BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/16/1994

Laroy Thomas, Inc.

Phone: (903) 832-3636Fax: (870) 773-11043201 E Broad St, TexarkanaAR 71854-9363 Send email to Laroy Thomas, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/16/1994

BBB has determined that Laroy Thomas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Laroy Thomas, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Laroy Thomas, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased new Heat Pump Unit in 2013. It is not installed properly. Drip Pan runs over every hour. Water destroyed Bathroom ceiling. Need help
Last time called the co. stated Heat Pump unit not installed properly. Stated that when they gave us the estimate for the heat pump they had mistakenly made a low estimate. Now they want $1200.00 additional to put it together properly. Water has destroyed our newly remodeled bathroom ceiling. We cannot leave our home for more than 1 hr. because air shuts off every hour when drip pan is filled again. Husband, ******* ******* (disabled veteran) spends hours a day emptying drip pan. We cannot leave pets alone in house as windows can't be opened and gets so hot. We have 7 pets in house. I have 51% lung function and cannot tolerate heat either. This is the 2nd heat pump purchased from them. About 25 yrs ago my now deceased mother, **** ****** ****** and I purchased the first one from them. Now most workers are new and do not believe us. I am gathering receipts together and taking photos of equipment and damage. I want it installed correctly. I do not feel that we should have to pay because they gave us a low estimate. It is their job to give estimates. And why are we being told this just now? We will be contacting and attorney.

Desired Settlement
I want the heat pump unit installed properly so that water will not come through our ceilings. I want it to cool and heat our home adequately. I want it to run properly so we can leave our home without worry. I want fair amount to have our bathroom ceiling replaced.

Business Response
I was unaware of this problem, their equipment was installed on 6-3-2013, we were contacted on X-X-XXXX for a water drainage problem and repaired the line under warranty. We didn't receive another call until 6-21-2014, almost one year later, where we found the drain pan broken, we replaced the pan under warranty and reinstalled with everything draining correctly when we left. We didn't receive any other calls for any problems. The $1200 estimate was to replace some return ductwork that was existing and had come apart at some point this year. We have contacted the homeowners and we will be out to repair the drain next week (X-XX-XXXX) and will go ahead and repair the duct for no charge since I had no idea they were having these difficulties. I will have a carpenter repair the ceiling. However, we can't address problems if noone calls us and lets us know there are problems.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They came to the house once as they said and told us they would be back the next week, but they did not show up. They installed a drain on the drip pan, but the shoddy workmanship causing the leak has not been repaired. We have no air in our living room. It worked fine until they installed the new heat pump. Our bathroom ceiling has not been repaired. We contacted them more often than they are saying. But I was told once that we were not in their system. I have received mail from them addressed to Mr. *** ****** and I am female. So I don't know what they are looking under. I am not some "weirdo." I have been a nurse for more than 30 years and work at the ** **** of Corrections on ****** ****** in Texarkana, AR. My IQ is over 140 so I am not stupid, just busy working. And they come to the house when only my disabled Marine Veteran husband is home. He does his best to talk with them. I work *** til ******* and am on-call all the time. Thank you for trying.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1989Business started: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LA STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS
1221 Elmwood Park Blvd
Harahan, LA 70123-2337
(800) 256-1392

Arkansas Contractors Board
4100 Richards Rd
North Little Rock, AR 72117-2652
(501) 372-4661

BBB records show a license number of 55428 for this company, issued by LA STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS.

Type: unknown

BBB records show a license number of 0039620416 for this company, issued by Arkansas Contractors Board.

Type: unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Thomas (President)Mrs Jenifer Thomas (Sec/Tresurer)
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Plumbers

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing, heating, and air conditioning sales.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

texarkana and 50 mile radius

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Laroy Thomas, Inc.

3201 E Broad St

Texarkana, AR 71854-9363

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3201 E Broad St 

    Texarkana, AR 71854-9363Fax: (870) 773-1104

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Louisiana and the Ark-La-Tex. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Laroy Thomas, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB

X

Industry Tips for Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.