I would NEVER have used them after they told me they would not stand behind my purchases other than with this repair they told me they actually would cover. So I allowed it. And now, living up to their reputation, they were not standing behind that either. I told them that since I had called back and told them to fix the bill, if his file showed no notes at all, then obviously his receptionist had not properly taken notes on anything involved with this. He repeatedly told me they had no need to stand behind the original warranties and would not have told me this was a covered repair and had no evidence of my call about the first bill. He also told me Bamburg went out of business because of warranty contracts they had issued. He repeatedly told me that what I was saying would not have happened and he had no evidence of it and I did not know the name of his receptionist. I find this company to be disreputable and they continue to bill me for a charge they told me would not be. I have 8 rental properties of which I have always promptly paid my repairmen. This is a fraudulent charge. I will not pay it. I would sincerely appreciate it if you could resolve this matter and make them desist in harrassing me over this improper bill. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I wish for this company to quit billing me, mailing me bills, and telephoning me harrassing me to pay a bill that they told me would not be charged.

Business Response
Air Systems purchased the customer list from Bamburg Heating and Air when they went out of business in January 2013. The purchase DID NOT assume any warranties or liabilities (implied or expressed by Bamburg). Air Systems makes every effort to honor manufacturers warranties if we are an authorized dealer. This customer ** *******) advised Air Systems personnel that she had a 10 year parts and labor warranty and authorized us to do work for her. Unfortunately, when the claim was filed it was rejected due to the fact that Bamburg never purchased the warranty. The customer was advised and consequently sent a bill for authorized services performed. This complaint should be directed to Bamburg and not Air Systems.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if necessary.
**** ****
Owner/Member - Air Systems

Sent from my iPhone



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response given by Air Systems seems to simply verify what I stated in my original complaint. They stated also that they purchased Bamburg Heating and Air and yet state I should address my complaint to Bamburg and not them. Yet they ARE Bamburg. Their number still shows up as Bamburg in the phone directory and their are still very new signs posted all over town to call Bamburg and it is the Air Systems number. It appears they are attempting to impersonate themselves as Bamburg for all the benefits and none of the responsibility. As I originally stated, I asked if the repair was covered before authorizing them to proceed and they assured me it was covered and their would be no charge. I stand by my original complaint. I will not pay for something I was told would have no charge.

05/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Companies, Heating Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.