Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

World Vacation Network

Phone: (858) 622-2924 Fax: (877) 257-5229 5962 La Place Ct #100, Carlsbad, CA 92008 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.worldvacationnetwork.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation membership programs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that World Vacation Network meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for World Vacation Network include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on World Vacation Network
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2014 Business started: 02/27/2004 in CA Business started locally: 08/01/2013 Business incorporated 02/27/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney General Seller of Travel Program
1515 K St #511, Sacramento CA 95814
http://ag.ca.gov/travel
Phone Number: (213) 897-8065
The number is 2115590.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd Randels, Director of Sales and Marketing Mr. Kevin Schnelder, CEO Mr. Elliot Springer, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Randels, Director of Sales and Marketing
Principal: Mr. Kevin Schnelder, CEO
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Vacation Time Share

Products & Services

World Vacation Network sells the following brand(s): World Vacation Network

World Vacation Network offers the following product(s): World Vacation Network

Refund and Exchange Policy
10 days full refund
Alternate Business Names
WorldWide Vacations Inc

Additional Locations

  • 5962 La Place Ct #100

    Carlsbad, CA 92008 (858) 622-2924

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

The World Vacation Network failed to keep four promises that it made to me:

1. If I attended an online demo of their product I would receive $500 in free travel.

2. That I could use their travel web site for 10 days as a trial. I would only be billed after the trial period and only if I did not cancel during the trial period.

3. That their web site searched the web for the best price and that I could rely on their statement of savings as accurate.

4. That I could consistently purchase hotel stays for less than any of the public web sites.

With regard to promise #1 I never received the promised $500 in free travel, rather what I was offered was a $500 “discount” off of their $1995 membership price. With regard to promise #2 they cancel all the reservations you make during the trial period if you don’t become a member. Further they bill your credit card before the start of the trial period.

With regard to promise #3 and promise #4 I tried to use their travel web site to book a trip I had planned to San Diego with a stop in Bakersfield. It involved three hotel stays: Stay Number Check-in Nights Location 1 2/19/2015 1 Bakersfield, CA 2 2/20/2015 3 San Diego, CA 3 2/23/2015 1 Bakersfield, CA I checked the following hotels using the World Vacation Network web site and other public web sites: Stay Number Hotel Name Cost: World Vacation Network World Vacation Network - Savings accurate Cost: ***** Cost: ******* 2 Country Inn and Suites $323.00 NO $331.92 $251.69 3 *** ***** ***** $136.00 NO $156.23 $118.21 1 **** ****** ** ******** $116.00 NO $107.00 $91.67 2 ** ****** *** - Carlsbad $318.00 NO $259.00 Half of the time the public travel web sites were less expensive than the World Vacation Network. Hotwire was always less expensive than the World Vacation Network. The estimated savings on the World Vacation Network was never accurate in every use of their web site that I tried.

Desired Settlement: The World Vacation Network provides me with a $500 gift card good for purchasing travel products on any public travel web site. They refund me the $1495. They change their business practices to eliminate promises that they do not keep.

Consumer Response:

I am writing to amend my complaint which was filed on 11/10/2014.   The World Vacation Network placed a pending charge to my account  on 11/9/2014.  I cancelled their service according to their process by certified mail on 11/10/2104.  They waited until 12/2/2014 to post the charge to my account.  In addition to all of the compensation requested in the original complaint I am requesting a refund of the $1495.
The following is an amended complaint:

The World Vacation Network failed to keep four promises that it made to me:

 

  1. If I attended an online demo of their product I would receive $500 in free travel.
  2. That I could use their travel web site for 10 days as a trial.  I would only be billed after the trial period and only if I did not cancel during the trial period.
  3. That their web site searched the web for the best price and that I could rely on their statement of savings as accurate.
  4. That I could consistently purchase hotel stays for less than any of the public web sites.

 

 

With regard to promise #1 I never received the promised $500 in free travel, rather what I was offered was a $500 “discount” off of their $1995 membership price.

 

With regard to promise #2 they cancel all the reservations you make during the trial period if you don’t become a member.  Further they place a pending charge on your credit card before the start of the trial period.  Then even when you cancel within their time frame using their process and sending the cancellation by certified mail, they charge your card the $1495 three weeks after cancellation.

 

With regard to promise #3 and promise #4 I tried to use their travel web site to book a trip I had planned to San Diego with a stop in Bakersfield.  It involved three hotel stays:

Stay Number

Check-in

Nights

Location

 

 

 

 

1

2/19/2015

1

Bakersfield, CA

2

2/20/2015

3

San Diego, CA

3

2/23/2015

1

Bakersfield, CA

 

I checked the following hotels using the World Vacation Network web site and other public web sites:

Stay Number

Hotel Name

Cost: World Vacation Network

World Vacation Network - Savings accurate

***** *****

Cost: *******

 

 

 

 

 

 

2

******* *** *** ******

$323.00

NO

$331.92

$251.69

3

*** ***** *****

$136.00

NO

$156.23

$118.21

1

**** ****** ** ********

$116.00

NO

$107.00

$91.67

2

** ****** *** * ********

$318.00

NO

$259.00

 

 

Half of the time the public travel web sites were less expensive than the World Vacation Network.  Hotwire was always less expensive than the World Vacation Network.  The estimated savings on the World Vacation Network was never accurate in every use of their web site that I tried.

Business Response:

Dear BBB of San Diego,

We are responding to the consumer complaint filed by ***** ******, Complaint ID ********* The complaint references numerous issues that were experienced with the website including receiving $500 in “free travel”, the 10 day trial period and the accuracy of the savings that was illustrated in the demo.  

The $500 “travel credit” that was offered in the online demo was deducted from the cost of the travel purchase, which is why the cost of the membership was reduced from $1995 to $1495. We had also sent *** ****** two emails with a variety of alternate accommodations for his stay in San Diego, which offered lower-than-retail pricing.

In a phone call that took place between *** ****** and ******** ***** on December 17th, 2014 at 10:30am, we discussed all four issues outlined in the BBB complaint. We have refunded the purchase price of $1,495 in full and deactivated *** ******’s account. In addition, we have sent *** ****** a $500 travel savings code which can be redeemed to save money on future travel. We encourage *** ****** to reach out to ******** ***** ** ************* if anything further is needed.

We would like our name, World Vacation Network, to be removed from the complaint as we have addressed all complaints outlined in the BBB message, issued a refund for the purchase price and offered a $500 Travel Savings card for the inconvenience experienced by *** ******.

Thank you,

World Vacation Network

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not satisfied for three reasons:

  1. My ******** ******* account still does not reflect the credit
  2. They want their name removed from the complaint - This is totally unacceptable to me.  I want to warn others about their business practices.
  3. There is no admission of wrong doing or of an effort to revise their dishonest business practices.

Regards,

***** ******



Business Response:

Dear BBB of San Diego,

We are responding to the consumer rejection filed by ***** ******, Complaint ID ********* The rejection references that as of December 19th, 2014 *** ****** was not satisfied because he had not received his refund. It has been verified that *** ******** refund has been processed and the funds have returned to the credit card from the original transaction.

In an effort to reconcile the relationship between *** ****** and World Vacation Network, we have offered $500 in travel savings, a full refund and our sincere apology for any inconvenience this has caused *** *******

If there is anything else that can be done to ensure *** ******** concerns have been addressed and resolved, we encourage him to contact ******** ***** ** **************

Thank you,

World Vacation Network

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I want the company to admit in writing that it charged my card in error and that there are serious problems with its business practices which it promises to revise so that others do not have the same difficulties that I have had.

 I want the BBB to make my complaint visible to others who are contemplating doing business with the company.

Regards,

***** ******




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on World Vacation Network
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)