BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Candymachines.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 744-1550 Fax: (866) 863-5867 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 9, San Marcos, CA 92079 http://www.candymachines.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers all types of vending machines for you to own. Also MANY refill supplies both retail and wholesale from Gum, Candy, Stickers, Toy Mixes, Jawbreakers, Specialty Gift Items, and More !

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Candymachines.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Candymachines.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Candymachines.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1970 in CA Business incorporated: 03/23/2000 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Harris G Harris, Vice President Sales & Operations Mr. Irving Korn (Former)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Harris G Harris, Vice President Sales & Operations
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Vending Machines - Supplies & Parts Fund Raising Games, Merchandise, Supplies Internet Shopping Candy & Confectionery Manufacturers Supplies Coin & Bill Count,Sort,Wrap Machines General Merchandise - Wholesale Gourmet Corporate Gifts Promotional Products Home Decor, Accessories & Gifts - Online Retailer Business Opportunity Companies Amusement Park Equipment Candy & Confectionery Brokers Candy & Confectionery Manufacturer Equip & Supplies Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers Chewing Gum Coin & Bill Change Machines Coins & Tokens - Manufacturers Wholesalers & Distributors Balloons - Novelty & Toy Cake Decorating Equipment & Supplies Candy & Confectionery - Retail Games & Supplies Gift Shops Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Party Supplies Vending Machines

Products & Services

Candymachines.com sells the following brand(s): Many !! From Nestle - Mars - Jelly Belly - Just Born - Oak - and More

Method(s) of Payment
Visa - Master Charge - AX - Discover - PayPal - Checks - MO - Bank Transfers
Alternate Business Names
Candymachines RM Electronics Inc RM Electronicsinc.com
Industry Tips
Business Opportunities Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 27721 N Twin Oaks

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • 858 S Rancho Santa Fe #H

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • PO Box 9

    San Marcos, CA 92079 (800) 853-3941 (760) 744-1550

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Candymachines.com

DISCOUNT: Receive 10% discount off your order! At checkout, simply type "BBB" where it asks for promotional code, click the "Apply" button, and your discount will automatically be calculated. For items priced less than $999. 

This company offers vending machines and refill supplies. 

To receive this discount, contact 800-853-3941 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Receive 10% discount off your order! At checkout, simply type "BBB" where it asks for promotional code, click the "Apply" button, and your discount will automatically be calculated. For items priced less than $999. 

This company offers vending machines and refill supplies. 

To receive this discount, contact 800-853-3941 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 853-3941(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase two (2) vending machines and one (1) change machine on October 14th 2014 from this company. The purchase price for these machines included a price upgrade that I paid extra for. After waiting 2 1/2 weeks the machines were delivered with many mistakes in the order. First, one of the machines did not have a base that goes on the bottom of the machine to raise it a few inches off the ground. Second, the machines were delivered without any labels or decals that are pictured on the machines on the website. Third, the upgrade that I paid for (which was a change in the machine pricing from $1.00 to $.75 cents) was not done. Called the company after noticing the errors and spoke with a rep. From the time I called in about this error (which was about two weeks ago) none of these issues have been resolved. I was told that the base for the machine had been discontinued but that was not until the machine was delivered to my location. When I inquired about the price upgrade that was not done first I was told that it was a mistake. Then later I was told that it was not done because it does not make "economic sense" because the price of sodas has gone up. I have a business and I cannot use this machine until this issue is corrected. Have been in communication with a rep from the company for two weeks now and still have no resolution. I feel that I have been getting the run around on this issue even after I explained that I need this resolved quickly. I asked the company that if they could not give me a quick resolution to this issue that they give me a full refund for the purchase price of this machine plus shipping cost or send me a machine with the upgrade that I paid for and pick up the machine that was not upgraded at their cost.

Desired Settlement: Take the time to get this order correct quickly or full refund of purchase and shipping.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** did purchase two (2) vending machines and one (1) change machine on October 14th 2014 from our company. The purchase price for these machines included a price upgrade to 75 cents on the snacks which was an additional charge. The machines are built to order taking 7 – 10 business days to leave the factory. Mr. ****** was made aware of this when he placed the order. The manufacturer discontinued the stand without our knowledge, and when Mr. ****** was notified of this he understood.  He then stated that the machine did not have the decals and that the sodas were vending for $1 instead of 75 cents like his first machine. We reminded him that he paid for an upgrade to 75 cents for the snacks not the sodas. The sodas were set to $1 by the manufacturer due to the increase in the product cost and the changing times of the vending industry. We advised him to switch back to a 75 cent vend for the sodas was a simple adjustment of switching out a small disc, and that the manufacturer would send him this disc and decals.  We let him know this was the quickest way to resolve the issue for him and it was a very easy adjustment. Mr. ****** became uncooperative and told staff that it was our mistake and that we needed to fix it,  which is exactly what we and the manufacturer were trying to accomplish for him.  Since Mr. ****** was unwilling to make the adjustment we located a technician, ***** ******, in ******, MD to get involved. Mr. ****** was unwilling to accept delivery of the part.  He was unwilling to allow us to exchange contact information with the technician to expedite the process so the manufacturer sent the disc and decals to the technician.  On 11/17/14 Mr. ****** received the package and set Saturday 11/22/14 at noon to go to the machine’s location to switch out the disc and decals, which is about a 10-15 minute task.  On 11/19/14 Mr. ****** was notified of this appointment.  He responded 11/21/14 and stated that this date and time would not work and that it has to be Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm.  We notified Mr. ****** that the next available appointment time for the technician is Wednesday 11/26/14 between 9-11 AM.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ******

First, The 7-10 business days for delivery was not the issue. The machines were over an hour late on the delivery day. Second, I was only notified about the stand after the delivery of the machine and unpacking it. I was not informed about the stand at any time prior to that including when I made the initial purchase. All I can do is be understanding at that point! As I stated in a previous e-mail to the company, there is either poor communications or incompetence within the company because the sodas are factory pre-set for .75 cents standard. I paid to have an upgrade to .75 cents (snacks) and I have the original invoice to confirm that. ( Order #*******). And I can produce it upon request. The company only scheduled a tech to come out after two(2) weeks of trying to persuade me to accept responsibility for their error and do it myself. Therefore, taking all responsibility off of them and putting it all on me. So if I can't upgrade the machine or do it incorrectly it falls on me. not them. If the company would have owned up to the error immediately and dispatched a tech sooner ( instead of spending two weeks trying to get me to do it) this issue would be resolved by now. As of right now my issue still has not been resolved. Also, the machine that I purchased has  conveniently been removed from the website. (funny)

Business Response:

First, in the initial complaint to the BBB Mr. ****** mentioned it took 2 ½ weeks to get his order. We want to be clear it is understood the machines are built to order and that he was made aware of this time frame.  About the delivery being an hour late, we are sorry for any inconvenience and hope it is understood we have no control over trucking company deliveries, rather it is set up between the recipient and the delivery company directly. Second, the manufacturer discontinued the stand without our knowledge. As soon as Mr. ****** made us aware the stand was not included we confirmed with the manufacturer, apologized and removed it from our website.  We appreciate Mr. ******’s understanding.  Due to the cost of the product (soda) going up and in keeping current with trends the manufacturer changed the preset setting to a $1 vend, they no longer preset at 75 cents, so this is not about incompetence on our part; it was done solely by the manufacturer, and it is agreed this was poor communication on their part.  We let Mr. ****** know the machine could be switched back to 75 cents and the manufacturer wanted to send him the parts at no charge to do the switch. The manufacturer and our company were not trying to avoid any responsibility; our suggestion was merely the simplest, fastest, and most efficient resolution.  Most owners are hands on with their machines and make adjustments themselves, but Mr. ****** didn’t want to resolve the problem this way so our customer service department located an available independent tech in his area.  This took extra time with more communications back and forth, more time to ship the parts to the tech rather than directly to Mr. ******, waiting for confirmation of receipt of parts to set an appointment, a federal holiday in the mix, and the first appointment time was inconvenient for Mr. ******, so more time passed. However, the technician went to the location on 11/25/14 and installed the parts that were needed to allow for a 75 cent vend. This is what Mr. ****** wanted and completion was confirmed to us by the tech.  This machine was not “conveniently” removed from our website. The model machine Mr. ****** purchased was discontinued by the manufacturer and replaced with a larger machine at a higher price.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* ******



The company has no control over deliveries yet it is the delivery company that they hired to make their deliveries. The manufacturer discontinues the stand without their knowledge but it's the manufacturer that builds machines for them. The manufacturer sets the price for the machines yet they take my money to upgrade the machine then don't do it. Then they tell me that I can do it myself and the manufacturer will even send me the parts to do it "at no charge" to me. Gee thanks! It's everybody else's fault I guess. Sounds less like a company and more like a teenager trying to explain why they missed curfew. Even blaming a federal holiday. Anyway, after explaining to the Account Executive (LOL) that a tech can only be scheduled to come out during "normal business hours" she schedules the tech to come out on a Saturday at 12 noon! Unbelievable!! Wonder who takes the blame for that one! She then reschedules the tech to come out on 11/25/14 between 9am and 10am.I wait there until 11:00am and no one shows. The tech finally shows up around 1:30pm that day but I was not available to meet that late. I don't know who they confirmed completion of the job with on 11/25/14, but as of 12/2/14 my issue has not been resolved. I will send you a copy of my original purchase order and there is a e-mail trail that will confirm all of this. Needless to say I am using another company for my vending services and I hope they're not as incompetent as this company. Although I can't imagine any company being worst that this one. Thanks for your time BBB.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vending machine for $316.87 on 3/21/14 from this company. There were multiple problems with the purchase. *****, the Executive Account Manager, told me the machine I was purchasing was "Made in the USA" but when I received the shipment, I noticed the boxes had "Designed in the USA, Made in China" printed on them. I immediately called the company and left a voicemail asking for a refund, ***** didn't return my call. This purchase was for a vending business my children have and this machine was to go into a retail store--thus I wanted to make sure it would last. ***** has been unresponsive to my need to return the machine. After weeks had passed, she finally called, stated she asked her Customer Service team to take care of me, but they didn't. She convinced me to open the boxes because she said that although the tri-vend machine was made in China, it would still hold up in a retail store. I hung up, and opened the boxes and noticed the machine was plastic, not metal as she had stated when I ordered it from her. Also, the vending machine came with 6 bolts that are used to attach the 3 machines to the holding plate, none of the bolts would screw into the machine. I emailed ***** again, told her we had a defective machine, among all the other customer service problems I was experiencing. She said she would send me a RMA to return the machine. I told her she needed to pay for shipping both ways as well since the machine was defective and not my fault. Several days later, she sent an RMA number and told me to make copies of the shipping receipt and include it in both boxes. As I was driving to the post office, boxes packaged in original packaging, labeled the way she asked, she sent an email and changed the RMA number and told me to send them to a DIFFERENT STATE! This company isn't even sure where to send returns! It's been two months since my purchase, and Candymachines.com has not refunded my money. They don't return calls or emails, and it's clear they aren't interested in making things right with customers when there's a problem. This purchase has been a nightmare in every way possible. They owe me $366.87, which includes shipping.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of purchase price plus shipping both ways - $366.87.

Business Response:

In a previous order the customer had chosen Assembled in USA machines and received them with no problems. For this new order, the customer was given a choice of machines, either Assembled in USA by the same manufacturer as in his previous order or a Made in USA machine at a higher cost as we are authorized distributors for both manufacturers.  After choosing and receiving the Assembled in USA machine the customer said it was defective. Our customer service department attempted to assist the customer with his issues but he insisted it was defective and therefore wanted to make a return. To satisfy the customer we issued an RMA however, upon hearing of the customer’s claim that the machine was defective the manufacturer assigned a new RMA to ship the return directly to their warehouse assembly address. The customer was advised that he would be reimbursed for the machine and the ship cost only if the machine was found to be defective.

Upon receipt, the manufacturer who authorized the return videotaped the unpacking and set up of the entire machine. They confirmed the holes lined up correctly to attach the machine heads to the holding plate, the bolts screwed into the machine properly and they found no defects as the customer claimedhttps://www.*******.com/watch?v=****************************

As per the manufacturer a refund was issued minus shipping and a 15% restock fee since the manufacturer deemed the machine was not defective.

 

In summation, on May 16th, 2014 a $239.25 refund was made. We guarantee everything we sell 100%.

 

In addition to phone calls….

Email correspondence:  Mon 4/7/2014 9:03 AM

Email correspondence:  Fri 4/18/ 2014 3:36 PM

Email correspondence:  Mon 4/21/2014 8:55 AM

Email correspondence:  Tue 4/22/2014 8:44 AM

Email correspondence:  Wed 4/23/2014 4:43 PM

Email correspondence:  Mon 4/28/2014 8:19 AM

Email correspondence:  Thu 5/1/2014 12:00 PM

Email correspondence:  Mon 5/5/2014 8:40 AM

Email correspondence:  Mon 5/5/2014 8:41 AM

Email correspondence:  Tue 5/6/2014 8:16 AM

Email correspondence:  Wed 5/7/2014 8:16 AM

 

We want to uphold both yours and our high business standards.  With the above explanation please advise if we need to do anything further to close the complaint and have it removed from our rating as we did issue a refund.

 

Sincerely,

 

******

V.P. Sales & Marketing

a.k.a. Gumball Girl Extraordinaire

 

mailto:******@candymachines.com

www.candymachines.com

 

Phone:  ###-###-####

Toll Free:  ###-###-####

Fax:  ###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The only thing accurate in ******'s response is that I had purchased a machine from this company before, without any problem...which was a good reason to return business to him.  Contrary to his response, ****** has never once returned any of my calls, nor has his apparently small staff.  I talked to his account manager when I placed the order, then once more (after several attempts/emails on my part) well more than a month later.  He is correct in that he finally issued a partial refund (nearly 2 months after the order); however, unlike my previous machine ordered from him a year or so ago, this machine was 1) NOT made in the USA as his manager promised at the time of order, and his manager knows this to be true and admitted to remembering our conversation at the time of order when we finally talked the second and final time. 

 
The machine shown in this video is not my machine.  My children have a vending business and have for about 8 years, I discussed this with the manager as well at the time of order, so I am very familiar with putting the machines together.  Candymachines.com is keeping over $120 of my money claiming the machine is not defective, which is simply untrue to the core.  It is also a fact that they clearly misrepresented the machine as being "Made in the USA" at the time of order, which 100% false.  I want my money back.


Regards,

***** ******



Business Response: I, ******, did not receive any messages by email or phone to communicate with this customer.  He dealt with his account manager/other sales staff.  The customer was offered a choice to purchase the made in USA machine which he chose not to purchase due to it being higher priced.  There was no misrepresentation, of the two options, the customer opted to purchase the lower priced vending machine assembled in USA.

 

Attached is a screen shot of the address label the customer used to return the machine taken from the video.  Contrary to the customer’s claim that this is not his machine, please read the attached letter from the manufacturer stating details of the return, confirming the machine shown in the video is indeed the return made by the customer and confirming there were no defects. 

 
Please let me know if you need any further information to rule on our behalf and close this case.
 
Sincerely,
 
******
V.P. Sales & Marketing
a.k.a. Gumball Girl Extraordinaire