This business is not BBB accredited.

Doctors Express of Oceanside

Phone: (888) 693-7797 Fax: (760) 216-6283 View Additional Phone Numbers 4171 Oceanside Blvd #109, Oceanside, CA 92056

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers urgent care for non-life-threatening illnesses or injuries in Oceanside and Carlsbad.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Doctors Express of Oceanside include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Doctors Express of Oceanside
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2012 Business started: 05/05/2010 in CA Business started locally: 02/01/2011 Business incorporated 05/05/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Medical Board of California
1434 Howe Avenue #92, Sacramento CA 95825-3236
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
Fax Number: (916) 263-2387
The number is 40880. On 2/12/2013 BBB confirmed that the license from Medical Board of California expired.

Medical Board of California
1434 Howe Avenue #92, Sacramento CA 95825-3236
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
Fax Number: (916) 263-2387
The number is 67093.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Kari Knowles , Center Administrator Dr. Alireza Etemadi
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Kari Knowles , Center Administrator
Related Businesses
Doctors Express Urgent Care of Santee Doctors Express of Bonita
Number of Employees


Business Category

Urgent Care Centers Health & Medical - General

Method(s) of Payment
We accept cash, e-checks and all major credit cards (including American Express)
Industry Tips
Cancer Treatment Scams

Additional Locations


    4171 Oceanside Blvd #109

    Oceanside, CA 92056 (760) 216-6253 (888) 693-7797


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my son to this office while on vacation in Oceanside. He needed to be seen for possible ********* ***. They asked if we had insurance and I showed proof of insurance. I was never told up front that I had an option to pay cash. They did require a $** co-pay fee up front. When the bill arrived, they charged $*** of which my insurance paid $******, leaving me with the remainder of $******. I argued with the company that $*** is a high charge for looking in my son's ear. In addition, he only saw a nurse practitioner as well, no Doctor. I asked what the cash price was had I not told them I had no insurance and the company said $***. I am outraged that I am required to pay more for a visit than a person paying cash. It seems wrong that I pay insurance premiums and pay more for office visits.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bill settled as is. At this point, Doctors Express of Oceanside has been paid $****** for the service rendered- $** from me and $****** from my son's health insurance provider. That is more than they would have received if I had paid cash. I do not think I should be required to pay the additional $****** they are requesting.

Business Response:

November 19, 2014,
BBB Complaint Response
Patient Name: ***** ******
Patient DOB: **********
Health Plan: ****** ********
Date of Service: 06/18/2014
Re: Complaint
10: ********

Dear ****** ******,
4171 Oceanside Boulevard, suite109
Oceanside, CA 92056
Phone: ************ Fox: ************
Monday- Friday 8:ooam -8:00pm
Saturday - Sunday 8:00am-8:00pm

This letter serves as our formal response to the complaint fi led by **** **** ******* (ID
* *******). I want to thank you for forwarding me the actual complaint, as we just received it
today, November 19,2014. I have read the complaint and discovered many false statements
and I will enclose our proof along with this letter. We see two types of patient here; self- pay
patients (pay out of pocket) and insurance patients. This patient was seen on June 06, 2014,
and at the time of service we took the patient's insurance, which is ****** ********* Self- pay
rates are only offered to those without insurance or those who decline the assignment of
benefits with their insurance at the time of service. Insurance rates are higher due to
contractual reductions. Because the patient was insured, and we have a contract with ****** ********, we proceeded to see the patient through her insurance.

On the patients insurance card it states the patient has a **% Co-insurance after the
deductible has been met. We billed the insurance a charge of $******, which was
contractually reduced by $***** *, leaving a balance of $****** for the patient. This balance
of $****** went to the patient's deductible and it is their responsibility to pay. The insurance
reduced our bill and they have not paid us a cent. At the time of service we collected $*****
from the patient which goes toward the patient's deductible, yielding a new balance of
$****** as the patient responsibility. Again, we received no payment from the insurance and
I have attached our billing paperwork that reflects this.
Secondly, we have no Nurse Practitioners in our Urgent Care. We only employ MD's,
DO's and PA's {Physician Assistants) . I
Thirdly, if the patient no longer has insurance, we can offer them our discounted selfpay
rates. If you pay attention to the patient insurance card it states the benefits the patient
is entitled to after meeting the deductible. In this case, had the patient satisfied their
deductible, the patient is only responsible for **%, which would have been approximately
$*****. It is beyond our control to determine patient deductibles. That is between the patient
and their insurance company. Some people have a small deductible and some patient have
a higher deductible. Again, this is not our responsibility.
Finally, we had our Medical Director review the case, and determined the patient was
provided excellent medical care.

To summarize, we did not get any payment from the insurance. We did not bill
improperly but instead as contractually obligated. This issue comes down to the patient's
deductible, which is between her and her insurance carrier. I do understand that she feels the
self-pay option, which is also due upfront at the time of service, is less that what she currently
owes; however, we face the same things depending on insurance carriers. Some insurance
carriers contractually pay us more and some pay us less.
Lastly, we did try to contact the patient to explain to her what had transpired and she
hung up on us. Please review the attached proof, which reveals that we have not received
any payment from the insurance and a copy of the patient's insurance card as well as our
communication notes with the patient.
If you have any additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact me at the number
listed below. I would like to formally ask you to dismiss this case as we have done nothing
remotely wrong.
Yours in health,

****** *******
Administrative Manager
4171 Oceanside Blvd. Suite 1 09
Oceanside, CA 92056
P: ************
F: ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Again, my main concern is the fact that the charge for the service is at a higher pay rate than had I paid cash.  At the time of service, I was not told that by using my insurance, I would be charged at a significantly higher rate $*** vs. $***.  I understand I am responsible for the payment regarding my deductible.  I do get how insurance works.  Again, my complaint is the discrepancy is rates charged.  Now, from my understanding, ****** ******** gets a $****** deduction, but that does not change the fact that the initial charge was significantly higher.  

From the bill I received, it looked as though the insurance had paid $******.  If that is not the case, I am willing to pay the $****** co-pay already paid that would have been the charge had I paid cash on the date of service.


**** *******