BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Resort Destinations Unlimited

Phone: (760) 448-1200 Fax: (760) 448-1222 7220 Avenida Encinas   #208, Carlsbad, CA 92011 http://www.rdudestinations.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers members only destinations for timeshares and non timeshare owners.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Resort Destinations Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Resort Destinations Unlimited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Resort Destinations Unlimited include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Resort Destinations Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 2012 Business started: 08/26/2010 in CA Business started locally: 08/26/2010 Business incorporated: 01/30/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Gisele Peiro, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gisele Peiro, CFO
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Travel Clubs

Alternate Business Names
HP Consultants Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7220 Avenida Encinas  #208

    Carlsbad, CA 92011

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problem # 1. **** ********, who represents HP Consultants visited my home on April 22, 2013 to discuss purchasing our time share. We arranged a 10am appointment but, she arrived at 9:30am and did not leave our home until 8:15pm that evening. Determined to close the sale after me repeatedly telling her that I'm a travel agent and have no need to invest in another travel service. She wanted to know how much I made and insisted that by joining ResortTime Unlimited.com I would be able to make real commissions instead of what I'm currently earning through my travel site. I asked how? She suggested opening a merchant account with a bank to charge my clients directly through the account. That would mean charging them more than they would currently pay on my travel site. I wanted to look at the travel site, but she said that she could show me on paper, as it takes 5-7 business days to activate the account. In reality, she could have shown me her membership site on my computer, but if she had done that, I would have known that it's a site for time share owners, which she knew I had no interest in investing in or paying an annual fee on top of a start up fee. I should have been more persistent and seen through her lies. I have a BA with a minor in marketing and I was completely duped. Imagine the people who are taken advantage of with no recourse. This has to change. As the day progressed, **** insisted that I'd be on my way to making real money and went over the purchase fees - $22,495 for the purchase price less $16,000 trade in allowance discount. totalling $6,495 in the net purchase price. I repeatedly said that I couldn't afford to purchase a membership at this time. My husband, who was listening to ****'s sales pitch for a period of time in another room before he left the house, clearly stated that if we sold our time share we would need to see a cash profit, as we are not in a position to buy anything at this time and warned me not to sign anything. We did not have a single credit card that we could charge that amount to and that was the end of it. She wouldn't leave. I clearly explained that we were in the middle of qualifying to refinance our home and I'm in the currently cancelling all unnecessary credit cards. She also knew that we didn't have any heating or air at the time and we needed a new HVAC system and new windows, as well as many other household repairs, well before joining an exclusive destination club. I pointed out the water stains on our ceiling from a leaky roof. She also knew that I just returned from a very hectic week in Mexico on April 20th and I was mentally and physically exhausted. She was relentless. I could not provide the deed to our time share, because I had no idea where it was and was too exhausted to look for it. Also, my husband was not there. The clincher. She said that HP Consultants can provide financing, but it makes more sense to use a credit card, because it has to be approved. And , I could not get enough of hearing about how I'll be on my way to financial success through my new travel business, which turns out to be a members only destination club. I asked who has taken this route. She claimed, "Many of our members have used this service for profit and she'll provide me with contacts to let me know how they've succeeded. She was also willing to help me create a flyer to distribute with travel prices. I would in the meantime compare my travel site to theirs and offer the best prices. She insisted that they have the lowest prices and have a 110% money back guarantee. Once I received my user ID and password, I spent countless hours researching. They do NOT have the lowest prices. "The company also provides consulting." I have not had a single consultation. **** absolutely convinced me that by joining this club, it will open doors that I never realized were possible. Trust her. She also convinced me that she would write up the preliminary paperwork, but wouldn't proceed without talking with my husband and at that time pick up the time share deed if he agreed to this offer. I stated that I cannot have this charge go on my credit card. Again, she claimed that the credit card charge takes 30 days to process and I'm not responsible to pay for the charges for 45 days, giving me time to refinance and we could also review their payment plan if needed. I was shocked when the charge appeared on my credit card on April 26, four days later and I have no access to their site. Each day I looked for their e-mail that gave me a user ID and password. I phoned **** and she did not return my call. Ten days passed and I became very edgy, losing sleep and missing my flyer deadline. I contacted the credit card company to dispute the charge. On May 7, 2013 I left another message for **** to let her know that I'm unhappy with these developments and I'm sending her a letter stating that we cannot proceed with this business proposition. On May 8, I received an activation e-mail from Resort Time Unlimited. On May 9, 2013 ****** *****, CFO, contacted my credit card company in response to the charge back. She said that our client (me) has been activated for access to her online club membership and all other services agreed upon. I looked at the site and they had a disclaimer on how to cancel membership. I copied, but it was encrypted and would not paste. I called HP Consultants wanting to speak with the owner. The owner, ***** ****** returned my call four days later and after an hour of conversation he said that he would call me back in a couple of days, but never did. He made it very clear to me that he has a staff of full time legal council and even though **** completely misrepresented herself, it's too late. He has my signature and that's what the judge looks at. He also threatened to sue me for our time share, I said go ahead and try. At the end of the conversation he said that the best he could do for now was for us to keep our timeshare and he'll call me back on Tuesday after he's had time to speak with ****. As I mentioned, he never called back. Problem #2. I was in absolute shock when I opened the RTU web site page. The only person I can book travel for on line is for me, the primary member. I could have a secondary member upon their approval. A guest can be added for a one time booking for $49. Does this mean that if I want to book travel for someone, they are charged $49? There is a way for me to book clients on this site at no extra cost. I call their travel agency during business hours and book for them. But, why should I go through this extra step when my clients and I have direct access to my site without a third party being involved. Also, this site has time share written all over it, which **** and ***** repeatedly said that they weren't a part of. They buy timeshares, not sell them. True. They trade them. ***** slipped in the conversation at one point to talk about his affiliation with RCI, who are no strangers to law suits. We have personally received settlements from them. I said that I didn't want any part of another time share membership or have anything to do with a company that represents RCI. This has been an extremely time consuming and exhausting adventure. The lost sleep alone just last night and spending four hours on the computer to contact you with this information. The lies, the misrepresentation. It needs to go away. I am unable to earn a living as a member of ResortTimeUnlimited.com period. I have no use for this club. It is in fact costing me money, seeing no profit unless I open a merchant account and charge my clients an additional service fee, which I find unethical in my practice to appease RTU and have them earn all of the profits. I repeatedly asked them for training or lead me in the right direction to make this work as a business venture and no one has returned my calls. I have tried everything to make this work. I've looked into seeking investors, organizing group travel, but they don't go to the places I take groups, compare their rates to other sites. They want up front payment to rent a car with a $19 cancellation policy after 24 hours of booking. My travel site doesn't require that. They offer 109 points for making a 3 day car booking, but it takes 43,000 points to actually use points instead of dollars to book the same car rental. It would take years just to earn points for one decent cruise. It's rediculus. They completely misrepresented their company to me. They should be ashamed of themselves, but clearly they are not. They're way too clever for me. Please help!

Desired Settlement: Contractual termination due to misrepresenting services and full refund, including interest accrued to date.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear that this client is unhappy with our product and services but contend her complaint against us is not factual or warranted. We have done everything possible to assist this client with all aspects of her ownership but she only seems intent on trying to damage our spotless business reputation. In response to the complaint we offer the following:


- The client sates the "only" reason for the purchase was for commercial use in her existing travel agent business yet she signed the paperwork clearly stating this product is for her "personal use and enjoyment". Even so we have agreed to allow her to use our services for her clients at no additional charge. We have also offered unlimited personal training for the client to learn about the different options available to make the best use of our club. In addition the client told our consultant the "main" reason for purchasing was to liquidate an unwanted worthless timeshare that was providing her with no value whatsoever. 

- The client claims misrepresentation by our consultant but this is clearly not the case. Every aspect of our product is clearly detailed in our paperwork and provided to the client at the time of purchase. In addition the client disputed the charge with her credit card because of this supposed misrepresentation. She lost this dispute and her credit card company sided with us finding there was no wrong doing. 

- Financing- We do provide financing to clients who qualify but this client opted to provide a credit card for the whole purchase and only after waiting 2-months asked for a financing option. At that point it was no longer a viable option on this transaction.

- Client claims to have no communication from the HP/RTU office support staff- Again, just not true. The client actually admits to speaking with the owner, the CFO, receiving offers of help from the consultant, and we have numerous records of phone conversations with our director of travel. 

In summary HP Consultants/ Resort Time Unlimited has none nothing wrong and has worked diligently with this client to assist her. For all of the reasons stated above we decline to honor the request for a refund. Our company maintains a high level of integrity, honesty, and professionalism and we will continue to provide high quality products and services to our clients.