This business is not BBB accredited.

Platinum Interchange

Phone: (800) 854-2324 Fax: (714) 630-2029 View Additional Phone Numbers 4025 E La Palma Ave #101, Anaheim, CA 92807 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers real estate and timeshare services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Platinum Interchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/18/1972 in CA Business incorporated 04/18/1972 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: 1 (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8641
The number is 01075544.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Lynn Hall, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lynn Hall, Complaint Handler
Number of Employees


Business Category

Vacation Time Share Timeshare Companies

Alternate Business Names
Tricom Management Inc Tricom Realty Services Inc
Industry Tips
Timeshare Resale

Additional Locations


    4025 E La Palma Ave #101

    Anaheim, CA 92807


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On two separate occasions, while in our deeded timeshare, managed and maintained by Tricom Management, Anaheim, CA, our thermostats were remotely controlled by the maintenance department, who are employees of Tricom. They were deliberately turning on our air conditioner from a remote location, when the outside temperature was 43 degrees (BACnet System). We have videos of the thermostats being manipulated.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that the business review the videos, with us present and apologize to us.

Business Response:

Thank you, Tricom and On-Site Management in Las Vegas, Nevada have consistently attempted to address and offer solutions to Mr. & Mrs. ******* complaint on many levels over the course of the past few years.

Mr. & Mrs. ***** are timeshare owners at the ****** ****. The ****** **** timeshare (NJCIOA) operates as a not for profit Owners Association. As such the Board of Directors has a fiduciary responsibility to manage all aspects of the property in the best interest of every owner.

One of the reoccurring large expense items is utilities. In an effort to be both fiscally responsibly and environmentally sensitive to energy consumption the Board implemented a system to better manage energy consumption.  Since the implementation of this system in mid – 1980’s we have had no other owners or guests that have complained about this system.

NJCIOA has over 14,000 owners in addition to exchangers and renters that occupy the property (over 400 arrivals each week). The owners appreciate the tremendous cost savings this system offers and are very satisfied with the climate control system evidenced by zero complaints.

The entire property is linked to controls for heating and cooling inclusive of the commercial space. A summarized but detailed explanation on how the system works was shared with Mr. & Mrs. ***** soon after the initial complaint was received by Management. It was explained that the current power consumption and cost to the Association today are similar to the power consumption and cost to the Association that was achieved in the 1980’s and 1990’s due to this system. When adjustments are made to the in-suite thermostats, the computer may take up to 15 minutes to catch up to the settings. Each time the settings are changed it may take up to yet another 15 minutes for the settings to take effect.  It is stated that the team had purposely manipulating the controls in 1 of 348 total suites. It is assured that this did not take place as the team, inclusive of the Chief Engineer and the Assistance Chief Engineer were doing their best to explain and find a solution to Mr. & Mrs. ******* concerns as our owners and guests comfort is always first and foremost.  Many offers have been made for Mr. & Mrs. ***** to attend the scheduled quarterly Board meetings to share their concerns of which Mr. & Mrs. ***** have not been able to attend perhaps due to their personal or business schedule. The Associations Board Meeting dates are made available to the owners every mid – October for the future year for planning purposes for the owners to be able to attend and address the Board. Board meeting protocol has also been shared with Mr. & Mrs. ***** on multiple occasions as well. Managements end solution was to release ALL controls to the heating and cooling system to any suite that Mr. & Mrs. ***** may occupy each year during their visit so they may operate the heating and cooling for their personal comfort without having to wait for the computer to catch up to each setting.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear ******,

Thank you for the information, again, about how the heating / cooling system works at the ****** ****.  We noticed you missed some important facts.  1) This happened to us in two separate suites, on two separate occasions, not one as you stated.  2)  The problem was not that we had to wait for the heating/ cooling unit to respond, it was responding, as you well know.  It was turning on the air conditioner (cooling the room and it was wintertime).  3)  You failed to mention the two videos we have, of the thermostats "cooling" our units, that we have requested ****** to view and respond to, which you have not done.  4) You failed to address the two threatening letters we received, in regards to this issue of viewing the two videos.  5) The reason that no other owner has complained, since the heating/ cooling system was installed in the 1980's, is because you never negatively manipulated another owner's thermostat.  6) In the years we have been pursuing this, you have never challenged our allegation that the thermostat can be manipulated by maintenance.  7)  You used the words "commercial space" for a reason.  The BACnet system installed at the ****** **** (JC) is meant for commercial use.  However, JC is using it in the residential, deeded suites.  We agree that the system is a real cost savings, when it is not used maliciously against an owner.  You have admitted that this heating/ cooling system is remotely controllable, by saying you will remove ours from the BACnet system in whatever room we are in.  8) We live in Hawaii and cannot easily attend Board meetings.  And since this Board refuses to communicate with us and there are no laws in Nevada for deeded timeshare owners, *** will run for the Board to communicate this situation with the other owners and maybe we can resolve this in that manner.

In the interest of a simple resolution, we again ask that ****** agree to a meeting with us, view the two videos we have of the thermostats being manipulated (now three videos, as the same issue arose this morning), and possibly apologize or arrive at another agreeable resolution.


****** and *********  *****

1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


The purpose of this complaint is to explore ongoing problems in the business/client relationship we (**** *** ******** *******) have with Platinum Interchange (PI), to request some answers, and to explore ways to improve the relationship. We became clients about August 2010. At that time, we made it very clear that we were not interested in a normal customer relationship, one which would involve only a few timeshare exchanges per year. We discussed at length, and PI agreed, that we would be a large customer – one depositing and exchanging a large number of vacation weeks – and that you understood and approved that we would be renting the weeks we obtained from you. At the beginning, and at several times thereafter, we inquired and were assured that we would have unrestricted access to all PI inventory.

We do not believe there is or should be any disagreement on these facts. After PI had used and profited from the inventory we deposited with you, you began to deny us access to your inventory. The following expense summary shows the steep decline in our exchange (and related) fees paid to PI. It is our position that PI's denial of inventory caused the revenue decline shown here: 2010 $3000 2011 $20,000 2012 $47,000 2013 $22,000 2014 $10,000 In addition, PI is now attempting to “expire” deposited weeks and credits. This is an apparent effort to zero-out our account, without compensating us. PI does not maintain an open accounting system, so we cannot manage our account status and transactions. We gave PI significant valuable assets. In return, PI has not honored its many promises and commitments to us. Now, having used and profited from our assets, PI has all the power, but is wielding it in an irresponsible manner. Had we known that you were going to act this way, we would not have opened a business relationship with you. Sadly, it is impossible for us to turn back time, to take back our assets and get away from you.

Desired Settlement: If PI wants to continue working with us, we need to improve the relationship. PI can work with us to ease restrictions be providing us full access to all inventory,provide us a full accounting of all transactions on our accounts, restore all expired weeks, bonus weeks, and credits, eliminating expiration dates on all, thus allowing us to achieve a fair return (over time) for the valuable products and services (estimated $100-$200K in timeshare deposits) we provided you. Any agreement we reach should be in writing. If PI wants to end the relationship, PI can propose a financial settlement which, upon our acceptance, would enable you to close out our account. If PI wishes to mediate and to share the costs thereof, we would consider that option. If you wish to interact directly with us, in a genuine effort to resolve our differences, we are willing to do so. And while it should be clear that we are not happy, we believe that our issues can be simply and satisfactorily addressed.

Business Response: Platinum Interchange is fully aware of this complaint and is handling it internally.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is a laughably bad faith response and does not address my complaint.  If they were "handling it internally", would I need to file a complaint with the BBB bout it?  I request that their BBB approval be terminated and or their grade be changed to an "F".


**** *******

8/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on September 2014 and November 15,2014, I made a reservation for my Nephew to stay as a guest requested the front office or reservation department a change of address to **** ************* ***** ******** effectively received a confirmation letter on mentioned address again on November approximately second week made another reservation for my sister's family to stay at jockey club result to be accommodated on December 8-9,2014 again reminded staff on front desk that all communications should be forwarded to new address at **** **** ****** was assured that address had been updated.On last week of April I called front office and was inquiring billing information for the maintenance fee which surpised me that my account have been on default I received a letter informing me that Im on foreclosure I sent a written explanation on why this late payment happened and up to this time did not received any response In the past there were and I humbly admit that there were late payments due to unattended mail due to my change of address that's why I updated front desk on my new addressI am willing to settle my balance and update my account as needed as this Time share Unit is not only my share it is shared between me and my sisters my I am sincerely indebted to any attention you can spare or provide regading this time share ownership condominium unit1/52

Desired Settlement: to pay incurred penalties and due payment to update account

Business Response:

**********      ********** ******** ********   *******************

Re: Complaint # ********

     Upon review of the documentation at the resort and the owner file we are unable to locate any documentation that reflects that the address was changed September or November 15, 2014 as outlined in the complaint.  All address changes that are made through the reservation process are documented with a carbon copy receipt and then scanned, faxed or emailed to the department that updates, documents, and saves the address change information to the owner file and the computer system.  In addition to documenting address changes; the Association also tracks and researches returned mail and searches for new addresses when return mail is received.  Additionally, an address change or post card was not received from the post office; which would have been saved and documented because the Association pays the post office for address changes that are submitted through the USPS address change system.  We understand that perhaps while there was intent to update the address, it does not appear to have taken place, been given verbally to the wrong department, or was not received, thus the reservation system reflects that the “old” address was printed on the reservation confirmation that was emailed to the customer after the reservation was made.


    The Account reflects that Mrs. ******** called in on April 28, 2015 and updated her address verbally at that time with a representative in the corporate office.  During that phone call Mrs. ******** was informed her that an address change was not previously received.  All subsequent notices were mailed to the new address and were confirmed as received when one of the latest notices was sent via certified mail.  


     It is understandable that the address change may or may not have been given to the reservation agent at the resort and not received in the records department; however, the time to bring that up would have been in November when the old address was printed on the reservation confirmation.  While the Association’s collection policy indicates that ALL address changes are to be made with the corporate office of the management company, and the invoices provide instructions that inform customers that they may send address changes to the corporate office; via email, fax, online, or over the phone; it does not appear as though any of the recommended methods were used. 


     In addition to the lack of receipt of an updated address in April 2015 when Mrs. ******** called; the account was left unpaid through July 29, 2014, which is 3 ½ months later.  Subsequently, we have spoken with Mrs. ********, the address has been updated in the Associations ownership roster, and she has paid the account in full resulting in the account being removed from foreclosure and placed back into current status.


It appears as though this situation is resolved and the account is in good standing.

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a week at a timeshare in Oceanside, CA, called Aquamarine Villas. The on-site management at Aquamarine Villas said to call Tricom to sell the unit. On 11 June 2015 I called and left a voice mail message for ****** to call me back to discuss the sale. ****** never called me back. On 17 June I called again. I spoke to ***, the telephone receptionist. *** said I should talk to ****. **** was in a meeting. I didnt want to leave another voice mail message, since it appeared the voice mail doesnt work at Tricom. *** said she would leave a note on ****s desk for **** to call me. It has been over one month and no one from Tricom has called me. Clearly Tricom is not a reliable business.

Desired Settlement: Tricom should contact me to discuss the sale of my time share week, or other options. Failing that, Tricom's business license should be revoked.

Business Response:

Upon review of the file and information relating to Mr. ******’s account, we were able to determine that we have had a long term relationship without blemish.  As far as I can tell Mr. ****** wanted Tricom’s help with selling his TimeShare and it appears as though he left a message and did not receive a return call.  We are very sorry that Mr. ****** did not receive the call he was waiting for and once we found out about his concerns we called him immediately.  After a couple of conversations we determined that his options through our office were limited but offered a few suggestions for future reference.  It is not clear why Mr. ****** did not receive the initial call back because we strive to return calls as soon as possible, same day, or following business day if call volume warrants; but this doesn’t happen very often.  Tricom adheres to a "customer first" philosophy and not only strives to respond quickly and professionally but also looks for ways to provide proactive customer service when possible.  It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** did not receive the high level of customer service we strive to give all of our customers and have complied with the Desired Settlement request as quickly and efficiently as possible.


4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I stayed at the Magic Tree Resort in Orlando, FL during the first week of December 2014. It was our first timeshare experience . We had requested waterproof mattresses as our 2 year old child was having problems wetting the bed. It was on our second night of our stay when laid our two year old child down for the night we first noticed sugar ants to the left of the refrigerator on the counter top. I had forgotten to call management when we planned on going to sleep in the same bed. We soon found that our little one had wet the bed and there was no waterproof sheet as requested. In taking all the sheets off to watch my wife uncovered a silverfish in the bed we originally thought was dead. We immediately called the front desk and explained what we had experienced that night and requested an exchange of rooms. We were told the front desk had to consult with an offsite manager to see what they should do. The offsite manager instructed them to get someone from room services to air out the bed and advised we might be responsible for the charge if they could not dry the bed. We never received an apology for the sugar ants or live silverfish living under the sheets Surprised by the offsite managers instructions, comments, lack of apology and willingness to exchange rooms. My wife and I requested to speak to the offsite manager. We were told that the offsite manager refused to talk to us and that we should sleep on the (pee ridden) bed and maybe he would discuss the problem with us in the morning. Being a long time ****** ****** member, ******** *******, and ******** ****** I was shocked and knew to the company which originally set up this reservation, ******** *************, and made the request to be moved to another property given our experience with the room and the shockingly bad offsite managers lack of customer service. They immediately put us up in ******** ******* ****** location.

Desired Settlement: The front desk relayed this message to the offsite manager to which he said, "I don't care what ******** ************* has to say or does. They will wait until tomorrow if they want to talk about it then." With this attitude and experience I suggest this manager be fired and replaced by the powerless front desk and room service staff we found to be the exact opposite of the offsite manager. To this I have formally requested ******** ************* remove the Magic Tree property from its list of timeshare locations until this manager is removed and the front desk gains more power to make decisions. I also suggested the front desk personnel take this managers place and for the establishment of an onsite manager ******, ********, and ******** ********** make as mandatory.

Business Response:

We have no record of this guest calling before their arrival. If they had called, they would have been informed to please provide pull-ups for the child. Magic Tree Resort does not furnish waterproof mattresses.


This guest  arrived the evening of the 30th of November after hours and picked up their key from the lockbox.  We asked the guest to please come down the following day to register. On the morning of December 1st,  the guest did come in late morning and register, never mentioning any issues or problems.


Later in the evening after 9pm,  the guest called the front desk and reported their two-year old child had soiled the mattress.  They also stated they called and requested mattress protectors due to the child having issues and wanted to be moved to another suite.  Since it was after hours our employees were instructed to leave the guests in the same suite and use the sleeper sofa, and we would speak to them in the morning. The guests became irate and stated bugs and ants were in the suite and requested to move to another suite.  They were not moved that night, and chose to leave the property.


We normally charge for property damage to our suites but chose not to charge the guest for the soiled mattress.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Sadly again, the Property Manager of the Magic Tree who has presumably wrote this response, because he is still not listening to the patron of their resort and reading what the patron of their resort has to say.

As stated in my original BBB complaint, my wife called days in advance requesting a waterproof MATTRESS, not PULL-UPS, which we had for our children.

My belief this statement is coming from the Property Manager is because the day shift staff and after hour staff were as accommodating as possible given their limited powers. I have formally requested, Tricom Management Owners of Magic Tree Resort, and ******** *************, who dictates which properties to include in their timeshare portfolio, somehow find a way to give this Magic Tree normal hours/after hours staff powers that other hotel and resort chains (Marriott, Hilton, etc.) give all of their staff as part of customer satisfaction.

What the Property Manager of the Magic Tree says in the second paragraph is true when providing timeline of arrival and initial impression of property when I just woke up and went downstairs to check in without fully inspecting the room while my  wife went about unloading luggage brought with us our trip.

The Property Manager of the Magic Tree also provides an accurate timeline within the third paragraph as we had a lot of fun places to take our kids to in a short amount of time returning back to Magic Tree later that night.

From here, I disagree with what the Property Manager of the Magic Tree has to say as in all of our years staying at ********, ******, ********, etc. never ever has any property told us to just deal with and  to sleep on a pull out sofa until the morning. They would NEVER tell their customers to do so from the  preventable problems my family experienced with the sugar ants to the left of the refrigerator on the counter-top and the alive silverfish found under the bedsheets where a waterproof MATTRESS should have either been provided or placed over the mattress.

The Property Manager of the Magic Tree's use of the word of irate is wrong my wife and I were shocked and speechless a property manager would refuse to talk to a patron and tell the patron to deal with the problem until the next morning where MAYBE the Property Manager of the Magic Tree would speak to us.

In conclusion, the Property Manager of the Magic Tree's respone has now prompted me to file a formal complaint with Florida Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division hopefully bringing further attention/scrutiny  to the Property Manager of the Magic Tree's negligence and lack of customer care.

Sadly, my wife and I apologize to the normal duty/after hour staff of the Magic Tree Resort any repercussions our complaints may have as they did as much as they were empowered to do.


******* *.

We have no record of this guest calling before their arrival. If they had called, they would have been informed to please provide pull-ups for the child. Magic Tree Resort does not furnish waterproof mattresses.


This guest  arrived the evening of the 30th of November after hours and picked up their key from the lockbox.  We asked the guest to please come down the following day to register. On the morning of December 1st,  the guest did come in late morning and register, never mentioning any issues or problems.


Later in the evening after 9pm,  the guest called the front desk and reported their two-year old child had soiled the mattress.  They also stated they called and requested mattress protectors due to the child having issues and wanted to be moved to another suite.  Since it was after hours our employees were instructed to leave the guests in the same suite and use the sleeper sofa, and we would speak to them in the morning. The guests became irate and stated bugs and ants were in the suite and requested to move to another suite.  They were not moved that night, and chose to leave the property.


We normally charge for property damage to our suites but chose not to charge the guest for the soiled mattress.

10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won a unit at Palm Springs Tennis Club and have paid my maintenance fees but they will not allow me to book a reservation for Oct 18, 2014. They referred my account to a collection agency and I provided them with cashed checks not applied to my account. I asked for an update I spent a lot of time I should not have needed to and the info has been lost neither the collection agency or Tricom got back to me now they are asking me to start all over again. I feel I should be able to make my reservation and get an account statement and some sort of credit for my wasted time

Desired Settlement: credit to my account and make a reservation

Business Response:

     Mr. ***** owns a timeshare at the Palm Springs Tennis Club (PSTC) and is responsible to pay annual maintenance fees.  The owner’s association allows for quarterly installments which are due on or before the first day of each quarter; Oct 1st, Jan 1st, Apr 1st, & Jul 1st.  Pursuant to the Palm Springs Tennis Club collection policy, owners are invoiced thirty days prior to the due date, and then given a fifteen day grace period before receiving a late charge.  A past due notice is mailed after 16 days past due, then a 2nd past due notice if the account remains unpaid for an additional 15 days.  If left unpaid the account then transfers to a collection agency and then foreclosure.

     Mr. ***** paid current for the April 2013 quarter then the next payment received was six months later on September 25, 2013.  When the July payment was not received, two past due notices were mailed at the appropriate times per the PSTC collection policy.  September 4, 2013 Mr. ***** wrote on one of the collection notices that he paid.   On September 24, 2013 during a phone conversation, we Let Mr. ***** know again that the last payment received was April 2, 2013, asked for the check number(s) and if it (they) cleared,  and Mr. ***** said that he would need to look into it.  November 12, 2013 the account started the preliminary stages of the foreclosure process due to non payment and lack of proof of payment.  December 24, 2013 Mr. ***** tried to make a reservation and was denied due to the status of the balances.  We asked for the check number and date cleared so that additional research could be done and Mr. ***** said that he sent it to the collections office but didn't receive a reply, and that he would not provide it again.  January 3, 2014 we placed the account on hold for additional research and then January 6, 2014 we verified with the operations director of the collection agency that they did not receive the backup that Mr. ***** claimed to have sent.  January 6, 2014 left a voice mail message for Mr. ***** to ask for the check number, amount paid, and date cleared, and as of yet we have not received a reply.

     At this time, the Association is willing to give Mr. ***** the benefit of the doubt and credit him for the July 2013 installment payment in the amount of $170.55 with the request that he provide a copy of the front and back of the negotiated check that he told us was cashed.  Additionally, the Association will reverse the $350.00 in late charges, collection fees, and preliminary foreclosure costs that were assessed to the account so that Mr. ***** can make a reservation.  The Association will give Mr. ***** until April 1, 2014 to provide the Association with a copy of the negotiated check (front and back).  If the requested documentation is not received within the three months provided then the good faith credit that was issued in the amount of $170.55 and the $350.00 of costs, fees, and charges, will all be returned to the account and the Palm Springs Tennis Club will continue with the collection process if left unpaid at that time.  Mr. ***** also needs to pay $177.37, or provide the same backup as listed above for, January’s payment as well.  The current installment that was due on January 1, 2014 is now past due.

    In summary, Mr. ***** has not provided the Association or the Collection Agency with proof of payment of any kind and is currently past due for the January 2014 maintenance fees as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I filed a complaint in January of 2014 against Tricom Management in Anaheim that has never been resolved but you show as closed.I have repeatedly provided information to Tricom on various payments that have been made but never cashed. For my April 2014 payment I even obtained a postal receipt which I provided to prove the payment was sent.  It disappeared when it got to Tricom's lockbox and was never applied to my account.  Their bank  (not Tricom) advised how I can make online payments I have never dealt with a company that has so much trouble processing or accounting for payments  They have launched investigations but never responded what they found.  I am being charged late fees and been blocked from using my unit.

Additionally Tricom mixed my account with another couple with the same last name when provided with this information no explanation or apology was offered

Please do NOT reflect this account as resolved in any way.

Business Response:  This letter is to follow up on your new complaint to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding maintenance fees and use of your timeshare.

As you are aware, we resolved your previous complaint with the BBB by giving you the benefit of the doubt and credited your account for the missing payment that you believed at the time to have been cashed but not applied to your account. The credit was issued in the amount of $170.55 and we extended to you an additional 90 days to provide a copy of the cancelled check showing that it was received and cashed. As stated in the previous reply to the BBB, if the backup was not received by April 1, 2014 then we would have to remove the credit from the account due to lack of payment and lack of receipt of a cancelled check.

In your most recent complaint, you mentioned that the lock box service is outsourced and that you have had problems making your payments. You also mentioned that your April 2014 payment was not received and that you provided documentation showing that you mailed it. Please be aware that we service thousands of timeshare owners on a quarterly basis and do not have this problem with other owners.

This Association has not had a problem with other owners’ payments going missing and the lock box is at the Association’s bank and they process all payments the day they are received. While we would like to help you, the only way for you to bring the account current at this time would be for you to replace the payment that was not previously received. The amount due on your account at this time to bring the account current is $137.92, which should be made payable to the Palm Springs Tennis Club.

In the past three years you have filed three complaints with the Better Business Bureau because of the difficulties you are having and we have reached out to you numerous times over the phone, via email, and through the US Post Office. During that period of time, the Association has reversed $490 in late charges and collection costs in an effort to help you get back on track and bring the account current. We are making every effort to contact you and resolve this matter. We are highly accessible. Just last week when you called, I called you back and left a message then because we missed each other, I sent you an email and left two more voicemails letting you know that if you outlined several times that you would be available, then I would adjust my schedule accordingly to make sure we could talk but I have not received a reply from you about that offer. Instead of a reply we received another complaint from the Better business bureau.

It appears as though you are not happy and while we have continued to reach out to you and reverse charges perhaps an alternative resolution is in order. As a special accommodation, which is not normally offered, the Association is willing to accept the timeshare in lieu of payment of future assessments. From time to time the Association is willing to consider taking the property back and usually the account must be paid for the current year’s assessments and all of the hard costs involved with conveying title from the owner to the Association. The hard costs range from $250 to $500 and usually are to be covered by the owner transferring the property, but in an effort to help you the Association is willing to forego payment if the past due and future assessments and will cover all of the hard costs, providing you let us know if you’re interested within the next seven (7) days and agree to return any & all paperwork that is mailed to you within 30 days of starting the process.

If you are interested in accepting the offer to relieve you of your obligation to pay maintenance fees then please sign and return this letter prior to 5:00 pm October 10, 2014. If you are not interested in this offer then you may send in the past due balance and we can have someone from the resort give you a call to help you with making a reservation which will be subject to availability.

If you would like to discuss your account then you may reach us by calling 714.777.3700 or contact us via e-mail at, otherwise, please sign and return this letter indicating acceptance, or remit $137.92 to bring the account current.

Thank you, we look forward to your reply.

On Behalf of the Board of Directors of the
Palm Springs Tennis Club Owners Association

****** ** ***
Accounts Receivable, Manager

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 24,2013 I made an agreement with Platinum Interchange, Agent *******, to exchange a 1 bedroom times share I had on deposit with them for a 2 bedroom timeshare at the Windham, Flagstaff, Az. The date form the week at Windham is Aug 2, 2014. At the time ******* suggested I could trade the one bedroom on deposit for the two bedroom timeshare at Windham by paying an upgrade fee, which I paid. I discussed with her my one bedroom on deposit was a "bonus week" and had some qualifying features. She assured me it was OK and proceeded with the transaction, sending me a written confirmation and collecting my fee. Now I learn they will not honor that transaction and have arbitrarily taken the two bedroom I had on deposit and did not even discuss it with me. They refuse to honor the original deal.I think California consumer law will require them to honor this transaction as it was made in good faith by both parties. I did offer a compromise but they refuse even though there is no monetary loss. Product_Or_Service: timeshare exchange Order_Number: *********3 Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to honor an agreement made in good faith by both parties.Since Platinum Interchange can only be a winner by honoring this transaction I do not understand their action.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,

I spoke with Mr. ******* today regarding complaint #******* which involved a vacation deposit and exchange he made through Platinum Interchange in 2013. Platinum Interchange refunded an upgrade fee of $97.00 back in October of 2013, and when we spoke today Mr. ******* told me he had put the issue behind him quite a while ago. He said he lodged the complaint with the BBB because he just wanted to hear from someone in a position of authority at Platinum Interchange. As the Reservations Manager for PI I was happy to speak to him. I explained to him that I joined the company last December and was unaware of this issue until we received the email from the BBB over the weekend. He was very pleased to hear from me. I also sent him an email detailing the remaining weeks he has on deposit with Platinum Interchange so he can start planning some more trips. Mr. ******* now has my name, phone number and email address and I have asked him to contact me in the future if he has any questions or concerns. Mr. ******* told me he had a long history of working with Platinum Interchange and was very happy with our Vacation Counselors and the service they have provided over the years. He thanked me for calling him and we ended the call. I am very pleased with the way our conversation went, and I am confident there will be no further complaints from Mr. ******* regarding this issue.


****** ** *******

Reservations Manager

Platinum Interchange

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Platinum Interchange
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)