Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Sandy Beach Rentals

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 488-7100 Fax: (858) 225-3687 2990 Mission Blvd #101, San Diego, CA 92109 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sandybeachrentals.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation home rentals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sandy Beach Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sandy Beach Rentals include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sandy Beach Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2001 Business started: 10/30/1998 in CA Business incorporated 01/06/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://bre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 1 (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8641
The number is 01929083.

California Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://bre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 1 (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8641
The number is 01390846.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Daphinne Accomazzo, CEO Mr. Gene D Accomazzo, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Daphinne Accomazzo, CEO
Principal: Mr. Gene D Accomazzo, CFO
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Vacation Rentals Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Time Share

Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
Affordable Beach Rentals SandyBeachRentals.com

Additional Locations

  • 2990 Mission Blvd #101

    San Diego, CA 92109 (858) 488-7100

  • PO Box 7071

    San Diego, CA 92167

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about March 25th, 2013 I rented a beach house from Sandy Beach Rentals for 1 week, they required a security/damage deposit of $500.00. After a long ongoing list of excuses about the conditions of the property, SBR is now threatening to keep my entire deposit. SBR claims that I had a "dog" which was not permitted pursuant to the contract, I find that a false accusation. SBR have a security system and I demand for them to provide me with physical proof of their accusations. Not only they are accusing me of staining their "white" sofa and charging me as if the sofa was being reupholstered. Additionally, I paid an additional $100.00 for a late departure; SBR provided me with a new entry access code which DID NOT work. Therefore, I couldn't re-enter the property to enjoy the additional time paid for. Furthermore, SBR is also charging me for "overused" bath towels. SBR accused me of damaging the property's WHITE bath towels. I find all of these accusations to be false and untruth. When I finally accepted their conditions and signed the rental agreement SBR apologized to me for the "ongoing" construction of their build it grill at the back yard, when we arrived the construction was going on at the house next door. I would not be surprised if they're confusing me with a different tenant or simply their management team needs some additional training. It is obvious that SBR have bad communication problems and the only ones taking loss of such are the renters.

Desired Settlement: I required a full refund of the security/damage deposit which is $500.00

Business Response:

We have made the refund of the security deposit back to the guest. When our guest departed the house inspector and housekeepers sent over a report that the sofa cover was soiled on the arms. This was going to require additional cleaning. There were also several towels that had stains on them that appeared to be make up. The stains did not come out with the first laundry. They needed to be treated to see if they could be laundered out. There was a hand towel missing and there also was dog hair found on the jute rug in the living area.

The guest had requested information on her deposit via email. At that time I looked into her reservation and found that the deposit was pending due to the outcome of the cleaning issues. I sent her an email requesting information regarding having a dog at the property, missing towel, and let her know that I was waiting to hear about the sofa.

 

We then spoke on the phone. The guest was very upset and I feel she misunderstood what was happening. I was not accusing her but rather requesting information as we have had guests sneak in dogs in the past. She told me at that time that she did not have a dog. I also needed to folllow up with the housekeeping crew to see what happened with the linens and the sofa. Sandy Beach Rentals did not communicate properly when the guest departed. When we received the information regarding the cleaning, dog, and missing towel an email should have been sent to the guest letting them know that we were looking into this and the deposit would be refunded once we had the report and final outcome. We have on our contract that we refund the guest within 14 days of their departure. It had been 17 days when this guest had phoned.

We did make a mistake on communication however it is never our intent to hold a deposit without cause. Once we find out what has happened we then return it minus any damage and a lletter of explanation. Please let me know if there is anything else we need to do. When the guest code expired on the departure day, they called our emergency line and we gave them another code so that they could stay later.

 

During this reservation, our office flooded and we had construction going on for 2 weeks. This caused a major disruption in our normal work environment and the quality of our work was reduced. This is not an excuse but it is what happened and unfortunately our service was effected during this time. This information was not given to the guest.

******** *********

************ direct

Here is a copy of the email sent on April 18th:

 

Dear ****,

Thank you for the call yesterday. I was able to get more information from the housekeeping service after we spoke on the phone. They were able to spot clean the sofa on the arms where it was soiled. They were also able to get the stains out of the towels. There is still one hand towel missing which we can replace.
Please understand that it was not my intent to discourage you when I asked about the towels and the dog hair. There was dog hair found on the carpet. We have no idea how that could have occured as you were the only guest in the property. We did have a contractor come in and take care of the lights over the dining room table prior to your arrival and I have verified with him that he did not bring in a dog. I appologize for holding your deposit however there is a process to find out what occured. We did error as you should have been notified of these issues earlier by email. I appologize for the miscommunication.

We were booked full the week of Easter so this was a very busy time for us. We get an immediate report from the home inspector at which time we are supposed to notify our guests and ask if they have any information. We then follow up one when there is any damages or issues with the property.

I hope you did enjoy your visit. It was not my intent to upset you in anyway. There are so many things that could and do happen with the properties. We have to ask and do the research so that we can find out what happened. Thank you for letting me know that you did not have a dog on the property. I do hope we can have the opportunity to have you stay with us in the future.

Best regards,
******** *********


We hope you enjoyed your beach home and have great memories and great photos to remind you of your time in San Diego. Your Security Deposit has been returned to your credit card ******** Bank. Please verify with your bank card holder as to when they will post the $500 credit to your account. The funds will be debited from our account end of business today, however your bank card may not make an immediate credit depending on the terms they hold with you, the cardholder. Please contact them directly to request your funds be placed back onto your card if you do not see a credit within 72 hours.

Don't forget about our monthly photo contest! Email us your favorite vacation photo to enter the contest. Our winner will receive a $200 discount on their next one reservation with Sandy Beach Rentals.

Lastly, as you are a valued customer, please take a moment to write a brief review for us on google. Just copy & paste the following link it into a new window. Thanks!
***************************************************************************************************************************************

We hope to accommodate your vacation needs for years to come. We will always offer you at least a $50 repeat guest discount on any of our homes in San Diego or Sandpoint Idaho!

Warmest regards,

Sandy Beach Rentals
858-488-7100
Great Memories| Great Service|Great Homes
www.SandyBeachRentals.com
www.sandpointvacationhomes.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As of today my credit card has not received the reimbursement for the deposit in question. 

Regards,

**** ********

 

Business Response:

Here is a copyo of the refund. The guest needs to contact their credit card company and ask them when they will make the credit to their account. The funds have been debited from Sandy Beach Renatls 4/18/13.

Thank you,

******** *********

Invoice Details

Reference # ******-***
Guest **** ****** ********
********* ** ****** ****** ** ********* ** ***** ***** ********
Property Sandy Beach Rentals
Status CLEARED
Source public api
Channel online
Initiated By Escapia Payments @ Escapia Inc
Date Submitted Thu Apr 18 14:28:45 PDT 2013


Line Items
Date Ref # Category Status Statement Amount
18 Apr 2013
14:28:45 PDT
********* CREDIT - Payment Amount CLEARED Recaptured: *********
$500.00


Transactions
Date Ref # Type Status Details Amount
18 Apr 2013
14:28:45 PDT
*********
#
****
CLEARED View >> -$500.00