Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

HoneymoonWishes.com

Phone: (858) 433-1506 Fax: (858) 433-0500 5205 Kearny Villa Way #108, San Diego, CA 92123 http://www.HoneymoonWishes.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a honeymoon registry and wedding website where guests can give you a part of your honeymoon as a wedding gift.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for HoneymoonWishes.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on HoneymoonWishes.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2002 in CA Business incorporated 05/20/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kristin Stark, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristin Stark, President
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Wedding Supplies & Services Wedding Consultants Bridal Registries

Alternate Business Names
Our Honeymoon Wishes Inc.
Industry Tips
Savvy Consumer

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5205 Kearny Villa Way #108

    San Diego, CA 92123 (858) 433-1506

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a wedding gift (a dinner cruise) that had been selected by the wedding couple. Later, the couple changed their destination, so our gift was no longer workable for their situation. Instead of contacting me and asking me what I wanted done with the money I spent ($200), the site simply forwarded the money to the couple. I NEVER send money for wedding gifts. It is crass and impersonal. This was a close family friend. I am embarrassed by the gift that was sent in my name, and I am infuriated that I was not given the right to determine what my gift involved. The company had my contact information from my credit card, including an e-mail address and phone number. It is inexcusable that the company felt it was fine to determine the nature of my gift. The service I purchased was not delivered. When I contacted the company by phone, they said they could return my funds if the couple would agree to give the money back. What a stupid response! Obviously I am not going to do that. I feel cheated by this company, and I am now in the position of purchasing a second gift for a couple on whom I have already spent $200. What a rip-off. I'll definitely warn others of this behavior on the part of the company.

Desired Settlement: I already asked for a refund, and it was explained that this would involve taking the money BACK from the couple. That is unacceptable. You should be ashamed of this unethical practice.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint regarding the honeymoon gift purchased by **** ***** at 10:20am on March 27th, 2015 for ******** and ******** *****. The gift in question was already delivered to the couple when Ms. ***** wanted us to refund her and therefore we were unable to refund the gift money to Ms. *****. Just because it is a gift for something to do on their honeymoon does not mean it's unlike any other gift given wherein if it is already in the possession of the recipient and not in our possession as the seller; we are not able to refund the gift giver for a gift the recipient already has. For example, if the gift had been a toaster oven and the toaster oven was in the possession of ******** and ********, no company would refund the gift giver the recipient would have to have the toaster returned first in order to process a refund or exchange. No company would be expected to have the recipient keep the gift and also refund the gift giver? That is an unreasonable request for any company.

******** and ******** had changed their honeymoon destination for their registry account. However, they did not removed the old items from their registry list  (In this case, Expedia gift items for Maui). 
Expedia notified us that the couple were no longer going to Hawaii when they tried to fulfill the gift. We then contacted the couple to double check with them on honeymoon plans, the couple had already requested to simply exchange and cash out the Expedia gift item and sent funds as an ACH bank transfer so they could use it on their honeymoon but in a different destination. 
When our office spoke with Ms. ***** she had called us with questions about her order. Our office had informed **** that we have worked with the couple directly, informed the couple of what had happened,  and they had already decided to receive the funds so they could apply accordingly towards their new honeymoon destination.
Unfortunately, **** was not pleased to hear this answer. She does not believe it was either our choice, or the couple's choice, to decide how the gift would be handled. In this case it also works the same as any other retailer, if the couple was given a toaster and they wanted to exchange it for something else it is their decision. 
We do state this clearly in our FAQ's and our terms and conditions that it works just like any other store registry and it is the couples prerogative to decide if and how they want to use the gift given or if they want to exchange it for something else. For example they had been given a picture frame and wanted to exchange it for a vase it is their decision not the gift givers. 
Ms. ***** should have contacted the couple if she wanted the gift back because at that point the gift was already in ******** and ********'s possession. ******** and ******** have had no issues with their registry experience and so it is unreasonable of Ms. ***** to file a complaint against us with the BBB when did absolutely fulfill the gift it was the couple who decided to exchange it. Ms. ***** should read through the terms and conditions and FAQ's of any website she uses prior to transacting on it as we post this information and are transparent about the policies and that the couple can choose how and when to use any gifts given.  We also have a toll free number posted on every page of our site and if she was confused or wanted confirm our policy at anytime she could have done so. 
We do not feel that this complaint is legitimate as the recipient of the gift is happy, Ms. ***** did not attempt to contact them regarding the matter, we post our terms clearly on the website, the recipient of any gift has the right to exchange it if they want to and we acted as any retailer would act regarding a gift that is the possession of the recipient. 
Thank you,
******* *****
President
Honeymoon Wishes

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  Actually, I did not ask for any action on the part of the company. I didn't NOT ask for a refund. As I told their agent, I thought the company should have contacted me PRIOR to the gift being converted into cash rather than my finding it out after the fact. For example, if I purchased a toaster from Bed Bath and Beyond and the item became unavailable, they would contact me to see what I would like sent in its place. My complaint is a legitimate one. I was not expecting any action on the part of the business - only that they might consider, in the future, a more customer-friendly approach. I do not give cash as gifts. I have no doubt the company was within their rights. That wasn't the point. The point is that it is unethical, not illegal. Dr. *****

Business Response:

We have been in business for over 12 years; have serviced over 538,000 brides and grooms as well as distributed over 5 Million gifts with less than 1% having any trouble understanding the terms of how the website works. It is unfortunate that Dr. ***** feels she had a bad experience with company however before using any internet site the user should read the FAQs of how the site works. Since we are internet company, it is not possible to sit down and read the terms of the site to every user and make sure they understand what is written.

In this instance, since the couple had a change of honeymoon plans so they chose to exchange the gift in Hawaii for cash so that they could use the gift at their new honeymoon location. The recipients were happy with the service and with Dr. *****'s gift. We do make every effort to be customer friendly. We post that it is up to the discretion of the couple receiving the honeymoon gift how they would like to receive them as plans do change. We try not to write at a level above high school level so that everyone can understand the terms and way the site works.  We have our FAQ's posted at the top of the site continuously so that they can be read by the user at any time throughout their experience. We also have a toll free number that appears on every page so that the user can call us if confused.  As a company we did not practice anything unethical as we do state the policy throughout the site; we just can not monitor that every user reads or understands what is written. We clearly state that it is up to the couples discretion how to collect the gift funds in the even of any change of plans - you do not need to be logged in to view this it is available to read while on any page of the website. We can not monitor what every honeymoon couple does with their gifts, if they have a change in honeymoon plans they have every right to exchange their honeymoon gift just as they would any other type of gift. 

In response to this complaint, we will review how the policy is worded and see if we might word it simpler to ensure that everyone can understand. However we do not feel that this is a legitimate complaint because as Dr. ***** says we did not do anything illegal, we do not do anything unethical as we do post our policy clearly for anyone one to read we do not hide it and the couple who received the honeymoon gift are happy with our service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on HoneymoonWishes.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)